Dublin v Donegal

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Don't mean to suggest that we outfoxed Dublin and were just sloppy, but I definitely feel our sloppiness contributed to momentum being lost and a bit of deflation. After the goal we hit 3 wides I think before giving up a soft free which Dean Rock put away very well. That's poor play on our part and nothing really to do with tactics. After a goal you have all the momentum and need to capitalise, and we didn't. That's what frustrates me as a supporter.

Of course the system, especially in the final 10/15 minutes was very frustrating to watch as a Donegal supporter as you just want your team to go for it in that situation. But look, I know the Dubs have come on leaps and bounds since the ambush in 2014 especially defensively - I just feel it was a much closer contest than I've seen suggested in some places I suppose.

Some of the point scoring was brilliant from yourselves especially from Connolly. As a football fan I hope he sorts his temper out because he's the best pure footballer in the country... apart from Ryan McHugh of course :)"
Good post Joe

I can understand your frustration

The goal could have acted as much more of a game changing moment, and especially given the fact that Dublin were down to 14 men not long after it

But that's Donegal's biggest weakness. Once you get ahead of Donegal they wont change from being defence first and that completely doesn't make sense.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 08/08/2016 11:21:49    1897898

Maybe you misunderstood my post Mobot. I had two issues, the targeting of Connolly - I was sitting just right of halfway line and had a good view of the antics off the ball on Connolly from the get go, shirt pulled, mouthing at him a couple of slaps etc. He was targeted no doubt. They knew that if he was provoked he would react and he did. Players like Connolly need some level of protection from the officials and it isn't happening. Cavanagh could have the same complaint on Sat. My only other issue was Murphy's tackle on Fenton. That's a red all day long. There is no defence for a straight arm, closed fist full force blow to the head, mistimed or not. On the Dublin side, Fenton got a black and IMO Bastick should have got a black. Quite simple points I would have said but if you can't express an opinion...

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 11:23:39    1897901

Replying To Joxer:  "Maybe you misunderstood my post Mobot. I had two issues, the targeting of Connolly - I was sitting just right of halfway line and had a good view of the antics off the ball on Connolly from the get go, shirt pulled, mouthing at him a couple of slaps etc. He was targeted no doubt. They knew that if he was provoked he would react and he did. Players like Connolly need some level of protection from the officials and it isn't happening. Cavanagh could have the same complaint on Sat. My only other issue was Murphy's tackle on Fenton. That's a red all day long. There is no defence for a straight arm, closed fist full force blow to the head, mistimed or not. On the Dublin side, Fenton got a black and IMO Bastick should have got a black. Quite simple points I would have said but if you can't express an opinion..."
I think you need to wise up a little and realise that Connolly isn't the angel you think he is. I'm not saying that he hasn't been targeted in other games but he wasn't on saturday night. The pulling and dragging you are referring to is when his marker Marty O'Reilly (isn't a man marker) was trying to stay touch tight and Connolly being alot bigger and stronger was able to push him away and O'Reilly was just trying his best to stay near him. Donegal were naive and probably should of targeted him like other teams do and put one of the McGees on him and he probably wouldn't have seen haltime (Then I would accept your point). I'm not sure what our management were thinking when deciding to give O'Reilly the job of marking him anyways. It wasn't fair on the young lad as he is too nice of a footballer to mark a player of Connolly's quality and is definitely not in your face enough to wind up Connolly. As I said already, Connolly is the best player in Ireland but needs to control his temper because he will definitely be in for some serious treatment against Kerry and if he's in the same frame of mind as he was on saturday in that game he'll not last 10 mins and may cost Dublin an All Ireland. Can you not see the point I'm making here?

