Monaghan vs Tyrone

I can feel a big performance coming from us on Saturday,we just seemed to be holding back so far,think Malachy and his backroom team has been getting us ready for this game since April.

Tyrone will be dogged,Mickey will have them reved up as he hates Monaghan,Conor will come in for some special treatment also

I just think kieran Hughes will steal the show with a super game as he owes himself one against Tyrone for what happenend 2 years ago.

Monaghan by 2.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 05/08/2015 21:44:22    1764751

We are capable of improving on performances to date.
I have a genuine belief that this Monaghan panel are capable of delivering more than one serious performance at HQ this summer.

Will be roaring on from the Cusack...see yous there.

Hon

Knoxboyo (Monaghan) - Posts: 170 - 05/08/2015 21:55:19    1764766

Monaghan will be formidable opposition, not just for Tyrone on Saturday, but for any side who happen to meet them from here on in. Obviously I hope we are the only ones. They have built from their successes in 2013, added new players to the team while retaining others to create a strong bench. They also will have that extra bit of bite given their loss to us at the same stage two years ago. I don't think that is blowing them up to be something they are not, just a statement of the facts.

On the other hand, Tyrone will fear nothing from facing our neighbours. We will give them the respect they deserve as Ulster Champions and a side who have toppled Donegal twice in recent times, something we have failed to do. But Tyrone have been building for this game all year IMO, regardless of who the opposition are. They won't change their formation or system, yes it will need tightened up, but their core will remain the same. Remains to be seen whether that is enough to get us over the line.

Can Tyrone produce three massive performances to win an All-Ireland - improbable
Can they produce two big games in a row to win a Semi and reach the final - unlikely
Can we win a one off game against a top side in a QF - most certainly

This one should go to the wire.

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 06/08/2015 09:56:30    1764815

Only seeing this convo now.

Im going Tyrone by a decent margin. maybe 4-5. They had a slow start in the league, slowly building. Each game they seem to get better and better unlike some other counties. It seems harte has his timing down to a T. Man is a genius and im hearing less of those people in may who where calling for him to step down. Tyrone thrive in croker, Monaghan wilter. Ive said to many and ill say it again......im betting a few quid on the winner of this game to go all the way

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 06/08/2015 10:12:49    1764828

On paper its Monaghan's to lose on paper. They have a settled team for the past 3/4 years and they have been knocking on the door for a while now but, I feel that they need to win this one for this team to progress. They came out of the handier side of the draw in Ulster and had a blistering start against Donegal in the final and were struggling at the end to get over the line.

Tyrone on the other hand still don't know what their best 15 is after 5 matches this year. the fact that they find themselves in the AI QF shows that their is a good team emerging. They have played some poor opposition and have been lucky that they could tinker with their formation to try and find the best one. I do think that although Monaghan possess the best scoring forward in McManus, Tyrone have more scoring potential especially in the FF line. This has been a real bone of contention for me seeing quality forwards sacrificed out the field for defending (Penrose for example). But now that we attack with speed and get the ball in quicker to the FF line I think we add so much more to our attack.

Anyways cant wait for the match on Saturday. Calling it (not on paper obv) is like tossing a coin. Can Monaghan finally deliver in CP and progress to the QF? Can Tyrone finally click into gear and produce their best display in 2 years?

In terms of the next round for the victor I think they will handle the beast that is Kerry. There is no way that they will score anything like they did against either team and we all know that Tyrone has the physiological edge on them. On the other hand if its Monaghan who gets there, I think the possibility of getting to an AI final for these guys will prove to great for Kerry and they will also get over the line.

The final of course is a different animal.......

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 06/08/2015 10:31:18    1764849

Had we taken out chances in the Ulster final , I think we would of beaten Monaghan easily . That aside they have our number and fair play . Overall though Donegal or Tyrone would do much better against the other big sides . I think there's a huge game in Tyrone .

Tyrone by 3 .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 06/08/2015 11:24:05    1764921

Had we taken out chances in the Ulster final ....

Monaghan continue to get no credit for beating Donegal as in 2013. A lot of those missed shots were under heavy pressure and from distance, pot shots when other options had been exhausted. Less talk that you had only 3 shots in the first 20 minutes and all went over or that Monaghan had 4 great chances to kill the game in 3rd quarter but missed those. Monaghan were by far the better team on the day and will beat Tyrone if they can play like they did for final 25 minutes of first half for whole game. That is of course by no means a certainty. Donegal's recovery last week just emphasises how good Monaghan were defensively but pundits and some one-eyed fans only take it as evidence that Donegal had an off day (again) against Monaghan.

