Dublin v Donegal

Easy Donegal win against Dublin. Haven't been tested. Tough Ulster boys will sort us out.

Was at the game. I seen a performance of champions against a tough Cork outfit.

(Was not a tackle in the game)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/07/2016 21:40:49    1892536

Replying To CroiGorm:  "You make more in a month than he/she will make in a lifetime? Now that's some statement."
What's a maters degree ?
Is this where they teach open heart surgery ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 30/07/2016 21:43:28    1892541

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Ooh you really are desperate to play the victim aren't you. You are just playing to the gallery now but I'd imagine most on here know you're form.
A master's degree,ha,ha ha, you probably genuinely believe that.
Don't be getting yourself in a state at this time of the evening now dear.
Cocoa and bickies will be here soon."
Are you waiting on you junior cert results? Now back down the line with you, those horses wont come back themselves, and that auld Dutch gold wont help either. Good gooson

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2016 21:45:13    1892544

Replying To CroiGorm:  "You make more in a month than he/she will make in a lifetime? Now that's some statement."
But true.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2016 21:47:01    1892546

Replying To royaldunne:  "But true."
Eh, no it's not. Don't embarrass yourself anymore.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/07/2016 22:02:03    1892559

Do Donegal have the guts, to play Murphy and McBearty as a two man full forward line ?. And the guts to throw the sink at the Dubs. If they play like they did in the Ulster Final.. it will be Dublin by 10 and the end of this Donegal era. McBearty and Murphy could cause havoc if allowed which might just result in a shock.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 30/07/2016 22:11:22    1892564

Replying To royaldunne:  "Are you waiting on you junior cert results? Now back down the line with you, those horses wont come back themselves, and that auld Dutch gold wont help either. Good gooson"
Think he waiting on his 'maters degree' actually. Apparently they help you earn millions every year.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/07/2016 22:16:52    1892565

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Think he waiting on his 'maters degree' actually. Apparently they help you earn millions every year."
Haha ! A degree if you don't mind Croigorm. Probably has a colouring book out I'd say.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/07/2016 22:26:01    1892572

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Haha ! A degree if you don't mind Croigorm. Probably has a colouring book out I'd say."
It baffles me. Clearly he/she is earning millions a year (based on them earning more in a month than you will in your whole lifetime) so surely Meath's very own Alan Sugar could help them out, all our success is apparently down to all the money we get so why doesn't he help his county out with his millions. Maybe they wouldn't be so sh*t and would be able to compete with the like of Derry.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/07/2016 22:36:27    1892578

Replying To royaldunne:  "But true."
Don't drink myself but quiet sad that you would target those who might have a problem in that area considering your previous attempt to act the victim.
Schoolboy error. Doubt you have any degree.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/07/2016 22:43:41    1892581

Looking forward to this. Had hoped for Donegal. Think it will be tight in the 1st half but we should (hopefully) have enough to push through in the 2nd. Just the test we need. Bring it on.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/07/2016 22:48:23    1892585

Replying To CroiGorm:  "It baffles me. Clearly he/she is earning millions a year (based on them earning more in a month than you will in your whole lifetime) so surely Meath's very own Alan Sugar could help them out, all our success is apparently down to all the money we get so why doesn't he help his county out with his millions. Maybe they wouldn't be so sh*t and would be able to compete with the like of Derry."
Sounds like our Alan is full of it alright.
For all his education he/she doesn't seem that clever.You would have to wonder why so sour.I'm just having a laugh winding him/her up.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/07/2016 23:07:46    1892592

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Eh, no it's not. Don't embarrass yourself anymore."
Yes it is, but it doesn't matter, just cause I earn a six figure sum per annum, doesn't make me better than anyone else, BTW there is people on tho site who know me and can verify same.
But that dont matter, I got lucky, that's all,
I still fully engage with the gaa on a volunteering basis, , .
So I ain't one bit embarrassed, I believe everyone should strive to achieve what ever they can. But this is totally off topic.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2016 23:13:14    1892594

Donegal were 7/1 back in 2014 but only 9/2 this year????
World of difference between games and the deck fully loaded in Dublin's favour

1. Home advantage-but sure ye poor lads need that advantage for every game
2. Panel-Dublin have a factory of players whilst Donegal cobble together our broken warriors for one more battle
3. Short turnaround-if Donegal had their games as spaced out as Dublin, this would be a fair fight but this will be their sixth game in ten weeks. Dublin have played twice in that time
4. Fatigue- see point 2&3 combining.
5. Extra time- the increase in added time only suits bigger panels and if Donegal were competing after 60 minutes now it's likely these tired players will not only face another seven fresh championship quality players, they'll need to hold them off for a further five minutes injury time.

