Monaghan vs Tyrone

I dont want him to be singled out, I want him to be punished.
Unfortunately it looks like he will be singled out, but probably not punished.
Id be lying however if I said I felt sorry for him.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/08/2015 20:55:23    1766200

Why should they take action Molaise ? Because of trial by media ? It's part and parcel of the game and it happens with all counties . Either bring in retrospective punishment for this type of thing for all or put up with it . Why should one player be singled out for special punishment when there is no measure in place to stop this sort of thing to start with . That doesn't mean I agree with what he did by the way . But everyone should be subject to the same rules and punishments .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/08/2015 20:58:28    1766204

McCann play acting was a disgrace however paul finlay could have seriously hurt sean Cavanagh today. Absolutely outrageous knee to the spine he should have walked.

spy_in_the_sky (Antrim) - Posts: 273 - 08/08/2015 21:01:22    1766207

Would he be the first player tried in the media? No!! Lots of cases where video evidence used. He guilty of the following rule ....misconduct that has discredited the association. (See official guide) minimum suspension 8 weeks.

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 08/08/2015 21:09:19    1766217

joncarter

I dont want him to be singled out, I want him to be punished.
Unfortunately it looks like he will be singled out, but probably not punished.
Id be lying however if I said I felt sorry for him.
-----------------------------------------------------
Well I'd have a big problem with that mentality.If there is not a rule already in place to address such an incident then it should be let go now.Just like it was for Aidan O' Shea and others in the past.Make a rule to specifically address such an issue but do not call for a particular player from a particular team to face sanction for doing something that others have done and have faced no sanction for it.Sure thats simply unfair.Reminds me of the hysteria around Cavanghs tackle when so many of you were calling for his head,goaded on by Joe Brolly and others.I didn't hear the same outrage at your boy Hanley and I didn't hear it the very next year when a Down player did it to Tyrone player in the championship.As I said earlier its the selective outrage that I can't stand,be consistent when these things happen or be quiet.Leave Mc Cann alone,he's not alone in his wrong doing as you all well know.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 21:19:11    1766225

spy_in_the_sky

McCann play acting was a disgrace however paul finlay could have seriously hurt sean Cavanagh today. Absolutely outrageous knee to the spine he should have walked.
------------------------------
Lets not forget the punch to the face that Finlay gave Cavanagh also.Most don't want to hear that though,infact theres many on here glad to see these things when Tyrone are on the receiving end of it.But the outrage is palpable when Tyrone are the transgressors.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/08/2015 21:22:49    1766228

Tyrone's work-rate today was unreal - they have come up with a performance at the right time. Really looking forward to the Kerry game. I think it will be interesting to see how Kerry manage against their defensive strategy.

As for the chap who feel to the ground! I thought I was watching another sport which had its season kicking off today - embarrassing but should take from a great day for Tyrone football.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 08/08/2015 21:26:11    1766230

Not good enough Molaise . If the GAA want to set a precedent then they need to draw a line in the sand and set a precedent - not just pick on a Tyrone player when it suits . This type of crap has gone on long enough . The standard of officiating in games is a joke . A lad can get a proper box under the noses of an umpire but if he does the manly thing and stays on his feet nothing happens . Same with fouls in general . It's only when a player hits the deck that action is taken . Unfortunately players have taken that a level further and it has manifested into the nonsense we see today . Today the referee dealt with it to the standard we have come to expect . The top brass need to address this properly - next year !

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/08/2015 21:27:00    1766232

Tyrone well deserving of victory today, we won comfortably and any other result would have been a travesty. There is a lot of talk about specific incidents and it did get messy in the last 5 or 10 minutes. I thought Colm Cavanagh shipped a really tough challenge just before the Darren Hughes sending off - I'll reserve judgement until I see that again. All in all delighted with our deserved result ... But how did Kieran Hughes remain on the pit h for 70 (or 78) mins? Again I think I need to watch that again!
Fair play to Micky, these young lads have integrated very quickly into the team. - roll on 23rd and Kerry! Nothing to lose!

redhandroar (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 08/08/2015 21:39:01    1766244

To be fair to Marty Duffy, I don't think Hughes was sent off for rubbing McCanns hair. You can clearly see Duffy already writing in his book while this is happening, Hughes got the red card for his tackle on Colm Cavanagh. And to be fair on McCann there was so much diving in the game before that it is probably unfair to single him out.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/08/2015 21:53:58    1766254

Tyrone have had to play more matches to get to the semi final than Kerry. The competition is already unbalanced in their favour. For people to then analyse Tyrone's tough matches which Kerry didn't have with a fine tooth comb for things to complain about and punish is disgraceful. Could we stop with this nonsense. Kerry should walk the match against Tyrone as it is.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 08/08/2015 21:55:36    1766256

Just back from Croker. Fair play to Tyrone, they won the game.

I don't mind defensive football (football is football in my opinion), I don't mind the odd rash tackle (everyone loses the head occasionally), but Tyrone have to be the nastiest, most cynical team going. No apologies, as a neutral I really hope Kerry stuff Tyrone the next day.

Obviously Monaghan are no angels and Finlay should have walked. Also I thought the referee was absolutely brutal today. It wasn't the easiest game to ref, but I thought he made things a million times worse. It felt like he blew the whistle after every kick out.

The black card the Tyrone lad got in the first half was unreal, especially since they showed it on the big screen again just as the ref was sending him off the field for the most innocuous incident of the day.