Regarding Murphy you said his behaviour so I thought there was more than the tackle on Fenton and as I said he was lucky to escape with a yellow card. You are of course entitled to make your points but I honestly don't think Donegal had to target Connolly as he was ticking time bomb from the start on Saturday. We got to see the great and bad side to him during his time on the field. He just needs to sort out his temper - probably easier said than done

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 08/08/2016 11:57:33    1897925

Replying To Mobot:  "I think you need to wise up a little and realise that Connolly isn't the angel you think he is. I'm not saying that he hasn't been targeted in other games but he wasn't on saturday night. The pulling and dragging you are referring to is when his marker Marty O'Reilly (isn't a man marker) was trying to stay touch tight and Connolly being alot bigger and stronger was able to push him away and O'Reilly was just trying his best to stay near him. Donegal were naive and probably should of targeted him like other teams do and put one of the McGees on him and he probably wouldn't have seen haltime (Then I would accept your point). I'm not sure what our management were thinking when deciding to give O'Reilly the job of marking him anyways. It wasn't fair on the young lad as he is too nice of a footballer to mark a player of Connolly's quality and is definitely not in your face enough to wind up Connolly. As I said already, Connolly is the best player in Ireland but needs to control his temper because he will definitely be in for some serious treatment against Kerry and if he's in the same frame of mind as he was on saturday in that game he'll not last 10 mins and may cost Dublin an All Ireland. Can you not see the point I'm making here?

Regarding Murphy you said his behaviour so I thought there was more than the tackle on Fenton and as I said he was lucky to escape with a yellow card. You are of course entitled to make your points but I honestly don't think Donegal had to target Connolly as he was ticking time bomb from the start on Saturday. We got to see the great and bad side to him during his time on the field. He just needs to sort out his temper - probably easier said than done"
Hold on one minute kiddo what makes you think Connolly will be in for some treaent against Kerry ? Connolly has been sent off twice against Donegal in championship since 2011 and once against mayo in the championship and not sent off against Kerry in league or championship so will you please explain that ridiculous comment please or else withdraw it.
Our Kerry team are going up to crokepark to play football against Dublin and that's all.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2016 12:10:33    1897944

Replying To legendzxix:  "The 4 Regions have been consistent enough since '05. There hasn't been anyone above that level consistently since '09 hence their deceptive rise.

There are question marks over Donegal. We'll only get the answers today. On form it's hard to luck past the 4 Regions advancing to the semi-finals."
Wat exactly do u mean by the "4 Regions"???

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 08/08/2016 12:12:30    1897949

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Don't mean to suggest that we outfoxed Dublin and were just sloppy, but I definitely feel our sloppiness contributed to momentum being lost and a bit of deflation. After the goal we hit 3 wides I think before giving up a soft free which Dean Rock put away very well. That's poor play on our part and nothing really to do with tactics. After a goal you have all the momentum and need to capitalise, and we didn't. That's what frustrates me as a supporter.

Of course the system, especially in the final 10/15 minutes was very frustrating to watch as a Donegal supporter as you just want your team to go for it in that situation. But look, I know the Dubs have come on leaps and bounds since the ambush in 2014 especially defensively - I just feel it was a much closer contest than I've seen suggested in some places I suppose.

Some of the point scoring was brilliant from yourselves especially from Connolly. As a football fan I hope he sorts his temper out because he's the best pure footballer in the country... apart from Ryan McHugh of course :)"
How many of Donegals wides/dropped short kicks were taken by defensive players? Frank McGlynn or Diarmuid Connolly shooting from distance? Who would you prefer?

You say sloppy I say forced!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/08/2016 12:17:29    1897954

Replying To JayP:  "How many of Donegals wides/dropped short kicks were taken by defensive players? Frank McGlynn or Diarmuid Connolly shooting from distance? Who would you prefer?

You say sloppy I say forced!"
Well I distinctly remember Eoin McHugh dropping two short, Paddy McBrearty dropping one short and another poor wide, a bad wide from Murphy and yes McGlynn also - however McGlynn has always been a solid scorer for us and would usually pop up with a point or 2.

