McEnaney's Discrimination Remarks

MesAmi you are the first person to introduce social class in to this non issue .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 10:51:09    1781855

Greengrass
County: Louth

Hill the point is that a low level politician looking for recognition created an issue where none existed . Professional offence takers then proceeded to get outraged . It was demanded by the aforementioned politician that Pat McEnaney go to Ballymun and publicly apologise to the people of Ballymun . Pat McEnaney made an off the cuff humorous remark . No offence was intended . None should be taken . None will be taken except by the serial offence takers . Is Philly McMahon expected to apologise to Aidan O Shea for incessant sledging last Sunday ? No . And rightly so . Can you please spare the rest of us your PC sanctimony .

pat mcenenaney held a postion of power
talking about an individual because of what background or class they come from
or type of area to try prove a point
is definatly not right.
if a garda arrived on the scene of a stabbing and found a monaghan cavan and limerick person near by
and arrested the limerick person based on the fact limerick has a name for being stab city
would you think that was fair?
The garda would be pillored and loose his/her job
expecting a player to be dirty because they are from ballymun is already prejudging them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/09/2015 10:52:40    1781860

Obviously what he said seemed to be light hearted, however, I hope he issues an apology if not public at least to Philly McMahon/Ballymun Kickhams.

For those saying its the equivalent to 'culchie/nordie' etc, im afraid it isn't and that's not being PC.

The insinuation is that anyone who comes from Ballymun is, depending on your perspective at worst a thug or at best inclined to use violence more than other areas of society.

I listen to similar nonsense and lazy stereotyping about West Belfast and to be honest it annoys me so im with the Dubs on this one.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 04/09/2015 10:57:42    1781867

The gaels from Ballymun are entitled to the same respect from those running the organisation as those from anywhere else. With power comes responsibility. His comment was irresponsible considering his position.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 04/09/2015 11:00:57    1781872

Ulsterman

Spare me! Seriously, some Dubs taking offence at a light hearted, good natured remark? I thought they were a lot tougher and thicker skinned than this. Also a bit of hypocrisy going on. So it's OK to say "Culchie this, Culchie that, Nordie so and so's etc" but can't take a bit of humour when it goes the other way? If you can't take it don't give it out.

I agree it's mountain out of a molehill stuff. However the only hypocrisy on display here is from you Ulsterman, if it was said about anywhere in the north you would be the first one on in the rush to take offence.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 04/09/2015 11:33:19    1781915

Greengrass

MesAmi you are the first person to introduce social class in to this non issue

I think you'll find that was Pat and not me.

Class snobbery pure and simple. You know it as well as I do.

You find that sort of thing funny but I do not.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/09/2015 11:35:15    1781917

bumpernut

The insinuation is that anyone who comes from Ballymun is, depending on your perspective at worst a thug or at best inclined to use violence more than other areas of society.

That's it in a nutshell.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/09/2015 11:39:42    1781919

My interpretation is that the remark is in relation to the jokey northside pigeon-walk. It might sound trite but I have northside friends who actually make this joke themselves. I really don't believe he was insinuating anyone was a thug. Maybe I'm taking it up wrong but I think people are over-reacting.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 04/09/2015 11:50:02    1781927

Hill your point is ridiculous . Give up .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 11:56:09    1781933

This is the same guy that said earlier in the year that the black card has been a success . Enough said !

That talk might be okay in the bar with the lads but anyone in power should know better . Idiotic comment !

