Dublin v Donegal

i'd be very surprised if Gavin dumped Connolly, might have no choice with say a suspension looming, but he certainly won't drop him.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 07/08/2016 22:13:37    1897691

Canavan and McGuiness yesterday, Kernan and O'Sé today. All 4 rightly calling for O'Gara's red card to be overturned.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 07/08/2016 22:28:03    1897699

Replying To arock:  "i'd be very surprised if Gavin dumped Connolly, might have no choice with say a suspension looming, but he certainly won't drop him."
No chance he'll drop him. No manager has. Dublin nailed their colours to the mast re connolly in Pillar's day when they gave him that dig out at Bonner's expense.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5018 - 07/08/2016 22:39:37    1897712

Diarmuid Connolly is a fantastic footballer...left and right foot...makes it look so easy. If I had to pick one Dublin footballer we could take to Mayo it would be him.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 07/08/2016 23:05:37    1897731

Replying To yew_tree:  "Diarmuid Connolly is a fantastic footballer...left and right foot...makes it look so easy. If I had to pick one Dublin footballer we could take to Mayo it would be him."
It'd be too much of a distraction to Lee Keegan if Diarmo played for Mayo.

Yous couldn't afford to have Lee wrestling his own team mates on the pitch ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/08/2016 23:27:48    1897744

Well done to the dubs. Great team, no complaints.

A lot has been commented on Connolly and his cards. It is a pity but it is not the end of the world. There will be a few more handed out before the end of the year. I think the difficulty with Connolly is that he doesn't seem to learn from experience. I wouldn't judge him negatively for being lined as neither challenge was dangerous per se.

This was not a dirty game. I think people should be level in their criticism. These players have invested a lot in the season and playing on the edge is bound to happen.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/08/2016 23:43:02    1897749

Replying To PabloD007:  "JayP and Joxer, all of your posts re Connolly suggest he was the victim yesterday and goaded into his first yellow. This is frankly a misrepresentation of what happened. He was booked after a tussle with Ryan McHugh initiated by Connolly who blocked McHughs run when Donegal were on the attack. Whatever about previous matches, this red was all of Connollys own making."
and 5 minutes before he was involved with Marty Reilly in a similar scenario.
Nobody is saying he doesn't get targeted but he has himself to blame in most cases. he is the arguable the best player in Ireland so of course he is going to get special attention. I play intermediate level club football and when I'm in the full forward line i get pulled and dragged (not donegal either before some fool says its a donegal thing). Im use to it so im not going to get sent of for retaliating which is something that use to happen when i was younger. connolly doesnt seem to learn and for that reason his class will never be what he is remembered for IMO.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 07/08/2016 23:44:16    1897750

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Canavan and McGuiness yesterday, Kernan and O'Sé today. All 4 rightly calling for O'Gara's red card to be overturned."
Fair enough.

I can understand the 4 of them as former players or managers saying it should be over-turned.

I agree it was harsh, never doubted that or said otherwise on another thread.

I agreed that the ref was right to send him off based on the rulebook's interpretation of a strike.

Ciaran Brannagan BY THE LETTER OF THE LAW, was right in sending O'Gara off. You cant say it was a wrong decision. He was only calling the decision by the rulebook. That's what he is there to do.

The problem is the rule itself is sh*te. So while I also think it will be recinded and was harsh in the first place. You cannot place blame on the ref for this incident Croi

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/08/2016 00:02:47    1897759

Replying To MesAmis:  "It'd be too much of a distraction to Lee Keegan if Diarmo played for Mayo.

Yous couldn't afford to have Lee wrestling his own team mates on the pitch ;)"
It would hard for opponents too . Wouldn't know if we should focus on winding up Connolly or O Shea

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 08/08/2016 00:10:19    1897761

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Canavan and McGuiness yesterday, Kernan and O'Sé today. All 4 rightly calling for O'Gara's red card to be overturned."
It's gas , last week ye were outraged by donaghys tackle on a Clare player calling for his head at least with star there was a actually a ball to be tackled.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2016 00:30:34    1897766

Replying To waynoI:  "Fair enough.

