Dublin v Donegal

Have been thinking about this game all week, last Sunday morning tbh I thought we haven't a chance but as the week goes on I'm beginning to feel about more positive about us pulling off a shock... That's probably normal, probably being blind by my bias towards my county...

A lot needs to go right for us on the day, there has been much talk about Dublin missing two and maybe three key defenders, which surely surely will have an impact on them, this can only be exploited if Donegal actually go for the dubs, if we do that's why I feel we can win the game, it will actually suit Dublin if we line up ultra defensively as these weaknesses cannot be exploited then. We obviously still need to maintain a very strong defensive set up but just need to commit more men to the attack as well...

Do I have faith in the manger to really go for Dublin, no I don't as I fear he will try and replicate the 2011 AI semi as opposed to the 2014 semi... If we do this then we will lose simple as..

My other major concern is midfield, dublin will push up on our kick out and I fear our midfield will struggle... We need to make changes in here, I would start mc Niallias & H mc Fadden in midfield and Leo on the 40 and young gillespie in defence instead of Karl.... We need players to come off the bench who are going to make impacts, we would then have Toye, Mc Elhinney, Kavanagh, Lacey all to come on as the game goes on and it possible slows up a little....

This is an outstanding Dublin team, no one can deny that, but I feel there is a deja vu feel about this game from the 2014 especially since Kerry are awaiting the victors.... so I'm gonna be bold and stick a few quid on us at 11/2..

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 04/08/2016 13:23:18    1895438

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Are you well cork pushed them the whole way even if it wasn't high based not many Donegal games are, of course the 6 day turnaround is a factor ya may be looking for a scapegoat if ye get rolled over.

Still fancy the dubs by 5 or 6."
Were you at it? I was. Zero intensity! Most Donegal fans will agree. Compare that game to the Ulster Final. No comparisson. No tiredness factor. Donegal will be good to go. Cork got close because Donegal played most of it in 2nd gear.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/08/2016 14:10:20    1895513

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Leo was the standout club player in Donegal last year. Dragged his club to victory in the final against the fancied Eunans.
He is a bull of a man, well capable of breaking tackles and feeding runners off his shoulder. (Something that was missed vitally against Tyrone IMO)
He's also very composed when through on goal, rarely passes up a chance. In a game where we'll need goals to win, I think Leo's inclusion this weekend should be a certainty. Whether he'll start or not is another story."
Leo McLoone is definitely a very talented versatile sort of player, and he is bull strong, his strength is very deceptive by the look of him. He brings intensity to games, although I reckon his impact might be better felt if he was introduced at the mid point in the 2nd half.

I don't know if Donegal know precisely where to play him though, I think midfield might be his area, although he is often seen playing in a variety of roles.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/08/2016 15:01:36    1895585

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Leo McLoone is definitely a very talented versatile sort of player, and he is bull strong, his strength is very deceptive by the look of him. He brings intensity to games, although I reckon his impact might be better felt if he was introduced at the mid point in the 2nd half.

I don't know if Donegal know precisely where to play him though, I think midfield might be his area, although he is often seen playing in a variety of roles."
Agree with you there. Leo's versatility could be seen as a hindrance to himself in a peculiar sort of way. He has never really nailed down a definite position. For me, he should be CHF. He has the physicality for the middle third exchanges. He has great ball carrying ability and as I mentioned earlier, is perhaps an underrated goal scorer. Playing him inside to work as a target man is an option, but it is too predictable. He's not the paciest of players for making darting runs. I feel he is much better suited further out the pitch where he can get on ball and drive at teams.

In my opinion the ideal scenario is having big Neil fit for midfield, Leo at CHF and playing Murphy inside at FF. Unfortunately due to injury and perhaps some behind the scenes friction we are unlikely to see the above scenario in action.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 04/08/2016 15:16:26    1895600

Replying To ben1977:  "Have been thinking about this game all week, last Sunday morning tbh I thought we haven't a chance but as the week goes on I'm beginning to feel about more positive about us pulling off a shock... That's probably normal, probably being blind by my bias towards my county...

