Kerry V Cork

Monkstown rebel
Well said, in fairness we were haunted to get that penalty but from high on the stand at first glance I taught it was and I can only imagine that's what happend the ref as well, both teams will improve big time from this game it's exactly what both teams needed IMO.
The team I'd like to see Fitzy put out the next day is
Brian Kelly
Paul Murphy Marc o'sé enright
Lyne Mahony young
Maher Moran
Buckley Sheehan donnacha Walsh
Gooch Paul geaney JOD
It would be tough to drop star but we need to try something different.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/07/2015 17:12:29    1748732

06/07/2015 15:03:52
woops

Dubjohn have a look at Dublin's winning free in the 2011 final and then come back and describe what is a "hometown decision"

---

Ah come on, let's face it what player tackles with legs as wide as the span of O'Connell St bridge? Stone wall free all day long. Clucko pointed despite the sledging he was taking from 'star'. There can be no complaints from the Kerry men on this one surely.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/07/2015 17:43:22    1748752

Not one of the Kerry fella's on here have stated it wasn't a penalty, they've all stated it was a 'soft penalty'. It should have been a free out.

I agree that under normal circumstances that the underdog has missed their chance by not winning the first game but the circumstances are different. Cork have as much individual talent as Kerry, I believe their more talented, its collectively where the common consensus was that Kerry are stronger but the result yesterday should give Cork more confidence for the replay.

If Donaghy wasn't captain that I could see him dropped, Cadogan dominated him yesterday. Will he be brought out the pitch? Fitzmaurice showed last September he's not afraid to make bold tactical moves by bringing JOD out the pitch. I'd imagine Geaney would start the next day.

Cork's half back line was superb, a previous poster commented that he thought that would be their weakest line as I did but like him I was surprised. Kerry look vulnerable when their ran at, Shields breezed past the Gooch far too easily for the 3rd goal.

Credit to Kerry, their never beat. Anyone got any stats on the wides? It looked like Kerry didn't have too many, their point taking was superb.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 06/07/2015 17:46:12    1748755

Kingdomboy apoligies if I'm wrong here as your knowledge on kerry football is far better than mine,but I thought peter crowley done ok for kerry yesterday and personally I would love to see him on the bench.as for donaghy he is captain I can't see kerry dropping him but I must admit it wasn't his finest game yesterday.your midfield will be maher and moran for sure next day,to play sheenan at midfield won't happen again,how fit is gooch kingdomboy?

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 06/07/2015 18:27:15    1748783

Crowley is a funny player when he's on his game he's one the best half backs in the game but when he's off he looks like he doesn't really care maybe that's just his laid back style I don't know but he was poor yesterday and looked as I said like he didn't really care. Tbf to Donaghy he mightn't have caught any ball yesterday but every time it went in he cause chaos and panic with the Cork backs and he finished his goal brilliantly.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/07/2015 19:28:58    1748821

A few things I took from a really great game.

1) Gooch is a pale shadow of the great player he was.
2) Without Moran, Kerry were cleaned out at midfield yesterday.
3) Not a penalty in a month of Sundays.
4) Home advantage for the replay is out of order.
5) Cork made some really poor decisions that cost them, particularly at the end.

Cork an now be rightly regarded as one of the main contenders, but can they keep the fire burning? They played like a team with something to prove yesterday, but was it a one off?

Kerry were poor yesterday & are a long way short of the great Kerry teams of the past. However the overall standard isn't fantastic & they may well have enough guile & experience to win Sam again.

An interesting summer awaits.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 06/07/2015 20:03:26    1748845

Is that assumption of gooch not a bit harsh muckross it was his first game for just under two years all twenty minutes of it and he did score a nice point with a touch of that gooch swagger as well I may add.Also about the replay both kerry and cork have agreed to this with kerry returning the favour in 3 years time so no problem with that either.no doubt about it moran is a hell of a player,and as for cork making bad decisions at the end I agree.However let me say this that equalising point was sheer quality not lucky as iv seen some people on here say.great score fair play to the lad

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 06/07/2015 20:16:53    1748855

Muckross, I think you can't judge Gooch so harshly so quickly. His been out for more than a year, he only had 70 minutes of championship football going into yesterday.

Ok he definitely wasn't up to the pace of the game when he came on and seemed a bit flat footed, but that often happens to sub coming into a high octane game at that level, they can struggle to reach the level the game is being played at. Gooch will come good with more game time I'm confident.

Secondly, whey in God's name are all you neutrals going on and on about the game being back in Killarney. PUC is being demolished, we have a home and away agreement with Cork, we will be playing Cork in Cork for 2-3 games in a row to compensate them once their ground is redeveloped.

Its not some Kerry conspiracy ffs!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2015 20:27:53    1748861

Added to that, nobody in Cork wants the game played anywhere else. When we played in a few All-Ireland semi finals a few years ago, most people in Cork would have happily played those in Kerry as well. Dublin for the final (if we get there), otherwise just keep it local!

