Is this a lucky Kerry team?

S Darby's goal? The last final with Dublin? Both finals against Tyrone? Hmmm.

Cork fronted up. They played to their strengths. They gave away one silly goal. The penalty was ludicrous. That said, a misfiring Kerry still survived... as S Williams did in France.

Cork must do more of the same. Kerry must tighten up at the back. Fitz is right not to play underperforming dudes. Cuthbert must convince his charges that closing it out next time is more than possible.

As for disrespect for Cork, I see confusion at the failure there to capitalise more on the pool of talent. Fear is also there on the Kerry side of the county bounds: losing to your neighbour is never easy. Good luck to both next time out. More of the same... please

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 06/07/2015 12:23:58    1748309

Aye I can't see Kerry being as open the next day. I can recall 5 occasions when Cork got in for goal scoring chances. How was Shields able to wander in as easy as he did to set up O'Driscoll's goal? By the way, O'Driscoll was superb. How he didn't get nominated for man of the match is very strange.

I can see Kerry winning the replay quite comfortably now that they got their scare.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9147 - 06/07/2015 12:31:32    1748325

dont think theres much luck involved when it comes to donaghy causing havoc like he did on the kickout v donegal last year..he has caused numerous players to make mistakes over the years

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 06/07/2015 12:42:12    1748334

Well, looking past jimbodub's blind hatred of the All Ireland Champions, the penalty was leaning on the lucky side. But, its the referees call.
In regards, to the mayo game, from jimbodub's tainted view, its Mayo bottling it. From a neutral point of view it was a never say die attitude and fantastic perseverance which saw Kerry come through.

Donegal in the final was Eamon Fitz using Donegals tactics against them to grind out another All Ireland. Donaghy did what any good forward does for the goal and took a chance on a short kick out.

The statement about Kerry celebrating avoiding Dublin is hilarious. Dublin could not beat Donegal, they lost by 6 POINTS, they had no right to be near a final as they were beat fair and square.

Lets also mention Fionn Fitzgearald's fantastic point under such pressure. A worthy equaliser. Also, Cork were wrote off in the lead up to this game and they showed yesterday that you can never write off a Cork team. Looking forward to the replay.

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 285 - 06/07/2015 13:00:34    1748353

Kerry are lucky
Kerry are cynical
Kerry are ageing
Kerry are jaded
Kerry are journeymen
Kerry have referees in the back pocket
Kerry are guaranteed to reach every All Ireland
Kerry can only win soft All Ireland's

Most importantly though, Kerry are still standing....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2015 13:12:41    1748365

Kerry are All Ireland Champions because in 2014 they were the best county who continually adapted to each opposition as it appeared, a teams who win an All Ireland need a bit of luck that's part and parcel of it all. If Mayo were good enough they would have beat Kerry last year in Croke Park, they weren't and they didn't and Dublin weren't good enough to beat Donegal, that's a simple but realistic view of those matters. They say cute hoorism is a trait in Kerry......sounds like there are a few Dubs who are fairly good at it too.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/07/2015 13:23:52    1748375

Well they are lucky enough to be able to have corner backs who can kick points from 45 yards in the dying seconds of a game to equalise against their biggest rivals. If Fionn Fitzgerald was from most other counties he would probably wear the number 11 jersey and there would be people on here asking if he is one of the best 5 forwards in the country!

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 06/07/2015 13:36:42    1748386

Now hold on a minute yer man Fitzgerald no more went for a point than was it a penalty, pure fluke ffs

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 06/07/2015 14:11:06    1748457

Jimbo, as I have stated many times ye are a juggernaut, but doesn't mean ye have skeletons in ye're closet regarding referee decisions as we experienced in both 2011 and 2013, most notably 2011.

Part of what makes the blue juggernaut so unstoppable is having 80% of the crowd being able to influence/pressure key refereeing decisions, yesterday's bad decision wouldn't have happened in Cork and sure as hell in Croke Park.

We, in Kerry are bastions of fair play and respect that's why we have no issues in being honest regarding such had calls going our way.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 06/07/2015 14:40:19    1748503

Always thought Kerry were a bit lucky. No bad thing I suppose to have luck like that. On top of the other things mentioned above, I thought Kennelly should have been sent off in the first minute of the 09 AI Final, only for it was the first minute. They always seem to get the rub of the green and get decisions there way more often than not.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2391 - 06/07/2015 14:54:53    1748519

Very little talk of Mark Collins overcarrying the ball in lead to first Cork goal or Shields pinning Paul Geaney to the ground when Kerry were searching for the equaliser.

Hmmm maybe the Cork boys got a bit of luck too ...

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 06/07/2015 15:03:02    1748537

In 2014, in that first semi-final, Mayo have only themselves to blame for not closing out a game in which they were the superior footballing side against Kerry. However, it is also true that every honest GAA person out there knows a poor refereeing performance cost Mayo dearly in the replay. Kerry were lucky, very lucky!!!

Mayo showed that Kerry's major weakness is when they are ran at. Clearly, Cork have heeded the lesson for this year. Donegal sat back in the All Ireland final when they should have built on the Mayo template and only pressed when it was far too late in the All Ireland final. Not starting with Paddy McBrearty was a major error as well by McGuinness. Donegal had the tools but not the right plan to win that final and even still Kerry got very lucky with an absolute gift of a goal.

