Kerry coming in under the radar?

Replying To legendzxix:  "We neglected our youth and are in a long period of transition as a result since retirements from a great team started in 2010. We won our first minor in 20 years in '14. People are rightly looking North and West for potential challengers. No qualms about it. Ciarraí abú!"
Brian Begley, Mark O'Connor, Jason Foley, Killian Spillane ,Andrew Barry and Micheal Burns will be stars in next year or two

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 26/07/2016 16:12:40    1890491

Kerry use some sort of cloaking system like the Klingons in star trek they only show up on the sensors when it is too late.
I think it is Kerry's Sam to lose and it will take a great team to beat them....
Cos Kerry are great and they must be feeling the pressure of thier under the radar greatness glow from all those previous all-ireland winners medals.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 26/07/2016 17:19:50    1890550

Replying To KYTitletown:  "made the all conquering Tipp and Clare sides look perfectly average at best - We had the luxury of playing them in our own pitch (Derry, Laois Roscommon didn't have that advantage), would have been a lot less comfortable in Thurles or Ennis as history proves

Haven't had to anything special - Well this is an average Kerry team so you aren't going to see anything special

blatant and disingenuous hyperbole campaign - Telling it as we see it as opposed to wearing green and gold goggles

one decent performance - Decent is going to dethrone the Blue Behemoth? Talk about disingenuous

all the experience in the world - That's just the thing we have too much experience relying on 35+ yr olds trying to hold back the Tidal Waves of young and in their prime Dublin players coming forward. Not going to happen

As Mickey Harte said recently you need players who are good athletes and can play ball, we have players who are good athletes and others who can play ball but very few that have both ingredients together and that is why you have the 'Big 3' and the rest."
I would have to agree with that post. The present Kerry team will beat most teams but to beat Dublin you need to match them for pace as well as footballing ability. Kerry have the footballing ability but they no longer have the pace. Last year ( like ourselves this year ) when they needed a bit of pace in the second half they called on the likes of Sheehan, Donaghy and Galvin, great players but no longer great athletes. Kerry need to rebuild and with their pedigree that won't take more than two or three years. If, as seems likely, they meet Dublin in a semi final, that's as far as they will get. The only team that can match Dublin for pace is Tyrone. Whether or not they have the ability remains to be seen, but I have my doubts. Everybody else is making up the numbers. Mayo and Donegal are on the slide and Galway , although improving, are still light years away from the Dubs standard. So in answer to the original post, Kerry have had a relatively easy run to here, which may or may not benefit them, but the immovable object is still in their way.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 26/07/2016 17:20:21    1890552

Replying To Mullerm:  "The last few weeks we are hearing all the talk who will Sam. Dublin, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal even Galway. There is no talk of the number 1 county in Gaelic Games Kerry. This is the county with 36 titles are who are the cream of the crop who always rise to the top. If forgotten they deservably won Sam Maguire 2 years and reached the final. This great supposingly great Dublin have never reached 2 finals in a row. Yes the dubs have beating Kerry in last finals but remember Kieran Donaghy should have had a penalty in both games which were game changing moments. Kerry didn't take both league game seriously this year especially playing a round of club championship the week before league final. Anybody taking a match serious wouldn't be allowed to play club football. This makes me believe Eamonn Fitzamaurice is waiting in the long grass with a huge plan to catch the dubs on the hop? A bit like Jimmy McGuinness planning for Dublin in 2014. The word from friends in kingdom county that they are to employ a mass blanket defence breaking forward. They will use clare as target practice to get ready for semi. Are Kerry coming in under the radar? There playing themselves down a lot but now only 2 games from winning Sam. They have won last 4 munster senior & junior titles and 3 munster titles. Also going for 3 in a row in minor all ireland and 2 in a row at Junior. They cleaning up All Irealnd club titles intermediate and junior level year in year out and now starting to dominate at school level. Who said Kerry football is dead? The future is bright!!!!!"
Who are you talking to? Everyone I know has Dublin out in front then Kerry next, followed by Tyrone, Mayo and Donegal. They are second favourites as they are with the bookies. Daft thread.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/07/2016 17:33:10    1890556

Dublin are no 1 followed by Tyrone- the bookies get it wrong sometimes (just look across the water). I pretty much agree with the analysis by LLaw_Gyffes who sums it up quite well

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 26/07/2016 18:41:14    1890589

Replying To browncows:  "Dublin are no 1 followed by Tyrone- the bookies get it wrong sometimes (just look across the water). I pretty much agree with the analysis by LLaw_Gyffes who sums it up quite well"
Never said they don't but the poster said nobody is mentioning Kerry which is nonsense.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 26/07/2016 19:26:48    1890606

