Monaghan vs Tyrone

No way gotmilk. there may have been the odd case of it happening sporadically in eras gone by, but its gotten way out of hand this last ten years, and is becoming a full on part of the game. (and the hurlers are beginning to start at it too)

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/08/2015 19:05:53    1766107

seanie_boy

You've not hung your flag from the mast Liameen.....what county do you support?

USA! Lol

Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 08/08/2015 19:11:47    1766109

Kerry will be happy in some ways. Tyrone were efficient the spotlight is on them. It will focus Kerry mi d. Kerry will live this as there re ord since 08 against Tyrone is excellent. Tyrone were efficient but Monaghan were poor. It's Tyrone taking the plaudits .

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 08/08/2015 19:14:35    1766110

No way gotmilk. there may have been the odd case of it happening sporadically in eras gone by, but its gotten way out of hand this last ten years, and is becoming a full on part of the game. (and the hurlers are beginning to start at it too)

joncarter (Galway) - 08/08/2015 19:05:53
--------------------
You have a point. Indeed a rugby style tackle by your very own Finian Hanley was one example of this type of negativity that was used by the FRC.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 19:19:09    1766112

What McCann did is a disgrace to the sport. Cheating like that is deserving of a suspension. I'm embarrassed as a GAA fan.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 08/08/2015 19:22:54    1766115

Is that meant to be some sort of dig? Hanleys tackle was out of order. Im not afraid to admit when my county men behave badly.
Im sure it wont be long before galwaymen regularly roll around on the grass clutching their faces at the slightest hint of contact, because if you dont have the talent (which we dont at the moment) thats what you do to win these days.
I genuinely believe that GAA players are worse than soccer players these days, and thats a terrible shame.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/08/2015 19:26:46    1766119

Yes seanie but the difference is we do it sporadically unlike some other teams. We are obviously copping on as we 'took two for the team' near the end of the Armagh game. For years we were too nice even when we won our all irleands in style. I don't like it but a team have no chance unless they do it. On today well done. Tyrone have every chance against Kerry.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 08/08/2015 19:27:00    1766120

Lets call a spade a spade lads, young McCanns dive was bad, and I'm sure when he watches it back he won't be too impressed with himselfe either. But the incident didn't have any effect on the game. Tyrone where the better team throughout and would have closed the game out anyway.

Monaghan, in CmcM, have probably in my opinion the best forward in the game right now. The man was fantastic and can feel hard done by to be on the losing team. Monaghan are a good side but I think the sideline let them down today. They didn't seem to have many ideas when they got to tyrones 45 and bar a few brilliant long range scores didn't really threaten.

Tyrone are by no means a finished article, but an AI semi with this team is a great achievement and Kerry will not look forward to playing them, even though I think Kerry will have too much for them. I actually thought it was a fairly good game to watch, regardless of the result and a lot better than the previous few games.

Whatever the semi final holds, I think it will be a good game. Also I think monaghan could potentially have an AI in them and hope they give it a good rattle next year, obviously as long as its not at the expense of Tyrone.

beelzebub (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 08/08/2015 19:35:19    1766127

Lads wasn't a dig at any particular person or team. You will have seen today and in the past I will call out our own players for any of this stuff if I think they should be. I'm just sick of the hysterics on here. Will you all be giving out about Mayos Kevin Keane for just slapping Michael Murphy across the face and ridiculing the whole game because of it? I think not.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 19:36:16    1766130

McCaans dive spreading like wildfire on twitter and social media.
He will probably be on the news too.
I know its just one incident, and thee are divers everywhere,in every county, but this one was very very bad, and the GAAs reputation will take a hit on this one.
Rte will probably milk it dry.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/08/2015 19:41:08    1766134

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/gif-be-embarrassed-aidan-oshea/93899
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
This fella did this one time and he is lauded up and down the country as one of the best players of his generation.And rightly so.Just because somebody does this in a particular moment doesn't mean he should be vilified endlessly.I called it out today in regards to our player and as you all know it happens with many teams on many occassions so please spare us the lecture.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 19:42:55    1766137

