Jim McGuinness - Fermanagh

Yea was in Croker and joined in the cheering as well - think it was the end of the road for them after a great year in terms of promotion to Div 2 and the qualifier run and the fact that there was 8( or 11 points in it) I think they never threw in the towel and kept plugging and considering some of the other mailings Dublin dished out was not as bad. Maybe it was a bit much but it is important as well to celebrate the milestones of reaching the 1/4 final - we started from a low base this year and archived a lot and I think it was an emotional outpouring for this.
The main point of the disparity is right clearly but I also remember going to semi finals with Ulster teams in the 1970 s and there were mide margins as well so I don t think this is something new necessarily.

fearluim (Fermanagh) - Posts: 27 - 04/08/2015 15:55:59    1763829

AnBuachaillGlas

if you need telling why supporters were booing you obviously didnt pay attention
to the fact ye got a daylight robbery goal
a free count that border on criminal
and your goalscorer after protesting was clearly shown laughing at the fact he got an unfair goal
what about your 50 odd supporters on the hill on sunday
that were drunk on arrival and were being physicaly remanded by gardai after the match

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/08/2015 15:59:20    1763831

JMG has his own opinions and they matter little to most. He coached a good Donegal team to win an All-Ireland but apparently his coaching did not include the art of kick-outs!. He was a bit childish in the way he dealt with Cassidy, who was one of his top players at that time.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/08/2015 16:00:12    1763832

Just read the article. Jim is not criticising Fermanagh. He actually recognises the achievements of Fermanagh this year. Fermanagh are the smallest gaa county in Ireland yet managed to make it to an ai qf. What he is saying is that it is not a level playing field. How many full time coaches does dublin have travelling to the different schools etc? I love watching the dubs and have a lot of time for the dubs. Outside of ulster and Leitrim I love to see the dubs doing well but it can't be said that it is a level playing field.
Yes they have worked hard themselves but Fermanagh are never going to be able to get a 2 million euro sponsorship like the dubs. How are Fermanagh ever going to be able to compete with that? McGuiness is spot on. More needs to be done by central council etc when it comes to dispersing money to the smaller counties.
One aspect that often gets overlooked is the location of players. I would imagine that every single Dublin player lives within 30 minutes of croker. Fermanagh have players located all over the country. For example Jones and Donnelly live and work in Belfast, Tomas Corrigan is based in Dublin. They can't do early morning sessions etc. I know it's an economic factor that can't be cured by the GAA but i do think it has a major impact on teams.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 04/08/2015 16:00:30    1763833

agree with some of it but disagree with some of it too
he is right regarding supporters seeing being beaten soundly as not something that really should be celebrated
but in the context of where fermanagh came from this year they were just showing their appreciation for giving them a year to remember.
as for his comments on skillfull players and so on and coaching
bit like the pot calling the kettle black
he was the one who looked to negate the skills he is now harping on about and opted to make it a tactical mindfield
of concentrating on stopping the opposition before letting the skills his players had flourish.
murphy who he talks about in the same breath as colm cooper as being coached brilliantly and skillfull
yet he opted for most of his time in charge to sacrifice murphys skills in order to make him a foot soldier out the field.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/08/2015 16:09:22    1763844

He was right Fermanagh fans were a bit of a joke. They were hammered yesterday, one of their goals was one of the most ridiculous refereeing decisions seen in croke park and another goal was one of the most ridiculous defensive scenes seen in croke park with three players going for the same ball and all of them leaving it for each other. Corrigan had even stopped bothering going for it as he was sure one of them had it. Fermanagh had a great league campaign and recorded a decent win against Roscommon but beating Antrim twice and Westmeath is no great fete. Celebrating that you are within 10 points of a Dublins showed their aspirations coming up to the game, just happy to be there really.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 04/08/2015 16:12:50    1763845

