Is this a lucky Kerry team?

TheMaster - Keegan has nobody but himself to blame for that kick out and sending off. In fact getting it reversed for the reply actually backfired as Lee appeared to be suffering from some sort of mental effect, he was nowhere near himself in that reply.

In fact his sending off lit a fire for Mayo that day, we completely outplayed Kerry and went what 5 points up with 10 mins to go.....no way should kerry have been let back into it. A midfielder like AOS should have been brought back and told to stick to Kieran Donaghy. Dabid Moran kicking that long high diagonal ball from under the Hogan stand should have been *u**ed out over the line (easier said then done I know).

I was right on front of where he kicked it and I could see Donaghy inside, I actually remember thinking "oh no"....flash backs to 06. We must first look at our own mistakes before we can move on and learn. Sure we had the bad luck too and some dubious decisions go against us. The clash of head of our two best players (Cillian and AOS) in the reply, what other county would that happen to you might ask.

That said there is no one reason for a loss but multiple ones. We were not good enough in the reply. Kerry brought on subs who made a difference and kicked on. I was angry after as anyone and maybe bitter throughout the winter but harping back to Limerick at this stage is doing nobody any good. Look to the now....we can still make an impact this year and who know's we may get a bit of luck along the way.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 09/07/2015 09:06:26    1750264

08/07/2015 20:11:04
KY4SAM2015

1750152 Very good post Van Damme

Kerry have lost over 20 All ireland finals..im sure on numerous occasions bad luck has cost us yet we carry on and come back stronger the next year.
I find it strange Mayo fans cant let go of last years semi final. Were five points up with time almost up in the first game but as usual couldnt see the game through. Also in the replay were five or six points up early on but when the pressure increases they folded.

Of course teams who constantly get beaten by the same opposition year in, year out, it must be hard to take and try blame the ref, the location of the match or the way the wind was blowing.

Rather then focus on the Mayo management and players who had plenty of opportunities to put the game to bed, its easier to blame external factors and make them feel better about themselves. I do hope Mayo reach the promise land of SAM in the near future as it must not be nice to be unlucky for so long..must be running out of excuses.

why are you answering your own questions moomoo?

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 09/07/2015 09:44:35    1750277

CletusVanDamme, keegan should never have been sent off, you know it and so do I. The guy lifted his leg up in front of him about 6 inches off the ground. It was no more an attempt to kick than buckley's involvement was an attempt to strike. It was a nothing incident.

As for your blaming of horan and cafferkey, you are wrong. Plenty managers were slow making a call and still won a game - Fitzmaurice himself only brought donaghy on for 10 minutes. Pretty slow on the uptake there, but he still won in the end. Just like plenty players have had poor games and still won - Shane Enright in the second game springs to mind, taken off when he should have ben sent off. This victim blaming mentality is a load of nonsense. Playing poorly or not, had either of those games been reffed correctly, mayo would still have won. Im not sore about that, these things happen, but I do take issue with completely denying their existence. Im sure you would have something to say if a poster was claiming that Kerry were to blame for kevin mcmamanan taking all those steps and not being pulled on it in 2011. You don't have to do everything perfectly to be entitled to have an issue with a game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/07/2015 09:58:39    1750289

mayo seem to panic in last 10 minutes against us in quarters. didnt help horan made a couple needless changes.only for cormac reilly for not given a obvious penalty we won that too

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 09/07/2015 10:34:11    1750317

I really have to laugh at some of the utter tripe being spouted on here: Kerry Lucky?

A team that are the All Ireland champions

A team that 12 months ago annihilated the same Cork team yer all now slapping on the back by 12 points in a footballing masterclass.

A team that was winning a semi final comfortably at half time, conceded some vital scores and despite the surge of energy and momentum that was with Mayo, refused to bow the head and kept fighting.

A team who had an outstanding manager able to make an astute tactical call which turned the game on its head.

A team that participated in one of the greatest ever games of football ever seen in the replay.

A team that was at times dead and buried in that game, but kept their heads up, kept clawing back the scores and showed the belief, courage and spirit to drag themselves over the line in extra time.

A team and manager that out-foxed the oft proclaimed tactical genius of Jim McGuiness in an All Ireland final. That opened up Donegal's defence within the first minute to score a vital goal.

A team that was able to make Donegal's most vital player redundant, and team which sacrificed the game of their star player to sow havoc in the Donegal defence.