A lot needs to go right for us on the day, there has been much talk about Dublin missing two and maybe three key defenders, which surely surely will have an impact on them, this can only be exploited if Donegal actually go for the dubs, if we do that's why I feel we can win the game, it will actually suit Dublin if we line up ultra defensively as these weaknesses cannot be exploited then. We obviously still need to maintain a very strong defensive set up but just need to commit more men to the attack as well...

Do I have faith in the manger to really go for Dublin, no I don't as I fear he will try and replicate the 2011 AI semi as opposed to the 2014 semi... If we do this then we will lose simple as..

My other major concern is midfield, dublin will push up on our kick out and I fear our midfield will struggle... We need to make changes in here, I would start mc Niallias & H mc Fadden in midfield and Leo on the 40 and young gillespie in defence instead of Karl.... We need players to come off the bench who are going to make impacts, we would then have Toye, Mc Elhinney, Kavanagh, Lacey all to come on as the game goes on and it possible slows up a little....

This is an outstanding Dublin team, no one can deny that, but I feel there is a deja vu feel about this game from the 2014 especially since Kerry are awaiting the victors.... so I'm gonna be bold and stick a few quid on us at 11/2.."
I think at this stage of the championship when you get two of the higher ranking teams meeting in a knockout scenario it is very difficult to say with any certainty how much will be in it either way at the end.I would be cautious about where Dublin are at this point in time because we really have not seen anything that would suggest we are as strong as this time last year and until we see what happens when we meet yourselves or any team that puts us under pressure that question is still unanswered.
Certainly will not be putting any cash down on the result.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/08/2016 15:18:58    1895605

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jesus you's love this Leo fella , he didn't look that great last Saturday and the manager is no fool, he's obviously not at it."
The smoking gun of why Donegal lost the Ulster final

Leo McLoone....more like Leo Messi!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 04/08/2016 15:23:07    1895606

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Leo McLoone is definitely a very talented versatile sort of player, and he is bull strong, his strength is very deceptive by the look of him. He brings intensity to games, although I reckon his impact might be better felt if he was introduced at the mid point in the 2nd half.

I don't know if Donegal know precisely where to play him though, I think midfield might be his area, although he is often seen playing in a variety of roles."
I have always thought that centre half back was Leo's best position. He mostly played half forward for JMcG though. He is pretty good at full forward as well.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/08/2016 15:26:39    1895610

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I think at this stage of the championship when you get two of the higher ranking teams meeting in a knockout scenario it is very difficult to say with any certainty how much will be in it either way at the end.I would be cautious about where Dublin are at this point in time because we really have not seen anything that would suggest we are as strong as this time last year and until we see what happens when we meet yourselves or any team that puts us under pressure that question is still unanswered.
Certainly will not be putting any cash down on the result."
I hear you dude, it's just because of the odds that I feel it's worth a punt, if we were 2/1 or anything shorter I wouldn't look near it, few bob on it that might pay for sat nights beverages, but nowhere near the amount I stuck on in 2014.. That in itself says a lot about my own confidence in this one... If JMG was the healm I would have way more faith but just don't trust the line to get us out of this one.. But stranger things have happened and I for one would be very happy to be proved wrong...

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 04/08/2016 15:46:49    1895648

Replying To Seansy48:  "The smoking gun of why Donegal lost the Ulster final

Leo McLoone....more like Leo Messi!"
Nah it's no smoking gun... Yous won the game fair and square...

Are we not as a county allowed to question why we feel one of our better players is not getting game time.... I'm sure yous have been vocal in querying why some of your players over the years wasn't getting game time, not to mention questioning your manager, who will go down as one of the best ever, and rightly so....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 04/08/2016 16:05:40    1895676

Replying To ben1977:  "Nah it's no smoking gun... Yous won the game fair and square...

