Monaghan vs Tyrone

McManus a class act. Best forward in ulster!

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 09/08/2015 17:10:08    1766644

' Conor Meyler threw himself into the Monaghan player' says Joe.

I'll have some of what he's smokin. Ever the attention grabber is our Joe.
There's never a balanced and fair minded article from Brolly any more, always the sensationalist
looking for twitter hits and attention.
By the way there are now pigeons feeding on the pitch during the hurling match today, does that
reflect badly on the game in Joes eyes.

PerspectivePal (Tyrone) - Posts: 2 - 09/08/2015 17:18:55    1766650

Surprised people have an issue with Meylers black card. It was as cynical as it was devious.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 597 - 09/08/2015 17:19:59    1766652

SamandLiamSoon

Surprised people have an issue with Meylers black card. It was as cynical as it was devious.
------------------------------------------
As Meyler had just laid the ball off how did it help him or Tyrone to pull down any Monaghan player? Monaghan weren't on the attack,we were.Ridiculous and illogical interpretation of the incident.Anything to say about how Hughes presented himself,planked himself or whatever you want to call it, arms raised, across Myler? Why was Hughes engaging Meyler like this when ball was gone? Thats right,it was oul mischief playing and it worked for him on that occasion and yez would have been hitting the roof in outrage had it been the other way round. Sheep, the lot of yez.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2015 17:34:05    1766667

A plague on both your houses Monaghan and Tyrone. Went to Croker yesterday expecting two very competitive games and was particularly dissappointed by first game. As a neutral, Joe Brolly's comments were 100 % right imo. A turgid affair throughout with no mystery on final outcome from a long way out. Last 10 mins had the usual absence of football when Tyrone are trying to close out a game and no surprise to see the petulance and bullshit indiscipline descend on the game. Found it a deeply depressing affair.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 09/08/2015 17:59:28    1766678

I actually thought it was a better contest than any of the other quarter finals (not that that is saying much). Unfortunate that Monaghan let the game get away from them in the second half but showed more quality than any of the other beaten quarter finalists.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/08/2015 18:10:33    1766688

Glad you enjoyed the first seventy minutes facethepuckout. At least your willing to criticise both teams I suppose.
Seanieboy your tenacity and resoluteness would put Conor Gormley to shame, fair play to you but with some on here you're probably wasting your time trying to engage in a logical debate or analysis

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/08/2015 18:11:22    1766690

benched

Glad you enjoyed the first seventy minutes facethepuckout. At least your willing to criticise both teams I suppose.
Seanieboy your tenacity and resoluteness would put Conor Gormley to shame, fair play to you but with some on here you're probably wasting your time trying to engage in a logical debate or analysis
----------------------------------
Thanks benched.The Brolly Brigade on here and in the national media are only too happy to see the wrong in every game we are involved with so I feel compelled to stick up for the lads.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2015 18:20:45    1766697

seanie_boy

I'm still waiting for the evidence that Mc Manus goes down looking for soft frees, your last response was pathetic in the extreme, one example will do..

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/08/2015 18:29:42    1766703

I'd have to agree there's no one better than Mcmanus at buying frees and trying to influence a ref . I've been to all of Monaghan's Ulster games this year . Unfortunately it's something a top class forward needs in his arsenal , especially if he's largely ploughing a lone furrow up front for his team . And that's what McManus is , a top class forward .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 09/08/2015 18:55:35    1766719

Disappointed in a lot of ways yesterday......in how monaghan didn't play with any intensity in the first half, in referee Marty Duffy who was whistle happy and couldn't keep up with the game, methinks he blew up in order to catch up, he did receive treatment on the pitch from Tyrone psyhio who probably had a word in his ear ! Disappointed in Tyrone official who was sledging at keeper and mc manus when taking frees under careful guidance of Micky Harte and also linesman who did remonstrate with him to no avail.......why not tell Marty linesman ? dick Clerkin was the only man who copped it when unfortunately it was too late....but well done Dick you showed great restraint !

Anyway the result will show that Tyrone won and that's all that matters......or is it ?

