Fermanagh's first goal?

That would not have been given in a tighter match. It didn't affect the match (other than liven up the boys in green) and should be put to bed!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 03/08/2015 21:39:42    1763438

Can i ask what one of the 26 frees shouldn't have been a free?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/08/2015 21:40:35    1763440

Gotmilk

Plenty highlighted on Sunday Game in a segment dedicated to highlight soft calls awarded against Dublin

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/08/2015 21:52:12    1763459

I think realdub he cared about the stars Monica gave him for his performance's :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/08/2015 21:55:31    1763465

Lol @ AthCliath

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 03/08/2015 21:58:02    1763472

It was certainly an entertaining decision to allow the goal stand. Full credit to the referee on a great game. The referee played his part in making it an entertaining contest. Cluxton should not be running into opponents like that and got his comeuppance in that regard.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7888 - 03/08/2015 21:59:51    1763473

Cannot believe this is still running!

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 04/08/2015 09:12:21    1763490

who cares? Dublin won handy even though they sleep walked through the second half.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 04/08/2015 09:20:51    1763492

It was goal of the year in my view, gave me a good chuckle anyway and well done to Fermanagh for never giving up even though they were a bit out of their depth.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 04/08/2015 09:27:08    1763496

Totally agree Htaem - never laughed so much at a goal. It was the injection the game needed. It was never going to be competitive but at least it was funny. I thought the second goals was also hilarious

Fair play to Fermanagh though - they're approach to the game was refreshing and it could be deemed a moral victory in some way.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 04/08/2015 09:46:42    1763508

Dubs are lucky they're not being called cynical after all the frees Fermanagh got!

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 04/08/2015 09:56:44    1763516

Not trying to be mischievious here but at the time of this goal I thought Cluxton had brought it over the line before Quigley touched him (or in reality when Cluxton ran into him)

Have a good screenshot of it and both of Cluxtons feet are behind the line and he is holding the ball to his left (under the oxter you'd say) I know it has to be fully over the line but when viewed again the umpire actually appears to be going to get the flag before the incident everyone else is talking about.

overinthewest (Sligo) - Posts: 119 - 04/08/2015 11:50:21    1763615

If Dublin tackled properly instead of gving away cheap fouls then maybe the free count wouldnt be so lopsided.
The majority of frees Fermanagh got were deserved.

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 04/08/2015 12:04:14    1763626

Illusionist

1763626 If Dublin tackled properly instead of gving away cheap fouls then maybe the free count wouldnt be so lopsided.
The majority of frees Fermanagh got were deserved.

Eh no the the majority of frees were quite clearly not deserved.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/08/2015 20:57:50    1764028

Fermanagh's first goal caught in picture by Fermanagh photographer Donnie Phair who had one of the best views in the house of the whole incident and captured the collision http://www.balls.ie/gaa/gaa-photos-of-the-year/303633

GalloonBaffoon (Fermanagh) - Posts: 119 - 04/08/2015 21:44:26    1764061

Let the Dubs, Brolly and McGuinness jump there's the pics!

TurnipHead. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 244 - 04/08/2015 22:00:02    1764075

Fermanagh's first goal caught in picture by Fermanagh photographer Donnie Phair who had one of the best views in the house of the whole incident and captured the collision http://www.balls.ie/gaa/gaa-photos-of-the-year/303633

Those pics show Cluxton leaning forward. It's a strange one. Obviously most of us thought foul when it happened. I think the keeper made a poor decision running into a man with superior strength. As I've said on another thread I think Cluxton's decision making is poor. I think he is a weakness as Dublin go into the last 4.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/08/2015 08:56:21    1764092

slayer
County: Limerick

Those pics show Cluxton leaning forward. It's a strange one. Obviously most of us thought foul when it happened. I think the keeper made a poor decision running into a man with superior strength. As I've said on another thread I think Cluxton's decision making is poor. I think he is a weakness as Dublin go into the last 4.

Correct! but expect plenty of abuse from Dublin fans for that one!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5019 - 05/08/2015 09:17:45    1764100

slayer
County: Limerick

---
When he landed on his feet he was 6 inches from Quigley. What did you expect him to do, throw himself back into his own net? He was pushed over the line. Simple. His decision making was spot on as it is 99% of the time. The umpires didn't raise a green flag so they obviously didn't view this as a legit goal and neither did Quigley, by his own admission. As I said elsewhere, it's all academic now. As for Cluxton being a weakness, that's laughable. There isn't a county who wouldn't have him in a heartbeat.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/08/2015 10:35:23    1764157

watched it a few times there .Partly cause i think it hilarious

So here are the facts and everyone cal log on to you tube and see them for them selves.

Ball kicked in cluxton collects the ball. When he lands on the ground he immediately runs straight at quigley. Left hand protecting the ball right hand raised leading with the elbow.

As cluxton hits quigley quigley pushes cluxton and due to his size pushes him into his goal.

Now reading the posts on here and seeing people calling others numptys and other useful names here is the facts.

While quigley is not allowed tackle cluxton in the square cluxton is also not allowed barge which was the FIRST action in the sequence

so if we are going by the rules as everyone is shouting about in here then no the goal shouldnt have stood but it should however have been a penalty to fermanagh for the foul by cluxton on quigley..

No before anyone one throws their dummy out of the pram i suggest you go look at the incident again. It is clear the cluxton secures the ball and runs straight into quigley .. At this time quigley hadnt laid a finger on him.

That should conclude things for ye. I think dubs are avoiding the elephant in the room by focusing on this. That elephant being that in their last two games they have been poor. And poor against inferior opposition. Had they met mayo or kerry sunday they would have been out of the championship simple as that

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 05/08/2015 11:01:26    1764178