Online abuse

30/06/2015 17:09:04
Miler
It may not be right but it certainly goes with the territory. Refs cant see everything that goes on in a match and should get much more help from their officials. Refs and players have been getting abuse since long before the arrival of cybebulluing. I'm not a ref, I get enough abuse at home! But I do admire their bravery/foolishness in taking on the job. I guess the best advice before taking up or returning to reffing is to be aware that you're definitely going to be abused and if you can't stand the heat...........
What a ridiculous post
You shouldn't have to expect "abuse" and your last sentence is ridiculous. Why should any match official have to put up with pathetic abusive comments?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/06/2015 18:57:59    1745651

Ormond......Why should any match official have to put up with pathetic abusive comments?
Why indeed? A metaphysical speculation on your part? Probably something to do with the real world we live in.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 30/06/2015 19:43:10    1745672

Dell I agree with you that is going too far and sounds like a criminal matter for the authorities. Glad to hear youre doing well.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 30/06/2015 19:57:22    1745681

30/06/2015 18:57:59 ormondbannerman
Why should any match official have to put up with pathetic abusive comments?
30/06/2015 19:43:10 Miler
Why indeed? A metaphysical speculation on your part? Probably something to do with the real world we live in.
Not a metaphysical speculation at all. And we can end the philosophical comments here...
The real world doesn't mean referees should have to put up with abusive comments.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/06/2015 21:42:19    1745732

The verbal abuse of referees at club level in particular is endemic. Indeed, at times physical abuse can occur, and has done on many occasions over the years. But what goes missing is the mental abuse which can scar that referee long after the game has finished. I would say if you are at a club match where the referee is receiving OTT abuse, challenge the individual or the individuals who are the culprits. Do not be afraid to stand up for the referee. Because without them we would not have our Gaelic games.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 01/07/2015 09:51:40    1745788

Dell, its great to see you back on HS, its a real pity about the circumstances however. There can be no justification for the level of online abuse you, or many other refs have suffered. By all means criticise your performance but when that becomes personal they have crossed a line that should never be crossed. Good to hear you are back doing what you enjoy, make sure you keep posting on here too, and tell Ta we Tyronies need him.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/07/2015 11:06:17    1745843

Thanks brendtheredhand if you all read my article in the main page or Irish sun you see more insight . Now I must say I do not mind been criticised in a game but when people go to social media to attack me and about my personal life and other attacks to me that is gone beyond a bit of abuse .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 01/07/2015 14:17:59    1746016

delboypolecat

Fair play to you for going public.

You are showing a lot of bravery.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/07/2015 09:05:32    1746295

Well done Dell for highlighting this scourge and cancer in our games.

As you said, being questioned regarding decisions is part and parcel of the gig but when they bring family and personal matters into it's entirely out of order. Hope everything is going good now.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 02/07/2015 09:57:10    1746311

Thanks daytona and slayer my main point to my story is all down to a person and how it would affect there mental health as we same some tragic stories over online abuse . I hope a new law comes to stop these people

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 02/07/2015 20:34:54    1746683

01/07/2015 09:51:40 MourneArmy
The verbal abuse of referees at club level in particular is endemic. Indeed, at times physical abuse can occur, and has done on many occasions over the years. But what goes missing is the mental abuse which can scar that referee long after the game has finished. I would say if you are at a club match where the referee is receiving OTT abuse, challenge the individual or the individuals who are the culprits. Do not be afraid to stand up for the referee. Because without them we would not have our Gaelic games.
How do you build up the systems to protect referees ? How do you change the culture that exists where verbal abuse of referees is allowed?

01/07/2015 14:17:59 Dellboypolecat
Thanks brendtheredhand if you all read my article in the main page or Irish sun you see more insight . Now I must say I do not mind been criticised in a game but when people go to social media to attack me and about my personal life and other attacks to me that is gone beyond a bit of abuse.
If people are stooping that low. Report the incidents of abuse to the gardai and they have the resources to find the people who are dolling out the abuse and can charge them if what they say is bad enough
02/07/2015 20:34:54
Dellboypolecat
Thanks daytona and slayer my main point to my story is all down to a person and how it would affect there mental health as we same some tragic stories over online abuse . I hope a new law comes to stop these people
There is laws around what can/cannot be said online. Talk to someone if you feel you have a case. Look up laws surrounding harassment if you feel people are abusing you online

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/07/2015 12:14:02    1746938

Well done Dell

Read the article there and just have to say absolute hats off to you

Coming forward to speak about your own story will result in helping a lot of people

You are setting a great example

Ultimate respect to you - You're a good man.

All the very best

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/07/2015 12:45:45    1746967

Have you a link to it Del? I wouldn't mind rading it.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/07/2015 13:18:49    1746992

Jimbodub thank you very much sorry for late response but I came out to help others that the help is out there and people hide there depression or thoughts to much . And to the tweeters or online trolls they seriously need to think

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/07/2015 09:51:39    1752268

Read the article too.

Top, top man Del.

Delighted you are back on your feet.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 13/07/2015 10:18:13    1752301

Thanks wayno great to be back considering I was never going to ref again and other stuff

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/07/2015 11:35:54    1752388

Gotmilk send me your email I will send you my name

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/07/2015 11:56:36    1752409

Del I read the article and it was very moving. I was also quite annoyed that we still in this day and age have people like this in our society.
As a survivor I give you great credit and wish you every luck in your continued referee career.
Its a thankless job and I know myself I refereed under age games in Limerick and Tipperary years ago as a step in referee for challenge games and I tell ya parents of some kids playing today are disgraceful.
You give a free against a young fella and his mother or father are en-croaching the pitch threatening you and calling you names. This is U.10 & 12 like.
I hope you speaking out will lead to others seeking help sooner rather than later.
It would be nice if Governments both sides of the border helped more organisations driving against this type of abuse as its all too common now a days.
Also the police both sides of the border so more to prosecute these scum individuals who hide behind keyboards and hope get a kick out of abusing people.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 13/07/2015 12:20:58    1752434

WildPundit THank you and yes the government and police should do more about this as the rate off suicide is very high and people that suffer from depression is even more alarming . Am glad I came out as wanted to help people that are where I was and seek the help . Am glad now am alive today and back Reffing

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/07/2015 18:09:33    1752790

I'll never forget an apparently devout set of lads talking about buying, completing and sending a mass card to a ref after a college game in which we woz robbed. Can't recall if they did it or not...

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 13/07/2015 18:27:42    1752808