Kerry- sore losers

Replying To CletusVanDamme:  "I'm sure Pat Spillane is happy that Dublin people are claiming that he is talking sense. It only took about 60 years. I must bookmark this and show him."
It's called irony Cletus.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/09/2016 11:38:38    1909052

Replying To avonali:  "Tell me was AOM shoulder charge on Philly MacMahon a foul??"
Yes indeed it was a foul and should have been a free to Dublin. I mean we could analyze incidents all day long and find faults with the ref. But I firmly believe the ref didn't go out there with any bias, he just got some decision wrong. Kerry just have to accept they were not good enough on the day, they had chances but didn't take them. However all supporters always ask questions as to why the lost, that is natural. But blaming the ref is just shifting the focus from what you own team didn't get right.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 01/09/2016 13:27:53    1909118

Vast majority of Kerry fans have accepted the defeat graciously, and it's a vocal minority that are complaining. You get these in every county. Dublin won't be on top forever and as soon as a couple of defeats come their way you'll see dubs on here giving out about refs and bad luck too. They won't represent the majority I'll bet. To brand the whole county of Kerry sore losers is a big childish.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/09/2016 14:21:07    1909142

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Vast majority of Kerry fans have accepted the defeat graciously, and it's a vocal minority that are complaining. You get these in every county. Dublin won't be on top forever and as soon as a couple of defeats come their way you'll see dubs on here giving out about refs and bad luck too. They won't represent the majority I'll bet. To brand the whole county of Kerry sore losers is a big childish."
That is very true GeniusGerry, you need only read articles that have been written by Dara Ó Cinneide and Dara Ó Sé and analysis by Pat Spillane
on RTE, all of whom acknowledged Dublin were the better team and deservedly won the match.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 01/09/2016 15:25:38    1909177

It's only some of them that are ungracious in fairness and I wouldn't say all. Unfortunately those who are will always appear on these forums and love to take out their frustration on anyone who questions their sportsmanship. Lads that wouldn't get out much if you know what I mean and havn't got a sense of humour. ;-)

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 01/09/2016 17:48:26    1909244

As a Dub coming out of Croke Park on Sunday, Kerry fans were nothing but magnanimous in defeat, like they have been in previous years and have been gracious winners in the past as well. When a team loses a close game like that, every talking point like the shoulder on Crowley gets magnified and scrutinized more than usual. If the shoe was on the other foot I'm sure Dub supporters like myself would have been absolutely gutted and yeah I think I would have been a bit raw and looking for something/someone to blame.
I don't think the real Kerry supporters are hiding behind that one call as to why Kerry lost nor do I think the majority of Kerry supporters would have joined in with the small bunch of idiots who decided to throw objects at David Gough. You got to remember that losing for Kerry is hard to take, I wouldn't expect true competitors to take it any other way. When teams start getting used to losing then it becomes harder for them to turn their fortunes around.
I for one hope that Fitzmaurice stays on, its great to see managers that take tactical chances and show the belief in his players to do the job asked of him. The dedication shown by Kerry on Sunday deserves respect and if anything more teams should take a leaf out of their book in trying to win games by playing football and showing belief in their own ability to beat the opposition.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 01/09/2016 18:20:38    1909255

Replying To NavyNBlue:  "As a Dub coming out of Croke Park on Sunday, Kerry fans were nothing but magnanimous in defeat, like they have been in previous years and have been gracious winners in the past as well. When a team loses a close game like that, every talking point like the shoulder on Crowley gets magnified and scrutinized more than usual. If the shoe was on the other foot I'm sure Dub supporters like myself would have been absolutely gutted and yeah I think I would have been a bit raw and looking for something/someone to blame.
I don't think the real Kerry supporters are hiding behind that one call as to why Kerry lost nor do I think the majority of Kerry supporters would have joined in with the small bunch of idiots who decided to throw objects at David Gough. You got to remember that losing for Kerry is hard to take, I wouldn't expect true competitors to take it any other way. When teams start getting used to losing then it becomes harder for them to turn their fortunes around.
I for one hope that Fitzmaurice stays on, its great to see managers that take tactical chances and show the belief in his players to do the job asked of him. The dedication shown by Kerry on Sunday deserves respect and if anything more teams should take a leaf out of their book in trying to win games by playing football and showing belief in their own ability to beat the opposition."
Great post Navy blue..I had similar experience after the game where the dubs were very good winners and didn't rub it in our face. Pales in comparison to some of the fools on here trying to create a bad losers tag on us based on a few comments by a few posters on an internet forum.