Daith

What McCann did is a disgrace to the sport. Cheating like that is deserving of a suspension. I'm embarrassed as a GAA fan.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
You might want to talk to a professional about this.I'd be worried you might be taking certain things in life too seriously.I suppose you've not been feeling well since Kerry hammered the crap out of Kildare. Was Mc Canns hair the straw that broke the camels back? I have suggested he get it cut also,it would nearly bring tears to your eyes thon hairstyle.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 19:47:52    1766144

seanie_boy

Lads wasn't a dig at any particular person or team. You will have seen today and in the past I will call out our own players for any of this stuff if I think they should be. I'm just sick of the hysterics on here. Will you all be giving out about Mayos Kevin Keane for just slapping Michael Murphy across the face and ridiculing the whole game because of it? I think not.

I agree that Kevin Keanes slap at Murphy was silly, pointless and petulant. It wasn't going to change the result and only got Keane a red card. He was smiling coming off but I'm not sure how happy he can be with himself now. More of it.

Liameen (USA) - Posts: 38 - 08/08/2015 19:56:31    1766149

Just because you're forced to cut your garment according to the measure of the cloth fed out to you doesn't mean you have to like it. Mick O'Connell says as much. Ever heard of him?

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 08/08/2015 20:30:46    1766180

The last time Tyrone beat Monaghan there was the rugby tackle and we got the black card. what colour of a card will we get this time a tinted one? that was a great game. some fantastic football up until 65 minutes approx. after that it was over as a contest and out came the silly stuff. I think the ref got his first black card call very wrong and in then tried to even things up. I know for a fact that Marty Duffy is a long time off Mickie Hartes Xmas card list. While The sending off of Darren Hughes was farcial there were a few other of our men were very lucky to have stayed on. Think Darren paid for the sins of his other teammates. the ref lost the game in the last 10 minutes and both teams did some very silly stuff. I feel very sorry for our team. They have done their best and in Conor Mc Manus we have one of the best in Ireland. But we have to hand it to the super tactition Mickie Harte. He has now built Tyrone mark 2. everyone writing them off. I said on this site a week ago that I really feared them even though I only saw the highlights on the sunday game last week. the got a six point lead up then and kept it. they did the exact same today. Them under 21s and their former minors all have all Ireland medals from different age groups and they can run all day. Anyone who couldent see that knows nothing about football.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 08/08/2015 20:35:07    1766183

Wasn't much of a game though was it Liameen in fairness? Was over for certain the moment Lee Keegan netted the second Mayo goal at the start of the second half.Hardly a nail biter for the ages.Tyrone v Monaghan was a better contest regardless of the last few mins.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 20:40:03    1766186

If the gaa don't take action against mccann they a bigger disgrace!

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 08/08/2015 20:42:03    1766190

plike

Just because you're forced to cut your garment according to the measure of the cloth fed out to you doesn't mean you have to like it. Mick O'Connell says as much. Ever heard of him?
--------------------------------------
I thought it was only Colm O' Rourke who spewed that kind of limited,unimaginative and severely wanting commentary.The dinosaur men of football in fairness.Listen to Darragh O Se or some other like minded commentator for a more relevant analysis.He tries to be fair at least.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 20:47:09    1766192

brendtheredhand. My fellow poster I had yous sussed. Pity the so called experts hadent? But fair play to Tyrone. yous were supposed to be the team in transition, the minnows, the rank outsiders. I dident fall for that. I saw this coming. Mickie Harte has another team almost built. a bit to go but well on the way. I hope yous go on now and get to another final. As for my home county I dont know where from here. we need young legs. That was the difference today.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 08/08/2015 20:50:33    1766194

Molaise
County: Fermanagh

If the gaa don't take action against mccann they a bigger disgrace!
-------------------------------------------------
Did they take action against Aidan O Shea for doing it? Or any other player who has done it in the past? Not to my knowledge,and with that Mc Cann should not be singled out.Why you want him to be says more about you.If you had called for a rule to use video evidence to retroactively punish ANY player who does this I could agree with you.Obviously your one of the hysterical types on here.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 20:51:58    1766196