Time to rebrand GAA grounds? (As Gaelic hubs)

Seems to me like you're the one showing insecurities, Royal Dunne. I have yet to meet anyone in the southern jurisdiction who has been put off joining a GAA club because they organise a céilí or Irish classes or something like Scór na nÓg; most will partake of the GAA activities that they want to and opt-out of the other ones. Obviously, in the North it may be slightly different, but you're probably on a loser trying to sell gaelic games to Unionists anyway.

It's great that you enjoy gaelic games simply due to their sporting dimension, but there are many for whom the cultural dimension is just as important, and no, it doesn't make them insecure in their identities. It merely means that they have different beliefs to yourself. Why you would take such grave exception to the odd few words of Irish (and let's face it, that's all it is) at a match is anyone's guess, but you're probably at odds with the majority of GAA patrons who are secure enough in their identities not to be overly-bothered by it.

As for haemorrhaging talent to rugby and soccer, I'm not sure that that is the case, but if it is, the lack of a reliable fixtures' schedule and games in the summer months probably has a lot more to do with it.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2016 10:51:11    1858768

Am I right in thinking there are a few public sector jobs for which you need to demonstrate a certain level of knowledge of the Irish language? If that's the case, it becomes a bit more than ceremonial.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/05/2016 10:52:30    1858769

Strange that he picks up on the word 'athletic' and uses that to further his argument and conveniently ignores the 'Gaelic' part.

I think we're all well aware of his views by now given some of his previous posts over the years Hurlinspuds, hes quite obviously involved in the wrong association

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 26/05/2016 11:03:51    1858776

Like royaldunne, when I go to a Gaelic ground I'm there to see the game, not a ceili, not to see the flag, not to hear the anthem (which personally, I honestly believe is a poor anthem, unbefitting of the beautiful country we have), not to hear people speaking Irish etc etc.

Now I'm easy going and I couldn't give a s**** if these things are present at the games but why waste time with them when probably most people paid their money to see the actual games, the rest is just a sideshow. The Gaa has a bloody great product and their time and resources would be better spent promoting the games and striving to retain underage players.

The cultural stuff people can do in their own time.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2016 11:31:49    1858805

Meath has a reputation for being a "suburb" of South Dublin, not West or North. Some very very middle class areas there. Who seem to wish they lived in Dun Laoghaire rather than Dunboyne. The point I am making here is the GAA are never going to match the World wide appeal of Soccer, or the "British" appeal of rugby.
You will never have a British Lions team in the GAA- or a Real Madrid either. You could have a British Gaels team though or a Madrid Irish GAA team.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 26/05/2016 11:54:44    1858813

Some here saying Royaldunne is an intolerant guy and insecure just because he doesn't like the Irish language. Jumping to a lot of conclusions about him. Let him off, he's as much of a Gael as any of us and could be fluent in many languages. A lot of people don't like Irish because it was compulsory in school and in some cases was rammed down students throats like a lot of subjects. Respect their opinions rather than judging them. I liked it but it's a while since my Leaving and I'd have only a few phrases. It used to annoy me to hear Splanc on Newstalk, D4 accents and broken gaeilge, trying hard to be cool I thought. Splancers I called them. Nowadays sure I think at least they're keeping the language alive in some sort of way, though the accents still does my head in!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 26/05/2016 12:01:04    1858819

Replying To galwayford:  "Meath has a reputation for being a "suburb" of South Dublin, not West or North. Some very very middle class areas there. Who seem to wish they lived in Dun Laoghaire rather than Dunboyne. The point I am making here is the GAA are never going to match the World wide appeal of Soccer, or the "British" appeal of rugby.
You will never have a British Lions team in the GAA- or a Real Madrid either. You could have a British Gaels team though or a Madrid Irish GAA team."
Where in the name of jaysus would I park me David Brown 1490 if I moved to Dun Laoghaire? typical soft townie comment there galwayford, not all of us in Meath live in them fancy towns and personally I prefer the peace of the country (although incidentally my address is Dunboyne), you're showing yourself up lad :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2016 12:24:43    1858846

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Am I right in thinking there are a few public sector jobs for which you need to demonstrate a certain level of knowledge of the Irish language? If that's the case, it becomes a bit more than ceremonial."
You need to pass a test in the Irish language to work in many public sector jobs (certainly for the Gardaí, teaching and judiciary, and probably also to work as a doctor, though I'm open to correction on that).