Cherno_Samba (Louth) - Posts: 632 - 08/08/2015 21:59:34    1766260

Firstly fair play to Tyrone and mickey Harte they had our number were the best side and deserved the win. Going 10 5 up so quickly after half time ended our chances as we were never going to claw back that deficit the way Tyrone were playing. Thought most of our team with exception of wylies, dick and Mansy never left the dressing room zero intensity aimless passing of the ball no pace predictable. Tyrone were good but we made it easy for them with slow passages of play no pressure on their kickouts. Done well to win two ulsters but our game plan with one scoring forward too easy to play against in Croke park. Still top 6 side but unfortunately that is our ceiling at minute.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 09/08/2015 08:10:24    1766262

The morning after the night before, struggled to sleep was so disappointed that Monaghan failed to show up yesterday, the management in my eyes made two mistakes with starting Stephen gollogly and Ryan McAnespie. But after that the players failed to perform the intensity of the tackling was non existent, but saying that only one team was allowed to tackle and that was Tyrone. In the first half Tyrone for easy frees which Monaghan simply couldn't get. The level of play acting by Tyrone players was a joke every time Monaghan looked to get momentum down goes a Tyrone player and on comes the physio cuteness some might say, but in the first half Karl O'Connell was getting treatment and the referee told Monaghan to take the kick out. Tyrone players lay down and the play was stopped, different rules for different teams. Off the ball Monaghan players were pulled and dragged all day.. Duffy was poor. I think Hughes was sent off for the pull down on Cavanagh I was assuming it was a black followed by red.

But back to the football. Monaghan were latargic with none of the trademark intensity. Monaghan refused to tackle until Tyrone got to the 45 allowing them to sprint up the field at speed. Monaghan on the other hand were slow and laboured in attack. Passing the ball over and back. It was a big mistake leaving Eoin Duffy on the bench. Two many Monaghan players simply didn't show up. Only McManus of the starting team led the fight ( hope he gets the all star he deserves) with Drew Wylie,Clerkin and Duffy playing to their potential when coming on. On the positives we won Ulster but we needed to push on and for some reason we didn't turn up.

Last of all I want to point out the inconsistency with refereeing I thought both referees were poor. David Gough let players get pulled and dragged and battered and refused to give a free to either team.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 09/08/2015 08:30:31    1766264

If your going to have a whinge Shaggy and deflect some of the blame onto the ref at least gets facts right, different rules for each team? If so how come then he done the same thing at times when Tyrone had men injured, he was poor, inconsistent (when Beggan was injured stopped play for treatment and re-started with a Monaghan free, other occasions re-started with a throw up) but not biased.
Border - fair assessment of match, was surprised at lack of intensity from Monaghan, they got lauded for their patient build up against Donegal but yesterday was slow and laboured, couldn't get their shooters on the ball in the right areas of the field. Mone hit a point early on but then followed up with two bad wides, Tyrone I'd say were happy enough to try restrict Monaghan to long range shots from half backs and midfielders

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/08/2015 09:47:52    1766285

what a fantastic display by the red hands!..sean cavanagh was superb along with colm, mattie donnelly, mcnabb and mcnamee..this is a real sickener to all in the media who have written this team off..hughes was sent off for the tackle on sean cavanagh but should have been off long before that..the sanctimonious nonsense on this forum and elsewhere on this website is a joke, but hey aren't we used to it...if you want to watch a cynical team play out the last ten mins of a game watch last years all-ireland final

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 09/08/2015 09:55:51    1766296

Tyrone looked to have the more natural footballers, Harte, Mattie Donnelly, Cavanagh, McCurry, McAliskey. Croke Park suits their slick passing style , a shame about their antics.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 09/08/2015 10:05:26    1766304

Monaghan were sooo slow getting up the field with the ball, it seemed like they were waiting for Tyrone to get all their players back before attacking. Tyrone will find Kerry a much different prospect and I can't see them giving Kerry to much bother tbh

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 09/08/2015 10:27:59    1766319

The ulster champions getting beat by an ulster team ,does an ulster title mean anything anymore or should the championship be restructured ?Monaghan had an easier run to the final and Tyrone's first game was far harder ,I think its time it was upgraded and made fairer even for the stronger county's ,like if it was a championship league where every county had to play every other county the ulster champions would be a different team I think ,and the four league leaders go on to play each other for the all Ireland title ,this would insure the true best teams will go through and even for the weaker counties would get more championship games, I know we already have a league but its outdated and there's no championship buzz about it ,its very flat and nobody cares who wins it .

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 09/08/2015 10:30:13    1766322

Tyrone were the better team & really had an uphill struggle in the first half as Marty Duffy awarded them nothing, he was constantly on Niall Morgan's case & the black card was wholly unwarranted. Monaghan looked clueless & resorted to trademark petulance when things started to go awry. It was a good second half, Tyrone came into their own & won well in the end. I honestly felt the antics of Monaghan, from Kieran Hughes to Paul Finlay, ultimately paid the price. If they had concentrated on trying to play football, their energies would have been better served. They did themselves & their fellow teammates a great disservice. You'd have to feel for McManus; a superb player, excellent work rate but he, alone, could not win it for them. Talk of McCann's dive is irrelevant & needs to be left on the pitch. We have seen every team wind down the clock. Duffy did himself no favours by playing on for so long. It was farcical in the end but Monaghan can be under no allusions as the better team won on the day.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 09/08/2015 10:34:13    1766329