I can understand the 4 of them as former players or managers saying it should be over-turned.

I agree it was harsh, never doubted that or said otherwise on another thread.

I agreed that the ref was right to send him off based on the rulebook's interpretation of a strike.

Ciaran Brannagan BY THE LETTER OF THE LAW, was right in sending O'Gara off. You cant say it was a wrong decision. He was only calling the decision by the rulebook. That's what he is there to do.

The problem is the rule itself is sh*te. So while I also think it will be recinded and was harsh in the first place. You cannot place blame on the ref for this incident Croi"
I'm not blaming the ref at all Wayno, the person/people to blame for the farcical red card are the umpires, he conferred with them before talking to EOG so they clearly fed him the wrong information. If he was told EOG thumped McGee then he had no choice. I get that.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/08/2016 08:08:05    1897788

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It's gas , last week ye were outraged by donaghys tackle on a Clare player calling for his head at least with star there was a actually a ball to be tackled."
Oh I get it. so once 'there's a ball to be tackled' you can do what you want ? So you will maintain that Murphy's 'tackle' on Brian Fenton was more acceptable that O'Gara's slap on the belly because Fenton had the ball??? In the name of God what kind of logic is that????

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/08/2016 09:18:06    1897807

Replying To MesAmis:  "It'd be too much of a distraction to Lee Keegan if Diarmo played for Mayo.

Yous couldn't afford to have Lee wrestling his own team mates on the pitch ;)"
I am sure they would get on like a house on fire :)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 08/08/2016 09:24:27    1897812

Hard luck to Donegal - you put in some amount of work but we got a very valuable lead in the first half

The way you have yourselves setup made it easier for us to stay ahead

It was obvious enough what Dublin would be facing and you could see how well prepared Dublin are now to counter act such

Great application at times from Dublin, some lovely scores and a lot of players doing very well

John Small has had a fantastic couple of games on the trot - another Ballymun man!!

Connolly sending off was fair enough, the 2nd yellow was mistimed, but displayed a lot of poor judgment on his part. Still though he kicked some lovely scores but once again, he let himself down.

EOG for me was very unlucky to have seen red, I saw on the big screen that the ref signalled a closed fist punch, then I saw a replay that night and it clearly wasn't a closed fist, and the was the umpires got that wrong, it was an open palm slap to the belly, that for me is a very harsh red, and hopefully common sense will prevail considering that the umpires got the call wrong.

Al in all a very good victory for Dublin, a hard fought one, and Dublin displayed a lot of character, well done to Paul Mannion that's more like it from him, what an excellent impact, and his goal was as classy as you'll see.

Once again, hard luck to Donegal, there's no doubting the commitment that they put into the game, and they never let their heads drop, they were very much back in the game after the goal, which has to be said was an excellent worked team goal.

It's just that Dublin are a far more balance version compared to 2014 and we are truly versed now at playing against the blanket. That will not stop Dublin anymore. It is now a redundant tactic when playing against this Dublin team. I mentioned that a couple of weeks ago and so it was proven.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 08/08/2016 09:36:31    1897821

Very very disappointed. I'll qualify this post before I start by saying obviously as a Donegal supporter I'm going to see the game through that lens and I'm going to focus on what we did wrong rather than what Dublin did right.

I feel we left that one behind us. An awful lot of unforced errors in and around the middle third, easy turnovers for the Dubs and also poor wides/dropping the ball into Cluxtons hands (I remember at least twice, maybe three times). This was especially evident in the first half to be honest and I feel that half is really where we lost it. We came out in the 2nd half and played a lot better, we got a fantastic team goal (handpassing is terrible isn't it?), but after Connolly's red card I feel we weren't sure what to do. It was a pity. Odhran was really quiet and we need a couple of his monster points yesterday.