Fair play to Fermanagh they acquited themselves really well on the day and can be proud of their efforts this year. I think the context as well of the first match being an annilation and the expectations were the second game would be the same should be borne in mind also. Most Fermanagh fans were not expecting their team to beat Dublin just a decent show to keep their pride and progress from the year intact which in fairness to them unlike Kildare they did.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 04/08/2015 16:15:39    1763847

hill16, in 2012 Murphy was played as full forward most of the time. Last year and in 2013 he was played out the field, as we simply didnt have the panel to pick from for positions 1-15.. I would say we did well with what we had, getting to the final and all of that. His points about the set ups in kerry and in dublin are 100% on the money, literally. I would say that if teams want to get where the top teams are at, donegal and mayo included, they will have to go down the sponsorship road, as there is no point in trying without the funds necessary to train properly, as well as the coaching set ups that are needed.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/08/2015 16:18:51    1763850

Dublin were 1/200 to win, of course we were just happy to be there. Have a bit of realsim lads. Would you rather be a fermanagh footballer/fan or kildare footballer/fan this year? Which team do you think is going to have more optimism and drive on the first day of training in the new season? I think that is the main take away from the 'celebrations' at the end.

Erne4ulster15 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 23 - 04/08/2015 16:22:01    1763852

It was an absolute embarrassment to watch Fermanagh players and fans celebrating their annihilation by Dublin. What on earth made them feel the need to celebrate, the fact that they scored? Absolutely ridiculous. I don't know about people in Fermanagh but where Im from you only celebrate when you win. Roy Keane would certainly not be a Fermanagh fan after watching them on Sunday, do not take pride in being losers or you'll never achieve anything. Embarrassed to be an Ulster man after all this

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 04/08/2015 16:25:10    1763856

gotmilk

Donegal have players all over the country too and still manage to do the early morning gym sessions etc. The fact is that they can't even get together collectively within the county for this due to the size of the county so they region it and smaller groups attend different locations. The players in Dublin do the same. The players at colleges the same.

I thought it was a nice gesture by the Fermanagh fans to clap their players from the pitch. Those players put a lot of effort in to their season and its not often that Fermanagh make to to an AI QF. They had just witnessed Kerry humiliate Kildare and were probably thinking they were in for something similar so in their eyes it was a victory of sorts!!

Back to coaching, funding and structures. Before one cent extra is given to any county to fund coaching etc., every county should be made produce a coaching plan outlining what they need, where they need it ans most importantly being realistic!! Counties with bigger populations are always going to have a wider pick and will be able to self generate additional funding leading to a better quality player getting better treatment and I don't think that pumping extra money into counties without the right structures will help that.

Interesting to note that since Pete Mc Grath was appointed to the role of manager in Fermanagh he has not once asked for a cent of expenses and indeed the county board have had to ask him on numerous occasions of what his expenses where so they could give him the money. If they never asked would he have looked for it. This is a very different approach from what would be the norm now in most counties and fair play to Pete for being old-school!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/08/2015 16:28:35    1763858

donegalman
ye had murphy mcfadden and mcbrearty all them years
if mcguinness wanted skills to flourish he would have played them in their positions
and where they would showcase the skills all three have.
if anything rory gallagher is doing it far more this year than mcguinness did.
im not saying he wasnt a great manager
just saying he cant have it both ways now that he is not involved in the inter county set up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/08/2015 16:37:14    1763862

Sure they were right to be happy with getting to the QFinals but did they not celebrate that achievement when they beat Westmeath. Celebrating because you are not getting hammered by too much is a little embarrassing but I suspect a lot of those doing the celebrating might have been fair weather fans up in Dublin for a session more than anything else. I have seen my own county being beat by Dublin all to often but I am always disappointed and have never celebrated because we got close enough. The goal incident is also something I wouldn't be proud of if I was Fermanagh fan. It almost felt like quigley guilted them all into giving the goal because it was poor little Fermanagh, there is no way the referee would have gave that goal if it was for Kerry. It was like something you'd see in kids football. I was waiting for Okay next goal wins.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 04/08/2015 16:47:38    1763874

To over the Hill 16
Your booing was an embarrassment
Sure there were 10 or 20 fermanagh lads on the hill that were an embarrassment to us. Ive never heard such abuse by 1000s of dubs from the Hill of a fermanagh player, maybe you are used to it because you seem to boo most opposition free takers and cheer a miss as much as you cheer your teams scores. Quigley was having the craic with yiz but being 10 or 15 points up wasnt enough yeah ?