I said I was looking at it from a Donegal POV and I'm always going to see it as mistakes from ourselves more often than not. I don't mean to take anything away from Dublin as they are the best team in the land and are unrecognisable defensively from 2014, it's just a frustration for me that we left chances on the pitch and could/should have been much closer going into the final stages.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/08/2016 12:24:16    1897963

Replying To Mobot:  "I think you need to wise up a little and realise that Connolly isn't the angel you think he is. I'm not saying that he hasn't been targeted in other games but he wasn't on saturday night. The pulling and dragging you are referring to is when his marker Marty O'Reilly (isn't a man marker) was trying to stay touch tight and Connolly being alot bigger and stronger was able to push him away and O'Reilly was just trying his best to stay near him. Donegal were naive and probably should of targeted him like other teams do and put one of the McGees on him and he probably wouldn't have seen haltime (Then I would accept your point). I'm not sure what our management were thinking when deciding to give O'Reilly the job of marking him anyways. It wasn't fair on the young lad as he is too nice of a footballer to mark a player of Connolly's quality and is definitely not in your face enough to wind up Connolly. As I said already, Connolly is the best player in Ireland but needs to control his temper because he will definitely be in for some serious treatment against Kerry and if he's in the same frame of mind as he was on saturday in that game he'll not last 10 mins and may cost Dublin an All Ireland. Can you not see the point I'm making here?

Regarding Murphy you said his behaviour so I thought there was more than the tackle on Fenton and as I said he was lucky to escape with a yellow card. You are of course entitled to make your points but I honestly don't think Donegal had to target Connolly as he was ticking time bomb from the start on Saturday. We got to see the great and bad side to him during his time on the field. He just needs to sort out his temper - probably easier said than done"
Let me just point out you are talking sh*te about Connolly. I dont care if he is bigger and stronger......kicking, tripping, dragging etc arent allowed if you are small. McHugh grabbed Connolly and wrestled him to the ground. Connolly wrestled to break free. Actually he was quite calm as he got up and didnt make much of it. Just jogged away. Connolly got a yellow for getting dragged down. Look, the second yellow no complaints. First one was awful from the officials. Sean Cavanagh got a yellow before the start of the second half because Lee Keegan pulled him to the ground. Sean got sent off, Lee kicked vital scores late on.

It seems like the better players get punished because they are the better players. How come the likes of McHugh and Keegan didnt get black cards......its a cop out from officials. The instigator should receive a much harsher punishment than the retaliator.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/08/2016 12:28:50    1897967

In relation to the off the ball stuff the type of stuff we saw on Saturday night goes on every week. Team in possession out the field and on the attack, Ref blows up play runs in to a forward and a defender who are wrestling on ground books the 2 of them and play continues. Team on the attack and behind the play there are 2 players on ground again and same thing book the 2 of them. Why would players whose teams are on the attack look to get involved in grappling stuff. Until referees get more help from linesmen and umpires this is going to continue. At club games its going to be impossible when you little or no neutral officials apart from ref.

Mid Don (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 08/08/2016 13:04:49    1898002

Replying To JayP:  "Let me just point out you are talking sh*te about Connolly. I dont care if he is bigger and stronger......kicking, tripping, dragging etc arent allowed if you are small. McHugh grabbed Connolly and wrestled him to the ground. Connolly wrestled to break free. Actually he was quite calm as he got up and didnt make much of it. Just jogged away. Connolly got a yellow for getting dragged down. Look, the second yellow no complaints. First one was awful from the officials. Sean Cavanagh got a yellow before the start of the second half because Lee Keegan pulled him to the ground. Sean got sent off, Lee kicked vital scores late on.