A team that had a full forward line which are experts at reading goalkeepers kick outs, shutting down the space and forcing them into mistakes.

You still honestly think Donaghy's goal was a lucky fluke? I'd advise some of ye to look back at the All Ireland final against Cork in 2007, when he did the exact same thing. I'd advise you to look at anytime we have played Dublin since 2004 and see how we have negated the influence of Cluxton's kickouts.

Face it lads we were the best team in Ireland last year, as we are most years, that and that alone is 95% of the reason why we won the All Ireland. But you always need the 5% of luck too...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/07/2015 12:34:15    1750410

HughHunt24
mayo seem to panic in last 10 minutes against us in quarters. didnt help horan made a couple needless changes.only for cormac reilly for not given a obvious penalty we won that too

If that was the case Id say fair enough. However, it wasn't an obvious penalty, it was a debateable penalty call. If it was given it would be very soft and even after watching it on replays, numerous impartial commentators disagreed with your assessment. So it is unfair to say the ref got an obvious call wrong in that instance and that they are one and the same. You have to be fair about it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/07/2015 13:04:00    1750433

Just shows' the clowns that are on here to even come up with some a post! Tis actually hilarious...... So much so I felt obliged to register and add a comment.

Get over it like. The great Gary player once said "The more I practice the luckier I get". Looking forward to seeing Mayo bottle it once again and for the Dublin hype machine to beat themselves once again. Sure who have they played. Nobody in Leinster and a Cork team not showing their full deck in a league final….. Roll on! 37 and counting….

37andcounrting (Kerry) - Posts: 1 - 09/07/2015 13:44:49    1750458

....So much so I felt obliged to register and add a comment.

God I'm good.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/07/2015 15:02:46    1750512

1750289 CletusVanDamme, keegan should never have been sent off, you know it and so do I. The guy lifted his leg up in front of him about 6 inches off the ground. It was no more an attempt to kick than buckley's involvement was an attempt to strike. It was a nothing incident.

As for your blaming of horan and cafferkey, you are wrong. Plenty managers were slow making a call and still won a game - Fitzmaurice himself only brought donaghy on for 10 minutes. Pretty slow on the uptake there, but he still won in the end. Just like plenty players have had poor games and still won - Shane Enright in the second game springs to mind, taken off when he should have ben sent off. This victim blaming mentality is a load of nonsense. Playing poorly or not, had either of those games been reffed correctly, mayo would still have won. Im not sore about that, these things happen, but I do take issue with completely denying their existence. Im sure you would have something to say if a poster was claiming that Kerry were to blame for kevin mcmamanan taking all those steps and not being pulled on it in 2011. You don't have to do everything perfectly to be entitled to have an issue with a game.

It's immaterial what I think of it, but, the referee was correct to issue red due to the rules of the game. If you want the rules changed there is always Congress. Please show me where the rulebook mentions common sense in relation to a kick or attempted kick. Keegan should never have put himself in that position.

I didn't blame Cafferkey, I blamed Horan. it wasn't Cafferkey's fault he was roasted(everyone has a bad game some stage), he didn't receive the proper support and Ger can hardly ask Horan to take him off. Horan was not good enough to lead Mayo to an All Ireland. Why do you think Mayo lost the All Ireland in 2012 and 2013? We all know that you blame Reilly for the replay, and Coldrick for the first semi final. I am sensing a pattern here. Maybe it was Deegan in 2012 and McQuillan in 2013, I don't know just guessing.

Mentioning the All-Ireland Final in 2011, we can mention that Johhny Cooper should have seen a second yellow after taking Gooch down when through on goal, the double hop, the overcarrying by Kevin in the lead up to the Dublin goal, the phantom free at the end, the time wasted for the last kick and denying Kerry a chance to draw the game. All these incidents happened in the final ten minutes or we can look at a Kerry team 4 points up with 7 minutes to go and they started fannying around with the ball and lost. I blame the Kerry team for 2011, not the referee. If Kerry deserved to win, they would have won regardless.

In the Munster Final we can look at the soft penalty that led to a Kerry goal and Donaghy who should have received a black card as the thread implies, but mentioning the overcarrying by Collins leading to Cork's first goal or Alan O'Connor's elbow on Walsh does not fit the narrative so we do not speak of it. These things happen, you need to move on.