Are we not as a county allowed to question why we feel one of our better players is not getting game time.... I'm sure yous have been vocal in querying why some of your players over the years wasn't getting game time, not to mention questioning your manager, who will go down as one of the best ever, and rightly so...."
Aye fair enough you can question it if you want, it gets a bit much when it's mentioned in almost every comment and the match was almost a month ago though!

At that point it sort of feels like sour grapes, do you think Tyrone have had zero gripes over everything since 2011 there's an average of just over a goal between the sides in all that time with 2013 being a bit of an outlier as a 6 point win.

If you want Leo on the team fair play to ya, it's when you start to insinuate that he would have made the difference in a nip and tuck game it gets annoying, you have to start imagining all the mad scenarios that didn't happen and where they're lovely to think about they're fictional. Donegal are the tight game specialists, Donegal are supposed to thrive when the game goes into the melting pot...they didn't this time and you need a reason as to why, maybe the reason is no more than your opposition. I could say to you we played into Donegals hands in the first half and played our game in the 2nd and that was the difference but it doesn't matter does it.

On to the next one !

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 04/08/2016 16:48:54    1895729

This will be a tough one

Donegal def have a big performance in them

I think this game will act as great motivation for Dublin

This is what that panel of players need after already achieving so much over the last 5 years

But it's not going to be at all easy

Donegal will be parking the bus and looking to counter. Dublin will need to be patient but they are so bloody well versed at playing against defence first strategies at this stage, it will take goals in order for Donegal to win this one IMO

I feel without additional cover that our full back line is quite dodgy under the high ball

The Dublin FB line is there to be got at but this will only be done by a team adopting a more offensive game plan

The question is do Donegal have the nut sacks to try and play a little more open against Dublin?

Sure whatever happens - whoever wins will be worthy winners. Two excellent teams with plenty to be proud about over the last number of years

May the best team win

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 04/08/2016 16:49:27    1895732

He rarely gets mention on threads but Brian Fenton has totally given us a new dimension the kid is outstanding he has it all I'm hoping from another big one from him this Saturday. Also this is a big day for young John Small his first start in a massive game I hope he is ok cause he'll have Donegal's own road runner running at him all night.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2016 18:23:53    1895794

Replying To Seansy48:  "Aye fair enough you can question it if you want, it gets a bit much when it's mentioned in almost every comment and the match was almost a month ago though!

At that point it sort of feels like sour grapes, do you think Tyrone have had zero gripes over everything since 2011 there's an average of just over a goal between the sides in all that time with 2013 being a bit of an outlier as a 6 point win.

If you want Leo on the team fair play to ya, it's when you start to insinuate that he would have made the difference in a nip and tuck game it gets annoying, you have to start imagining all the mad scenarios that didn't happen and where they're lovely to think about they're fictional. Donegal are the tight game specialists, Donegal are supposed to thrive when the game goes into the melting pot...they didn't this time and you need a reason as to why, maybe the reason is no more than your opposition. I could say to you we played into Donegals hands in the first half and played our game in the 2nd and that was the difference but it doesn't matter does it.

On to the next one !"
God help you if you have to listen to reasons why we maybe lost the Ulster final...we have listened to every possible excuse down through the years from not only you but a good few other Tyrone posters.... But the funniest excuse I heard was actually by yourself a few weeks ago on the Tyrone v Donegal thread, you were blaming the size of the pitch in Mac cumhaill park as a reason for your losing some of them.......I rest my case....

For what it's worth I think we lost it on the line, where mickey Harte simply outfoxed Rory gallagher, that is the grip I have when it wasn't working it required change of personel and we will never Know if leo mc loone would have made a difference but I think it's a very reasonable thing to ask as the game was only won with 3 minutes to go....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 04/08/2016 19:24:21    1895832

So we are going to be without 2/3 key defenders according to most commentators /analysts

Personally, given the strength in depth of the Dublin squad I think it is only fair that we be allowed to field 15 players instead of 12!!!

... or if you prefer, anyone that thinks that the loss if Jack, Rory and possibly James will be the decisive factor in this game is probably going to be proved wrong. This game will turn on one or two small things because the standard between the teams is close.

