Cavan are Ulster's aristocrats

i used to slag my Tyrone mates and fmaily about never winning sam.......be careful :)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 03/07/2015 11:53:10    1746927

For me personally the biggest joke in ulster football is cavan lots of minor u 21 success ,futures blue crap and one win in ulster v armagh 2013 in theclast 5 years and if truth be told yous caught Armagh on the hop to me thanks even funnier suas muineachain p

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 03/07/2015 11:56:00    1746929

all fun and games... Ulster is becoming less competitive by the year though..

detruth (Monaghan) - Posts: 196 - 03/07/2015 12:19:27    1746944

Mourne that pre-2003 rhetoric is so boring, if we thought football only started in 03 how come by that stage we had won more All-Ireland minor and U21 titles that Cavan & Down put together? - apologies Cavan posters only dragging you lot into this as you are included in the thread tittle.
Tittle of thread correct - has to be Cavan, often wondered why people claimed any different.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 03/07/2015 12:25:01    1746948

Any Gaa follower under 60 years of age would not remember Cavan as a superpower in Gaelic football . They would have read about them and their exploits Again no slur on Cavan but in my time following Donegal we probably had the beating of Cavan over the last 40 odd years. Let's face it Down also went downhill from the late sixties up unto 1991/1994. I would say that Derry / Donegal of the same time (91/94) were equally as good as down
I think it's different calling Kerry the aristocratsof The Gaa as they have won at least one AI in each decade That's a far cry from Cavan or Down as Cavans dominance was in the 30's/40's/ and early fifties. Down likewise in 1960/61/68 and the 91/94 teams Thirty years from now people might be calling Donegal or maybe Tyrone the aristocrats of Ulster football
The reality of it all is Gealic football has really devoleped in Ulster over the last 50 odd years with some great teams and unlike other providence so 4 counties have made the breakthrough in the last 20 odd years I can never see a county in Ulster dominating like Cavan once did and I think that's a good thing for Ulster Most counties in Ulster have a chance over a10/15 period of at least getting to an Ulster final or winning one

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 03/07/2015 12:42:52    1746962

My great-grandfather was actually on the 1935 Cavan team- very proud of that fact! My father wasn't around for it, but he always said his father was told they were some team.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 03/07/2015 12:45:38    1746966

detruth ulster isnt becoming less competitive its just a changing of the quards and it will happen again

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 03/07/2015 13:04:27    1746980

Ah !! Back in the day we rode our bike 40 mile to play a game, cycled 40 home, cycled to the dance that night, cycled home with a young one on the cross bar, courted her and cycled home even faster as her father heard us.
That was the scene when we were dominant. I have said it too many times, we are living in the past.Meath over took us in terms of All Ireland titles in a short period of time in the last century.
Definition of aristocrat
noun
a member of an aristocracy, especially a noble.
a person who has the tastes, manners, etc., characteristic of members of an aristocracy.
an advocate of an aristocratic form of government.
anything regarded as the best, most elegant, or most stylish of its kind:

Let me tell you, its a long time since we were any of the above !!!

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 03/07/2015 13:39:55    1747001

I never liked the aristocrat label being used for Down, and I don't know anyone personally that uses it.It's meaningless.

Cavan have the most football titles and fair play, they all count. Also I like that cool bit of history that they are the only team to win an all Ireland played outside of the country (polo grounds NYC).

That said, Down have special history too of bringing Sam across the border for the 1st time. Nobody else can ever claim that.

We are probably the weakest footballers in Ulster today but there's no county I'd rather be from. Some day I hope we get lucky again and a couple of decent players come along at the same time - enough to reach the top again perhaps.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 03/07/2015 13:45:02    1747004

This thread is turning into a Friday afternoon slagging match at work whilst counting down to home time.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 366 - 03/07/2015 13:53:18    1747010

prideof85
County: Monaghan

For me personally the biggest joke in ulster football is cavan lots of minor u 21 success ,futures blue crap and one win in ulster v armagh 2013 in theclast 5 years and if truth be told yous caught Armagh on the hop to me thanks even funnier suas muineachain p

it's a joke all right - mainly because it is not true

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/07/2015 13:56:17    1747013

Cavan will be in an All Ireland semi this year. Plenty of young players coming in and out of the side. UP the Breffni county!

XPAC (Westmeath) - Posts: 86 - 03/07/2015 14:19:28    1747033

XPAC at the start of the year I may have agreed. My dark horses for ulster. I really like Cavan but no way are they getting to a semi. Still my dark horses for a quarter consider they are on the easy side of the draw but they will struggle against rosscommon

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 03/07/2015 14:29:13    1747045

Think I'll tip over to watch the aristocrats of Ulster play the petty bourgeoisie of Connacht tomorrow. I hope they let members of the hoi polloi like me in the gates of Breffni Palace- after the insolence we showed the last time.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 03/07/2015 14:54:41    1747058

Offside_rule, sorry I was in double English class there and had a tutorial after.

The errors were made by Gary Mc but when S Goldrick pulled him up on his many, many errors (so not just a one off) your reply seemed to miss the point.

As long as everyone is now perfect I'm happy to move on with the much more important discussion on who is/isn't the aristocrats of Ulster football. But I'm watching you.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 03/07/2015 15:12:37    1747076

Offside_rule, sorry I was in double English class there and had a tutorial after.

The errors were made by Gary Mc but when S Goldrick pulled him up on his many, many errors (so not just a one off) your reply seemed to miss the point.

As long as everyone is now perfect I'm happy to move on with the much more important discussion on who is/isn't the aristocrats of Ulster football. But I'm watching you.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 03/07/2015 15:13:42    1747077

Lol - so there was nothing wrong with my use of the apostrophe but because I didn't point out the grammar mistakes of others then I am being wrongly labelled. Have a wee read of the posts the other day where the grammar police were hot on my tail. As I said then, one thing I hate to see is people coming on to a forum and attacking people on their grammar so it's not something I like or would ever think of doing. And if you are going to go down that road yourself then make sure that you are right in pointing out mistakes. You should hook up with GlasagusOr as I think the pair of ye would get on well...... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 03/07/2015 15:22:52    1747083

Cavan are indeed like the old aristocracy who had a huge big house complete with a thousand acre estate but ne'er a shilling to fix the leak in the roof nor a pot to p**s in.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/07/2015 16:01:57    1747115

Down are the aristocrats of Ulster Football due to the beautiful style of football they play. I think the "win at all costs" mentality has somewhat shrouded your judgement here. I'm a Down fan and if they got to the Ulster final this year I wouldn't of went, I think they've completely lost their way since 2010 which is so unfortunate as there is some supremely talented guys in the county, here's hoping they'll come great again, getting back into division 1 is the first step on the later.

cheesecake (UK) - Posts: 7 - 03/07/2015 16:20:06    1747130

s goldrick

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Perhaps It's time that new modern nicknames be attached to all Counties, to best represent their place in modern day Ireland.
Example:
Cavan - The Miser's .... The miser's what ?
Kerry - The Butter men
Mayo - The Nearly men
Monaghan - The Diesel Washer's ... again I ask, The Diesel Washer's what ??
Armagh - The bandits
Offaly - The BIFFO's .............yet again The BIFFO's what ???
Laois - The Prison Guarder's ... The Prison Guarder's... wife ? Dog ? uncle ?
Roscommon - The Turf smokers
Cork - The Langers

That's part of being Irish, we is born to abuse the English Language.

Although the Brits do love their Aristocracy, and proper use of the English language.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 03/07/2015 20:26:10    1747216