DancingSeany (UK) - Posts: 32 - 01/09/2016 18:28:31    1909258

I don't think Kerry are sore losers at all, in fact for many years they have been the opposite. From what I can see nobody in Kerry is saying they are a better team than Dublin in recent years. In truth Kerry were close to Dublin last Sunday due to Cluxton's melt down before half time, Dublin should have been more ahead coming into the end of the game. But at the same time the referee, who had a very good game overall did make a mistake in not awarding a definite free to Kerry which, with little time left would probably have resulted in the game ending in a draw (Had this incident happened early in the match it would not have got much of a mention afterwards as there would have been so much time left for Kerry to react). It is only natural for Kerry to be gutted over this decision, supporters of any team would feel the very same in similar circumstances.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 02/09/2016 11:08:30    1909408

Replying To DancingSeany:  "Great post Navy blue..I had similar experience after the game where the dubs were very good winners and didn't rub it in our face. Pales in comparison to some of the fools on here trying to create a bad losers tag on us based on a few comments by a few posters on an internet forum."
No need for your insults.
This is a post from Kerry GAA boards from 31/8/. I copied it and posted here for your perusal.This is a Kerry fan being honest and embarrassed at the behaviour of SOME of his fellow county men. Is he a fool too??

"I left Dublin 3 with a profound sense of anger on Sunday. I decided to wait a few days before posting, and see if my ardour cooled. However, the stewing has only strengthened the spice, and reading the last few pages over the last hour (I'm a slow reader) has done nothing to quell it.

What I witnessed, in the fifth row of Ardán Uí hÓgain, during injury time of the second half still astounds me. A mob of my own countymen baying and hurling objects, their hawk-like vision spotting injustices a hundred metres off. Perhaps the projectiles were intended for the scapegoat in the middle, but in their righteous ire (and perhaps in tribute to our last few efforts at points) some of these Yahoos were landing them in rows A, B and C. Seated here were some guiltless Dubs who were visibly intimidated by the barrage. At the time I presumed that this was the intended location.

The longer I have dwelled on it, the more bitter grows the aftertaste. My father told me once that when he played, the football followers of the Kingdom had a reputation for being gracious in both victory and defeat, of never getting too carried away, of appreciating that we have it better than the rest, and not to begrudge anyone else their moments of success. Occasionally the odd candidate for an anger management course has amused me and my surrounding compatriots on a terrace in Stáid Mhic Gearailt, but these have been outliers, and the abuse was strictly verbal. I have never seen anything like the ill-natured, childish and utterly inexcusable sights and sounds of Sunday. We have reached a nadir. The only meagre consolation is that some of the forum's resident Pharisees may, in future, consider this incident before berating other county followers for their lack of restraint.

I have of late found the Páirc Uí Chrócaigh experience beginning to grate, the constant PA blaring denying all chance of conversation (since I was a boy, I always loved the way we chat with strangers around us at the matches, a phenomenon being phased out) and the continuous infantilising of the experience (Síle Seoige: "Is there anyone here from Kerry!?!? Let's make some noise!!!" etc etc). I am seriously considering that last Sunday may be the last time I cross its threshold. The prospect of attending a few junior and underage club matches is vying in terms of appeal.

PS Comhghairdeas mór Baile Átha Cliath. The better team triumphed. With a mother from Clár Chlainne Mhuiris, I'm afraid I'll have to shout against ye in the decider, but with minimal hope, never mind expectation. Did I mention that yours was the better team? Their resilience is tremendous. And, most importantly of all, they play football the way football ought to be played. And they were better. At Gaelic football. Than Ciarraí (I think I forgot to say so earlier on).

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/09/2016 12:59:20    1909442

This is a really silly thread in my humble opinion. Of course when a team loses their supporters are going to be a little annoyed if a few calls towards the end of the game didn't go their way. It's going to be a major talking point after the game, if the same decisions happened in the first few minutes it would of been forgotten about. So to highlight Kerry supporters as being poor losers is just simply wrong. Someone also pointed out earlier that bad winners are worse than bad losers. I couldn't agree more. I've noticed over the last few months on here as well as attending games that a fair decent amount of Dublin supporters are becoming very bad winners (the majority are obviously not).

At the Dublin V Donegal QF I had my worst experience ever at a match because of a group of Dublin supporters sat behind myself and my girlfriend. Their use of language was disgracful with alot of anti-ulster insults (some people could really do with a history lesson) They hit us on the back of our heads after Dublin scores or Donegal misses during the game and at the final whistle. It was obvious they were looking for a reaction from me which they didn't get but other Dublin supporters apologied to me as we left and said they were extremely embarrassed by their behaviour. I wondered afterwards what they would of been like if Dublin were losing....

Then on here various different threads like this one have been started which the objective being that Dublin can do no wrong and other teams get all the decisions. That Dublin players wouldn't target any players off the ball as other teams do to their defenceless lads. In the event of someone pointing out a wrong doing from a Dublin player rather than accepting that Dublin may have got the rub of the green in a particular incident it's more than likely met with a respone of sure your player started it 5 mins earlier or something to that effect or we should of had a foul 10 mins before that etc.

This post is not directed to the majority of Dublin supporters because I have a great respect for most GAA people but there definitely is a bit of a bad winners attitude developing in some sectors at the minute and its not nice to see.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 02/09/2016 14:26:08    1909474

Replying To avonali:  "No need for your insults.
This is a post from Kerry GAA boards from 31/8/. I copied it and posted here for your perusal.This is a Kerry fan being honest and embarrassed at the behaviour of SOME of his fellow county men. Is he a fool too??