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 04/09/2015 12:10:49    1781955

MesAmi, you introduced the issue of social class . I didn't nor do I believe did anyone else consider the aspect of social class in relation to this remark. You may be conscious of the concept of social class . I am not . You may consider the concept of social class to be important. I don't. People are people . As I have said before , Pat McEnaney made a light hearted remark . We now have people drawing ridiculous inferences from this remark. This is entirely in keeping with the ridiculous sanitisation of public speech that pertains in this country . The thought police and serial offence takers need to wise up. Read back over the posts, your own included on this thread and consider the extremely silly, over the top inferences being drawn from Pat McEnaneys remark . It is ridiculous .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 12:28:43    1781973

Greengrass

MesAmi, you introduced the issue of social class . I didn't nor do I believe did anyone else consider the aspect of social class in relation to this remark. You may be conscious of the concept of social class . I am not . You may consider the concept of social class to be important. I don't. People are people . As I have said before , Pat McEnaney made a light hearted remark . We now have people drawing ridiculous inferences from this remark. This is entirely in keeping with the ridiculous sanitisation of public speech that pertains in this country . The thought police and serial offence takers need to wise up. Read back over the posts, your own included on this thread and consider the extremely silly, over the top inferences being drawn from Pat McEnaneys remark . It is ridiculous

Pat McEnaney made it about social class.

You find that funny and acceptable and I do not.

Nothing to do with "thought police" and people being "serially offended". Use such terms as a blanket for your own prejudices if you like but expect to be challenged on it so.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/09/2015 12:35:58    1781990

Breffni,

When someone stereotypes an area we live in or a club/county we play for/support (tyrone recently is perfect example) then those who are on the receiving end tend to become defensive and react.
They in turn get accused by others of overreacting when really all they are saying is please don't generalise with lazy stereotyping as when it is said out often enough it becomes the norm and people will believe it to be true.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 04/09/2015 12:40:48    1781997

Jesus MesAmis can you read ? I said I don't believe in the concept of social class . As far as I am concerned people are people . You are the one who is referring to social class . You are writing rubbish . Go and scan the newspapers and find something else to get outraged about .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 13:36:06    1782091

Greengrass

Jesus MesAmis can you read ? I said I don't believe in the concept of social class . As far as I am concerned people are people . You are the one who is referring to social class . You are writing rubbish . Go and scan the newspapers and find something else to get outraged about .

I'm well able read Greengrass thanks.

People are indeed people but if you think that social class and classism doesn't exist then you are sorely mistaken. Just because you say something doesn't make it so.

It was a joke rooted in class snobbery. I didn't make it about class. Pat did.

It is odd that you find jokes rooted in class snobbery funny yet say you don't believe in social class. Very odd.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/09/2015 13:48:00    1782103

TheRightStuff

This is the same guy that said earlier in the year that the black card has been a success . Enough said !

That talk might be okay in the bar with the lads but anyone in power should know better . Idiotic comment !

Hit the head on the nail there

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 04/09/2015 14:11:35    1782130

MesAmis just because you say a remark was rooted in an archaic, self serving, thoroughly discredited system of social organisation doesn't make it so . Your interpretation of what was said is nonsensical and entirely self serving . Get a life and move on to the next cause for outrage .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 14:39:12    1782155

I thought it was a class joke, I laughed when I heard it, as did many others. I don't think Philly McMahon is too offended either, or he'd have a column in a paper condemning it.

It was a joke, laugh, move on with life.

xxB3B0Stunnahxx (USA) - Posts: 94 - 04/09/2015 14:43:36    1782158

I'm pretty sure I posted on this thread this morning, thanks for that admins!

Anyway, Hill have you actually read the full interview with McEnaney? The link you posted is for the Hoganstand article which just takes the last line of what he said. Out of context it comes across as poor but he was actually saying that he didn't think Philly was guilty of a headbutt and his joke came at the end of it

This is what he actually said:

Philly McMahon, did it clearly show that he struck with his head? I would say there is no clear striking of the head. Yes, he put his head forward. Yes, the other boy put his head slightly forward. But as someone would say, that's how they walk in Ballymun anyway!

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 04/09/2015 15:00:22    1782176

For some reason the admins wont let me draw the comparison between that jibe and the culchie jibe that gets aimed at people from the country, although it is a very relevant one...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/09/2015 16:16:40    1782249