Potential All Ireland Quarter Finalists

Agree rhudson. If we were to survive Armagh (a big ask being away etc) I think we will get to a q/f. Many don't rate us. Keep it up I say.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 06/07/2015 19:35:29    1748826

I got it slightly wrong earlier - with Muns and Uls linked thix year - then isn"t it -

Muns champ v Uls finalist or Qual B
Uls champ v Muns finalist or Qual A etc ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2621 - 06/07/2015 21:51:22    1748912

I got it slightly wrong earlier - with Muns and Uls linked thix year - then isn"t it -

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2621 - 06/07/2015 22:02:57    1748924

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2621 - 06/07/2015 22:04:10    1748925

Ha Lockjaw, I live on the boarder and Donkeygal are my second team but if we have one big performance in us would love it to be against yourselves well the hell out of ballybofey. Odds would be strongly against us of course but sure those are the big ulster games you want to see.

Doirecityfc wise up fella yous aren't better than Tyrone. Scorelines are irrelevant. Its about performances and talent and we have a hell of a lot more than Derry. If we could just get the final piece to kick I think we have one hell of a team with bags and bags of pace

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 07/07/2015 10:03:26    1748990

redhanddefender its been so long since we played in the championship to really judge. But you are sounding like a meath man......living in the past, talking about the glory days etc when you where top class, not anymore sadly as im a part time tyrone fan myself. both division 2 teams knocked out of ulster early. I believe scorelines are very important. You can play good free flowing football like for example mayo but come up short if you dont get at least 1 more point than the other team. Id say if derry got tyrone in the back door it would be 50/50

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 10:25:21    1749009

Regarding who's better, Tyrone or Derry, don't compare how each got on against Donegal. Donegal's best performance was against Tyrone and their worst so far against Derry so its not like for like.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 07/07/2015 11:00:06    1749043

Only thing to compare it to so far. Still I wouldnt mind meeting them. Would have no fear and havent said that in years

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 11:13:10    1749059

It would be good craic alright seeing Derry and Tyrone meeting in a knock-out qualifier situation. I'm sure it would be played in a most sporting spirit with little to no cynicism involved!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/07/2015 11:53:33    1749110

don't get me wrong I was happy to avoid derry this round and was happy with the draw. I am not basing anything on past victories as if that was the case I wouldn't even acknowledge our little neighbour. I am basing it on form throughout the year. I've seen both derrys championship games and tyrones and seen few of derrys in the league and all of tyrones.

Lets just hope we get through the weekend and the match up happens. Hopefully a home draw for yous to accommodate all 100 of your fans, don't wanna make them travel so close to the start of soccer season

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 07/07/2015 12:35:26    1749146

Last time we played them in the back door it was a cracking game. My granny made me use the back door to her house for months after because we beat them :)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 12:37:02    1749150

i menat to say came through the back door. my bad

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 12:42:14    1749156

Ah we should have 3-4 k at it hopefully. Club football is much bigger and more important here and to some hurling is more important. Yes we have a big soccer following but anyone I know from tyone supports a soccer team aswell. Wont get a massive crowd as it is the 'Derry Holidays' and many will be in Donegal and sligo. Ive noticed tyrones fans slipping recently aswell on a side note. Looks like the bandwagon is slowing down finally ;)

Id love to see that many Tyrone and Derry league games but I couldnt figure out how 2 as we were either playing at the same time or one of us or both was a way from home so me and my friends were split for those games so im guessing the 2 derry games you must have saw were V tyrone (I didnt go to that and dont think the players should have had to play in that) and Derry v dublin

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 12:56:45    1749163

Just to be clear i never claimed Derry were a good team or bashed tyrone or their fans like other posters. I simply staed we could beat them. We are 2 average D2 teams and the last time either of us made a ulster final was Derry in 2011. Hardly gaints!

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 13:00:00    1749168

can the losers of the Munster final be drawn against Mayo in the quarter final if they win there qualifier game or is it just Dublin they will play in the quarter final?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/07/2015 13:10:22    1749179

The Munster final loser will face Dublin should they win their qualifier, and also assuming of course that Dublin beat Westmeath.

Would you be worried clondalkin if Kerry were Dublin's opposition in August?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/07/2015 13:26:17    1749192

1 all Ireland, you produced joe brolly, your managers from Tyrone as well as a few of your team so slide on, you will get to enjoy all the club football ye want in week or so

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 07/07/2015 14:01:24    1749230

Lockjaw I just want to know cause if its Kerry it will be a stand alone the following Saturday from
the bank holiday weekend so I need to change my holidays in case, If Kerry can't beat Cork then can you imagine what will do to them?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/07/2015 14:10:38    1749243

why so bitter Tyrone man? Derry men and Tyrone men (well east Tyrone men) used to fight together in the battlefield for centuries, one of the most ruthless battles was fought in Moneymore, south Derry when the Ui Neill defeated the Cruithin for control of mid Ulster. Donegal was the real enemy for centuries.

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 07/07/2015 14:35:50    1749275

redhanddefender you seem very uptight. I wasnt having a go and you are responding like a cornered animal. Who cares if a manager or players are from another county. Most do at some stage or another. A tyrone man showing a typical (blanket) defencive attitude when someone makes a basic comment saying they could beat them. High horse comes to mind ;)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 07/07/2015 14:57:49    1749300