Mayo V Donegal

Donegal may get hammered in this one , they are exhausted from a tough Ulster run ( 4 matches ) . We beat Galway but have picked up many injuries along the way . I don't think Saturdays result will be a true reflection of this Donegal team just like Kildare are not 8 points better than Cork. Seven days to prepare for a beast like Mayo : come on. Mayo by 8-10 .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 04/08/2015 10:23:56    1763535

I can't see a repeat of 2013 and expect our lads to put in a better performance than we did that year but unless we show something different than we have been in the past three games I feel Mayo will win this however there are question marks that will determine the result.

Mayo will be fresh and prepared for Donegal / Monaghan as both teams set up very similar however the fact they haven't been really tested yet could come into play if the game remains tight for the 70. Donegal are battle hardened and have had to dig deep in 4 of their games to date.

Has Rory Gallagher got it right. The chopping and changing of positions due to injuries has led to an improved Donegal. Rory played almost every game this year with one up front but when we played 2 up and 2 supporting on Saturday we looked a way better team and maybe Rory will stick with that format.

Will Donegal tighten the defence. We haven't conceded much in any of our games but Durcan has had to makes stops in almost all our games which means the gaps are there and from now on better forwards will make us pay.

Will Donegal get a goal. We seem to need to score a goal to win a game. We got at least one goal in all our games bar the Ulster Final so if we can raise the green flag once or twice on Saturday we have a chance but a shut out could end our hopes.

Looking forward to the game. It will be heavy hitting, intense with a scattering of great scores. I hope we can keep it tight and possibly cause an upset but if I was a betting man I'd go with Mayo by 2-4

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/08/2015 11:36:49    1763603

ah now TheRightStuff there is no comparison between corks defeat to Kildare and the frame of mind donegal are in post galway.
the bookies have it more or less evens.
The smart money would have to be on Donegal.
Mayo are completely untested. Donegal are battle hardened and have learnt what works and what doesnt- i.e Michael Murphys best position.
Mayo are vunerable under the high ball in the full back line and while A O Shea did well against a rookie division 3 full back he now
meets by far the best full back in the country who wont give him an inch.
The Mchughs and Mcfadden are back playing brillantly.
Too many question marks over Mayo, peticularly defensively. also question marks over the mgmt.
I dont think Donegeal will be in any way tired.
My heart says Mayo, head says Donegal..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 04/08/2015 14:12:04    1763730

Tight to call but I have to say mayo purely because they have better forwards. Be 5/6 points in it. Hope I'm wrong but mayo seem very settled and play great attractive football. No hiding place for any team now. Hopefully there will be some tight games with free flowing football. Hasn't been a championship as a whole to get the blood racing.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 04/08/2015 18:19:53    1763940

There's a lot of cute hoorism going on in here you'd swear Kerry were involved.

"Ah jeez the boys will be tired, definite Mayo win"

"Here Donegal are battle hardened and our boys have had a soft run at it, Donegal have to be favourites"

I think the way we finished out the match against Galway will give the lads a great boost, and also with the players we had involved. A big criticism of this Donegal team has been "the same 18 players" involved every day out. Now you have Ryan McHugh and Odhran absolutely key members of the team, both of them seem to absolutely love playing in Croke Park. McFadden and Doherty slotted in the last day and you wouldn't really have noticed any massive drop off, though obviously Lacey would be a big improvement.

Then you have McLoone and Thompson coming back to themselves after joining the squad late.

I think people will be very surprised by the game on Saturday, both teams went hell for leather at eachother in the league. It'll be tight but I think it will be pretty open. You drop enough balls on top of O'Shea and Murphy and goals happen - I expect both of them to start at 14. So it will come down to accuracy and based on the year so far, you'd have to lean towards Mayo. If we sort out our wides and poor shot selection, we can do it.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2015 18:35:43    1763954

:Tight to call but I have to say mayo purely because they have better forwards:

Jes I don't know how you can say Mayo have better forwards,as long as I can remember the only thing that's stopped Mayo winning All Ireland's in my time is their lack of one or two top class forwards, I think we have better forwards,that's if they are let play up front!!
Too tight to call but Mayo have to be favourites being well rested and injury free,
I just hope it's a good game and I don't think we'll have the hangover we did in 2013 but there is a lot of tired legs in the camp and the last 20 mins is when Mayo will likely pull away,
all down to performance on the day,we can't afford to kick so many wides as recently,if we do Mayo will punish us severely.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 04/08/2015 19:20:23    1763972

Had to laugh at the comments of the Mayo management about poor Aidan O' Shea and how he's targeted with obvious intent to sway the ref for the game on Saturday.

Lets talk facts - Aidan O' Shea gets fouled a lot of times and gets nothing for it but also does a lot of hitting himself both on and off the ball and avoids cards that most wouldn't get away with. Michael Murphy is exactly the same kind of player - gets fouled plenty without a free and can dish it out too but gets plenty of cards and then you have Ciaran Whelan highlighting this on the Sunday game.