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 04/08/2015 16:47:54    1763875

anyway back to the original thread
Donegal lost to Armagh back in 2010 in Cross I think it was they lost with no spirit no drive THAT was embarrassing
Fermanagh showed pride spirit, no fear and a relentless self belief that makes me walk 10 feet tall as a Fermanagh man
Dublins raw talent is to be admired immensely, the sheer athleticism, the speed, the ball skills its awesome. Howver the cynicism in fouling, the need for Cluxton to deliberately waste time by kicking the ball out when he knew a sub was coming on to run down the clock is embarrasing, what was he afraid of ?? a Fermanagh come back ? either that or its just programmed in him to do that.. So Jim McGuinness dont fear for our games because of the raw pride Fermanagh fans showed for their team, fear for a team that has the best players in the country, the best team their county has had for many generations, to still feel the need to play with cynicicm and systematic fouling... oops then again Jim, where did they learn it from ...look northwest just beyond fermanagh !!

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 04/08/2015 16:59:07    1763885

Sure they were right to be happy with getting to the QFinals but did they not celebrate that achievement when they beat Westmeath. Celebrating because you are not getting hammered by too much is a little embarrassing but I suspect a lot of those doing the celebrating might have been fair weather fans up in Dublin for a session more than anything else. I have seen my own county being beat by Dublin all to often but I am always disappointed and have never celebrated because we got close enough.
The cheer was for more than just the Dublin match. It was a refection of our performance throughout the year including getting promoted.

The goal incident is also something I wouldn't be proud of if I was Fermanagh fan.
We aren't proud of it, we just think it was funny. Like a lot of people

effin (Fermanagh) - Posts: 39 - 04/08/2015 17:29:05    1763903

AnBuachaillGlas
County: Fermanagh

To over the Hill 16
Your booing was an embarrassment
Sure there were 10 or 20 fermanagh lads on the hill that were an embarrassment to us. Ive never heard such abuse by 1000s of dubs from the Hill of a fermanagh player, maybe you are used to it because you seem to boo most opposition free takers and cheer a miss as much as you cheer your teams scores. Quigley was having the craic with yiz but being 10 or 15 points up wasnt enough yeah ?

every county boos when they feel injustice
it happened in the first game gooch got booed taking a free
its more aimed at the ref not the player generally
on sunday dublin supporters felt we were getting nothing from the ref
so what do you expect to happen when that ref then gives a farce of a goal to help fermanagh
you would need to remove yourself from the game completly to not be incensed at a decision like that going against you.
then the whole of croke park seen quigley laughing on the big screen after getting the goal
of course he was going to become the panthomime villan.
of course you must not have heard the whole of croke park booing last year
when brian codys face was shown in the stand watching the game between cork and tipp i think
and he wasnt even involved in the match that day.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/08/2015 17:35:26    1763907

I think he was a bit harsh on Fermanagh.

The facts are that, barring a miracle, they were never going to win that game this year next year or any year.

Allowing for that they were happy at the way they performed on the day & especially at the way they finished the game. For a while it looked as if they were going to be annihilated, but they never gave up, kept plugging away & with great panache left Croke Park with their heads held high.

Their supporters were magnificent & thoroughly enjoyed the last 15 minutes. I think it would have been a pity if the players didn't stay to acknowledge them at the end.

They seem to be a great bunch of lads who, amazingly enough in this day & age, seem to enjoy their football. Pete McGrath was fulsome in his praise of them after the game & you could see how much the whole journey meant to him & he has seen it all

They have been a great addition to the championship this year & more power to them.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/08/2015 17:46:26    1763920

I thoroughly agree with you muckross! +1

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 04/08/2015 18:05:26    1763930

Anbuachaillglas.

Quigley was just having the craic? Is that how you see it?

I'll clear it up for you. Quigley was cheating. You can try colour it any way you like but nothing changes it. I spent 60 min watching one of the worst displays of refereeing I've ever seen. The free count alone is testament to that. If it was a Dublin player who was laughing and sneering like that after cheating like that this thread with be ten times as long with all with all the false outrage that goes with it. And it wasn't just supporters on 'the Hill'. Your cliche ridden post is nearly as bad as the refereeing. So if a bit of jeering upset you, what can I tell you. Suck it up boy.

A.

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 04/08/2015 18:23:52    1763942