I would say the story of the match will be something nobody has thought about yet, you know like Frank McGlynn scores two goals, McBrearty is held scoreless and Donegal win by a point because Dean Rock scored a point from a penalty instead of a goal. That sort of thing.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 04/08/2016 20:02:03    1895852

By the way Dublin don't play a sweeper other teams drop men back which leaves Cian O Sullivan wide open , If teams go man on man Dublin will go man on man. The only difference from '14 is instead of the whole team bombing forward Cian will stay back and mind the defence but we're still open at the back but nothing like '14. We will give teams chances it's up to them to take them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2016 20:04:24    1895853

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He rarely gets mention on threads but Brian Fenton has totally given us a new dimension the kid is outstanding he has it all I'm hoping from another big one from him this Saturday. Also this is a big day for young John Small his first start in a massive game I hope he is ok cause he'll have Donegal's own road runner running at him all night."
Agree with you Clondalkin, Fenton is turning into a huge player for us. Just as well I think as Michael D's form has been patchy at best. Bastick is a 35 min player right now and O'Conghaile hasn't stepped up yet so we don't have a lot of options if we are being cleaned out in the middle. I fancy us to push up on Donegal's kickouts so the middle will be crucial here. Small has been outstanding since he has come in. A lot of fuss was made about Jack being unavailable but really we have a great replacement in Small. You'd be hard pushed to find a better half-back line of Small - COS - McCarthy. All like getting forward and people who say that we were stronger a couple of years ago must remember that COS was playing as a makeshift midfielder back then. Fenton has more than filled that position and COS is now back in his natural HB role. I'd be worried about the FB line, especially if Murphy plays in there. ROC would tie him up but Fitzy or Cooper would struggle. We may see Philly in there and Cooper on McBrearty maybe. Flynner needs a decent game, again he has been patchy, and Dermo needs to get the head down and do his stuff. Going to be intriguing. Dublin by a landslide or a very tight one going either way. Up the Dubs!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/08/2016 20:13:49    1895860

Replying To ben1977:  "God help you if you have to listen to reasons why we maybe lost the Ulster final...we have listened to every possible excuse down through the years from not only you but a good few other Tyrone posters.... But the funniest excuse I heard was actually by yourself a few weeks ago on the Tyrone v Donegal thread, you were blaming the size of the pitch in Mac cumhaill park as a reason for your losing some of them.......I rest my case....

For what it's worth I think we lost it on the line, where mickey Harte simply outfoxed Rory gallagher, that is the grip I have when it wasn't working it required change of personel and we will never Know if leo mc loone would have made a difference but I think it's a very reasonable thing to ask as the game was only won with 3 minutes to go...."
OK Ben if it's not the size of the pitch in addition to the defensive scheme in Ballybofey then what is it, because it's simply factual information that Donegal are no where near as dominant or consistent in any other ground.

I mean you undermine it all you want but across league and championship Donegal are a much better team in Ballybofey, Tyrone rule out Healy Park to the dimensions of Croke Park and low and behold they tend to play their best football in Croke Park and always have under Mickey Harte. Donegal have been frankly inept in Croke Park since 2011 the record is 7-4, the fact you managed to convert 1 run into an All Ireland has made you look much better. Let's even consider Clones since 2011 considering you've been the "dominant" force 8-3 is fairly pathetic when you bare in mind all 3 losses have been in finals and it's a 5 year period we're looking at. If you compared that to Armagh last decade it'd be silly.

So here's the kicker and ultimately my point, Donegal haven't lost a single game in Ballybofey in league or championship since Jim implemented the system not one! Even the year they were relegated they didn't lose, the worst result was a draw to Dublin. They've lost in Letterkenny and Ballyshannon so you can't say it's the fans.

So please go ahead and explain to me how Donegal can be the most dominant team in the country but only when playing at one pitch in the country, if you were so much better as a team than Tyrone that whole time then why not move the match to Clones to let more fans enjoy a day out?