Although people say these comments don't sway a ref it does plant a seed in his head and don't be suprised to see wee Aidan getting plenty of soft ones this weekend. Meath ref's rarely give Donegal teams the 50/50 calls anyway and with Mc Hugh always giving them a touch I wonder if we are going to get a fair deal against Mayo?

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 05/08/2015 14:56:19    1764439

Big game.. Mayo by a whisker for me

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 05/08/2015 15:14:00    1764462

It's hard not to see Mayo as favourites for this game, especially with Donegal's shooting woes in recent matches and tendency to drop off Intensity between the 10th minute and the 35th minute.

But if this game is tight at half time, I would not rule out a Donegal win. Regardless of who wins, I still feel the winner of this game will make the All Ireland final.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/08/2015 15:43:52    1764494

Good man Tir Conaill Abu, get your excuses in nice and early in case ye lose the game.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 05/08/2015 15:57:46    1764509

I'd disagree with you there Gary. If we do beat Mayo I think Dublin would beat us this time. However I do think Mayo beat them.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 05/08/2015 16:02:50    1764514

Tir Conaill Abu
Meath ref's rarely give Donegal teams the 50/50 calls anyway and with Mc Hugh always giving them a touch I wonder if we are going to get a fair deal against Mayo?

Don't talk to us about Meath ref's ha. I hope this guy is better than his fellow county man.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 05/08/2015 16:07:04    1764521

I'd be inclined to agree with benjyyy, even if we somehow muster a win on Saturday I can't see us beating the Dubs this time around. And I don't mean that to be down on the lads, they constantly surprise me so maybe I should stop doubting! But I just feel of all teams the Dubs would meet this year, we're the one team they would be bloody minded in attempting to win it. Hunger counts for an awful lot in these games, and I think they'd have a similar hunger and intensity against us that Mayo brought in 2013 in all honesty.

However I do think if Mayo get past us they can get one over the Dubs.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 05/08/2015 16:08:28    1764524

benjyyy

I'd disagree with you there Gary. If we do beat Mayo I think Dublin would beat us this time. However I do think Mayo beat them.

I don't agree, and I have seen signs from Dublin against both Westmeath and Fermanagh, that they haven't pushed on that much from last year's inability to deal with the blanket and leaking at the back. I think Mayo or Donegal would both have the mental and physical ability to expose those chinks.

Had Fermanagh's Cassidy marked Bernard Brogan a little closer, I think that final result would have been much tighter than even the final score showed, first goal or not. A luxury that is a little hard to find against the other big guns.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 05/08/2015 16:12:58    1764527

I would fancy Donegal to win but they need to keep Murphy at full forward .

hutto (Monaghan) - Posts: 171 - 05/08/2015 16:16:32    1764533

I wouldnt worry one little bit about the ref, who or where he is from. Our discipline in the tackle this year is spot on, as it has been over the past couple of years. There were only 25 frees in the ulster final, as there were equally few in the qualifier against galway. For this reason, I would say that the mayo lads have nothing to worry about, Aidan Oshea will not miss work on monday morning.

It will be interesting to see if mayo are going to opt to shoot from distance. I have a funny feeling that they are practicing this tactic and will not run as much with the ball unless they absolutely have to.

As for ourselves, there is no news from the camp, which is always a good sign.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/08/2015 16:28:05    1764545

Evenly matched teams but Donegal will be tired after the effort they've had to put in against Galway and in Ulster. Mayo to win.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 05/08/2015 16:43:56    1764558

Poor Aidan....

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/08/2015 16:45:48    1764561

A little mind games from Connelly but sure all managers are at it now. Anything to gain an inch. In fairness Michael Murphy seems to fin ot very hard to win a free too. I think when your a huge man your not excepted to go over even with 3 or 4 hanging out of you.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 05/08/2015 16:56:04    1764574

Tir Conaill Abu

Had to laugh at the comments of the Mayo management about poor Aidan O' Shea and how he's targeted with obvious intent to sway the ref for the game on Saturday.

Lets talk facts - Aidan O' Shea gets fouled a lot of times and gets nothing for it but also does a lot of hitting himself both on and off the ball and avoids cards that most wouldn't get away with. Michael Murphy is exactly the same kind of player - gets fouled plenty without a free and can dish it out too but gets plenty of cards and then you have Ciaran Whelan highlighting this on the Sunday game.

Although people say these comments don't sway a ref it does plant a seed in his head and don't be suprised to see wee Aidan getting plenty of soft ones this weekend. Meath ref's rarely give Donegal teams the 50/50 calls anyway and with Mc Hugh always giving them a touch I wonder if we are going to get a fair deal against Mayo?

Some hint of yerra off this thread, alright.

O'Shea does have to be fouled very noticeably before he gets awarded a free- I often think Michael Murphy gets a similar rap from the officials. Can't agree with your assertions on AOS getting away with a lot of fouls though- I remember him being sent off for two fairly soft yellows against Donegal two years ago, for example.

I suspect the comments from the Mayo management are a pre-match psychological ploy, much like the bould Rory's before the corresponding fixture two years ago. Had a chuckle at the Meath comment- they're the last county that would ever favour my own.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/08/2015 17:04:38    1764583