Thanks to Farney for giving us some good days this year and keep head up.

barroboys (Louth) - Posts: 97 - 09/08/2015 19:18:40    1766727

Any views barrowboys on the Monaghan assistant getting involved with two of the Tyrone defenders in the first half, suppose that was all Tyrones making too? I agree Devlin gets too involved in the goings on across the white line but at least say if its wrong for one its wrong for the other, especially when the two players involved were men who had played under Porter for their club previously

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/08/2015 19:29:18    1766732

Just wondering mhunicean_abu has everyone give your team enough "respect" and homage yet or do you still demand that everyone tells you all how great you are for another while? Maybe the pundits were right about the limitations of this team after all?
Joe Brolly feeling particular sore after this one, had noticed the slip in Donegal over the last few games so was starting to big up and compare teams to what would happen if they were playing against Monaghan, now feeling a fool and trying to make out they were cheated out of the game when in reality they were lucky there was only 4 in it.
Can believe I'm even talk g about that man to be honest.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/08/2015 19:37:57    1766738

mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

seanie_boy

I'm still waiting for the evidence that Mc Manus goes down looking for soft frees, your last response was pathetic in the extreme, one example will do..
------------------------------
I'm not about to go searching online for footage of Mc Manus going down easy for soft frees.Ask the Donegal poster,maybe he can give you a more detailed answer,and its not the first time I've heard it said on this forum about Mc Manus so its not an unfounded remark.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2015 19:50:43    1766745

And another thing,Conor Mc Manus is a great player and many teams would be glad to have him.My purpose on this thread is to call out the double standards used to vilify our players and manager at every opportunity while willfully ignoring the indiscretions committed against us in almost every game.Its farcical at this point.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2015 19:56:58    1766749

The football championship hit a new low yesterday not only with Tiernan Mccann's antics which were absolutely disgracful. But Marty Duff who witnessed it right in front of him deemed it a sending off offence. The ref's decisions was probably worse than the playacting. Scandalous

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 09/08/2015 20:06:44    1766757

benched

No one Knows the limitations of this Monaghan team better than me. I said at the start of the year we needed a midfield and a couple of forwards. What we won we deserved (just like your McKenna cup) that's the issue I have. I don't mind a bit of hard hitting in a match, but I can't abide this sh*t that is creeping into the game and in this particular instance it is the diving and feigning injury to gain advantage IE cynicism. and on yesterdays evidence Tyrone seem to have mastered the art. Just because we lost does't cow me away from saying what I saw. Tyrone were the better team yesterday and didn't need to resort to it. I said that the refereeing in the first half was a factor in the game and I will stand over what I say with examples (exact timing of the frees) if you like. You mentioned the word cheated not me.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/08/2015 20:10:57    1766762

seanie_boy

SamandLiamSoon

------------------------------------------
As Meyler had just laid the ball off how did it help him or Tyrone to pull down any Monaghan player? Monaghan weren't on the attack,we were.Ridiculous and illogical interpretation of the incident.Anything to say about how Hughes presented himself,planked himself or whatever you want to call it, arms raised, across Myler? Why was Hughes engaging Meyler like this when ball was gone? Thats right,it was oul mischief playing and it worked for him on that occasion and yez would have been hitting the roof in outrage had it been the other way round. Sheep, the lot of yez.My initI thought he was looking for the collision

I thought both were looking for the collision in order to get the other black carded. Meyler stepped left into hughes which made up the refs mind and hughes had the hands up all innocent but definitely look for it.
I thought mcnamee's yellow should have been a red. Umpire clearly tells the ref about the punch. It's can only be red or nothing.
Monaghan were very naive the last 15 mins. Great performance by Tyrone. Very well set up and organised in defence. Though Matty Donnelly was excellent. He'll be central to Tyrone's counter attack the next day. Cavanagh gave his usual all.
Game probably had more unsavory incidents than most games but Cavanagh was on the receiving end of the worst of it. Tyrone full value for their win.
Roll on the next three weeks
Haven't been this nervous about a semi since I watched Brokeback mountain ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 09/08/2015 20:12:13    1766764

Tyrone like to cheat. It's not once or twice, but a consistent thing with them. If they want to win that way that's fine, but I wouldn't want to win like that. I always would have supported Tyrone as s fellow ulster team, esp during their 3 all Ireland's. But there seems to be a culture if this unsportsmanlike behaviour within the county. I know all teams like to try a bit if the underhand stuff to get one over on opposition, but Tyrone take it too far. It's prevalent at underage level too (ask Donegal minors) and with fans who find this behaviour acceptable. At times I find their fans to be obnoxious and downright abusive. And no I don't say this about other counties. I always seem to get on well with Donegal/Armagh or Cavan fans, but whenever we play Tyrone I always feel that they have a menacing demeanour. I know it's a huge generalisation and not all Tyrone fans are like this but it's just my experience.

This may seem like sour grapes but it's not. Tyrone would have won yesterday anyway, and hats off to them. But it's this other stuff. It's farcical.

Last year we were beat by Donegal and Dublin and both were full value and I had no issue with it. I wouldnt have had any issue with Tyrone yesterday only for this kind of behaviour.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 09/08/2015 20:27:14    1766776

Superglue,that was quite funny.Fair play for the impartial look at the game.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2015 20:30:08    1766778