Mike Patton (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 06/08/2015 11:50:08    1764942

Best of luck to Tyrone, Monaghan, looks Monaghan,but Tyrone will not lie down, Monaghan where lucky against Donegal, Cavan, but then they won fair and square, Tyrone will look at these 2 games to get a win over Monaghan, i dont think there will be much in this game, we all know who Kerry want to meet, and who they dont.it could be a big ask of Monaghan,and the pressure will be on them to avance towards a first Sam, and a meeting with Kerry who hammered Kildare by 27 points.this will be in the minds of both team s, but then again Kerry s bogey team has been Tyrone teams for the last 10 years or so. and Monaghan never like playing Tyrone. may the best team win, KERRY ARE WAITING.......................................................................................................

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 06/08/2015 12:08:02    1764953

I dont think until we win a big game in Croke Park such as Saturdays game we will ever get the credit for beating a big team. They will always have an off day against us. It suits the accepted view/narrative amongst pundits and fans, the old group think which you get a lot of in this country. Its a load of BS talk in fairness the game is there to be won for both sides and whoever takes the victory then fair play. You win like a man and you lose like a man. We could crib and moan about a lot of matches over the years where we played well but lost however I prefer to take the attitude if we coulda we woulda. We werent just good enough on those days. Same as Donegal werent good enough in 2013 Ulster Final and this years final also. The excuses afterwards count for nothing. Winning is what matters.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 06/08/2015 12:14:24    1764961

I think this could be a good match, a bit under the radar with all the focus on the Mayo vDonegal game. Monaghan should have beaten Donegal by 5 or 6 points in the Ulster Final. Tyrone did enough to beat Sligo last weekend.

Will Tyrone up their performance, or will Monaghan play to their potential for 70 minutes?. If they do I go for Momaghan.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1749 - 06/08/2015 12:35:39    1764983

@seanie08 My thoughts exactly. We have to do it on the big stage. If we don't make a SF place at least then we have not pushed on and cannot be considered one of the very top teams. I don't think any poster on here doubts our potential and our looks down on our provincial achievements in earnest. If we beat Tyrone we put all of this to bed and opposite is true if we don't. I think we should and will. What we have achieved in the last number of years is phenomenal. Going in we have the better squad, more experience and talent. Much stronger bench. Its our mentality that would see us come undone. We simply cannot switch off for long periods of time as we have in our previous outings. Cavan, Fermanagh and Donegal were all VERY close to leaving us stood around wondering what had just happened. Tyrone love a big occasion and they will have to play better than they have all year to go past us. I think they will give everything, if we do likewise then everything Tyrone have will not be enough (IMO!). I can't wait. I just hope there is no incidents this time (either way) to overshadow the outcome.

We are a good team, hopefully on saturday evening people will be saying we are a great team!

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 06/08/2015 13:04:20    1765013

Looking forward to travelling up on the train to see this double header.

This game is so hard to call...I think Monaghan are a decent side and their record over the last 3 years has proved that.

Tyrone are no mugs and the Tyrone players won't fear Monaghan especially in Croke Park.

I think Monaghan have learned how to play in Croker now and should not be as rigid as they sometimes can be.

They have a few serious attacking threats and Karl O'connell at wing back could cause problems in the open spaces of croker.

Tyrone have some deadly forwwards and if they get a run on any team with Kavanagh in full flow they will be hard to curtain.

As a neutral I hope Monaghan win and make that next step what a day that would be for Monaghan folk -All-Ireland semi v Kerry wow.

Here'shoping for a good sporting game without all the negative press that sometimes Ulster football gets!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 06/08/2015 13:05:43    1765016

BigJohn6_8. "As a neutral I hope Monaghan win."

Guess what. That means you're not a neutral. It might count as neutral on RTE though.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 06/08/2015 14:24:36    1765078

Talks cheap - Lets do this!!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 06/08/2015 14:36:01    1765094

There'll be some she-ite football when Donegal takes to the field that's for sure

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 06/08/2015 14:43:30    1765102

Wonder how much abuse mcmanus will have to take this time, who is refereeing it

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 06/08/2015 14:56:49    1765113

He'll be well marshalled for sure, not sure he'll be on the end of another rugby tackle but he will be addressed one way or another

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 06/08/2015 15:06:21    1765115

Bring Ulster to Croker eh,

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 06/08/2015 15:11:12    1765118

Tyrones show ponies up front will be found out come Saturday no harm to sligo meath or tipp but their backs are not the whack

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 06/08/2015 15:20:38    1765122

Be honest with you I'd say most Tyrone fans wouldn't hold a grudge if Monaghan gets through to a semi and pushes all the way, it would be a novelty to see another Ulster side compete for top honours, we're all a bit tired of watching the men from the hills at this stage.
So good luck lads, may it be a clean game of honest footie ;)

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 06/08/2015 15:22:13    1765124