Dublin v Donegal

Replying To Brianmac78:  "Havent been overly impressed with Dublin to date. Id have predicted Donegal but for the 6 day turnaround think that will take its toll"
Donegal weren't tested last week. I was at the game. No pace to it at all. Challenge game feel to it. Donegal can't argue about tiredness. Expect them to be right at it Saturday. And if they win the qualifiers will have got them "battle hardened". If they lose "tiredness".

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/08/2016 14:06:46    1894764

This is a great Dublin team no doubt about that, but they can be beat, don't think we are in the right place this time to do it though, injuries/tiredness/Ulster campaign etc. If we had won Ulster and met them in the final,with maybe having Neil back from injury and Murph fit,we might stand some chance, at the minute it would really be a miracle or a Dublin implosion if we win this quarter final.
I remember how Dublin panicked in the last 10-15 mins in 2014, taking on pot shots and missing badly,think they even started missing handy enough frees if I rem right,
Tyrone and Kerry at their best would not crack like that, Mayo might,I seen them implode a few times over the years, losing games they should have won, eg the drawn semi final with Kerry in 2014 also.
So while I think the Dubs have a great team and squad, there is a chink in their armour, question is though who is good enough to expose it, maybe no one this year.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 03/08/2016 14:53:59    1894823

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "This is a great Dublin team no doubt about that, but they can be beat, don't think we are in the right place this time to do it though, injuries/tiredness/Ulster campaign etc. If we had won Ulster and met them in the final,with maybe having Neil back from injury and Murph fit,we might stand some chance, at the minute it would really be a miracle or a Dublin implosion if we win this quarter final.
I remember how Dublin panicked in the last 10-15 mins in 2014, taking on pot shots and missing badly,think they even started missing handy enough frees if I rem right,
Tyrone and Kerry at their best would not crack like that, Mayo might,I seen them implode a few times over the years, losing games they should have won, eg the drawn semi final with Kerry in 2014 also.
So while I think the Dubs have a great team and squad, there is a chink in their armour, question is though who is good enough to expose it, maybe no one this year."
Dublin had two goal chances early. Cooper playing at Centre Half Back was a mistake. Gavin got things wrong that day no doubt. Donegal took full advantage.

But to question the teams mentality and say they folded is a bit disrespectful. If they were so flakey they went on the next year to do what?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/08/2016 15:17:01    1894845

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "This is a great Dublin team no doubt about that, but they can be beat, don't think we are in the right place this time to do it though, injuries/tiredness/Ulster campaign etc. If we had won Ulster and met them in the final,with maybe having Neil back from injury and Murph fit,we might stand some chance, at the minute it would really be a miracle or a Dublin implosion if we win this quarter final.
So while I think the Dubs have a great team and squad, there is a chink in their armour, question is though who is good enough to expose it, maybe no one this year."
I think Tyrone , Kerry and just about anyone would be happy enough to look back on one so called 'implosion' in recent years if they managed to bag 3 AIs around that. Some like to talk of Dublin imploding but it is the generally the opposite. There have been hard fought wins over Kerry , Mayo and indeed Donegal to start it all in 2011 (which heralded a new resilient Dublin). If Dublin had lost any of those big games, folk would be calling it implosion. Were those games not indications of the opposite? Instead of panic, they showed patience and dealt with the severe challenges put up to them.

Sometimes you just lose cos you got it wrong on the day and your opponents got it right.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 03/08/2016 15:34:17    1894859

Replying To JayP:  "Dublin had two goal chances early. Cooper playing at Centre Half Back was a mistake. Gavin got things wrong that day no doubt. Donegal took full advantage.

But to question the teams mentality and say they folded is a bit disrespectful. If they were so flakey they went on the next year to do what?"
I would agree with you JayP. I wouldn't describe Dublin's performance in 2014 as flakey either. They did panic towards the end when they still had time to knock over a few points but this was a result of being in a proper game for the first time that season. I will always maintain that the first 20mins was the best football I've ever seen from any team and it was a privilege to be there to witness it. Donegal hung in there though and managed to get ahead at halftime and Dublin must of been wondering how they were behind at the break. Donegal grew with confidence after the break and Dublin started to take wrong options and as a result the game finished the way it did.

Looking at this years fixture I would argue that the Dublin 2014 version was a better footballing side than it is now but the Dublin 2016 version won't panic in any situation and are probably an all round better team when you take into account how they have improved defensively. Donegal will have around 10 of the same starting team they had in 2014 on Saturday and I'd say half of those players aren't as good as they once were but the other half have definitly improved. The loss of Gallagher and Durcan are huge and could be decisive. Donegal need to get everything spot on to have a chance in this game, the key match ups and the use of the bench is really important as Donegal will struggle with the 7 day turnaround. The media again are not being Dublin friend with all the talk being will Kerry be able to challenge Dublin in the semi and this I'm sure will fuel Donegal but Gavin has been excellent at not letting this effect his players in the recent past. If I was a neutral I'd lean towards a Dublin victory but I hope there is a big performance in Donegal this weekend which we didn't see v Cork and I'm gonna go with a 2 point win for Donegal with Christy Toye coming off the bench to score the vital goal towards the end #vintagetoyetheboy

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 03/08/2016 15:57:35    1894875

