All Ireland HURLING final week - KK V GAL

I've been thinking Galway all week but I am worried now about the silence of the cats . I just think Galway will match the hunger of the cats and that will edge it for them . In terms of a Galway win being good for hurling I don't think it matters ( obviously it would be great for Galway hurling ) . If its like the previous 2 finals then it will be brilliant for hurling again no matter who wins .
.. I noticed Eddie Brennan building up the Galway midfield on TSG but I think that's where KK will target them so If Galway can get a foothold in midfield they will win but that is a huge if.. Gonna be a belter unlike the preceding circus the day before ..

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 03/09/2015 18:04:12    1781569

Not confident at all. There, I've said it. Cody has out-smarted AC once too often and unfortunately I'm expecting it to happen at least once more.
Hope I'm wrong.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/09/2015 21:49:09    1781707

Probably wont be online after today. Want to wish all the lads, all 32 of the Galway panel the best of luck and to Kilkenny aswell hoping its going to be one of the best finals played. The atmosphere will be electric. There is a serious buzz around Galway all week and the place is awash with maroon and white everywhere.
Enjoy the game everyone.

sliotharfan (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 04/09/2015 11:56:33    1781934

Galway have six scoring forwards now.D Burke,A Smythe and A Harte are potential scorers also.Interesting to see if J Tyrell will make the team.A full back line with J Holden & S Prendergast,while untroubled by a conservative Deise,will hold no fear for these young,swashbuckling,tearaway Galway forwards.If the right ball,and plenty of it,goes in around the KK square,J Holden will face his sternest test yet.He has done what was asked of him to date,but the acid test will be on Sunday.I think Galway will attack this area and seek out a few cracks.I expect Galway to score a minimum of two goals.They will get oppurtunities,and to win,must take a high percentage of them.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/09/2015 12:07:39    1781949

Hopefully it will be a great game Galway to win by 3 puts, Come on Galway all Connacht is behind ye, bring Liam back to Connacht

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/09/2015 12:14:03    1781957

Its probably very important for Galway to get some scores on the board early on to settle down the team, even if Kilkenny do the same as they surely will. If ten or fifteen minutes in they are on equal terms, are settled down and hurling well, then the belief will be there that they can win this All Ireland. Its little wonder that some of the Galway posters on here are a little anxious, just look at Kilkenny's record over the last fifteen years or so, it would make anybody playing them anxious. I would think there is huge belief inside that Galway camp by now. Anthony Cunningham and a lot of those players have been through this before, they know what its all about, and they know if they get the performance they are capable of on the day, they will get the win.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 04/09/2015 12:14:08    1781958

Have a lot of confidence that the lads can get over the line this time. They'll have a lot of hunger to go and win it this time and will want revenge for '12. I think Kilkenny will put in another good performance, but I can see Galway pushing on for a 5 or 6 point win. In saying that, if they do fall behind a good bit this time, Kilkenny just won't give away any soft goals and it will probably be beyond Galway to make a Mayo style comeback

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 04/09/2015 12:35:06    1781988

Expect to see carefully contrived comment from a former Kilkenny icon at any moment urging the referee to spare the whistle and "let the game flow ,because after all hurling is a man's game of which physicality is part and parcel". Better PR if this art of gentle persuasion does not come directly from Brian Cody.

An dat's de troot!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1360 - 04/09/2015 12:42:27    1782002

Tough to call. Will Galway be done twice by Kilkenny in the same summer??

Im torn here. I love Kilkenny and think it would be great to see a team who lost so many stalwarts go on and win it. But it would be great as a Dub to say we should have beaten the all Ireland champions in our first meeting!

Whats Kilkennys weakness? Because whatever it is you could nearly bet it will there outstanding line on Sunday. Hopefully Galway stick to there own game and dont change to counter Kilkenny.

Jaysus ive a feeling this will be epic

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 04/09/2015 13:23:24    1782075

Full back line is their weakest if J Tyrell not fit to start.In saying that J Holden and S Prendergast are obviously well able to hurl.But compared to all other lines,thats the weakest for me.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/09/2015 13:36:43    1782092

Speaking to Galway people they seem very confident which is great. I can understand why - I think they have a great chance against the Cats.

I expect Liam McCarthy to be crossing the Shannon on Monday evening but Kilkenny will probably win the next 10 to make up for the defeat! Really looking forward to the game. What a great couple of days GAA we have in store.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 04/09/2015 15:59:40    1782236

cuederocket

Full back line is their weakest if J Tyrell not fit to start.In saying that J Holden and S Prendergast are obviously well able to hurl.But compared to all other lines,thats the weakest for me.

I dunno... Murphy, Holden, Tyrrell is a strong line for me. It's Galway's full back line and Tannion v Hogan I'd worry about. Galway will win plenty of ball but Kilkenny will exploit every mismatch they find to the nth degree.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 04/09/2015 16:11:21    1782244

Roundball,i said IF J Tyrell is not fit to start,i think it is their weakest line.All strong lines of course.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/09/2015 17:14:26    1782298

A Chairde Gael,

Sorry to be repetitive but here is a post and prediction I made on here two days ago, followed almost on with predicted response,
this time in the form of an article by Eddie O'Connor in Friday's Irish Examiner.

PatOLogical
County: Limerick

Expect to see carefully contrived comment from a former Kilkenny icon at any moment urging the referee to spare the whistle and "let the game flow ,because after all hurling is a man's game of which physicality is part and parcel". Better PR if this art of gentle persuasion does not come directly from Brian Cody.
"An dat's de troot!"

