Pat Spillane's team of the Century

Replying To realdub:  "3 in a row thanks to refs, ah come on now Kingdomboy1, that post smacks of a crumbling empire :D"
It's true realdub watch and see.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/01/2017 20:33:38    1942686

Replying To realdub:  "3 in a row thanks to refs, ah come on now Kingdomboy1, that post smacks of a crumbling empire :D"
And you're right our empire is crumbling there was a good piece in the paper today about Martin skelly GAA presidential candidate from Longford where he said he was so surprised that Kerry underage teams could only field 13 aside teams for the feile this year. And it's gonna be the same up and down the western seaboard in years to come.
So there will be nothing to stop ye now kid.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/01/2017 20:43:44    1942691

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And you're right our empire is crumbling there was a good piece in the paper today about Martin skelly GAA presidential candidate from Longford where he said he was so surprised that Kerry underage teams could only field 13 aside teams for the feile this year. And it's gonna be the same up and down the western seaboard in years to come.
So there will be nothing to stop ye now kid."
Thats a disappointing headline, but a bit misleading one imo. I think that the GAA is the no 1 sport on the western seaboard with the exception of pockets of soccer here and there. I am confident that Kerry will bounce back, as they have won the past 3 all ireland minors. The challenge they face is keeping all those players together and I am sure they will if the manager follows them from under age to senior in years to come. The AFL is the only obstacle in the way of those lads and due to the fact that a tiny minority of irish players makes it in the big leagues down under, then I think it wont be a deal breaking factor for kerry GAA.

I think that kerry, dublin, mayo and tyrone will be the contenders this year. Kerry are on the mayo side of the draw so they will most likely meet in the semis. Dublin and Tyrone are on the other side, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it wont pan out that side of the draw the way people expect. I sense that Meath will have a large say in issues in leinster this year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/01/2017 22:17:52    1942700

Replying To Donegalman:  "Thats a disappointing headline, but a bit misleading one imo. I think that the GAA is the no 1 sport on the western seaboard with the exception of pockets of soccer here and there. I am confident that Kerry will bounce back, as they have won the past 3 all ireland minors. The challenge they face is keeping all those players together and I am sure they will if the manager follows them from under age to senior in years to come. The AFL is the only obstacle in the way of those lads and due to the fact that a tiny minority of irish players makes it in the big leagues down under, then I think it wont be a deal breaking factor for kerry GAA.

I think that kerry, dublin, mayo and tyrone will be the contenders this year. Kerry are on the mayo side of the draw so they will most likely meet in the semis. Dublin and Tyrone are on the other side, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it wont pan out that side of the draw the way people expect. I sense that Meath will have a large say in issues in leinster this year."
I don't know Donegal man we have 3/4 young lads heading off playing soccer in England lads that are great young footballers throw on top of that Tadhg Kennelly taking the best of our minors . we need all our player as do all the country teams Out side the pale.
Maybe the GAA should only let afl teams look at Dublin players as they have 10 of thousands and can afford to lose a few.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/01/2017 23:54:45    1942714

Kingdomboy - Is it ever a case that the opposition are just better than Kerry or that there are always mitigating factors as to why Kerry were beaten on a given day? One thing you do have is a great memory for all the reasons why Kerry got beaten, I'll give you that.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/01/2017 10:12:47    1942751

Replying To keithlemon:  "Kingdomboy - Is it ever a case that the opposition are just better than Kerry or that there are always mitigating factors as to why Kerry were beaten on a given day? One thing you do have is a great memory for all the reasons why Kerry got beaten, I'll give you that."
Is our team of the teenies better than our team of the naughties Keith?
And is there anything that I've said that is untrue? It can all be checked up if you can spare time.
As for the refs bias towards the dubs anybody with eyes can see what was going on there.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 11:05:17    1942756

But surely all teams can use the because of such and such argument as to why they were beaten by Kerry on a given day. Therefore Kerry weren't necessarily better than team x, y or z it was the mitigating factors that caused the other teams loss.
Were there any defeats to Tyrone in the noughties that you'd put your hand up and say, no excuses, Tyrone beat us as they were simply better?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/01/2017 11:36:53    1942763

Replying To keithlemon:  "But surely all teams can use the because of such and such argument as to why they were beaten by Kerry on a given day. Therefore Kerry weren't necessarily better than team x, y or z it was the mitigating factors that caused the other teams loss.
Were there any defeats to Tyrone in the noughties that you'd put your hand up and say, no excuses, Tyrone beat us as they were simply better?"
Tyrone beat us fair and square in the 3 games that they played us in the naughties . Armagh also beat us fair and square In 2002 no complaints.
I think these days refs know they can do what they want to Kerry and any other teams outside the pale and they'll be no conciquencs for them.
In the premier league refs get suspended for making " mistakes " the GAA should do the same but they won't.
But if it was happening the dubs it wouldn't be long getting sorted imo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 13:34:02    1942783