We have had plenty of opportunities over the last few years to panic or implode as you call it but this team has shown on more than one occasion that they have the metal to win in circumstances where previous teams would do the opposite. AIs and semis won in tight hard fought games. If we loose, and I have already stated elsewhere that that is quiet possible this year as you do not take two of the best defenders in the country out of any team and still be as strong, it will not be down to panic or implosion but simply because it it extremely difficult to win back to back titles anymore and especially without the too lads. Fair play on your win in 2014 but talk of panic is wide of the mark. Teams that do panic would not have the titles this team have to their name over the last 5 years.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/08/2016 15:59:22    1894878

James McCarthy declared fit.
We're doomed, doomed.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/08/2016 19:18:07    1895000

yup probably the best performing player in 2016 in the country,

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 04/08/2016 09:08:43    1895162

Just cause Jim said he's fit doesn't mean he's fit, Jim picks a lot of dummy teams so I won't be confident till I see him lining up half back when the balls been thrown in. Also talk about forgotten men where the hell is Colm McFadden? The real poty in '12 and always gives us hell I haven't seen him all year is he retired?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2016 10:04:49    1895197

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just cause Jim said he's fit doesn't mean he's fit, Jim picks a lot of dummy teams so I won't be confident till I see him lining up half back when the balls been thrown in. Also talk about forgotten men where the hell is Colm McFadden? The real poty in '12 and always gives us hell I haven't seen him all year is he retired?"
A shadow of his former self clondalkin. He got a short run out in the Ulster final replay but I fear his best years are well & truly behind him

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/08/2016 10:21:46    1895208

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just cause Jim said he's fit doesn't mean he's fit, Jim picks a lot of dummy teams so I won't be confident till I see him lining up half back when the balls been thrown in. Also talk about forgotten men where the hell is Colm McFadden? The real poty in '12 and always gives us hell I haven't seen him all year is he retired?"
Colm is still there but used less frequently now. Possibly a good man to bring on when things open up a bit in the second half. Push him inside along with Paddy if we need a goal!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 04/08/2016 10:22:46    1895209

You could be right, normally when a manager declares a player fit & ready, they are not. Great player, so would be a big miss.

Colm McFadden hasn't been picked by Rory Gallagher this year. He came on for a few minutes at the end of the Ulster final but far too late to make an impression. It is strange that he isn't getting at least 10-15 minutes at the end of each game. But nobody can make any sense of Rory's use of the subs bench this year. The media keep saying Donegal have no subs bench but in the Ulster final our subs bench consisted of Colm McFadden, Leo McLoone & Martin McElhinney. We also have some excellent young players like Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Darach O'Connor and Stephen McBrearty. That is not exactly a shabby subs bench.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/08/2016 10:38:35    1895225

Replying To JayP:  "Donegal weren't tested last week. I was at the game. No pace to it at all. Challenge game feel to it. Donegal can't argue about tiredness. Expect them to be right at it Saturday. And if they win the qualifiers will have got them "battle hardened". If they lose "tiredness"."
Are you well cork pushed them the whole way even if it wasn't high based not many Donegal games are, of course the 6 day turnaround is a factor ya may be looking for a scapegoat if ye get rolled over.

Still fancy the dubs by 5 or 6.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 04/08/2016 10:41:36    1895227

This game is crying out for EOG lads!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/08/2016 10:50:06    1895237

JayP, donegal looked tired the last day because they were tired. I dont think that the players would fake it, it would be too risky. Commentators are pointing this out, not keyboard warriors. I do think that we still have enough for a good rattle on saturday. The reality is that if the dubs click, it wont matter too much about the opposition - tiredness or perfect preparation for that matter. I think that the dubs have 3 big games to win to win sam. If they beat donegal, it would be an excellent preparation for the rest of the campaign.

I hope we start Leo Mcloone. he potentially could play out of his skin to prove a point.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/08/2016 11:04:55    1895257

Replying To Jackeen:  "This game is crying out for EOG lads!"
The way Donegal play doesn't normally suit the opposition inside men as there is very little space. To be honest your forward line is well packed with star players and will have Kevin Mc on the bench. Has EOG played much this year? He can be very effective at times.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/08/2016 11:10:16    1895266

The most excited ive been about a Dublin game in a very, very long time.

Butterflies in the belly.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/08/2016 11:21:03    1895275

Replying To Jackeen:  "This game is crying out for EOG lads!"
I don't know if he would. Eamon had him fairly well under warps in 2014. I'd be way more wary of Kev Mc than O'Gara.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 04/08/2016 11:26:10    1895280

Jesus you's love this Leo fella , he didn't look that great last Saturday and the manager is no fool, he's obviously not at it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2016 11:28:44    1895285

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jesus you's love this Leo fella , he didn't look that great last Saturday and the manager is no fool, he's obviously not at it."
Leo was the standout club player in Donegal last year. Dragged his club to victory in the final against the fancied Eunans.
He is a bull of a man, well capable of breaking tackles and feeding runners off his shoulder. (Something that was missed vitally against Tyrone IMO)
He's also very composed when through on goal, rarely passes up a chance. In a game where we'll need goals to win, I think Leo's inclusion this weekend should be a certainty. Whether he'll start or not is another story.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 04/08/2016 12:04:44    1895324