McEnaney's Discrimination Remarks

Much to do about nothing .

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 04/09/2015 16:54:24    1782278

Greengrass
County: Louth

MesAmis just because you say a remark was rooted in an archaic, self serving, thoroughly discredited system of social organisation doesn't make it so . Your interpretation of what was said is nonsensical and entirely self serving . Get a life and move on to the next cause for outrage .

A discredited system alright. Still exists though. Only someone who goes around with their eyes closed would even suggest that class isn't an issue in Ireland in 2015. It shouldn't be but it is.

There's nothing self serving me by merely pointing out that Pat's 'joke' was based on class snobbery. He wouldn't have made the comment about Johnny Cooper, Rory O'Carroll, MDMA etc.

I've a grand life thanks for asking though. Enjoy your weekend, me and my PC buddies will be busy scouring the papers for something to get offended by I'd say.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/09/2015 17:00:56    1782283

Philly McMahon, did it clearly show that he struck with his head? I would say there is no clear striking of the head. Yes, he put his head forward. Yes, the other boy put his head slightly forward. But as someone would say, that's how they walk in Ballymun anyway!

Pat McEnaney's words. MesAmi and Hill he is speaking in favour of Philly McMahon. These remarks are harmless. Move on boys.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 17:08:00    1782289

Don't see the point being made about class discrimination, macaneany doesn't strike me as being that posh anyway. There'd be no point in cracking the joke about roc or mdma, because you don't usually get loafed in stillorgan or ballyboden (maybe in whitechurch, or the furry bog, wha!). I can't imagine phiilyd be upset anyway, I wouldn't if he had said it about crumlin

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 04/09/2015 18:52:43    1782351

There's nothing self serving me by merely pointing out that Pat's 'joke' was based on class snobbery
That's an unsubstantiated assertion on your part. You have no idea what the motivation was for his choice of words.

He wouldn't have made the comment about Johnny Cooper, Rory O'Carroll, MDMA etc.

I've a grand life thanks for asking though. Enjoy your weekend, me and my PC buddies will be busy scouring the papers for something to get offended by I'd say

Given your comments on this tread I would well believe what you have to say above. Enjoy the match and don't be too offended by the comments questioning the lineage of players, mentore and managers. Maybe you should purchase a seat ticket or am I guilty of class snobbery assuming you'd be on The Hill ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 19:06:25    1782355

Greengrass, regardless of your efforts to defend it, it was a stupid remark. It's a stereotype. Like other stereotypes, the unsophisticated Kerry man, the stingey Cavan man, the fondness for sheep Meath man, the thick Paddy, the stone chewing Monaghan man and so on. Sterotypes by their nature can be offensive. The chief of the supposedly neutral and unbiased referee committee of the biggest sporting organisation in the country should be above all that. Working class Ballymun was an east target for a silly comment. Anyway I'm sure he will learn from it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/09/2015 21:32:12    1782418

Sure you'd never get de bleedin' Dubs making smart comments about other places. They're the nicest lads in the wuddled.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 05/09/2015 11:23:04    1782646

He have to admire the hypocrisy of dubs complaining about Mc Aneaney (rightly in my opinion) saying a discriminatory remark but turning around saying things like stick it to the culchies and suck that you gombeens on other threads.

As for the remark, a stupid crass, ignorant remark that he didn't even have the brains to apologise for but then again this fella thinks the black card is a good idea so enough said.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 05/09/2015 12:27:06    1782700

A country famous for its sense humor and ability to laugh at itself Has turned into a Liberal hellhole Where everyone has to watch what they say The Dubs aren't shy about running down the Culchies

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 05/09/2015 12:45:26    1782711

I can't believe pat mc enaney said those comments. I am just outraged!! Now I'm off to find something else to be outraged about!!!

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 05/09/2015 13:13:21    1782730

Yup. were living in the age of outrage.
May it pass quickly.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 05/09/2015 17:47:46    1782862