Pundits on Sunday Game

Surely you feel the same way about spillane adn his anti ulster/pro kery bias?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/07/2015 16:06:27    1759823

slayer
County: Limerick

bennybunny,

I normally agree with your posts, very sensible. I don't say a lot on football as I don't know a lot about the sport to be honest.

But I didn't think the defending was good. Kerry or Dublin in that position would not allow the ball a net forward gain of that many yards. Their defenders would be in the attackers faces and would be hitting hard. Cork didn't do that, but I do agree they forced a shot from wide & no score came out of it.v

Fair points. I would agree to some extent. When I coach minor teams I would always say to the players that if they are not in a dangerous position, let them be, don't make them draw a foul, just keep them is positions where it is difficult for them to score. In that clip, Kildare are running around a lot in the Cork half but are not really going anywhere - maybe it is them rather than Cork defending but Cork didn't have to do anything and what they did, they did well.

I would not argue about their assertion that Cork did not engage in a battle. That is true. I just think they picked a bad clip to illustrate that point when they could have highlighted others - like Kevin O'Driscoll needlessly getting sucked into to a dummy to a player that was going no where, buying the dummy and then giving the same player an acre of space to kick the ball over.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 27/07/2015 16:11:12    1759830

Bring Cake back I say.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 27/07/2015 16:11:26    1759831

bennybunny

1759801 Ciaran Whelan is the best (actually he is the ONLY good football analyst in my opinion). However last night I think was not the best.

First of all I am not going to say that Cork defended well on Saturday. They conceded 1-21 and that tells its own story.

The clip the lads picked to illustrate was not a good one. Kildare passed the ball 27 times in the Cork half and no Cork player touched them. This was perfect defending though, they didn't foul, they were not overly stretched and eventually they forced Kildare to shoot from a bad position and turnover the ball.

There were plenty of things they could have said about Cork but that one clip that they did pick was the best bit of football defending all year. No foul given away, forcing a team into shooting from a bad position etc.It was almsot perfect. It was our best bit of play all evening. Any other clip that they could have shown would have been worse that that.

Agreed, bizarre bit of analysis

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 27/07/2015 16:22:20    1759843

Had to laugh to Myself last night listening to Brolly. "week in' week out" Everything is Compared to Donegal..Its Donegal this and Donegal that. Not once last night did he mention Donegal "Thank God" Instead it was referring to the Cork/Kildare Game 'Imagine that was Dessie Mone and the Monaghan Fans going crazy...!! Next he'l be building a house in Monaghan..lol

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 27/07/2015 16:25:35    1759845

This post has been incorporated to this thread as it is the same subject matter.

ShortGrass_1
Kildare 27/07/2015 17:27

Sunday game analysts

Many people here in Kildare not happy with the lack of credit given from Brolly & Ciaran Whealan last night. Granted Cork were poor but Kildare kicked 1-21 and played some fantastic football. Am I getting defensive here or do I have a point?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 27/07/2015 17:35:19    1759911

Yes Cork were disappointing but credit should be given to Kildare.. scored some great points.....all Brolly wanted to do has destroy the credability of Padraig Hughes - as a referee we all make mistakes - but we don't set out to court the media!!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1675 - 27/07/2015 18:01:23    1759927

With poor decisions padraig hughes is destroying himself!! Bad decision in the Munster final and two big mistakes on Saturday night.

Molaise (Fermanagh) - Posts: 96 - 27/07/2015 18:09:16    1759933

Hughes was shocking on saturday

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/07/2015 18:19:44    1759942

All the pundits have their own agendas at times. Spillane!,, Brolly does make some good points but often they are not very clear.
Last night I was surprised at Donal Og who I feel has been overall superb in his analysis. He went a little over the top in his criticism but got back on track a little as he spoke further.
There is no doubting his knowledge and last night his passion for Cork hurling and wanting it to improve was crystal clear.

But in general he has been a breath of fresh air to the panel particularly in his analysis of the game. His perspective on the puck outs last night was so simple and yet so insightful. Overall, I really look forward to what he has to say as he uses his playing experience as a back drop for his analysis. Henry getting there too!

Where has Curran gone, the Roscommin goal keeper? He really got eyebrows soaring after my first time seeing him!