It seems like the better players get punished because they are the better players. How come the likes of McHugh and Keegan didnt get black cards......its a cop out from officials. The instigator should receive a much harsher punishment than the retaliator."
Sean Cavanagh is arguably the best player in Gaelic Football this decade. Is he currently better than Lee Keegan tho??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 08/08/2016 13:18:34    1898017

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hold on one minute kiddo what makes you think Connolly will be in for some treaent against Kerry ? Connolly has been sent off twice against Donegal in championship since 2011 and once against mayo in the championship and not sent off against Kerry in league or championship so will you please explain that ridiculous comment please or else withdraw it.
Our Kerry team are going up to crokepark to play football against Dublin and that's all."
I've no doubt Kerry will go and play football but are you telling me they will not assign one of their best man markers to him who will do their best from stopping him from playing?

Eamonn Fitz is usually pretty good at getting his match ups right. I'm paying kerry a compliment and not giving out about them. We all saw how Aidan O'Mahony dealt with MM in 2014 and yes MM was targeted and guess what he didn't loss his head and let his team down by getting sent off. Connolly getting sent off had very little to do with Donegal on Saturday and more so with his lack of discipline which I'd imagine kerry will test. They'd be mad not too.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 08/08/2016 14:03:24    1898052

Replying To JayP:  "Let me just point out you are talking sh*te about Connolly. I dont care if he is bigger and stronger......kicking, tripping, dragging etc arent allowed if you are small. McHugh grabbed Connolly and wrestled him to the ground. Connolly wrestled to break free. Actually he was quite calm as he got up and didnt make much of it. Just jogged away. Connolly got a yellow for getting dragged down. Look, the second yellow no complaints. First one was awful from the officials. Sean Cavanagh got a yellow before the start of the second half because Lee Keegan pulled him to the ground. Sean got sent off, Lee kicked vital scores late on.

It seems like the better players get punished because they are the better players. How come the likes of McHugh and Keegan didnt get black cards......its a cop out from officials. The instigator should receive a much harsher punishment than the retaliator."
Funny how Ryan McHugh was never wrestling on the ground at any other stage during the championship. Dublin had instructions (Good instructions I may add) to stop the McHughs getting forward when Donegal got possession so Connolly blocked Ryans run (black card by the way) and they ended up wrestling on the ground. Connolly was calm because he knew what he did, Mchugh was livid because his run was stopped illegally but yeah Connolly was the one that was targeted....

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 08/08/2016 14:07:29    1898058

Well' Deep Down I knew we were up against it going into this game 'especially after Such a gruelling campaign and the 6 day turnaround.
I said i would be content if our Lads put up a Good fight and thats exactly what they did. They went down Swinging and went out on their Shield.
Couldnt really ask for much more from them.

Congrats to Dublin' they really showed how it should be done when chances present themselves' with some sublime Sores and really did make it look all too easy.

That "Kilkenny" fella really is such a Class act' both on the field and in his post match interview. Really likable Guy.

Best of luck to ya's and again hats off to Our Men for giving it their all.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 08/08/2016 14:11:40    1898062

That's all I am trying to say Jayp. Mobot seems to think that you can justify pulling, pushing, slapping and tripping because you are small. If this isn't provoking a player than what is? I think you need to wise up a bit Mobot and open your eyes. O'Reilly was at it from the off. You've as much as admitted it yourself.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 08/08/2016 14:15:40    1898068

Replying To Mobot:  "I've no doubt Kerry will go and play football but are you telling me they will not assign one of their best man markers to him who will do their best from stopping him from playing?

Eamonn Fitz is usually pretty good at getting his match ups right. I'm paying kerry a compliment and not giving out about them. We all saw how Aidan O'Mahony dealt with MM in 2014 and yes MM was targeted and guess what he didn't loss his head and let his team down by getting sent off. Connolly getting sent off had very little to do with Donegal on Saturday and more so with his lack of discipline which I'd imagine kerry will test. They'd be mad not too."
Fair enough mobot I shouldn't have jumped down your throat but there are a lot of unfair things being said about my county and unfair threads being started about us by people on here and the moderator just let's it go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2016 15:38:50    1898147