Saffron to blame tyrones season on a death is complete bs and is no cheap shot cause sadly the exact same thing happened with our club in front of our senior players eyes at training. But we made it to the division 2 final that year and lost but not one of our players would use the death earlier on in the year as an excuse for our defeat division 2 runners up was a good year for Towers. Our whole club was devastated but once your on the pitch nothing else's matters but winning.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/01/2017 14:02:50    1942792

So it would only be when you lose to Dublin that it's not fair and square and this is all part of a wider conspiracy of referee's favouring Dublin based on a handful of decisions you can think of in a few high profile games in the last 6 seasons

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/01/2017 14:05:35    1942794

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know Donegal man we have 3/4 young lads heading off playing soccer in England lads that are great young footballers throw on top of that Tadhg Kennelly taking the best of our minors . we need all our player as do all the country teams Out side the pale.
Maybe the GAA should only let afl teams look at Dublin players as they have 10 of thousands and can afford to lose a few."
This happens every other year in Donegal. A big problem for sure. Some of those lads wont make it, and they will be home very quickly. The question is will they maintain their place with the selectors when they come home?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/01/2017 14:13:47    1942796

Kingdomboy blaming the refs on Dublin winning hahaha. excuses excuses excuses

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/01/2017 14:16:39    1942797

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy blaming the refs on Dublin winning hahaha. excuses excuses excuses"
When refs calls go against Dublin we all know you'll be one of the first to be making excuses. I was surprised that you didn't give your usual non bias views in the Team of the Year thread

football_man (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 03/01/2017 14:48:31    1942800

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tyrone beat us fair and square in the 3 games that they played us in the naughties . Armagh also beat us fair and square In 2002 no complaints.
I think these days refs know they can do what they want to Kerry and any other teams outside the pale and they'll be no conciquencs for them.
In the premier league refs get suspended for making " mistakes " the GAA should do the same but they won't.
But if it was happening the dubs it wouldn't be long getting sorted imo."
You're trolling at this stage.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 03/01/2017 14:50:34    1942801

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Saffron to blame tyrones season on a death is complete bs and is no cheap shot cause sadly the exact same thing happened with our club in front of our senior players eyes at training. But we made it to the division 2 final that year and lost but not one of our players would use the death earlier on in the year as an excuse for our defeat division 2 runners up was a good year for Towers. Our whole club was devastated but once your on the pitch nothing else's matters but winning."
well if it wasn't a cheap shot before it certainly is now. Who are you to say that it is a bullsh*t reason for having a bad year on the field? where you there? did you see the impact it had on the players? It was pretty evident in the emotions of the players and manager of Tyrone the following year when they lifted Sam again.

I'm very sorry to hear about your club player, I'm sure it must have been a horrible experience also and fair play to the team for making the final. No player or manager likes to make excuses and the said thing to do is admit that the team who beat you where simply better. That is also what Tyrone did when they lost in 04 but it would be extremely naive to think that both these horrible tragedies did effect these teams both physically and mentally.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 03/01/2017 15:29:43    1942809

Replying To football_man:  "When refs calls go against Dublin we all know you'll be one of the first to be making excuses. I was surprised that you didn't give your usual non bias views in the Team of the Year thread"
your usual non bias views in the Team of the Year thread

Sounds like you're very familiar with clondalkin and you've only posted 7 times.....you must have a put in a fair shift over Christmas reading through his posts

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/01/2017 15:32:00    1942811

Replying To keithlemon:  "So it would only be when you lose to Dublin that it's not fair and square and this is all part of a wider conspiracy of referee's favouring Dublin based on a handful of decisions you can think of in a few high profile games in the last 6 seasons"
I have no problem with dublins win over us in 2013 that was fair and square but the other 3 games against us in the championship I'd have big problems with the reffing .
Also the reffing in a few of our league incounters were very dodgy and was mentioned in some newspaper articles by non Kerry media.
It is what it is I guess , the GAA want a return on their big investment.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 15:35:55    1942812

Replying To Donegalman:  "This happens every other year in Donegal. A big problem for sure. Some of those lads wont make it, and they will be home very quickly. The question is will they maintain their place with the selectors when they come home?"
I know soccer is massive in Donegal and in fairness ye lose more than ye'r share as well Donegal man. Our counties can't handle that kind of loss and be expected to take on the dubs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/01/2017 15:54:31    1942814

Replying To keithlemon:  "your usual non bias views in the Team of the Year thread

Sounds like you're very familiar with clondalkin and you've only posted 7 times.....you must have a put in a fair shift over Christmas reading through his posts"
As I've said before been reading his bs for a long time. You seem to be very worried about him....

football_man (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 03/01/2017 16:25:57    1942819

Replying To football_man:  "
Replying To keithlemon:  "your usual non bias views in the Team of the Year thread

Sounds like you're very familiar with clondalkin and you've only posted 7 times.....you must have a put in a fair shift over Christmas reading through his posts"
As I've said before been reading his bs for a long time. You seem to be very worried about him...."
I'm more worried about your lack of imagination of your log in name - football_man
Wow!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/01/2017 16:33:01    1942820