Monaghan vs Tyrone

Mhunicean I was talking about Joe Brollys so called analysis when mentioned cheating not anything that you had said. If you and others knew the limitations of this team all year why the constant yearning to be told how great you were and complaining when the pundits weren't stroking the ego of the Monaghan supporters and team enough. By the way I too am well aware of the limitations of the Tyrone team, in my mind facing Kerry is a massive step up and one I feel will probably be too much for us at this stage.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/08/2015 20:36:10    1766779

Nearly as funny as supermon.
The feeling of dread you get when playing Tyrone is nearly always justified the one that we are about to hand your asses to you.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/08/2015 20:39:33    1766781

He didn't get away with it yesterday as he was plying his trade against players who are too cute for that stuff.I can't recall particular games cos no incident stands out for me that much but ask the Donegal man who said the same thing a few posts back.He said that it was O' Rourkes instruction to Mc Manus to buy frees when possible,or something to that effect.I don't understand how Monaghan people can see the same game in such a different way.Along with Brolly you are probably the only people in the country who thought that Conor Meyler deserved a black card.Disgraceful decision derided by all.

As Meyler had just laid the ball off how did it help him or Tyrone to pull down any Monaghan player? Monaghan weren't on the attack,we were.Ridiculous and illogical interpretation of the incident.Anything to say about how Hughes presented himself,planked himself or whatever you want to call it, arms raised, across Myler? Why was Hughes engaging Meyler like this when ball was gone? Thats right,it was oul mischief playing and it worked for him on that occasion and yez would have been hitting the roof in outrage had it been the other way round. Sheep, the lot of yez.

So your're basing your whole argument on the word of one anonymous Donegal poster and the you call us Sheep? Also could you please give examples where the Monaghan supporters are the "only people in the country who thought Myler's was a black card". I didn't think it was

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/08/2015 20:41:52    1766782

So your're basing your whole argument on the word of one anonymous Donegal poster and the you call us Sheep? Also could you please give examples where the Monaghan supporters are the "only people in the country who thought Myler's was a black card". I didn't think it was
--------------------
I've seen footage myself of him buyin himself soft frees. I've heard it from other posters and from the mouths of other people. As I said I'm not gonna search online for it just to please you on this thread. Sure ye know any forward worth his salt in today's game buys frees,from all teams. Regards the black card I'm generalizing....so shoot me,like you'd want to do with Mc Cann. It's the expressed opinion of Joe Brolly and his minions that it was a deserved black card when all pundits on Sky were saying it was not with one even suggesting that Hughes should have got the black card! The anti-Tyrone bile from Brolly is real,and this is perfect example. It was a 0-18 - 0-14 game yesterday with some good patches of play but that's not being discussed at all. There was some negativity from both teams that got a little amped up near the end,throw in Mc Canns antics and you'd swear it was the end of the world. Complete over reaction.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2015 21:02:20    1766797

I thought the ref a disgrace in the Mon vTyrone game. To me it was no black card, saw the replay on the big screen and with K Hughes walking away with a big grin
Lots of things happened that should not have happened, even the umpire wave a ball wide which was clearly deflected by Justin's fist but the ref gave a 45
I was disappointed with Monaghan, did not play their best yesterday and it will be a long haul back for them
There were a few issues raised after the Tyrone / Donegal game and to me the reason Donegal won was because they were through all this before, they were mentally strong on the day but Tyrone are still in the championship and won't be easily beaten.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 09/08/2015 21:17:53    1766809

I do find it interesting to see the popularity of Brolly gowing in certain quarters from around the time of The Sean Cavanagh Rant. Especially as he himself was not very well liked in these same quarters beforehand. Or is he still not very well liked in these quarters but is the preferred option to quote when it suits.

There was a Kerry man on here earlier saying McCann was the worst he had seen. Possibly true but the irony is not lost on me.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/08/2015 21:23:33    1766818

seanie_boy

.so shoot me,like you'd want to do with Mc Cann.