Replying To Joxer:  "That's all I am trying to say Jayp. Mobot seems to think that you can justify pulling, pushing, slapping and tripping because you are small. If this isn't provoking a player than what is? I think you need to wise up a bit Mobot and open your eyes. O'Reilly was at it from the off. You've as much as admitted it yourself."
There was a lot going on off the ball from both teams in your option which dublin players targeted donegal lads from the start and continued all game, because from were i was sitting there was pushing,slapping,dragging,and sledging.
Or is it see no evil hear no evil with you,

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 08/08/2016 16:16:32    1898162

Replying To Joxer:  "That's all I am trying to say Jayp. Mobot seems to think that you can justify pulling, pushing, slapping and tripping because you are small. If this isn't provoking a player than what is? I think you need to wise up a bit Mobot and open your eyes. O'Reilly was at it from the off. You've as much as admitted it yourself."
This in definitely my last response on this subject as it seems no matter what Connolly does or doesn't do you will defend him no matter what. You say O'Reilly was pulling, pushing, slapping and tripping?? There was a bit of pulling and pushing from both players off the ball but definitely no slapping or tripping. I was actually laughing at it because Connolly was completely dominating the off the ball stuff bewteen the 2 and I couldn't figure out why Donegal left poor O'Reilly on Connolly because he wasn't fit for him. Rory Gallagher got that one badly wrong. So, what I'm getting from you Joxer is that because of the tussling off the ball with O'Reilly (which Connolly was dominating as well as the game) this caused Connolly to block off Ryan McHugh's run and put a high dangerous tackle in on Thompson as well as gave away 4 other fouls all as part of retaliation and you find his actions acceptable. Fair enough if you do but you're trying to make out Marty O'Reilly to be a some sort of henchman sent out to kill Connolly which from a Donegal perspective is hillarious. I was actually hoping we'd put Neil McGee on him, then you may have had a case. Neil always marks Bernard Brogan and yet Brogan never seems to get involved in any shenigans even though I'd imagine he's gets winded up no end. Connolly could take a leaf out of his book is what I'm saying but I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on this.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 08/08/2016 16:30:41    1898173

See Eamonn Mcgee has officially retired. Like McFadden, a great player for Donegal. Wish them well.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 08/08/2016 16:43:10    1898189

There are 2 or 3 Dublin posters on here that can only see the ills of one side, and it ain't their own..

It's an embarrassment to the likes of Wayno who can see things fairly but then he gets accused of brown-nosing. Utter nonsense.

Jim Gavin at least has an agenda with his spin on things, however I fail to see why anyone here would be so biased in their blue-tinted view of things other than delusion.

Anyway, I for one will repeat that sledging and checking of runs took place on both sides, repeat: BOTH sides. Donegal were culprits and so were Dublin. None of the sendings off can be disputed bar the O'Gara one.

Connolly is a great player but can't control himself. Brogan, Andrews, McManamon... All these players are great forwards but can control themselves. If you can't control yourself on a football field or elsewhere, that's your problem, not the Ref's, not the Donegal players etc etc. Continuing to paint him as the United party here says more about yourselves than anything else.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/08/2016 17:46:53    1898234

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "There are 2 or 3 Dublin posters on here that can only see the ills of one side, and it ain't their own..

It's an embarrassment to the likes of Wayno who can see things fairly but then he gets accused of brown-nosing. Utter nonsense.

Jim Gavin at least has an agenda with his spin on things, however I fail to see why anyone here would be so biased in their blue-tinted view of things other than delusion.

Anyway, I for one will repeat that sledging and checking of runs took place on both sides, repeat: BOTH sides. Donegal were culprits and so were Dublin. None of the sendings off can be disputed bar the O'Gara one.

Connolly is a great player but can't control himself. Brogan, Andrews, McManamon... All these players are great forwards but can control themselves. If you can't control yourself on a football field or elsewhere, that's your problem, not the Ref's, not the Donegal players etc etc. Continuing to paint him as the United party here says more about yourselves than anything else."
Injured* party

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/08/2016 18:08:29    1898245