Overall though I walked away feeling like the Dubs are not invincible and we just didn't give a good account of ourselves. It was there for the taking and too many of our lads weren't at the level needed unfortunately - I don't know what to put that down to - I suppose sometimes it's just not your day. I know the Dublin goal was a classy goal, however personally feel it put a bit of a gloss on it for the Dubs, but a loss is a loss I suppose. We did a lot of silly things, losing the ball under no pressure really, sloppy stuff. Also I hope if we're going to start using Murphy in at full forward more, that we start practicing the ball into him. How many times was he out in front and the ball into him was awful? You have to give him and McBrearty at least a chance of winning their own ball.

On the sending offs, I don't really think Connolly can have any complaints. I would say the wrestling with Ryan got started because of Ryan's own frustrations at his runs being checked at every opportunity, and I hate refs booking both players in that situation but it seems the norm. You see it all the time, Murphy gets it a lot, Donaghy gets it, O'Shea gets it - it's not nice but until they sort out the rules it's to be expected and just ask your players to keep their cool. His second yellow he can have absolutely no complaints, a very sloppy tackle. For O'Gara's, I suppose by the letter of the law it's a red but it was a really pathetic call from the umpires in my opinion.

I think at this stage we should be saying Ryan McHugh is our most important player. He is a fantastic footballer and a really special talent. Hopefully there won't be too many retirements but I would like to see the younger players being used a lot more going forward, especially the likes of Ciaran Thompson and Stephen McBrearty.

Finally, a word on Colm Anthony. Always a supreme talent for us, his performance v Tyrone in the 2004 Ulster semi-final was one of the best I've ever seen on a GAA pitch. He got dogs abuse for being caught smiling when we lost that day in Crossmaglen and unfairly so. While he wasn't as involved this year, he'll always be remembered as one of our best ever forwards if not the best. Thanks for everything Colm, one of the greats.

Best of luck to the Dubs going forward.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/08/2016 10:24:35    1897854

Replying To Joxer:  "I notice you didn't mention Murphy's behaviour today Lockjaw or the targeting of Connolly from the word go, sledging, off the ball hits, pulling the shirt off his back. He received a whole new level of special care so Gavin has to sort him out. O'Gara gave Magee a slap to the belly after Magee was constantly tanting him. Let's not pretend that Donegal were angels yesterday just because they ended up with 15 on the pitch at the end."
This is the kinda attitude that annoys me no end when it comes to Dublin GAA supporters. I realise not all supporters have this attitude but too many do. You could tell after 5 mins that Diarmuid Connolly was gonna get sent off and was nothing to do with being targeted. He's has serious temper issues and needs to calm down for the remainder of the championship otherwise it will cost Dublin. He's the best footballer in Ireland but if I was Jim Gavin I'd be having serious words with him. In terms of targeting players, Dublin had obvious intructions from Gavin to stop the 2 McHughs from running as they were constantly taken out of the play off the ball especially Ryan and this lead to Connolly first booking as he wouldn't let Ryan go past him to support the Donegal attack and they ended up wrestling on the ground. They both picked up yellows cards for this and I suppose some Dublin supporters will tell me that Ryan targeted Connolly rather than the other way round? With regards "Murphy's behaviour" I assume you're referring to his clumsy challenge on Fenton rather than his actual behaviour during the game? I think all Dongeal supports would acknowlege that he was lucky to only get a yellow as we have seen red cards for these types of challenges before.

On the game itself I was really impressed how Dublin closed out the game and I don't really think the result was ever in doubt and the better team advanced to the semi's. Donegal tried hard in the second half but struggled to close down Kilkenny who ran the show for Dublin. A few of our more senior defenders have lost that yard of speed and the Dublin forwards took advantage of this.