"I left Dublin 3 with a profound sense of anger on Sunday. I decided to wait a few days before posting, and see if my ardour cooled. However, the stewing has only strengthened the spice, and reading the last few pages over the last hour (I'm a slow reader) has done nothing to quell it.

What I witnessed, in the fifth row of Ardán Uí hÓgain, during injury time of the second half still astounds me. A mob of my own countymen baying and hurling objects, their hawk-like vision spotting injustices a hundred metres off. Perhaps the projectiles were intended for the scapegoat in the middle, but in their righteous ire (and perhaps in tribute to our last few efforts at points) some of these Yahoos were landing them in rows A, B and C. Seated here were some guiltless Dubs who were visibly intimidated by the barrage. At the time I presumed that this was the intended location.

The longer I have dwelled on it, the more bitter grows the aftertaste. My father told me once that when he played, the football followers of the Kingdom had a reputation for being gracious in both victory and defeat, of never getting too carried away, of appreciating that we have it better than the rest, and not to begrudge anyone else their moments of success. Occasionally the odd candidate for an anger management course has amused me and my surrounding compatriots on a terrace in Stáid Mhic Gearailt, but these have been outliers, and the abuse was strictly verbal. I have never seen anything like the ill-natured, childish and utterly inexcusable sights and sounds of Sunday. We have reached a nadir. The only meagre consolation is that some of the forum's resident Pharisees may, in future, consider this incident before berating other county followers for their lack of restraint.

I have of late found the Páirc Uí Chrócaigh experience beginning to grate, the constant PA blaring denying all chance of conversation (since I was a boy, I always loved the way we chat with strangers around us at the matches, a phenomenon being phased out) and the continuous infantilising of the experience (Síle Seoige: "Is there anyone here from Kerry!?!? Let's make some noise!!!" etc etc). I am seriously considering that last Sunday may be the last time I cross its threshold. The prospect of attending a few junior and underage club matches is vying in terms of appeal.

PS Comhghairdeas mór Baile Átha Cliath. The better team triumphed. With a mother from Clár Chlainne Mhuiris, I'm afraid I'll have to shout against ye in the decider, but with minimal hope, never mind expectation. Did I mention that yours was the better team? Their resilience is tremendous. And, most importantly of all, they play football the way football ought to be played. And they were better. At Gaelic football. Than Ciarraí (I think I forgot to say so earlier on)."
What does that prove exactly? That there's a few idiots that follow Kerry? Show me a single county that doesn't have a couple of those. How many Dublin games have had delayed starts over the years because the fans cant be bothered to come in on time for example? Again, it's a minority spoiling it for the many. Starting a thread to call another team sore losers is fairly silly behaviour, as is coming on here to gloat when a team has lost a close game (not saying it's you btw, making a general point).

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/09/2016 14:30:17    1909476

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "What does that prove exactly? That there's a few idiots that follow Kerry? Show me a single county that doesn't have a couple of those. How many Dublin games have had delayed starts over the years because the fans cant be bothered to come in on time for example? Again, it's a minority spoiling it for the many. Starting a thread to call another team sore losers is fairly silly behaviour, as is coming on here to gloat when a team has lost a close game (not saying it's you btw, making a general point)."
How many Dublin games have had delayed starts over the years because the fans cant be bothered to come in on time for example?

You're comparing fans arriving late for a game with fans throwing objects at a referee??

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 02/09/2016 14:48:47    1909481

Replying To CroiGorm:  "How many Dublin games have had delayed starts over the years because the fans cant be bothered to come in on time for example?

You're comparing fans arriving late for a game with fans throwing objects at a referee??"
No, the point I was trying to make was that every county has idiots following the team. People implying that we are all sore losers and whingers because of a few eejits is wrong. As is coming on here to gloat after a close game.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/09/2016 15:02:59    1909483

"Show me a good loser, and I'll show you a loser." - Vince Lombardi

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 02/09/2016 16:55:10    1909522

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Vast majority of Kerry fans have accepted the defeat graciously, and it's a vocal minority that are complaining. You get these in every county. Dublin won't be on top forever and as soon as a couple of defeats come their way you'll see dubs on here giving out about refs and bad luck too. They won't represent the majority I'll bet. To brand the whole county of Kerry sore losers is a big childish."
Well said, I have been hard on Kerry for the treatment of the ref, there was no bias whatsoever in David, but I do have to remember this is just a minority of morons who cannot accept they just aren't good enough at the moment. Kerry have a fantastic young team coming through and they will return.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/09/2016 08:17:56    1909591

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well said, I have been hard on Kerry for the treatment of the ref, there was no bias whatsoever in David, but I do have to remember this is just a minority of morons who cannot accept they just aren't good enough at the moment. Kerry have a fantastic young team coming through and they will return."
Aye,Kerry will probably dominate in 5 years with 3 batches of minors.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 03/09/2016 10:51:19    1909613