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/07/2015 20:47:57    1748875

For me I've said it a million times The Gooch is the greatest forward I've ever seen play but it's a lot to ask the man to come back after a cruicate and a broken knee cap at age 32 to be still the same player as before, now I love the man and hope he does but I think we all have to be realistic here the chances are very slim.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/07/2015 21:19:51    1748892

Backed Cork @5/2 to win so I was unlucky But I do think Cork are well capable of winning the replay
But don't tell me that there was no pulling or dragging and indeed the black cards were justified except I'd have given K Donahey a black instead of yellow
To be honest I never give Kerry much chance this time last year as I thought they were a team that were over the top Nothing changes my view this year and I think they could struggle to reach the quarterfinals Their first goal was similar to durkins blunder last year and I think all Kerry know they got a lucky penalty In saying all that the last point was quality, an awful lot of forwards might not have scored it
Kytitletown and seppblatter
Donegal have not got it easy at all since 2011 as we had to won Ulster on two occasions from a prelimary round , same as this year we have played three and are only in the Ulster final So to win The All Ireland we would have to play at least seven games, compared to KERRY OR cork with maybe only 5 to play Monaghan would have to play six.
Don't be giving out about blanket defence or sweepers, Kerry were well able to use the blanket last year in the AI and so will Cork have to adjust if they were to meet either Donegal , Monaghan ,Derry or Tyrone as I know Donegal will set up defensive if we get to CP and the other three will probably do so and all Indeed I was well impressed with Derry's system and it will be hard to play against

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 06/07/2015 21:57:52    1748919

TheHermit

Muckross, I think you can't judge Gooch so harshly so quickly. His been out for more than a year, he only had 70 minutes of championship football going into yesterday.

Ok he definitely wasn't up to the pace of the game when he came on and seemed a bit flat footed, but that often happens to sub coming into a high octane game at that level, they can struggle to reach the level the game is being played at. Gooch will come good with more game time I'm confident.

Secondly, whey in God's name are all you neutrals going on and on about the game being back in Killarney. PUC is being demolished, we have a home and away agreement with Cork, we will be playing Cork in Cork for 2-3 games in a row to compensate them once their ground is redeveloped.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/07/2015 08:25:47    1748935

TheHermit

Its not some Kerry conspiracy ffs!!!

Hemit, don't get me wrong. I am one of the Gooch's biggest admirers, a fabulous player.

But what I saw in Killarney on Sunday was a pale shadow of his former glorious self.

I don't really buy into this argument that he is feling his way back to form after a long layoff. He has been back from injury for quite a while now & I'm sure he wouldn't be in the Kerry squad if he wasn't fully fit.

The fact of the matter is that the game just completely passed him by on Sunday. Where before he would have been central to all of Kerry's attacking moves that wasn't the case & his teammates weren't seeking him out as in the past.

Now I'm not saying that he is finished, or anything like it, but based on what I saw on Sunday, he is not the player he was.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/07/2015 08:32:45    1748936

Killarney is the best place for a replay seeing that Cork are in agreement about it. Will be interesting to see who refs the replay.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/07/2015 09:16:41    1748957

Sam, you must not think much of Donegal so if you don't think much of Kerry. We did beat you in the final last year remember?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/07/2015 09:21:33    1748960

Speaking of the penalty there was plenty of this near me on Sunday :D

[url=]https://www.facebook.com/429010670560873/videos/707240859404518/

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/07/2015 09:27:15    1748963

Replay not to be shown on Tv???

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 07/07/2015 09:32:33    1748966

Agreed Bennybunny. There is no need to take any Cork Kerry game out of Cork and Kerry, unless it's an AI final. AI semis downwards should be played in Cork or Kerry. The new Pairc will even have a corporate section, I believe.

In addition, we should do our best to get all hurling fixtures (bar the final) played in Thurles, Cork, Killareny, Noaln etc. Croke Park is like T2 at Dublin airport. They've built it too big, and now they expect provincial venues to effectively pay for it by surrendering fixtures. A big match means a lot more (financially) to Cork or Killarney than it ever will to Dublin. These players represent their counties. Let them do what's best for their counties, and keep these little windfalls where they have the biggest proportional economic impact.

I know Mayo did a lot of complaining about the Limerick venue last year, but I'd urge them to think again. The game (even on Telly) generated a much better atmosphere than a half empty Croke Park, and it brought a bit of cash to Limwerick. Now, imagine if Mayo had had the foresight to concede home advantage to Kerry? Right now, Castlebar would be looking forward to a multi-million euro windfall the next time Mayo and Kerry met outside of an AI final.

Think on folks. Provincial venues can generate carnival atmospheres on novelty alone!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 07/07/2015 11:53:22    1749108

TheHermit

1748861 Muckross, I think you can't judge Gooch so harshly so quickly. His been out for more than a year, he only had 70 minutes of championship football going into yesterday.

100% agree

It takes time

Kilkenny had the same injury but he has the youth factor

He said himself it takes time to trust your body again... every move for the ball and you're just waiting for it to go again

Takes game time to get confidence in it again and the Gooch's return was held up

Where CK was able to get back in time to feature in the league.. playing quite well and culminating in a fine league final performance

The Gooch will come good but he still wont be anywhere near 100% this year with so little game time

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/07/2015 12:23:07    1749136

The hermit
The best Donegal team ever and that's watching Donegal for 50 odd years
Telling you the truth/// in my opinion last year I thought Kerry were more or less gone but I was wrong But over the two games I think Mayo were the better team and in one of those games after half time Mayo played as good as football as I saw for a long time For 20 odd minutes they over ran Kerry but could not close out the game. In the Final Donegal never reached the heights that they were capable plus on the day I think our manager got it wrong ( by not starting P mcBrearty and was it Toye. ) still he got it right on so many occasions and we all make mistakes
But in watching All Ireland's finals the second Kerry goal was a complete gift and never saw it happen in an AI before
I think we have a better chance than Kerry of lifting Sam , we are the only county since Mayo in 2012 to have beaten Dublin and I know our team have been around a while so to me this is our last year for a lot of guys and whether we have enough talent to regroup is for another day.
By the way where is Tommy Walsh ? How come he did not show on Sunday as a sub at some stage ?
I could be all wrong about Kerry but I think a lot of their players are past their best Time will tell about both counties

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 07/07/2015 14:06:19    1749235