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 26/05/2016 12:41:28    1858856

Replying To Gleebo:  "Seems to me like you're the one showing insecurities, Royal Dunne. I have yet to meet anyone in the southern jurisdiction who has been put off joining a GAA club because they organise a céilí or Irish classes or something like Scór na nÓg; most will partake of the GAA activities that they want to and opt-out of the other ones. Obviously, in the North it may be slightly different, but you're probably on a loser trying to sell gaelic games to Unionists anyway.

It's great that you enjoy gaelic games simply due to their sporting dimension, but there are many for whom the cultural dimension is just as important, and no, it doesn't make them insecure in their identities. It merely means that they have different beliefs to yourself. Why you would take such grave exception to the odd few words of Irish (and let's face it, that's all it is) at a match is anyone's guess, but you're probably at odds with the majority of GAA patrons who are secure enough in their identities not to be overly-bothered by it.

As for haemorrhaging talent to rugby and soccer, I'm not sure that that is the case, but if it is, the lack of a reliable fixtures' schedule and games in the summer months probably has a lot more to do with it."
+1

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 12:49:39    1858865

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Some here saying Royaldunne is an intolerant guy and insecure just because he doesn't like the Irish language. Jumping to a lot of conclusions about him. Let him off, he's as much of a Gael as any of us and could be fluent in many languages. A lot of people don't like Irish because it was compulsory in school and in some cases was rammed down students throats like a lot of subjects. Respect their opinions rather than judging them. I liked it but it's a while since my Leaving and I'd have only a few phrases. It used to annoy me to hear Splanc on Newstalk, D4 accents and broken gaeilge, trying hard to be cool I thought. Splancers I called them. Nowadays sure I think at least they're keeping the language alive in some sort of way, though the accents still does my head in!"
Nobody is saying someone isn't a gael... whatever that is.
I think royaldunne is insecure because he is the one that keeps going on about identity and passports and is getting angry at other people for not being like him and ignoring the langauge. I think you should read our exchange again. The guy is upset because other people like something he doesn't. He is obviously intolerant and pretty poor at expressing himself into the bargain.

If someone doesn't want any culture surrounding the game then we shouldn't play the anthem beforehand? That sounds nuts to me. Best memories of childhood are the anthem making the hairs on the back of my head stand up before throw in at munster finals in thurles. I don't think there is that much cultural pageantry before most games. Just the anthem, the flag and that's it. I like how the GAA do it to be honest.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 12:58:13    1858867

Replying To Htaem:  "Like royaldunne, when I go to a Gaelic ground I'm there to see the game, not a ceili, not to see the flag, not to hear the anthem (which personally, I honestly believe is a poor anthem, unbefitting of the beautiful country we have), not to hear people speaking Irish etc etc.

Now I'm easy going and I couldn't give a s**** if these things are present at the games but why waste time with them when probably most people paid their money to see the actual games, the rest is just a sideshow. The Gaa has a bloody great product and their time and resources would be better spent promoting the games and striving to retain underage players.

The cultural stuff people can do in their own time."
I agree about our national anthem.It's not great to be honest.Nowhere near the likes of Germany,Scotland,Wales,France and Italy.
Also,it is in Irish,obviously.I am the only one who hasn't a clue what i'm singing before games begin.I'll rattle out the words and like many i'll build up to a rousing last chorus when men and woman of sound mind start bawling like banshees with clenched fists and gritted teeth.Sometimes i feel like the lunatics really have taken over the asylum.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 13:30:03    1858883

I should'nt slag Meath. Meath has the only Gaeltacht on the East coast- the Rathcairn Gaeltacht. So well done to the Royals for this. slán agus beanacht libh go Léir.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 26/05/2016 13:49:38    1858891

.I am the only one who hasn't a clue what i'm singing before games begin.I'll rattle out the words and like many i'll build up to a rousing last chorus when men and woman of sound mind start bawling like banshees with clenched fists and gritted teeth.Sometimes

In fairness it'd probably only take you about 5 mins to learn what the words to Amhrán na bhFiann mean. It's hardly that long. You could find out the meaning to any anthem the world over in the same amount of time.