And here it is from Eddie O'Connor in Friday's Examiner

>>>O'Connor hopes referee James Owens plays his part in giving those in attendance and watching on TV a spectacle. "Galway are very skilful and physical and with Kilkenny it's a bit like the Clint Eastwood movie -- Any Which Way But Loose (sic). I would expect it to be a hard, physical game and hopefully the referee will let common sense prevail. People want to see physicality. If you don't want physicality then go and play golf!"<<<

The message here from Eddie to tomorrow's ref and officials I the same as appears every year from a former a Kilkenny hero of yesteryear.
Great PR from Kilkenny, and much better to come from someone other than Brian Cody himself.
Who knows maybe there's even the makins' of another rbook here entitled "Hurling -How To Play The Total Game"

This except (from O'Connor )might also be dubbed the 11th Commandment For Hurling Officials:
"Thou Shalt not call attention to or punish Kilkenny infractions." ...aka the Tommy Walsh playbook.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1360 - 05/09/2015 13:10:35    1782727

I wouldn't be worried about that, Patological. O'Connor only saying there what I'd be hoping myself. In terms of physicality Galway won't be found wanting. Refereeing sensibly doesn't mean ignoring illegal belts or cynical fouls. It's about weighing up if a foul or blow is mistimed, accidental, or deliberate and knowing the difference between those things. Really hope there wont be any sending offs tomorrow but if there is I hope it is a clearcut one and not a case of the ref over-applying the letter of the law because if he does it could work against Galway as much as it could work against Kilkenny.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 05/09/2015 13:49:02    1782757

PatOLogical

1782727 A Chairde Gael,

Sorry to be repetitive but here is a post and prediction I made on here two days ago, followed almost on with predicted response,
this time in the form of an article by Eddie O'Connor in Friday's Irish Examiner.

"repetitive" you sure are Pat. You posted this shite on the Galway and Kilkenny forums

PatOLogical

"An dat's de troot!"

Yeah sure Pat, all them All-Irelands down to "better PR" and "the art of gentle persuasion".Your cheap and nasty quote about Brian Cody's (Kilkenny people) accents, "An dat's de troot!" is despicable

And here it is from Eddie O'Connor in Friday's Examiner

>>>O'Connor hopes referee James Owens plays his part in giving those in attendance and watching on TV a spectacle. "Galway are very skilful and physical and with Kilkenny it's a bit like the Clint Eastwood movie -- Any Which Way But Loose (sic). I would expect it to be a hard, physical game and hopefully the referee will let common sense prevail. People want to see physicality. If you don't want physicality then go and play golf!"<<<

The message here from Eddie to tomorrow's ref and officials I the same as appears every year from a former a Kilkenny hero of yesteryear.
Great PR from Kilkenny, and much better to come from someone other than Brian Cody himself.
Who knows maybe there's even the makins' of another rbook here entitled "Hurling -How To Play The Total Game"

This except (from O'Connor )might also be dubbed the 11th Commandment For Hurling Officials:
"Thou Shalt not call attention to or punish Kilkenny infractions." ...aka the Tommy Walsh playbook.

Tommy Walsh, one of the greatest players ever to hurl.. Pathetic Pat. As Willy suggested, go play a round of golf tomorrow

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 05/09/2015 20:30:23    1783004

Bit of a nerve touched there CC old boy, eh!?

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 05/09/2015 20:47:38    1783017

Conor Whealan only 18 years tomorrow - v few 18yr olds have played in let alone won in AI finals - Mattie McDonagh in 1956, Jimmy Doyle. Jimmy Duggan Galway was 19 in 1966.

Any other 18yr old finalists?

jaqmart (Mayo) - Posts: 7 - 05/09/2015 20:55:07    1783022

This is not the strongest Kilkenny team Brian Cody has ever fielded in an All Ireland final. By my estimation there are question marks over 8 of the starting 15; three inexperienced (Holden, Prendergast, Aylward); three out of form (Padraig Walsh, Walter Walsh, Colin Fennelly) and two hampered by injuries (Michael Fennelly and Larkin). Many KK players under Cody have often saved their best performance of the year for All Ireland final day, Cody will need at least 5 or 6 of the aforementioned to do so tomorrow.

The form of Padraig Walsh at rhb is a particular worry. He's a talented lad and was outstanding in last year's replayed final but has been poor this year and, unlike older bro Tommy, struggles under the high ball against taller opponents. Galway will DEFINITELY put Glynn straight on him and DEFINITELY target him early and often. Padraig better be ready for what's coming or he will get cleaned out. Glynn is particularly dangerous because he's not a "take your point" forward, with ball in hand he will bullock his way towards the goal and create goal chances.

The subs bench looks stronger with Tyrell and Power named but I have no idea how up-to-speed they are. A close-to-fully fit Richie Power would be a great weapon to bring off the bench - I don't think we would have won the All Ireland last year without him.

I'm not plamásing Galway here, ye have a better chance tomorrow than 2012 in my opinion.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2015 21:04:09    1783033

an tseabhac

1783017 Bit of a nerve touched there CC old boy, eh!?

No not at all. But it peeves me that on the eve of a well anticipated AI final, someone comes on here spouting ignorant nonsense. Then, what would you expect out of a pig but a grunt?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 05/09/2015 21:05:59    1783034