McEnaney's Discrimination Remarks

Lads our brothers and sisters from na sé chontae get far worse abuse (and its not always in good humour)

If you find Pat's remarks offensive then you might want to bring ear plugs into Croker on Saturday. Some people will be using bold words to describe the Dubs (apparently this is discrimination)

Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 03/09/2015 20:32:36    1781644

So we're allowed to make fun of someone and imply that they are more likely to be violent as of a result of coming from an underprivileged area?

Fact is Pat wouldn't have made his oh so hilarious comment about Rory O'Carroll or Michael Dara McAuley for example. Not a chance.

Snobbery is alive and well on HS.

Enjoy the laughs lads.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/09/2015 20:42:14    1781646

if he was talking about somebody because of their sexual orientation or their skin colour or if they were a member of the traveler community or what religion they were belong to and degrading them their would be uproar on here but its ok to use where somebody is from in a degrading manner ye feel?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - 03/09/2015 19:49:02
--------------------
Sure so what? That's half the problem these days ye can't even make a joke now without asking the PC police if it's ok. Desperate society we are becoming.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 03/09/2015 20:50:43    1781651

Greengrass
County: Louth

Wise up Hill. That is the point that people are making . He didn't mention any of those issues you refer to . Pat McEnaney made a light hearted, off the cuff remark . That remark was very similar in tone to the culchie remarks you and your fellow Dubliners make about country people . Catch yourself on and drop your faux outrage . It is ridiculous .

excuse me please show me where I have made these remarks????
so saying he expects a player to behave in a certain manner because of where he is from
as a head of the referee committee is to you is an acceptable thing?
a referee is supposed to be the most impartial person involved in a match
if they go out with that attitude taking the pitch already having their minds made on people
how can that be fair?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2015 21:06:54    1781665

Sorry Mes but as a Galwayman I would certainly feel safer walking alone through Salthill on a dark night than Ballybane (and Im from Ballybane by the way).
Some areas are safer than others, simple as.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 03/09/2015 21:08:46    1781666

MesAmis

1781646 So we're allowed to make fun of someone and imply that they are more likely to be violent as of a result of coming from an underprivileged area?

Fact is Pat wouldn't have made his oh so hilarious comment about Rory O'Carroll or Michael Dara McAuley for example. Not a chance.

Snobbery is alive and well on HS.

Enjoy the laughs lads.

Snobbery has nothing to do with it. What is alive and well on HS is po-faced, PC sanctimony. Wise up and get a life.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/09/2015 21:08:49    1781667

Greengrass

Snobbery has nothing to do with it. What is alive and well on HS is po-faced, PC sanctimony. Wise up and get a life.

It's complete snobbery. He wouldn't have said about Rory O'Carroll would he?

As I said enjoy the laughs if that's what gets you off.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/09/2015 21:24:20    1781682

Cherno_Samba

If you find Pat's remarks offensive then you might want to bring ear plugs into Croker on Saturday. Some people will be using bold words to describe the Dubs (apparently this is discrimination

people in croke park on saturday supporting mayo
will not be in a position of importance that pat mceneaney held as head of the refferee committee
a ref is supposed to be the most neutral person involved in a match
how can anybody have faith in officals to do a fair job if they already have their minds made up about players.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/09/2015 21:24:24    1781683

joncarter

Sorry Mes but as a Galwayman I would certainly feel safer walking alone through Salthill on a dark night than Ballybane (and Im from Ballybane by the way).
Some areas are safer than others, simple as.

Some areas are safer than others alright but that's got nothing to do with Pat's comedy.

Talk about what Philly did, or didn't do, not where he is from.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 03/09/2015 21:27:09    1781686

hill16no1man

1781665 Greengrass

Wise up Hill. That is the point that people are making . He didn't mention any of those issues you refer to . Pat McEnaney made a light hearted, off the cuff remark . That remark was very similar in tone to the culchie remarks you and your fellow Dubliners make about country people . Catch yourself on and drop your faux outrage . It is ridiculous .

excuse me please show me where I have made these remarks????
so saying he expects a player to behave in a certain manner because of where he is from
as a head of the referee committee is to you is an acceptable thing?
a referee is supposed to be the most impartial person involved in a match
if they go out with that attitude taking the pitch already having their minds made on people
how can that be fair?

Oh Gawd a Dubliner who has never used the culchie term . That is as rare as a virgin in a brothel. Save us the po-faced, PC sanctimony. Pat McEnaney was an honest and fair ref. He made an off the cuff, humorous remark. Get off your high horse and get a life.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/09/2015 21:50:22    1781709

Light hearted joke, some might say, deliberate effort to re-inforce the less than flattering stereotyping of the people of Ballymun, might be the opinion of others. Whichever is correct, Pat's effort at distancing himself from the remarks by saying he was only repeating what someone else had said to him is poor form. He should stand over what he said or else apologise but saying someone else was the instigator of the remarks is a cop-out.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 03/09/2015 21:55:19    1781711

Stupid narrow minded comment. He should do the decent thing and apologise

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 03/09/2015 21:58:28    1781712

get over it.. fact is it does hit the nail on the head.. dubs above a slagging.. another reason to love them

detruth (Monaghan) - Posts: 196 - 04/09/2015 08:29:45    1781725

detruth
County: Monaghan

get over it.. fact is it does hit the nail on the head.. dubs above a slagging.. another reason to love them

-----
Stay classy!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/09/2015 09:05:08    1781755

No excuse, he is in the position of power and in the public eye and should come out and apologise.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 04/09/2015 09:06:15    1781757

greengrass
Oh Gawd a Dubliner who has never used the culchie term . That is as rare as a virgin in a brothel. Save us the po-faced, PC sanctimony. Pat McEnaney was an honest and fair ref. He made an off the cuff, humorous remark. Get off your high horse and get a life.

again sterotyping and painting everybody with one brush
because im from dublin you assume I go around calling everybody from outside dublin a culchie
but have yet to show where I do this
dont think its humourous remark to the people of ballymun or the player in general.
the point is he is in a position of power not you

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/09/2015 10:14:54    1781819

Yeah - referees definitely discriminate against people from Ballymun.
That's why McMahon got sent off and banned for the replay.....

Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 04/09/2015 10:33:09    1781834

detruth
County: Monaghan

The Dubs are not above a slagging.

We are above Pat's "comedy" though.

It's also nothing to do with Dublin. It's a class issue, and Pat's complete lack of it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/09/2015 10:36:26    1781838

Hill the point is that a low level politician looking for recognition created an issue where none existed . Professional offence takers then proceeded to get outraged . It was demanded by the aforementioned politician that Pat McEnaney go to Ballymun and publicly apologise to the people of Ballymun . Pat McEnaney made an off the cuff humorous remark . No offence was intended . None should be taken . None will be taken except by the serial offence takers . Is Philly McMahon expected to apologise to Aidan O Shea for incessant sledging last Sunday ? No . And rightly so . Can you please spare the rest of us your PC sanctimony .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/09/2015 10:36:51    1781839

MesAmi - tóg go bog é

How many people actually heard PAt make the comment, and how many people went looking for the comment to make themselves offended.

Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 04/09/2015 10:44:38    1781848