Kerry- sore losers

Liam I'm about as rational and unbiased as the Dublin clique on here...

JamesH, I'll debate that all day long, scoring 0-12 in a final is hardly a forward masterclass either....

I will say one more thing while I'm here, there is such a thing as being Bad Winners.

Given their years of failure you would think Dublin posters would be a little more humble when they taste a bit of success.

As my fellow county poster said above, nothing on here this time last year but excuses as to why Donegal beat ye and sour grapes that a 'flukey' Kerry side had unfairly won an All Ireland somehow.

Short memories I suppose, roll on the League.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/11/2015 21:19:10    1803874

One question on this topic. If Dublin comfortably beating Kerry makes them better than Kerry, then why did Donegal comfortably beating Dublin only make them 'better on the day' or 'tactically better'?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/11/2015 09:27:19    1803907

I think Dublin's defeat of Kerry was the most comprehensive that I can recall in championship. Also its the third in a row so I suppose that can give some support to the suggestion that Dublin are the better team for now. On the matter of good/bad winners/losers Id have to say that any Dublin supporter I meet after AISF 94 accepted Donegal were the better team on the day and ditto for Kerry supporters after this years AIF. Kerry have a rich tradition of been gracious in victory and defeat ( what they say in-county is there own business! )so I was a little disappointed in JOC comments. I know in the full interview he accepted Kerry benefited from the replay last year but he should know the media will only grab the headlines that they want.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 03/11/2015 09:58:59    1803920

The Hermit,
This debate is now over and I have clearly won it. I see no point in arguing a case that has now been proven conclusively. Love can be blind but it shouldn't be stupid. Kerry supporter or not, make no mistake, ranting on that Kerry are a better team than Dublin at this moment in time when they clearly are not is plain stupid. Dublin are presently a better team than Kerry with the stronger and better balanced forwards. Furthermore, this great Dublin team has played some of the best attacking football we have ever seen at this level in the last 4 years and moreover, they've beaten Kerry 3 times inside 5 years, and it takes a very special team to do this. Dublin team of the decade? No doubt about it in my view. I'm not really sure how many more times you need to see Dublin beat Kerry in this decade but you'll get the chance because this Dublin side ain't finished yet.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 03/11/2015 11:25:03    1803962

JamesH,

To be honest I can't even remember what exact argument we seemed to have that you are dragging up here 3 months later, I think it something about no Kerry froward being good enough to get on the Dublin team.

I probably told you that was BS at the time. And I maintain its BS.

One bad day at the office does not make this Kerry team a bad side.

Every Kerry poster on here has congratulated Dublin on their victory and acknowledged they proved to be the best team this year.

To be frank you are not a poster that I would have any great time for, your disparaging views on Kerry and your ridiculous posts are well known to all and sundry on here.

So I'll leave you down there in Mayo be to enjoy the reflected glory of Dublin's win last September.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/11/2015 11:55:55    1803973

One question on this topic. If Dublin comfortably beating Kerry makes them better than Kerry, then why did Donegal comfortably beating Dublin only make them 'better on the day' or 'tactically better'?

You know well if we held our positions instead of all out attack we'd destroy Donegal, basically to beat Donegal you have to play the exact same way as them surely you know this after losing a final in '12 doing exactly what we did in'14? Kerry showed everyone how you beat Donegal cause really Donegal are not that great it's there system that win them an all Ireland when everyone else hadn't a clue what was going on.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/11/2015 12:11:31    1803977

TheMaster (Mayo) - 03/11/2015 09:27:19

The epitome of stupidity.
That's all that can be said about the above.

Donegal were better on the day that's obvious.
Dublin have beaten Kerry 3 times on the trot in championship this is more comprehensive evidence than one game last year ten brains.

As for you TheHermit, you want to lay off the generalisations there a bit. Your too quick to tar all with one brush.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 03/11/2015 12:18:53    1803980

TheHermit

You were also calling Kerry a team in transition too thehermit

Mentioned that Dublin were only winning because Kerry were in a transition phase

What's it to be?

Either you're as good as Dublin or you're not?

You're kind of all over the shop

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/11/2015 12:22:23    1803981

Jimbo when did I ever say Kerry were a team in transition?

They were that in 2013, but they weren't last year they won the bloody thing!!

SLLY, sorry to generalise but an awful lot of poster on here claiming to be from Dublin were getting their digs in against us last year claiming we were the worst and luckiest team every to win the All Ireland.

Now this year you won the All Ireland and dethroned us, (fair play to ye). But instead of enjoying it you have fella's scouring the papers for weeks after looking for anything coming out of Kerry that they can use to have another go at us.