Out of curiousity when did you think the last time Mayo lost a championship game fair and square? Donegal lost an All Ireland final last year and were gracious in defeat, Mayo lost a semi final and you refuse to move on.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 09/07/2015 15:29:31    1750540

09/07/2015 15:29:31
CletusVanDamme

1750540 TheMaster

1750289 CletusVanDamme, keegan should never have been sent off, you know it and so do I. The guy lifted his leg up in front of him about 6 inches off the ground. It was no more an attempt to kick than buckley's involvement was an attempt to strike. It was a nothing incident.

It's immaterial what I think of it, but, the referee was correct to issue red due to the rules of the game. If you want the rules changed there is always Congress. Please show me where the rulebook mentions common sense in relation to a kick or attempted kick. Keegan should never have put himself in that position.

I didn't blame Cafferkey, I blamed Horan. it wasn't Cafferkey's fault he was roasted(everyone has a bad game some stage), he didn't receive the proper support and Ger can hardly ask Horan to take him off. Horan was not good enough to lead Mayo to an All Ireland. Why do you think Mayo lost the All Ireland in 2012 and 2013? We all know that you blame Reilly for the replay, and Coldrick for the first semi final. I am sensing a pattern here. Maybe it was Deegan in 2012 and McQuillan in 2013, I don't know just guessing.

Mentioning the All-Ireland Final in 2011, we can mention that Johhny Cooper should have seen a second yellow after taking Gooch down when through on goal, the double hop, the overcarrying by Kevin in the lead up to the Dublin goal, the phantom free at the end, the time wasted for the last kick and denying Kerry a chance to draw the game. All these incidents happened in the final ten minutes or we can look at a Kerry team 4 points up with 7 minutes to go and they started fannying around with the ball and lost. I blame the Kerry team for 2011, not the referee. If Kerry deserved to win, they would have won regardless.

In the Munster Final we can look at the soft penalty that led to a Kerry goal and Donaghy who should have received a black card as the thread implies, but mentioning the overcarrying by Collins leading to Cork's first goal or Alan O'Connor's elbow on Walsh does not fit the narrative so we do not speak of it. These things happen, you need to move on.

Out of curiousity when did you think the last time Mayo lost a championship game fair and square? Donegal lost an All Ireland final last year and were gracious in defeat, Mayo lost a semi final and you refuse to move on.

Jonny Cooper didnt play for Dublin in 2011

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 09/07/2015 15:37:45    1750546

Hahaha, the aul phantom free, look at the face on BJK as soon as the ref blew, he knew it, in fact he was distraught after the final whistle, on his knees, head in hands, knowing that foul cost them the game. Even the great Wheesie thought it was a fair call as he commentated, still plenty of work in the bridge-building industry!!! :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 09/07/2015 15:52:00    1750552

I apologise profusely to Mr Cooper from Dublin, I mixed it up with 2013 Semi Final. Can I edit out that or can we just ignore the error? If we can't move on, can the GAA please mint him a medal? Thanks in advance.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 09/07/2015 16:04:37    1750565

While our penalty should NOT have been awarded, it has been conveniently ignored that Collins took more steps than Rob Heffernan just like it was conveniently ignored that Shane Enright's yellow card was given for a phantom foul, we wont mention all the decisions that went against us against Dublin in both games as it wont fit the prejuidced narrative about Kerry

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 09/07/2015 16:13:09    1750572

HUGHHUNT

why are you answering your own questions moomoo?

Dont get it your attempt at humour?? Explain please and is moomoo some sort of old kerry joke or am i missing something??

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 09/07/2015 16:50:04    1750605

Yes VERY LUCKY!!!
in 2004 and 2006 sure we only beat mayo
in 2007 and 2009 we only beat Cork
in 2014 what can i say that All ireland was suppose to be delivered to Dublin but the postman delivered it to the wrong address

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/07/2015 11:36:27    1750904

Jimbo congrats on getting so many people to bite, youve really annoyed a right few Kerrymen, with one even feeling obliged to register to post a comment.

A job well done, mission accomplished :)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 10/07/2015 13:10:39    1750988

And the prize for the most annoying post from a Kerry perspective goes to Jimbob! Well done, my son. Always knew Kerry people had a sensitive side and it took Jimbob to bring it out.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 10/07/2015 13:49:15    1751012

I wish Dublin were lucky enough to win 37 All-Irelands, lucky enough to win one every decade. A haul of 10 Sams for us in 90 years just doesn't compare. Maybe we just weren't as lucky as the Kerrymen? :)

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 10/07/2015 14:33:24    1751045