Fermanagh's first goal?

Look it was a foul, Cluxton was bundled over the line.
If it happened against us I wouldn't be impressed.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/08/2015 09:57:29    1762864

Why on earth would it rattle the dubs?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2015 09:58:13    1762865

I am of the opinion that the goal should not have stood but I am not surprised it was given having witnessed more than a few bad officiating performances so far this summer. Thankfully in this instance with less than 10 mins to go and a massive gap between the teams it did not have any impact whatsoever on the outcome of the game. But come on folks there have been decisions already this summer that have had an impact on games that have not got an airing here. Regards yesterday there is a lot more to talk about i.e. Kerry looking pretty complete but in the context of playing a very weak Kildare team while Dublin's Midfield and Full Back lines needing immediate attention.

Also with all this fixing of draws into A and B sides why do we not see the two teams due to meet in the semi finals play on the same weekend? And don't get me started on the lopsided nature these A and B sides have created giving rise to a day like we had yesterday where teams coming through the weak side of the qualifier draw get humped off the park.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 03/08/2015 09:58:50    1762867

First and foremost it was 100% a free but I for one was happy to take anything we were given on that day and it did help to improve the atmosphere on the day.

Secondly while people say id doesn't matter it clearly had an affect on the outcome of the game and brought the score line closer to what it may have been. Dublin were always in control. It may also have affected a few punters out there, for good or bad who knows.

If I was a Dub fan id be a lot more concerned with the second goal, pure calamity of errors, something that needs sorted before the semi final. Surly Cluxton has no chance of an all star after yesterday. Thoughts?

donkeykong (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 03/08/2015 10:02:15    1762869

To me 3 things come in to play here - the written rules, the interpretation of these rules and the game to game application of them.

The written rule:
1.7: When he is within the small rectangle, the goalkeeper may not be charged but he may be challenged for possession of the ball, and his kick or pass may be blocked. Incidental contact with the goalkeeper while playing the ball is permitted.

Fouls:
5.31 (a) To charge (in a manner otherwise permissible on an opponent) the Goalkeeper in his small rectangle.

The interpreted rule:
First things first is what is defined as a Charge? When you read the rule as written and look back at the footage from yesterday then the first thing noticeable is that Quigley didn't charge Cluxton in what I would say is the traditional sense of the word charge i.e. he didn't move towards him but stood his ground. The second things is what is defined as incidental contact? If Cluxton made a charge forward at Quigley who stood his ground is the contact incidental or if the player in front of the Goalie lifts his hands and pushes back is this deemed beyond incidental? And thirdly, to charge a Goalkeeper inside the square in a manner not permissible on an opponent is deemed a foul - leaving aside the word charge (as this in itself can be open to interpretation), if a player gained possession and goes to burst forward anywhere else on the pitch would the contact witnessed yesterday by an opponent be given as a free?

The applied rule:
To me the important part of the 2 rules outlined above is "in a manner otherwise permissible on an opponent". Throughout a game you will see incidents where a player fields a ball or gains possession and is surrounded by players who put their hands up on the guy in possession. You see it when a guy is in possession soloing and the first contact with a defender is normally hands up, normally in to the chest, to stop or slow the person in possession. It's what we drill in to players from early on and you rarely if ever see it being blown as a foul. From this point then you would say that the contact would have been permissible on an opponent anywhere else on the pitch.

For me the big issue is still the lack of consistency in applying the rules by Referees which leads us to situations like this where we could probably debate all day as to why it should or shouldn't have been allowed as a goal. We go from game to game seeing different interpretations of the rules and it's no wonder people end up debating decisions on this and other forums.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 03/08/2015 10:04:28    1762871

Great technique to finish the goal by Quigley. Not to many full forwards could have shown the composure and cool head to get that ball over the line. Goal of the championship?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/08/2015 10:08:20    1762875

The visceral bellyaching from people at Croke Park and from what I seen online regarding a decision at a time when the Blue Juggernaut were trampling little Fermanagh by 15 points astounded me. Just gives an indication the refs are under by 60,000+ baying supporters roaring ( I know it was a lot less yesterday but point stands) Imagine if the game was still in the melting pot

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 03/08/2015 10:56:19    1762910

That's the point KY. Imagine!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2015 11:03:52    1762920

The first goal is not up for debate, Anyone who knows anything about Gaelic Football knows you cannot frontal charge any player on the pitch. Anyone who on the tread who said Cluxton charged at Quigly must think alot of Cluxton. How can you catch the ball and at the same time charge at a player. Anyway in my mind that decision was the only the tip of the iceberg and to the refs credit at least he showed his true colours. He gave Fermanagh 21 frees to Dublins 4 the whole game. I know people will argue it is Dublins own doing but even the Sunday Game's highlight show cited this and showed Fermanagh got alot of soft soft frees. To be honest I'm used to it as a Dublin fan. We can also say it now because we won. It is not sour grapes and to be honest I dont care too much as I had Dublin to score the 3rd goals and it bagged me 80 quid from betfair. I am just worried it will happen again in the next round when the game is tighter.