See there ya go again. We would have no gripe with McCann. My gripe with this Tyrone team is very specific and I'll say it again. It's the systematic going to ground looking for soft frees and the feigning of injury to gain advantage that I hate about this Tyrone team. Now I can understand that you try and defend your team and try and accuse me for being biased against you because we lost. I'm not going to wait until after the Sunday game to post it, now that would be "sheep in a heap" stuff as Bab's said. I didn't support other cynical teams (some of which won at Tyrone's expense) and I'm not going to support you's. Tyrone were the better team yesterday and did everything in their power to win including play football

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/08/2015 21:26:20    1766827

Am i the only one who dosnt care about all this play acting/cynical stuff?

If every game ends like the last 10min of the quarter final i dont care...as long as we win.

I think a lot of our supporters are too self conscious and spend too much time worrying what nobodies from other counties think of us.

We are the bad boys of gaelic football and i like it!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 09/08/2015 22:03:11    1766858

The Sunday Game, an impartial program that gives no bias or unbias to any team!!!!! The tripe that came from the mouths of Whelan and O'Rourke last night was shameful.
As a supporter at the game on Saturday evening I was surprised to see the level of Anti Tyrone feelings after the game. Apart from the last ten minutes (that is 70-79 minutes!!!!) Tyrone were by far the better team and never looked like losing the game. The ability of the Tyrone players to break the line of defence (Harte & McCann in particular) was a real feature, whereas when monaghan came up against the same defence they hadnt the upper body strength to break the tackle. Essentially this meant that Monaghan were scoring "wonder" scores esp in the first half. Aside from mcManus who lived off scraps and scored a couple of beauties, monaghan dont have another goto man in the forward line. On the other hand with McCurry and McAlliskey tyrone have 2 quick forwards and in the case of mcCurry can shoot of either foot. They are also very good and winning their own ball and taking on their man.
Ok for the silly stuff. Meylers black card. The rte analysis last night was shameful. Straight black card no question. How in the name of all that is holy can anyone think that Meyler fouled Hughes. After Meyler had passed the ball on Hughes jumped at him with his arms out like a bird to stop him going forward to recieve the ball back. Hughes was actually airborne!! The reaction of Hughes after the incident should be enough to see what really happened although RTE couldnt see it!! Hughes is a quality footballer who ,if he concentrated on football, would have caused us issues all day long. Every controversial incident he was involved in and how he stayed on the pitch for the 70 minutes i have no idea.
McCann - What he did was wrong and stupid and I dont condone it in any way. However, Whelan last night seemed to think that he needed to apologise to the whole country after it!! I seemed to remember a certain Aidan O'Mahoney going down just as easy against Cork a couple of years ago and Aidan O'Shea has been guilty of it in the past. Was there a national (rte national) outcry about that, Was there a demand for a public apology!!!!! RTE have now just lost all respect in my eyes with this anti tyrone crap!!. What they fail to realise (and this is the third time they have done it) is that they have now made Tyrone gain a siege mentality and it will help their cause against Kerry

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 10/08/2015 08:30:35    1766866

Have to laugh at Brolly,he just loves to play on the southern counties insecurities regarding Tyrone. According to him the game represented everything that is wrong with modern football since in modern times Tyrone tend to win AND that just doesn't sit well with the wee fella as well as most other counties such as Meath, Galway, Dublin, Kerry and so on and so on. His anti Tyrone bile is extrodinary and thank god for Sky Tv where we don't have to listen to his nonsense. Sky Tv analysis has been great, fair and objective. RTE pundits in comparison including orouke, brolly, spillane are self righteous and arrogant to the extreme.

Tyrone annoy fans from the other so called traditional gaelic footballing counties. This can be seen from the comments in this thread alone. They hate the sight of us throwing our weight around, standing up for ourselves and having much better footballers and skills compared to their own current crop of representatives. Its fair enough, we generally are the new kids on the block with no signs of us fading away into history. The young quality footballers we have churned out and who have replaced our great side of the noughties, continue to excel, and this really gets up the nose of others.

But hate us all you like, as a county we have become organised, we have developed our systems in coaching to a high professional level and placed huge importance in youth development. We have the facilities, we have the coaching staff, the schools producing the potential and this is going to continue long into the future.

