Crossmaglen Rangers

Aaron Kernan's display of kick passing on Sunday was worth the admission fee alone, was like watching Dan Carter spray the ball around.

deanobe123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 34 - 01/12/2015 09:06:41    1810724

AthCliath

1810705 FoolsGold

Great side no doubt, but do the other Armagh teams not get sick of their continued dominance in Armagh? At least shake it up a bit and have something like the Kerry Championshoips with Amalgamations involved.

Its not Crossmaglens fault. it up to others to raise their game. Phenomenal record for a club .

I know it's not hence why I said should the other teams not amalgamate and give them a better game. They won the Armagh final this year by 18 points. They have won 19 out of the last 20 Armagh Senior titles.

They could 19 out of the next 20 too.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/12/2015 09:58:40    1810733

FoolsGold, talk about ur own county don't put Clubs in Armagh down, they work very hard every year to try and get close to cross, they would win the cavan championship with the subs they have on the line!! Every1 thinks that ever other cub team is rubbish cause they cant beat cross, Cross are the best and in finals seem to win handy apart from Sunday!!

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 01/12/2015 12:20:52    1810768

Serious outfit. Id say McGeeney will be in talks with A Kernan to get him back in the county ranks!! Hard to know what other clubs in Armagh can do at this stage. Scotstown may well struggle to get out of Monaghan next year, Cross winning Armagh however.. foregone conclusion.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 01/12/2015 15:41:34    1810871

Youngfella Cavan Club is poor I know that. Sure read the Cavann forum.

I think the Clubs in Armagh have to much repsect for Cross all the same, and are beaten before a game is played.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/12/2015 17:14:29    1810894

Talking to an Armagh man at the game on Sunday. By the sounds of him he gave the impression that the other Armagh clubs don't bother, as in don't put in the same effort as they don't think they could possibly win. So it's disheartening also Cross have a huge catchment area and have been known to take players from other clubs as well.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 01/12/2015 18:03:06    1810905

shaggylegend
County: Monaghan

1810905 Talking to an Armagh man at the game on Sunday. By the sounds of him he gave the impression that the other Armagh clubs don't bother, as in don't put in the same effort as they don't think they could possibly win. So it's disheartening also Cross have a huge catchment area and have been known to take players from other clubs as well. [/I]

Nonsense, cross have a small catchment and all their players are properly affiliated to the club and can trace their roots back. Some of the hardest games cross have are within Armagh and it is very insulting to state that other clubs 'don't bother', what complete nonsense and I think anyone with an ounce of sense can see your post for what it is. The sour grapes keep coming and coming.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 01/12/2015 19:38:38    1810931

Watched the first half of the game, and one thing I took from it was Aaron Kernan's bang to the head. Did any one else notice how his body reacted to the bang to the head, the position he lay in immediately after the bang and the way his arms were stretched out, my immediate reaction was to say that he got a concussion. The give away was his stretched out arms, a phenomenon known as fencing response, a clear indicator that someone has been concussed. Also the reaction of the medics. Found it a bit worrying that he was eventually aloud to play on. I know McConville has come out and said that they checked him for concussion, but then he was sent to the hospital afterwards to check out other injuries. At what stage are concussions going to be taken seriously and not a case of "ah you'll be grand"

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 01/12/2015 21:52:51    1810973

Nonsense, cross have a small catchment and all their players are properly affiliated to the club and can trace their roots back.

Do they also get their finger pricked and a picture of Our Lady burnt in their hands as a warning not to break the underground code of 'omerta'?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 02/12/2015 08:48:35    1810979

thats rubbish that teams in Armagh don't care cause cross are winning so much and they think they dont have a chance, I know for sure Maghery cullyhanna harps (even tho they had a bad county Final) and even the smaller teams think they can beat them!! So many ppl put the whole county down cause Cross are so good. Wish ppl would stop saying the other clubs are rubbish, if they were in other counties they would be winning or close in the Championship.

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 02/12/2015 09:34:07    1810983

Cross are still a top team but aren't dominating like they used to and won't win an AI this year. Omagh beat them handy enough last year and Scotstown could have had them yesterday. There was very little between Scotstown and Trillick in the semi final either, so if either of those teams get out of their counties again (Monaghan and Tyrone respectively), they'd certainly put it up to Cross. The big issue though is that neither Scotstown or Trillick are likely to make it out of the county next year - there's half a dozen teams capable of winning it in Tyrone any year and not much better in Monaghan. The last time a club won 2 in a row in Tyrone was 10 years ago. Crossmaglen by contrast are so far ahead of the rest of Armagh that they treat the county championship like a warm up
for the provincials. Tony Kernan said as much in yesterday's Irish News:

"… [after last year's loss to Omagh] we didn't know if our time of winning Ulster Clubs was over. We were just going to win a few Armagh Championships maybe and be happy with that …"

Very few teams in other Ulster counties would view the prospect of winning a string of county titles as a consolation prize!

That means that good current teams like Scotstown and Trillick most likely will not be heard tell of again for several years and the
provincial and AI club series will pass an entire generation of players by, while Cross more or less can plan to be in it every year.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 02/12/2015 13:51:08    1811051

Essmac, there is a lot of truth in what you say that we have been able to gauge our training to suit the Ulster championship. In terms of last year in Omagh, we were the better team by far in the first half but lost momentum and had 2 men sent off and we couldn't keep it going. Omagh only equalized with 5 minutes to go after we had been 6 up at half time. By the time they equalized we were down to 13 men and out on our feet and they only won it with 2 late points. I reckon if we had gotten over that game we would have gone on and won the Ulster as each game would have brought us on another step like this year.

