Dublin v Donegal

Great double bill next Saturday really looking forward to it. Donegal may have suffered from the hangover effect today but playing the Dubs in a packed Croke Park should sharpen them up.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 30/07/2016 19:52:49    1892448

9/2 Donegal to beat us, gotta be worth a punt!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 30/07/2016 19:55:39    1892452

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh dub posters will ye give it a rest. Cutehoorism at its worst. Dublin received 1.8 million , Donegal have what 40k when it comes to funding, nothing would make me happier than for Donegal to send Dublin packing, but these days money buys you all Irelands, Dublin by 10 unfortunately."
What a ridiculous and bitter comment.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 30/07/2016 19:57:58    1892453

Replying To Donegalman:  "You could be right, but there is a big difference between us in 2014 and this year.

However, I am not writing off our chances either. You just never know."
Yeah,ye are in with a good shout I reckon. We're. Not exactly at our strongest either which I fear will become evident sooner rather than later.All to play for.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/07/2016 20:14:21    1892465

Replying To realdub:  "9/2 Donegal to beat us, gotta be worth a punt!!"
A lot better than he odds that were being offered in 2014.

We won by 0-6 that day, so obviously 0-10 is on!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/07/2016 20:14:56    1892467

I can see the Dubs winning the first half by 5 or 6 points. The second half l see being tighter, but Donegal will need to find a goal or two, so will need to leave two players up as an outlet for quick ball. They didn't do this once today and never produced a goal threatening move as a result. I wouldn't completely write them off though... they have too many assets.

Next week's two quarters have a semi-final look to them.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/07/2016 20:16:42    1892468

Replying To dubarra:  "What a ridiculous and bitter comment."
Pay no attention ,I don't think he's the full shilling. Says stuff and then forgets he said it and gets himself in a muddle.
Best to let him rattle on for a bit and eventually he will nod off.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/07/2016 20:18:53    1892470

Replying To realdub:  "9/2 Donegal to beat us, gotta be worth a punt!!"
Definitely.

But I cant bring myself to ever bet against The Dubs.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/07/2016 20:44:52    1892490

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "A lot better than he odds that were being offered in 2014.

We won by 0-6 that day, so obviously 0-10 is on!!"
I know youre having a laugh but in all seriousness they were crazy odds in fairness. Totally unjustifiable.
Donegal had won the all Ireland convincingly 2 years before that semi final, and had pretty much perfected their system, and should in no way have been written off the way they were.
Their victory that day in 2014 was nowhere near the shock it was made out to be.
As an aside, do i detect a bit of niggle between both sets of supporters? Could be an interesting afternoon (for those who can get tickets and or have sky anyway)

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/07/2016 20:57:55    1892504

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Pay no attention ,I don't think he's the full shilling. Says stuff and then forgets he said it and gets himself in a muddle.
Best to let him rattle on for a bit and eventually he will nod off."
With all the awareness of mental heath issues these days, I find your comment ignorant in the extreme, also very disappointed in mods for allowing such a comment, full shilling? I'll have you know i have a maters degree, and make more in a month than you will make in a lifetime.
But sure off you go with your derogatory comments about those with mental health issues. Disgraceful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2016 21:08:26    1892509

Donegal - you know what you have to do. Like Tyrone did with Kerry, get in the Jacks faces, harass them, annoy them, wind them no end and you know who to target. Now go and get them.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 30/07/2016 21:09:33    1892511

This is too close to call. Donegal are a better team than last year and they're very hard to play against. They're going to be a real sickner for the Dubs. It took full concentration for 78 minutes from Tyrone in a very hot Clones to catch them. They did it in 4 magic minutes during added time. Mayo will give Tyrone a tough game also. kerry will sail past Clare and I d expect Galway to beat Tipperary.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 30/07/2016 21:11:35    1892514

Replying To dubarra:  "What a ridiculous and bitter comment."
What's ridiculous in it? Does dubs receive app that amount? Does Donegal receive similar to what I said? Yes, as for dubs been beat? Of course id love that, I'm a Meath man and I hate them in footballing terms, personally I love them as people, that's why I married one, so nothing bitter there, and I have said thousands of times how they are probably the greatest team ever, doesn't mean I like them though.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/07/2016 21:17:40    1892518

Replying To royaldunne:  "With all the awareness of mental heath issues these days, I find your comment ignorant in the extreme, also very disappointed in mods for allowing such a comment, full shilling? I'll have you know i have a maters degree, and make more in a month than you will make in a lifetime.
But sure off you go with your derogatory comments about those with mental health issues. Disgraceful"
Ooh you really are desperate to play the victim aren't you. You are just playing to the gallery now but I'd imagine most on here know you're form.
A master's degree,ha,ha ha, you probably genuinely believe that.
Don't be getting yourself in a state at this time of the evening now dear.
Cocoa and bickies will be here soon.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/07/2016 21:17:48    1892519

Replying To waynoI:  "Definitely.

But I cant bring myself to ever bet against The Dubs."
I hear ya wayno but business is business :D
Muckrosshead, don't think it'll be ten but your odds are still generous :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 30/07/2016 21:21:17    1892520

Joncarter hindsight is a great thing but at the time it was a massive shock , Donegal were terrible in '13 were solid in '14 without being 2012 standard and fell over the line against Armagh in the quarters by a point I think while Dublin had more or less bet everyone easy enough for two years running playing the best football I've ever seen, I remember even on here very few if any Donegal posters gave there team a chance. Now if Donegal win this game it won't be as big a shock as '14 , with the players were missing and James a big worry Donegal can hurt us big time. Straight away I'm thinking no Jack to match Ryan Mchugh's pace no Rory to match Murphy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/07/2016 21:22:55    1892523

Replying To royaldunne:  "With all the awareness of mental heath issues these days, I find your comment ignorant in the extreme, also very disappointed in mods for allowing such a comment, full shilling? I'll have you know i have a maters degree, and make more in a month than you will make in a lifetime.
But sure off you go with your derogatory comments about those with mental health issues. Disgraceful"
You make more in a month than he/she will make in a lifetime? Now that's some statement.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/07/2016 21:24:15    1892526

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I can understand where you are coming from but I wouldn't see beating this Donegal team as revenge for 2014.

They are a shadow of that side with two of our most influential players Neil Gallagher & Michael Murphy not driving things. Neil Gallagher missing completely & Murphy is obviously carrying an injury. In 2014 everyone was fit & short of that Donegal would not have won that day & won't next Sunday."
How come wen Murphy is terrible people keep saying he's injured???

He doesn't look inj and is just clearly outta form and has been fir a very long time...

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/07/2016 21:26:42    1892529

Replying To Pericles:  "I can see the Dubs winning the first half by 5 or 6 points. The second half l see being tighter, but Donegal will need to find a goal or two, so will need to leave two players up as an outlet for quick ball. They didn't do this once today and never produced a goal threatening move as a result. I wouldn't completely write them off though... they have too many assets.

Next week's two quarters have a semi-final look to them."
You clearly didn't watch the gsme as Murphy spent most game inside with PMB

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/07/2016 21:30:09    1892530

Replying To Administrator:  "This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Dublin

Dublin v Donegal

Here we go again , Donegal looked open all day but they'll be way more defensive next Saturday , I remember them against Armagh two years ago they were average at best so this game tells us nothing, still doh you'd have to fancy Dublin to win."
That Armagh game and the difference in team set up from the quarter final to semi was the first thing I thought of at the final whistle today. Likewise expect a similar change back to a more defensive strategy next week but unlike 2014 I don't think that either the players or management are any longer there to pull off a similar result this time

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 30/07/2016 21:39:01    1892534