Overall I enjoyed the 2 games and it's great attending sell out games at Croke Park but unfortunately I cannot say I enjoyed the behaviour of a number of Dublin fans that sat in the row behind me at the game. I took my girlfriend to her first big game in Croke Park (she isn't from Donegal or Dublin) and during the first game she was really enjoying the whole atmosphere etc. Then the second game started and even though Dublin were in control of the game the 4 or 5 Dublin supporters behind us would shout very abusive comments (Disgraceful language)towards the Donegal players when any thing went against them in the first half and when Connolly got booked I thought one of the lads was going to have a heart attack he was getting that wound up. At this stage I turned around to tell him to have some respect for people around him and I was given the response of "Ya want to do something about it and turn around you Northie C***". In fairness there was some other Dublin supports around (lovely people) who were visibly embarrassed and apologied on his behalf. Needless to say my girlfriend didn't enjoy the rest of her experience of the game and when Paul Mannion scored his goal we were treated to slaps on the head and similar insults. These 4 or 5 lads were in their 50's and to say I was disgusted was an understatement. In previous championship and league matches with Dublin I've always had an enjoyable experience with Dublin supporters but I'll have to go on my own in future I'd say.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 08/08/2016 10:28:29    1897859

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hard luck to Donegal - you put in some amount of work but we got a very valuable lead in the first half

The way you have yourselves setup made it easier for us to stay ahead

It was obvious enough what Dublin would be facing and you could see how well prepared Dublin are now to counter act such

Great application at times from Dublin, some lovely scores and a lot of players doing very well

John Small has had a fantastic couple of games on the trot - another Ballymun man!!

Connolly sending off was fair enough, the 2nd yellow was mistimed, but displayed a lot of poor judgment on his part. Still though he kicked some lovely scores but once again, he let himself down.

EOG for me was very unlucky to have seen red, I saw on the big screen that the ref signalled a closed fist punch, then I saw a replay that night and it clearly wasn't a closed fist, and the was the umpires got that wrong, it was an open palm slap to the belly, that for me is a very harsh red, and hopefully common sense will prevail considering that the umpires got the call wrong.

Al in all a very good victory for Dublin, a hard fought one, and Dublin displayed a lot of character, well done to Paul Mannion that's more like it from him, what an excellent impact, and his goal was as classy as you'll see.

Once again, hard luck to Donegal, there's no doubting the commitment that they put into the game, and they never let their heads drop, they were very much back in the game after the goal, which has to be said was an excellent worked team goal.

It's just that Dublin are a far more balance version compared to 2014 and we are truly versed now at playing against the blanket. That will not stop Dublin anymore. It is now a redundant tactic when playing against this Dublin team. I mentioned that a couple of weeks ago and so it was proven."
I agree with most of what you say jimbo, but I think it was Dublin's defence that won the game for you. You are unrecognizable there now compared to the shambles of 2014 & it is all the more impressive when three of your best men were missing. You also took scores hat we weren't able to & in the end five points probably flattered us a bit.

You are spot on about both Connolly & O'Gara. Connolly gets the attention he gets because he handles it so poorly. Other great forwards get the same sort of treatment but he seems to have difficulty in keeping his cool & I don't think Jim Gavin did him any favours by supporting him in responding the way he does. The more he reacts, the more people will goad him because he is a great player & any opposition would be happy to see the back of him. O'Gara's red card was very harsh & I would expect to see it rescinded.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/08/2016 10:29:57    1897861

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Very very disappointed. I'll qualify this post before I start by saying obviously as a Donegal supporter I'm going to see the game through that lens and I'm going to focus on what we did wrong rather than what Dublin did right.

I feel we left that one behind us. An awful lot of unforced errors in and around the middle third, easy turnovers for the Dubs and also poor wides/dropping the ball into Cluxtons hands (I remember at least twice, maybe three times). This was especially evident in the first half to be honest and I feel that half is really where we lost it. We came out in the 2nd half and played a lot better, we got a fantastic team goal (handpassing is terrible isn't it?), but after Connolly's red card I feel we weren't sure what to do. It was a pity. Odhran was really quiet and we need a couple of his monster points yesterday.

Overall though I walked away feeling like the Dubs are not invincible and we just didn't give a good account of ourselves. It was there for the taking and too many of our lads weren't at the level needed unfortunately - I don't know what to put that down to - I suppose sometimes it's just not your day. I know the Dublin goal was a classy goal, however personally feel it put a bit of a gloss on it for the Dubs, but a loss is a loss I suppose. We did a lot of silly things, losing the ball under no pressure really, sloppy stuff. Also I hope if we're going to start using Murphy in at full forward more, that we start practicing the ball into him. How many times was he out in front and the ball into him was awful? You have to give him and McBrearty at least a chance of winning their own ball.