You could say that was very anti-G.A.A spirit but I tell you what it did seem to help you win

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 04/08/2016 20:47:35    1895873

Replying To Seansy48:  "OK Ben if it's not the size of the pitch in addition to the defensive scheme in Ballybofey then what is it, because it's simply factual information that Donegal are no where near as dominant or consistent in any other ground.

I mean you undermine it all you want but across league and championship Donegal are a much better team in Ballybofey, Tyrone rule out Healy Park to the dimensions of Croke Park and low and behold they tend to play their best football in Croke Park and always have under Mickey Harte. Donegal have been frankly inept in Croke Park since 2011 the record is 7-4, the fact you managed to convert 1 run into an All Ireland has made you look much better. Let's even consider Clones since 2011 considering you've been the "dominant" force 8-3 is fairly pathetic when you bare in mind all 3 losses have been in finals and it's a 5 year period we're looking at. If you compared that to Armagh last decade it'd be silly.

So here's the kicker and ultimately my point, Donegal haven't lost a single game in Ballybofey in league or championship since Jim implemented the system not one! Even the year they were relegated they didn't lose, the worst result was a draw to Dublin. They've lost in Letterkenny and Ballyshannon so you can't say it's the fans.

So please go ahead and explain to me how Donegal can be the most dominant team in the country but only when playing at one pitch in the country, if you were so much better as a team than Tyrone that whole time then why not move the match to Clones to let more fans enjoy a day out?

You could say that was very anti-G.A.A spirit but I tell you what it did seem to help you win"
There you go again, your blaming the pitch in Ballybofey... I really can't say any more.... We played the games in Ballybofey because they are home games so we have a right too, I couldn't imagine yous giving up home advantage if those games were home for you, just so more people can get in to watch it..... Did they move the pitch in clones in those two games that we beat yous in also but most have made it bigger for this years Ulster final you will tell me.... They must be moving the pitches down in Kerry in as well cause they have a phenomal home record also....

Don't think anybody stated that we were the most dominant team apart from yourself really.. We have had the upper hand on yous for a few years basically because we were better, not pitches, not crowds but because we were better... Now that yous have beaten us I suspect the tide will turn in your favour, that's sport, that's what happens, but I won't be on here questioning pitch sizes etc.... But I will tell you one thing I will be on here questioning is the manager, if he doesn't play players that the whole Donegal public feels should be playing who may just have made a difference in a tight game. You seem very touchy about this and I don't know why... Yous have won your Ulster title, but don't expect the whole country to go laying out the red carpet and pat yous on the back, cause we didn't get too much of it, nor did we want it or care... Titles is all that counts...

I wish you well on Saturday as I wouldn't be a fan of Mayo, I suspect yous may need it, the same as ourselves...

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 04/08/2016 22:48:07    1895940

Replying To Seansy48:  "OK Ben if it's not the size of the pitch in addition to the defensive scheme in Ballybofey then what is it, because it's simply factual information that Donegal are no where near as dominant or consistent in any other ground.

You could say that was very anti-G.A.A spirit but I tell you what it did seem to help you win"
Ah Seansy stop it, you are embarrassing yourself. Ballybofey is one of the biggest pitches in the country. Of course teams want to play at home.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 04/08/2016 23:21:37    1895953

Replying To benjyyy:  "Ah Seansy stop it, you are embarrassing yourself. Ballybofey is one of the biggest pitches in the country. Of course teams want to play at home."
OK I have checked out the pitch sizes for both Omagh and Ballybofey and it shows someone is delusional.

Omagh: 142 m × 86 m
Ballybofey: 145 x 90 m
Croke Parl: 144.5m x 88m

Ballybofey is actually a much bigger pitch than Healy park & similar to Croke Park.

Also I seem to remember that Donegal beat Tyrone in 2011 and 2012 in Clones, or did JMcG turn up the night before and secretly shorten the pitch.

Tyrone should enjoy their Ulster Final win and not be worrying about past results against Donegal. Some times it is the case that the other team are just better than you, for example Tyrone were better than Donegal this year and deserved their win.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 05/08/2016 09:32:10    1896033