I mean I don't understand what they want? Is it they expect us all down here to get on our knees down here and proclaim ye the greatest team of all time or something?

No one from Kerry has said anything about Dublin not deserving their title this year (in contrast to us last year) and yet we still have threads like this being started.

Its a pretty poor reflection on how some Dublin posters react in victory if you ask me.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/11/2015 12:45:29    1803991

SLLY, sorry to generalise but an awful lot of poster on here claiming to be from Dublin were getting their digs in against us last year claiming we were the worst and luckiest team every to win the All Ireland.

Now this year you won the All Ireland and dethroned us, (fair play to ye). But instead of enjoying it you have fella's scouring the papers for weeks after looking for anything coming out of Kerry that they can use to have another go at us.

TheHermit,
Fair enough, there are lads from all regions I'd agree that will always be on here and begrudge others there day in the sun and god knows there is one famous one who I referred to in my last post.
Look , we won and deservedly so as most Kerry lads have acknowledged so no argument there but just don't like to get thrown in with the bad mouthers as most Dubs don't view things that way as you probably are aware.If you win then goodluck to you and we're having a good run at the minute and glad of it.
God knows we had our lean years too.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 03/11/2015 13:07:18    1804000

Ahh would you shut up

The state of you

We're having a dig at JOC waffling on about the weather

Build a bridge ya wind bag

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/11/2015 13:10:29    1804002

I've been consistent the last year and I'll keep being consistent; that was a very average and lucky Kerry team to win Sam last year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/11/2015 13:25:08    1804009

Almost sure you were saying that Hermit

But yes perhaps it was 2013

So aplogies on that front

Listen

I'm only having a dig at JOC and a couple of other former Kerry players - as are most of the other Dubs

I have seen a few Dub posters generalising a bit which isn't right

I said after the match that Kerry posters have no doubt been gracious in defeat - but I have seen a few "better on the day" sound bites too

But that's harmless... this thread was setup in reference to former managers / players having a few excuses

Not about the general Kerry poster

And I def don't mind having a laugh at anyone overreacting to that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/11/2015 13:28:11    1804011

1803907 One question on this topic. If Dublin comfortably beating Kerry makes them better than Kerry, then why did Donegal comfortably beating Dublin only make them 'better on the day' or 'tactically better'?

That's where a bit of football knowledge comes in TheMaster. You can't just take match results in isolation and rank teams accordingly. If you did that Japan should have got to the world cup semi final!

Our basis for stating that Dublin are far superior to Kerry comes from watching both teams play over the past 4/5 years. It is clear to any football person that Dublin are far superior at the moment.

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 03/11/2015 13:32:33    1804016

TheHermit,

Now don't be selective, your taking things way out of context and then exaggerating. Have you a problem with the truth? Everyone can see exactly what was on written on HS All Ireland thread for which I posted links earlier. I wrote, if I had the pick of the two squads, that only JOD would make the Dublin forwards in 2015 and I stand by that opinion. The Dublin half forward line is among the very best of the modern era, if not the best. Not one of the Kerry half forward line would displace that line currently. Paddy Andrews has been outstanding in 2015 and so has Bernard Brogan. This left one slot in the full forward line where I would select JOD. I also wrote that Kerry did have brilliant forwards but that on balance Dublin's were better. Hermit, you can't handle the truth and being from Mayo does not invalidate my opinion. Moreover, i received a lot of positive feedback for my analysis of the All Ireland final and in tipping Brian Fenton to be the man of the match. Looking at it objectively and neutrally i could see only one winner and it pretty much panned out as I expected and won me a few bob! :-)) Now you keep saying you don't care but the inferior complex is pretty obvious.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 03/11/2015 17:23:54    1804149

On this years form Donnacha Walsh would be in ahead of Flynn

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 03/11/2015 17:36:25    1804153

Superglue

On this years form Donnacha Walsh would be in ahead of Flynn

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've been in the company of a few Kerrymen since the All Ireland final and well known one told me 'that Paul Flynn preformed on the day that mattered!' Enough said.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 03/11/2015 17:50:12    1804161

JamesH,

You are obviously a genius

Give yourself another few pat's on the back there

I'm sure every poster on Hoganstand will now want to express their awe and administration for you for correctly guessing the outcome of the final.

I look forward to seeing you on the Sunday Game next year

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/11/2015 19:14:42    1804191

TheHermit,
You're a beaten docket kid.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 03/11/2015 19:53:02    1804215

I told everyone on hoganstand that that was an average/lucky Kerry team in '14 and we'd destroy them if we met in '15 how I also said there half forward line wouldn't make the Dublin panel and I stand by that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/11/2015 20:04:10    1804219