While every team needs a bit of luck to win an All Ireland, it's true, but Kerry in my opinion were one of luckiest sides I've ever seen win it! I don't rate this Kerry team and I don't respect them because of their cynical nature. Kerry will get what's coming, probably form Cork in Munster but Dublin will do a real number on them should they meet. I think most of Ireland will be supporting the Dubs in that one! Beauty will kill the beast!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 08/07/2015 17:03:37    1750044

JamesH
In 2014, in that first semi-final, Mayo have only themselves to blame for not closing out a game in which they were the superior footballing side against Kerry.

Sorry but isn't right, and it amazes me when people take this view on such matters in general. Mayo had a guy sent off that shouldn't have been sent off - factor in that he is considered by many to be the best half back in the country also. It is obvious that they didn't have only themselves to blame. They have a share in the blame, of course they do. But them alone? Nonsense.

I seen the same point made about cork after the munster final. It is rubbish.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/07/2015 17:31:16    1750063

It's laughable the way people say you need luck to win an All Ireland and in the same breath accuse Mayo of bottling it in recent years. Where's Mayo's luck? Where was it in '89, '96, '13 or last year.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 08/07/2015 17:35:13    1750065

Soma
County: UK

Well they are lucky enough to be able to have corner backs who can kick points from 45 yards in the dying seconds of a game to equalise against their biggest rivals. If Fionn Fitzgerald was from most other counties he would probably wear the number 11 jersey and there would be people on here asking if he is one of the best 5 forwards in the country!

Can you give examples please ? Look up the Donegal defenders contributions in almost every single match ie Frank McGlynn ; your comment , as usual doesn't make sense. Why wouldnt you credit a northern defender when he scores ??

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 08/07/2015 18:15:05    1750094

Sorry but isn't right, and it amazes me when people take this view on such matters in general. Mayo had a guy sent off that shouldn't have been sent off - factor in that he is considered by many to be the best half back in the country also. It is obvious that they didn't have only themselves to blame. They have a share in the blame, of course they do. But them alone? Nonsense.

I seen the same point made about cork after the munster final. It is rubbish.

The Master you obviously know all and see all. However, Lee Keegan's suspension being lifted after the drawn game was due to a mistake in the referee's report and not that the player was sent off incorrectly. Kicking and aiming to kick an opponent are sending off offences.He got off on a technicality.

If you want to direct the blame at someone for Mayo's loss last year may I advise your former manager James Horan as a candidate. Mayo lost the 2012 final due to a poor full back line against the high ball. In 2014 Donaghy went full forward in the final five minutes of the drawn game and Kerry pumped high ball in and made hay from it. In the replay we started with Donaghy v Ger Cafferkey and Cafferkey was roasted for 70 minutes until he was taken off. Mayo changed nothing. Cafferkey was taken off by Horan, not because he was poor in the replay, but because he was injured. Kerry had a lifeline, due to Horan's shocking inept decisions on the line, and took full advantage of it. Horan cost ye the 2012 All Ireland Final, the 2013 All Ireland Final and the 2014 All Ireland Semi Final.

I do hope that Mayo do reach the promised land in the near future and I wouldn't be bitter if it was against Kerry in the final but, The Master seriously have a good look in the mirror and stop your pathetic sniping at Kerry. It's unbecoming.

Regarding some of the posters on this thread ye might want to log out for an hour and try to get laid.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 08/07/2015 19:16:13    1750120

Its not fair to call this a lucky kerry team, but I still think that Donegal left last years all ireland behind them.
Both of kerrys goals came from poor unforced errors by Donegal players (Durcan obviously, and Odhran McNicholas for the first one) and Donegal had a perfectly good 45 ruled wide, and they hit the post at the end, and they just in general didnt perfrom as well as they could have. Both Murphy and young McHugh, star perfromers usually, were way off form on the day.
still though, Kerry cant be held responsible for any of that and in that case they deserved their win.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/07/2015 19:57:44    1750139

Very good post Van Damme

Kerry have lost over 20 All ireland finals..im sure on numerous occasions bad luck has cost us yet we carry on and come back stronger the next year.
I find it strange Mayo fans cant let go of last years semi final. Were five points up with time almost up in the first game but as usual couldnt see the game through. Also in the replay were five or six points up early on but when the pressure increases they folded.

Of course teams who constantly get beaten by the same opposition year in, year out, it must be hard to take and try blame the ref, the location of the match or the way the wind was blowing.

Rather then focus on the Mayo management and players who had plenty of opportunities to put the game to bed, its easier to blame external factors and make them feel better about themselves. I do hope Mayo reach the promise land of SAM in the near future as it must not be nice to be unlucky for so long..must be running out of excuses.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 08/07/2015 20:11:04    1750152

Lads there was nothing flukey bout stars goal against Donegal , all Kerry's full forwards are told to stand with their hands up for opposition kickouts I remember Paul geaney nearly caught out hennely in the replay only he tripped . Now I love mayo and would love them to win an allireland but we're not gona lye down for any1. The harder our boys train the luckier we'll get.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/07/2015 20:39:21    1750175

Well it helps as well when you have an abundance of talent! For a corner back to hit that kind of point under that much pressure is incredible, if it wasn't for that point we wouldn't be talking about kerry being 'lucky' right now!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 09/07/2015 08:44:51    1750251