But, and this is important they have all day to come up with their views and have the luxury of analysing. And they are in the company of other presenters, so their analysis should be good.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 27/07/2015 18:24:57    1759947

Carlowman - while I agree with most of your post the problem I have with Cusack is that he is often too forthright about his opinion. You get the impression that he knows it all and is not prepared to listen to others. He is not consistent either when it comes to highlighting incidents. One week he'll pick on a particular team and highlight every little bit of fouling. Yet two or more weeks could go by and it's as if nothing of note happened in a game. He was ever so excited when JBM adapted the sweeper system against Wexford and Clare. It was the only way to play hurling in the future according to him. We should remember that he had been banging on about this system for ages anyway. In the aftermath of Cork's defeat to Galway ano as a consequence the failure of the sweeper system he didn't even see fit to mention it. Any manager worth the salt could deploy a system to counteract this sweeper business. Anthony Cunningham did. Clearly Cusack never countenanced such an eventuality. Perhaps that's partly why he doesn't go into management!

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 27/07/2015 19:08:25    1759970

It was O'Hara last year given a free shot at his county board and Kevin Walsh. And now Donal Og. Stick to game analysis lads, if ye want to stick it to your county board go to their AGM and have the courage to say it to their faces.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 27/07/2015 19:12:48    1759973

Always thought Ciaran Whelann was the best and confirmed it last night. Some day he'll be a great manager, really knows his stuff.

Brolly actually spent more time analysing the Cork and Kerry games last night than he did the Kildare v Cork game!!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 27/07/2015 20:29:16    1760011

I too was very disappointed with last night's Sunday Game. Firstly they gave the bulk of the programme to the two hurling matches that were shown earlier, I know the other two games were on Sky but the majority of people don't have Sky. As already stated by other posters Joe Brolly spent most of his time talking about the drawn match with Kerry and the infamous penalty and making excuses for Cork, saying they failed to engage, without giving any credit to Kildare. He then went on to lavish praise on Fermanagh in the next match, the first half of which was dire in my opinion.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 27/07/2015 20:49:46    1760020

Bennybunny
Cusack's graph is merely showing as it is and has to be highlighted as for the previous fifty years Cork were winning at all levels on a par with Tipp (and even more in the seventies and eighties) and the rest of us were picking up the occasional scrap here and there. I am amazed that he did not point that the situation is made worse by the fact that at minor, club championship and senior grades the teams that won most of those Munster Championships, over the past seven or eight years failed to win All Irelands outright after, which may make the situation look even worse in that those Cork sides were not even beaten by exceptional teams.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 28/07/2015 09:03:56    1760066

A quote from Michael Duignan - Michael Duignan (former Offaly hurler): Everybody is entitled to their opinion but a right of reply is important too. It was almost as if Donal Og was waiting for Cork to get beaten and then he had the graphs ready. There's a history there with Cork and the strikes but to me it looked to have a touch of a personal agenda. Still, the graph of their results at various levels spoke volumes.

My exact sentiments when I posted yesterday. Furthermore I asked the question, at the time of the strikes was underage structures mentioned? Or was it all to do with issues for senior hurlers? We know that Cork have implemented new underage structures in the past four years or so. They will pay dividends. For the first time in a long while a Cork team won the Harty Cup. Their minors were a bit unlucky this year. The teams from under 17 down are winning competitions. Donal Og Cusack should know this. Why has he not acknowledge it? Is he again waiting until the success comes in a few years when it is likely to and then he can claim credit for it having highlighted the lack of success at underage only relatively recently?

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 28/07/2015 09:48:36    1760079

Kevin McStay is ok. The rest especially O Rourke and Spillane are not clued in. Too partisan really. A famous Clint Eastwood quote-" Opinions are like a***holes, every one has one"

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 28/07/2015 11:28:13    1760150

Galwayford
Clint Eastwood also said don't **** down my back and tell me it's raining, mcstay is poor in my opinion and he has his little agendas, how he got away with giving Paul geaney stick for cheering in to shields face after he scored his goal and totally twisted what McManus did to Neil Magee when he slapped him on the chest after scoring a point on him is beyond me , they were both goading incidents and both shoud have been black cards . But mcstay like brolly is anti Kerry and will use what ever influence they have in the media to stop Kerry winning the allireland. They have already turned every reff in the country against us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/07/2015 12:04:33    1760171

If Henry Sheffling is going to continue as a punter he should get the full back's name right...... so Henry for the records Cian O'Callaghan was the Dublin full back - not Cian Boland...

Connolly (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 28/07/2015 19:08:51    1760443

you would have to wonder is ryan o dwyer an extra terrestrial
with masterfull skills of brainwashing
not only should he have been the first to be taken off as he was doing nothing
unbelievably this evening I watched the sunday game highlight programme
and was shocked to see his name first on the list for man of the match
lost all faith in hurling pundits now

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/07/2015 19:23:09    1760447