The reason we are able to gauge our training for Ulster though is that we are so far ahead in Armagh in terms of quality. We have played this year with 15-17 players for most league games and we came second in the league without trying. It is a facility to develop other players. Next year will be different as we will have a group of minors available who were not available this year. 3 have already played championship football at senior and 1 is a regular now in Oisin O'Neill. We are simply getting stronger. Will we dominate? Who knows but 7 from the last 10 Ulsters is not bad domination in anyone's book.

As for Scotstown, Trillick and Kilcoo et al. Scotsown will be back, they have a group of very talented footballers. It will all depend on how they mentally get over the defeat. In Monaghan their only rivals are Clontibret and Ballybay. Either could beat them but they're not as strong. Trillick will struggle to get out of Tyrone, Kilcoo will struggle to get out of Down if Burren get their heads right. The reality though is we are were we are and that is top o the pile. We may or may not win an All Ireland but we have a slight advantage as we are the only group left in the competition who have players who have done it. That is a huge advantage when the going gets tough. Castlebar will feel they left one behind them in 2014, they have the chance to redeem themselves and they will have no better way to do it than to beat us!

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 02/12/2015 14:25:04    1811056

Absolute fantastic club with a great vision. They should set the blue print for any up and coming club. Yes in relative terms to the clubs left they are small but everyone believes they can win. Felt slighly sorry for Scotstown but they will be back. Darren Hughes alone could win them an Ulster and if you get out of there who knows what can happen.

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 02/12/2015 14:46:46    1811062

Ya Pati I noticed that hit Kernan got. It was a dirty, sneaky slap and had only one thing intended. I was beyond surprised to see him come back on as he was out cold for at least a minute, theres no way he couldnt have been concussed. I always admired and respected Cross without really liking them and to be honest that admiration and respect increased on sunday. Thought they were made work awful hard for their frees, the case in point being when kernan got peeled out of it, knocked out cold after going down on the ball and then a free given against him. Hate seeing the likes of kieran hughes (who's a lovely footballer) jumping around in fellas faces after winning a free/turnover, theres no need for it. The workrate of Cross' forwards was a joy to watch though. Fair play to cross, and of course Scotstown for putting on a great game. Looking forward to feb when the mitchells 'cross' paths wth rangers!

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 02/12/2015 14:47:51    1811063

Just a question for the Crossmaglen contingent..

How are Cross so much stronger than other clubs in Armagh?
I dont think Cross would be the biggest of towns but they seem to have an endless supply of talent coming through.
Do they poach up and coming players from other clubs or is everyone a born and bred in Cross.

It is a fairytale in itself with the much publicised troubles and the British army landing helicopters on their pitch.
I thought it was a golden generation they had with Oisin Mcconville, the McEntees etc but the supply line just keeps on coming!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 02/12/2015 16:21:17    1811083

just like Nemo in Cork, the club isn't focussed on winning things at underage

players are developed with an eye to producing players capable of playing senior football.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 02/12/2015 16:38:17    1811090

don_juan
Ya Pati I noticed that hit Kernan got. It was a dirty, sneaky slap and had only one thing intended. I was beyond surprised to see him come back on as he was out cold for at least a minute, theres no way he couldnt have been concussed.

Surely not don_juan. I didn't see it myself but over on the Monaghan board drumlinbelt seems to think nothing untoward happened and he was standing right in front of it.

drumlinbelt
County: Monaghan
In relation to the AK concussion. It happened right in front of where I was standing. Nobody but nobody could figure out what happened as there was clearly no contact arms, fists, leg contact between him and FMcP. At worst there was only body contact collusion. If AK was concussed, then the medical team have some serious questions to answer.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 02/12/2015 17:19:34    1811099

woops

Just a question for the Crossmaglen contingent..

How are Cross so much stronger than other clubs in Armagh?
I dont think Cross would be the biggest of towns but they seem to have an endless supply of talent coming through.
Do they poach up and coming players from other clubs or is everyone a born and bred in Cross.

It is a fairytale in itself with the much publicised troubles and the British army landing helicopters on their pitch.
I thought it was a golden generation they had with Oisin Mcconville, the McEntees etc but the supply line just keeps on coming!

It's actually pretty straight forward, there is nothing else apart from football in Cross for young lads to do so the club provides the best possible environment for them to work in and work hard developing their skills from a young age. If we win competitions at juvenile well and good but the main thing is to have senior footballers by the time they reach 19/20

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 02/12/2015 17:25:30    1811103

woops from Kerry

No one knows why Cross are so good.... do they have outsiders , the odd one, but in reality probably less than a Junior B team....

they are sucessful at underage and want to win everything...
2yrs ago they won the Ulster U-16 title and are now going for the Ulster Minor title....

Clann Eireann are putting serious work and maybe will challenge.... St. Pat's Cullyhanna have won 5 of the last 6 Co. U-21 FC titles... so its not all one way...

2yrs ago Cross minors played in Divison 2 and played Co. Minor B Championship football..... then again they won both

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 02/12/2015 19:49:06    1811142

Red diesel, sure you couldn't beat it.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 02/12/2015 20:16:34    1811147