On the sending offs, I don't really think Connolly can have any complaints. I would say the wrestling with Ryan got started because of Ryan's own frustrations at his runs being checked at every opportunity, and I hate refs booking both players in that situation but it seems the norm. You see it all the time, Murphy gets it a lot, Donaghy gets it, O'Shea gets it - it's not nice but until they sort out the rules it's to be expected and just ask your players to keep their cool. His second yellow he can have absolutely no complaints, a very sloppy tackle. For O'Gara's, I suppose by the letter of the law it's a red but it was a really pathetic call from the umpires in my opinion.

I think at this stage we should be saying Ryan McHugh is our most important player. He is a fantastic footballer and a really special talent. Hopefully there won't be too many retirements but I would like to see the younger players being used a lot more going forward, especially the likes of Ciaran Thompson and Stephen McBrearty.

Finally, a word on Colm Anthony. Always a supreme talent for us, his performance v Tyrone in the 2004 Ulster semi-final was one of the best I've ever seen on a GAA pitch. He got dogs abuse for being caught smiling when we lost that day in Crossmaglen and unfairly so. While he wasn't as involved this year, he'll always be remembered as one of our best ever forwards if not the best. Thanks for everything Colm, one of the greats.

Best of luck to the Dubs going forward."
JoeSoap

I see what you're getting at but the goal came against the run of play - Dublin were well on top and switched off, but it was an excellently worked goal, even after the goal and losing a man, Donegal still weren't committing men forward and that is down to your own poor play and rigidness to this defensive system.

The record states in 2016

Dublin 3 - Donegal 0

So since 2014 Dublin have beaten Donegal 4 times

We have your number now, we've setup accordingly and are much better balanced side compared to 2014

That is something that Donegal will need to address going forward, because I don't see you beating Dublin anytime soon, if you stay as rigid as you are now, again not to sound big headed but I'm just being honest, I think we 100% have your number now.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 08/08/2016 10:36:39    1897865

It's a brutal system that the better teams will always beat now cause it's been figured out. Donegal have some of the best players in Ireland in Mchugh's Murphy and Mcbreaty etc but by playing this system it makes it easy now for opposition teams to cover Murphy Mcbreaty etc and there being starved of possession, Were down to 13 men and Donegal are still playing defensive football wtf go for it its there for you's but there so programmed they couldn't change their approach. Sad to see imo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2016 10:50:23    1897880

Replying To jimbodub:  "JoeSoap

I see what you're getting at but the goal came against the run of play - Dublin were well on top and switched off, but it was an excellently worked goal, even after the goal and losing a man, Donegal still weren't committing men forward and that is down to your own poor play and rigidness to this defensive system.

The record states in 2016

Dublin 3 - Donegal 0

So since 2014 Dublin have beaten Donegal 4 times

We have your number now, we've setup accordingly and are much better balanced side compared to 2014

That is something that Donegal will need to address going forward, because I don't see you beating Dublin anytime soon, if you stay as rigid as you are now, again not to sound big headed but I'm just being honest, I think we 100% have your number now."
Don't mean to suggest that we outfoxed Dublin and were just sloppy, but I definitely feel our sloppiness contributed to momentum being lost and a bit of deflation. After the goal we hit 3 wides I think before giving up a soft free which Dean Rock put away very well. That's poor play on our part and nothing really to do with tactics. After a goal you have all the momentum and need to capitalise, and we didn't. That's what frustrates me as a supporter.

Of course the system, especially in the final 10/15 minutes was very frustrating to watch as a Donegal supporter as you just want your team to go for it in that situation. But look, I know the Dubs have come on leaps and bounds since the ambush in 2014 especially defensively - I just feel it was a much closer contest than I've seen suggested in some places I suppose.

Some of the point scoring was brilliant from yourselves especially from Connolly. As a football fan I hope he sorts his temper out because he's the best pure footballer in the country... apart from Ryan McHugh of course :)

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/08/2016 10:54:51    1897882