I'm not a big fan of Amhrán na bhFiann myself to be honest so I'd agree with you there but I think if you're going to sing it then you should probably know what you're singing ;)

You never now cueder, you mightn't agree with the words you've been singing all these years! Maybe it's all about how terrible taxi drivers are!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 26/05/2016 14:20:41    1858902

Replying To cuederocket:  "I agree about our national anthem.It's not great to be honest.Nowhere near the likes of Germany,Scotland,Wales,France and Italy.
Also,it is in Irish,obviously.I am the only one who hasn't a clue what i'm singing before games begin.I'll rattle out the words and like many i'll build up to a rousing last chorus when men and woman of sound mind start bawling like banshees with clenched fists and gritted teeth.Sometimes i feel like the lunatics really have taken over the asylum."
I agree with you on Wales, France and Italy. Three of my favourite anthems for sure. I don't agree on Germany and Scotland though, they always sound incredibly dreary to me, particularly the Scots. Dutch anthem is dull as ditchwater as well.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/05/2016 14:49:37    1858926

Replying To cuederocket:  "I agree about our national anthem.It's not great to be honest.Nowhere near the likes of Germany,Scotland,Wales,France and Italy.
Also,it is in Irish,obviously.I am the only one who hasn't a clue what i'm singing before games begin.I'll rattle out the words and like many i'll build up to a rousing last chorus when men and woman of sound mind start bawling like banshees with clenched fists and gritted teeth.Sometimes i feel like the lunatics really have taken over the asylum."
Ye I love the Welsh, French, Scottish and Italian anthems, the 6 nations is blessed with 4 of the best national anthems around. But sadly Amhran na bhfiann is quite lifeless and God Save the Queen is rubbish to be honest, surely they could do far far better than that, Vindaloo is better song for christ sake!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/05/2016 15:17:20    1858943

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye I love the Welsh, French, Scottish and Italian anthems, the 6 nations is blessed with 4 of the best national anthems around. But sadly Amhran na bhfiann is quite lifeless and God Save the Queen is rubbish to be honest, surely they could do far far better than that, Vindaloo is better song for christ sake!"
World in Motion wad top notch (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 15:39:52    1858969

Replying To MesAmis:  ".I am the only one who hasn't a clue what i'm singing before games begin.I'll rattle out the words and like many i'll build up to a rousing last chorus when men and woman of sound mind start bawling like banshees with clenched fists and gritted teeth.Sometimes

In fairness it'd probably only take you about 5 mins to learn what the words to Amhrán na bhFiann mean. It's hardly that long. You could find out the meaning to any anthem the world over in the same amount of time.

I'm not a big fan of Amhrán na bhFiann myself to be honest so I'd agree with you there but I think if you're going to sing it then you should probably know what you're singing ;)

You never now cueder, you mightn't agree with the words you've been singing all these years! Maybe it's all about how terrible taxi drivers are!"
Agh mes of course ive read the english translation over the years.I l know its about patriotism,fighting for independance,pride etc.It really doesn't matter because i do not understand Irish.Even if i study the transmation i will forget it.Bar cupla focail it may as well be in Chinese.Its like a Frenchman singin his anthem in Swahili.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 15:47:39    1858979

Replying To cuederocket:  "World in Motion wad top notch (:"
New Order and Joy Division before them top notch in general in my opinion!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 26/05/2016 16:27:28    1858995

Replying To cuederocket:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  ".I am the only one who hasn't a clue what i'm singing before games begin.I'll rattle out the words and like many i'll build up to a rousing last chorus when men and woman of sound mind start bawling like banshees with clenched fists and gritted teeth.Sometimes

You never now cueder, you mightn't agree with the words you've been singing all these years! Maybe it's all about how terrible taxi drivers are!"
Agh mes of course ive read the english translation over the years.I l know its about patriotism,fighting for independance,pride etc.It really doesn't matter because i do not understand Irish.Even if i study the transmation i will forget it.Bar cupla focail it may as well be in Chinese.Its like a Frenchman singin his anthem in Swahili."
Cue if you don't have the memory to learn it and remember it in both languages then you're either lazy or sustained a serious undiagnosed head injury at some point that prevents you from carrying out simple tasks. I presume it's the former.

Read your constitution, Irish is the first language of the country you call home. A french man singing swahili is only a legitimate comparison to you. Thousands of Irish people speak Irish, many don't speak it and still love it. There is no reason why you can't learn what it means.
Amhrán na bhFiann was sung by the rebels in the GPO at the foundation of our State. I think it's a great anthem. When I have watched rugby matches and have had to listen to that pop song by phil coulter 'ireland's call', now that is a poor excuse for an anthem.

Welsh anthem is great. I like flower of scotland as well. I would worry about anyone who likes the german anthem.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 26/05/2016 16:44:43    1859007

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "New Order and Joy Division before them top notch in general in my opinion!"
Agree.Top music.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/05/2016 17:05:36    1859015