Sean867 (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 03/08/2015 11:14:50    1762933

Well Jackeen, ye are so far ahead of the others this year that scenario is almost certain not to arise so all we can do is imagine that hypothetical scenario

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 03/08/2015 11:28:58    1762946

That was the most one sided referring performance I've ever seen. The goal hahaha and lads on here tell us the refs favour us what a load of bs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/08/2015 11:36:14    1762955

Ye right however I'm talking about it in the context of all teams.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/08/2015 11:42:44    1762959

As a referee I wouldn't give it - free out , the old rule applies, if in doubt free out, but the umpire was very slow to act.... I was at the game and it had an impact on the game... dubs were rattled a bit and it did fire Fermanagh up.... Cluxton made a massive error for goal 2...
Most dubs fans took it well - but there was a sizeable crowd on the Davin end whose language and bahaviour was disgraceful......

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 03/08/2015 11:45:29    1762962

Anyone trying to claim that the goal was in any way legitimate is either a blathering idiot, a troll, or both. The rule clearly states that you cannot charge the goalie in the small square - end of. It's actually quite shocking that an intercounty ref would allow the goal. That, added to a 21-4 free count against the Dubs, indicates to me that the ref was more interested in "making a game of it" than actually refereeing the match on its merits.

I've made the point on this forum before that too many GAA refs, at all levels of the game, try to manipulate the scoreline if a team is losing heavily, in order to give them a "dig out". We've all seen the soft frees given to let a team back into a game, or the soft free right at the end of a match to give a team a draw. Refs should have it drilled into them; "the scoreline is none of your business, just referee the match as you see it".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/08/2015 11:46:44    1762964

Yes fair play to Sunday game

It was a particularly bad display by the ref

I would say without hesitation that at least 10 decisions were not frees

Another 4 being 50/50 and then the outrageous goal

We are getting fleeced - I think it was a heavily biased ref display

I'm glad to see other posters from different counties make similar comments

I'm not one for giving out about refs...

But that wasn't good yesterday - I honestly believe the media hype surrounding this Dubs team is influencing some refs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/08/2015 11:47:01    1762965

Brilliant goal by Quigley, contender for goal of the season. Then Cluxton air kicks for Fermanagh's second goal, think he was rattled.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1751 - 03/08/2015 11:58:28    1762979

The key thing is the number of frees awarded, 21 versus only 4 for Dublin. 2013 final vs Mayo all over again. Such partisanship on the part of the referee is what gets players and fans frustrated to the point that trouble breaks out. Its not good enough or acceptable. The first Fermanagh goal was only one in a series of unbelievable decisions made by the referee.

McGrath saying he didn't know what happened, Quigley laughing and spoofing about it afterwards and people on here trying to claim black is white. Cheating is cheating, that's what it was. It didn't count yesterday but it did against Louth. Any team that wins a match in such circumstances will only be remembered for being unworthy champions.

I sincerely hope we don't have that ref in charge of another Dublin game again.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 03/08/2015 12:02:21    1762982

Beacaire Gorm

1762982 The key thing is the number of frees awarded, 21 versus only 4 for Dublin. 2013 final vs Mayo all over again. Such partisanship on the part of the referee is what gets players and fans frustrated to the point that trouble breaks out. Its not good enough or acceptable. The first Fermanagh goal was only one in a series of unbelievable decisions made by the referee.

McGrath saying he didn't know what happened, Quigley laughing and spoofing about it afterwards and people on here trying to claim black is white. Cheating is cheating, that's what it was. It didn't count yesterday but it did against Louth. Any team that wins a match in such circumstances will only be remembered for being unworthy champions.

I sincerely hope we don't have that ref in charge of another Dublin game again.

Bit harsh saying cheating is cheating. As I said above it was 100% a free but you cannot blame Quigley or Fermanagh that the cheated. Ref and umpire at fault.

donkeykong (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 03/08/2015 13:44:47    1763065

21 to 4 frees it's frightening how one sided a ref can be , Fermanagh players just fell to the ground and he gives a free every single time I couldn't believe what I was seeing , Donegal can tackle any way they like and they never give a free against them yet we barely touch a lad and it's a free.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/08/2015 13:56:56    1763075

Umpire had the look not the ref. I think the ball was over the line before the challenge actually

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 03/08/2015 14:33:02    1763100