Our county deserves the plaudits but instead we are feeling the jealous and spiteful emotions of others through social media and the RTE.
It serves merely as added motivation.

Continue the bile and anti tyrone statements, we all know its just the whims of the jealous few.

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 10/08/2015 08:46:46    1766874

Sunday Game fairly tore into Tyrone last night.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 10/08/2015 08:57:41    1766879

And so it begins and ends…. Tyrone soooo cynical but there are two sides to every story.

Conor McManus doesn't go down easily - have a look at the Cavan-Monaghan game. McManus has developed the 'knack' of jumping into tackles when boxed in with both feet off the ground so that with any contact he goes down and invariably 'wins' a free. Darren Hughes was pretty capable of the same in this game too.

Monaghan not cynical. Remember the McKenna Cup game against Cavan last year. Moan gets blackcarded for grabbing a Cavan player where it hurts most, away from the play - why not red? Referred to by a Monaghan poster on here as 'the dark arts of defending' so that's ok then. Remember Kieran Hughes' sly punch on Ryan McHugh on the ground in last year's Ulster final before running away - I think there was a similar incident in the Tyrone match from the same player. Black card for Meyler - should this have been reversed, did Hughes need to jump into Meyler?

Who was it said the worst teams for sledging in Ireland were Monaghan, Armagh & Tyrone?

Some of the strongest complaints about sledging in minor this year were from men who were alleged to have abused referees at underage games.

What we need, as another poster said is for the GAA administrators to dole out the punishments fairly and effectively. The problem is all counties are happy to dole them out as long as it's not to their players. Each club and each county needs to take responsibility for it's players, officials and supporters actions. Clean up your own backyard before you complain about your neighbours.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 10/08/2015 09:10:36    1766886

I must say it amused me last night when Colm O'Rourke made his comments about cynicism and dirty play. His own county's treatment of Tyrone in 1996 in many ways helped develop the psyche and mentality that Tyrone teams presently have. Back then Tyrone played a very traditional and care-free style of football however when it mattered on the big day in Croke Park, they were tramped into the ground, literally. That 1996 game was a turning point in the county's history. Tyrone dusted themselves off and gradually redeveloped their style of play and lost that naivety. If Tyrone are cynical Colm need look no further than his own team-mates to discover where we learned our lessons from!!

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 10/08/2015 10:17:51    1766969

Another glorious chapter has been written into the infamous history of Tyrone football diving...

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 10/08/2015 10:20:08    1766974

Seriously disappointed about the match. Enoughs been said about all the "antics" so I'll not go on about that, but at the end of the day we didn't deserve to win so we can't have many complaints. If you perform like we did, you only have yourself to blame. Tyrone were the better team and deserved winners.

What I will say though is that Marty Duffy is one of the worst refs in the country and it's a mystery to me how he conitnues to get high profile games like this where he will have a big influence on it. I know he was good in the Cork-Kildare game but that was seemingly a one-off. As I said, ultimately we can't blame him as we deserved to lose based on our performance, but he was awful throughout giving bad calls to both sides. And when the game got down to the niggly last 15-20 minutes he was never in control of the game. In games like this where it will be tight, both teams know each other well, you need a strong ref and the wrong appointment was made here. Awful, incompetent ref but I still expect to see him in big games in the future as the GAA never do anything about refereeing performances like that.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 10/08/2015 10:30:21    1766984

artisan
County: Down

1766974 Another glorious chapter has been written into the infamous history of Tyrone football diving...

You must hate the fact that Tyrone are in the semi final, it must hurt being a Down fan to see Tyrone doing so well. I understand that, but jealousy will not resurrect the corpse that is Down football, you'll need a miracle for that.

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 10/08/2015 10:30:56    1766986

seanie08
County: Monaghan

Sunday Game fairly tore into Tyrone last night.