Fog can come under radar..but disappears

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 26/07/2016 19:57:50    1890618

Kerry are second favs but I think you're spot on. I'm still struggling to see where the tyrone hype is coming from.
Dublin are annihilating teams...I don't know if the Dublin supporters will agree but I don't think they are going near as well this year. They aren't creating all the goal chances they were previously....missing the runs of mccaffery, McCarthy and even Philly to create the chances.
For those reasons I think this could be Kerry's year. They've 2/3 big players coming back in as well.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/07/2016 08:58:37    1890775

For proper perspective, all you have to do is to look at the bookies. They have dublin at odds on, with kerry 2nd favorites.

There is nothing wrong with the bookies radar.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/07/2016 13:28:01    1890927

Nearly fell off my high stool there! If the beat Dublin then there's no telling what they can do but then will someone else do them a favour?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 27/07/2016 15:06:35    1890997

Jaysus even when kerry arent that good people still reckon theyre up to somethin.
Theyve played the dubs in 3 big championship games since 2011 (and a league final),lost them all and if anything the gap is getting bigger.
Kerry will get to the semi but they wont get past the dubs, not because theyre trying to lull the dubs into a false sense of security in order to ambush them in 2017 or anything like that, but because like everyone else in the country at the mo, theyre not good enough.
Simples.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 27/07/2016 18:59:51    1891142

Replying To Donegalman:  "For proper perspective, all you have to do is to look at the bookies. They have dublin at odds on, with kerry 2nd favorites.

There is nothing wrong with the bookies radar."
Them same bookies had both Roscommon and Derry as favourites last weekend, which is why I got both my predictions wrong.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 27/07/2016 19:01:43    1891145

Replying To tiobraid:  "Kerry are second favs but I think you're spot on. I'm still struggling to see where the tyrone hype is coming from.
Dublin are annihilating teams...I don't know if the Dublin supporters will agree but I don't think they are going near as well this year. They aren't creating all the goal chances they were previously....missing the runs of mccaffery, McCarthy and even Philly to create the chances.
For those reasons I think this could be Kerry's year. They've 2/3 big players coming back in as well."
/3 All Stars to return James O'Donoghue, David Moran and Anthony Maher. who can compete with that?

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 27/07/2016 20:37:19    1891192

No. This Kerry team is too old. But hope people keep talking them up. More hype around Kerry these days than the Dubs which is good for us. Dublin ans Tyrone are head of Kerry

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 27/07/2016 20:52:18    1891210

Don't want to sound like Kevin Keegan, but God, I'd love it if Clare beat them. Do miracles happen?? I can't see it. But football can be a funny old game. Clare by 1 or 2 or Kerry by 10+. Clare really need to believe in themselves!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 27/07/2016 20:59:40    1891215

Not the greatest Kerry team by any stretch but there beating what's put in front of them at the moment.
They will be very fresh on Sunday v Clare may start slowly and gradually finish off Clare but not without a fight.
I expect it to be very very close and not ruling out a shock.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/07/2016 21:32:12    1891228

Kerry totally obsessed with Dublin. There hardly has been an interview with a player, manager or ex-players in the last 6 months that Dublin isn't mentioned. Eoin Liston shows total disrespect to clare by constantly talking about semi-final v Dublin. god, maybe Dublin won't even make it to that stage. I think Dublin have become the tyrone of the noughties to the kingdom, like a monkey on their back. Coming in under the radar, hardly. They are the aristocrats of football with 37 all-irelands' so it is nearly a given that they will be in the latter stages of the championship. To win the all-ireland they will have to find improvement on their performances over the last 2 years but that is entirely possible.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 28/07/2016 16:23:02    1891616

You have a point Adamski , this year has been fairly boring from a Kerry perspective, Dublin too I may add.
Coming in or over the radar, it wont matter Kerry will win handily on Sunday but will then be beaten handily I am afraid by Dublin unless something drastic happens in the meantime.

I still think Mayo can beat the Dubs..From Kerry's perspective, prob need Cork to beat Donegal and Dublin to get drawn against Mayo in the 1/4s . Otherwise Kerry will be exiting at semi final stage.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 28/07/2016 16:38:53    1891627

You have to admire bombers arrogance. I think he spot on. Fitz has been training g for semi final since January though I feeling it will be Kerry Mayo semi final and Galway and tyrone the other.

Mullerm (Cork) - Posts: 87 - 28/07/2016 17:45:06    1891661

Under, over or skating along the feckin radar, they are fooling nobody!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/07/2016 10:38:58    1891872