Donegal have been on the end of a big defeat each of the last three times they made this stage through qualifiers.

Dublin will probably win handily next week but it won't be true revenge for 2014. You can never take that defeat away and this time you've been handed the chance to get victory with the deck fully loaded in your favour. With all the millions ye have, more coaches than bus eireann and a the biggest depth of squad the game has even seen, it would have been nice if the GAA could find a structure to give the smaller teams a fighting chance

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 30/07/2016 23:14:59    1892595

Replying To joncarter:  "I know youre having a laugh but in all seriousness they were crazy odds in fairness. Totally unjustifiable.
Donegal had won the all Ireland convincingly 2 years before that semi final, and had pretty much perfected their system, and should in no way have been written off the way they were.
Their victory that day in 2014 was nowhere near the shock it was made out to be.
As an aside, do i detect a bit of niggle between both sets of supporters? Could be an interesting afternoon (for those who can get tickets and or have sky anyway)"
I wouldn't think there's much niggle between us and the Dubs, plenty of craic though,I always enjoy the craic with them anyway, hard to see us winning but I said after 2014 that I'd never doubt the boys again,
but it is a massive ask and just a week to prepare, and we haven't got JMG to mastermind it this time, I think we should just leave Murph and Paddy inside and lob in plenty high ball, Michael isn't very mobile out the field this year,he looks injured to me,I know that's a handy excuse for not playing well, but I think everyone knows what a great player he is when he is on song,
roll on next Saturday,I'm heading for the big smoke!!
Cmon Donegal!!

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 30/07/2016 23:35:18    1892604

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Sounds like our Alan is full of it alright.
For all his education he/she doesn't seem that clever.You would have to wonder why so sour.I'm just having a laugh winding him/her up."
But it ain't working my friend, you need to get some lessons from clondalkin or jimbo, or even my own county man waynol. Trust me I actually think it is i who is winding you up, I have been on this site many years. Better have tried to wind me up and have failed.
Anyways I'm off to bed. Good night

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2016 23:43:48    1892610

Good wind up post shaggykev ......

Ps, we can't take that 2014 defeat back, but how is that semi-final trophy looking!?

Ye lost against Kerry! If I were a Donegal fan I'd be trying to forget that semi game! Beat your chests like gorillas. Ye beat Dublin. But you lost an All Ireland Final! As I said Kev, you boys won the lauded semi final cup!!!! Well done boys!

See ya next week boys!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/07/2016 23:48:04    1892613

It pains me to say it but I just can't see Donegal winning this game. We are just not the same team as a couple of years ago and don't have JMcG to mastermind a plan anymore. I expect RG will have 15 men behind the ball and try to frustrate Dublin. It may not be a classic game. MM is not playing well and we are too reliant on Patrick McBrearty for scores. I thought we loooked very tired today, especially in the first 20 minutes.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1883 - 30/07/2016 23:54:51    1892617

Replying To shaggykev:  "Donegal were 7/1 back in 2014 but only 9/2 this year????
World of difference between games and the deck fully loaded in Dublin's favour

1. Home advantage-but sure ye poor lads need that advantage for every game
2. Panel-Dublin have a factory of players whilst Donegal cobble together our broken warriors for one more battle
3. Short turnaround-if Donegal had their games as spaced out as Dublin, this would be a fair fight but this will be their sixth game in ten weeks. Dublin have played twice in that time
4. Fatigue- see point 2&3 combining.
5. Extra time- the increase in added time only suits bigger panels and if Donegal were competing after 60 minutes now it's likely these tired players will not only face another seven fresh championship quality players, they'll need to hold them off for a further five minutes injury time.

Donegal have been on the end of a big defeat each of the last three times they made this stage through qualifiers.

Dublin will probably win handily next week but it won't be true revenge for 2014. You can never take that defeat away and this time you've been handed the chance to get victory with the deck fully loaded in your favour. With all the millions ye have, more coaches than bus eireann and a the biggest depth of squad the game has even seen, it would have been nice if the GAA could find a structure to give the smaller teams a fighting chance"
Good man....get all your excuses in early!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/07/2016 01:16:20    1892635

Looking at the comments, I can't believe no one is giving donegal a chance. If you ask me its set up for an ambush. I think donegal will win as they've experienced beating the dubs, and won't lie down like other leinster teams. They're also battle hardened, having played five games so far tougher than anything Dublin faced. Unless Dublin get a great start I personally only see one winner. I don't buy into the seven day turnaround Theory, as that can help a team with momentum.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 31/07/2016 08:34:58    1892653