Thought they were fairly one sided in their criticism.
The only time the showed Finlay's challenge on Cavanagh was when they were giving out about Tyrone.
How did that fit into the bash Tyrone section of the analysis???
Diving/slegding etc isn't acceptable but that was the worst incident of the match and you'd swear it was Cavanaghs fault.
Bit of balance amid hysteria wouldn't go astray

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 10/08/2015 10:39:08    1766997

patk
County: Monaghan

Seriously disappointed about the match. Enoughs been said about all the "antics" so I'll not go on about that, but at the end of the day we didn't deserve to win so we can't have many complaints. If you perform like we did, you only have yourself to blame. Tyrone were the better team and deserved winners.

What I will say though is that Marty Duffy is one of the worst refs in the country and it's a mystery to me how he conitnues to get high profile games like this where he will have a big influence on it. I know he was good in the Cork-Kildare game but that was seemingly a one-off. As I said, ultimately we can't blame him as we deserved to lose based on our performance, but he was awful throughout giving bad calls to both sides. And when the game got down to the niggly last 15-20 minutes he was never in control of the game. In games like this where it will be tight, both teams know each other well, you need a strong ref and the wrong appointment was made here. Awful, incompetent ref but I still expect to see him in big games in the future as the GAA never do anything about refereeing performances like that.

Completely agree with my fellow county man's post. We knew going in there on Saturday what the game was going to be like. It was an Ulster derby so there is no point crying afterwards after what the other team did or didnt do. Like kids in a playground moaning the other team didnt play fair. Fact is we didnt show up and were deservedly beaten by a better team. We have to deal with our own shortcomings and failing to perform yet again in Croke Park. Agree also about the ref he lost all authority and never let the game flow and was very poor to both teams. For a match where the stakes were high, this isnt good enough and the GAA need strong referees and ones who can keep up with the play. Best of luck to Tyrone. Colm O'Rourke last night on the Sunday gave a better pre match talk for the semi final than Mickey could ever hope to deliver.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 10/08/2015 10:45:44    1767011

opa01

And so it begins and ends…. Tyrone soooo cynical but there are two sides to every story.

Conor McManus doesn't go down easily - have a look at the Cavan-Monaghan game. McManus has developed the 'knack' of jumping into tackles when boxed in with both feet off the ground so that with any contact he goes down and invariably 'wins' a free. Darren Hughes was pretty capable of the same in this game too.

Monaghan not cynical. Remember the McKenna Cup game against Cavan last year. Moan gets blackcarded for grabbing a Cavan player where it hurts most, away from the play - why not red? Referred to by a Monaghan poster on here as 'the dark arts of defending' so that's ok then. Remember Kieran Hughes' sly punch on Ryan McHugh on the ground in last year's Ulster final before running away - I think there was a similar incident in the Tyrone match from the same player. Black card for Meyler - should this have been reversed, did Hughes need to jump into Meyler?

Who was it said the worst teams for sledging in Ireland were Monaghan, Armagh & Tyrone?

Some of the strongest complaints about sledging in minor this year were from men who were alleged to have abused referees at underage games.

What we need, as another poster said is for the GAA administrators to dole out the punishments fairly and effectively. The problem is all counties are happy to dole them out as long as it's not to their players. Each club and each county needs to take responsibility for it's players, officials and supporters actions. Clean up your own backyard before you complain about your neighbours.

Typical post from our bitter neighbours in cavan you should worry more on how yous are gonna win an ulster and not taking cheap shots at us

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 10/08/2015 11:02:29    1767034

It is such a shame that everbody is talking about the unsavoury incidents in the game rather than the game itself. It was a really good game with some excellent scores from both sides and some fine individual performances especially Mattie Donnelly.

It is difficult to comment on the off the ball incidents without being accused of bias but I will give it go. Both Tiernan McCann and Darren Hughes should be embarrassed. Hughes had no need to get involved and he was trying to provoke a reaction. The less said about the dive the better but it would be best for Tiernan to admit he was wrong and we can all move on. All counties have had their players do things they wouldn't be proud of, my own county included.

Even though some of what Joe Brolly said in his piece is true he only mentioned the things that Tyrone did wrong, this is surely the definiton of bias. Is the solution forthe GAA to look at these incidents retrospectively?

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 10/08/2015 11:10:22    1767040