Kerry V Cork

Am I the only one who thinks Fitzgerald wasn't going for a point? For me he was lobbing it in to the big man and the wind caught it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/07/2015 14:05:26    1748439

No problem going to Killarney again. The Cork Kerry rivalry has always been a friendly one. The Kerry lads are basically sound - except in the stadium where we hate them - then we all exit, and we like each other again. It's a good day out for all. No place does hospitality like Killarney - it's their bread and butter.

The way Brolly and Rourke went on, you'd swear that Cork were soundly beaten there every year. One look at the results would tell them different. From a Cork perspective, we've been a rub of the green away from beating them in Killarney many times. Yesterday was the latest installment in that saga. But their luck will run out, and all of Cork wants to be there whe it does.

Congrats to both sides on a great game, played as it should be. Don't go negative now lads - go at it again!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 06/07/2015 14:21:47    1748473

Great game, great day in Killarney.
Munster final day between Kerry and Cork the Terrace is one dangerous place to be with the heat year in year out!!!
Great craic after and dyyyyying today!

Very good game of open football, some defensive strategies but overall both teams went for the juggular.
I knew Alan O Connor coming back would be a big boost for Cork and what a game he had, my man of the match.

Kerry I thought rode out several storms and was going to see the game through but the 3rd goal killed us. Cork were unlucky in the end but they had the chances to kill it off.

Gooch didnt seem to have the legs and Cork exploited that with his man attacking constantly getting him on the back off.
Before the game I thought that Cork half back line was awful on paper but it was their strongest line on the day. They wiped out the Kerry half back line.

The penalty was soft but in fairness to the ref, from where I was watching it from high up on the terrace it looked like a blatant penalty. many others I spoke to thought the same. But obviously from the tv it was a harsh call on Mark Collins.

Happy out with the 2nd chance, shows where players are currently at with form and fitness and the 2nd game will bring both teams on.

Still whoever loses the replay will still have a big say in the championship

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/07/2015 14:36:23    1748491

I would love to see Cork winning the replay for two reasons, firstly to see justice being done regarding the penalty that never was,I firmly believe Cork would have held on to win the game if this "hometown decision " hadn't been given, secondly I fully expect the dubs to take care of Westmeath leading to a clash with the munster runners up ,and I'd love us to beat Kerry AGAIN in championship football ! Can't wait to hear what excuses they have this time if we meet and beat them again!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 06/07/2015 14:58:00    1748528

Dubjohn have a look at Dublin's winning free in the 2011 final and then come back and describe what is a "hometown decision"

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 06/07/2015 15:03:52    1748540

DUBJOHN

I would love to see Cork winning the replay for two reasons, firstly to see justice being done regarding the penalty that never was,I firmly believe Cork would have held on to win the game if this "hometown decision " hadn't been given, secondly I fully expect the dubs to take care of Westmeath leading to a clash with the munster runners up ,and I'd love us to beat Kerry AGAIN in championship football ! Can't wait to hear what excuses they have this time if we meet and beat them again!

I'd prefer to meet them in the Final rather than the QF. I'd have an uneasy feeling about meeting them that early.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 06/07/2015 15:09:14    1748549

Dublin John, what excuses have you for only beating us twice in 35 years of championship football????? ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2015 15:11:06    1748553

Exactly Culchie and there is no doubt in my mind that we will go to the new PUC when it's open we will go there for an extra time to compensate for the replay - not like other provinces where teams are bullied into giving up home advantage. The Kerry CB could easily have not made/cancelled the H and A agreement with Cork while PUC is being rebuilt and left them in the lurch but we are paragons of fair play and wouldn't stoop to that.

Regards the game as I repeated throughout the week this Cork would be a deadly dangerous animal waiting a whole year to tear into, and boy did they! As I said the Cork FF would provide serious trouble for our weak spot - FB line. People rubbished the league when Cork gave us a right trimming when scoring 3-17 and they would have reached that yesterday only for a quiet day from Hurley, that wont happen next day. Where even I was surprised by the Rebels was their sheer dominance in midfield, I didnt think AOC would have it in him to play like did. That was the one area where I thought we'd have a significant edge, but now cant count on that either. This mythical 'Big 4 ' is just a myth, unless you have Cork there as opposed to Kerry as they now know they can win in Killarney and will start as warm favourites on the 18th.

Yesterday proved that Kerry v Cork is the biggest and best game in the football calendar. BAR NONE. No other rivalry has such a rich and traditional history of two teams going all out for the win playing manly football(No sweepers or pulling and dragging) and two teams who are almost always in contention for the Sam Maguire title (no other province has had that since Tyrone + Armagh in the mid 00's)

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 06/07/2015 15:14:09    1748558

TheHermit

Dublin John, what excuses have you for only beating us twice in 35 years of championship football????? ;)

Ssshhhhh we're only counting from 2011 on :)

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 06/07/2015 15:15:37    1748560

A lot has to do with Kerry's mental strength cause on paper they are an ok team nothing compared to the team of the 00's but yet can still win big games and that's a credit to them but if Cork can get there defence right don't be surprised to see them win any team with the fire power Cork have can destroy a team on any given day and they owe there people a big one Sunday , this Kerry team is there for the taken they've rode there luck eventually they'll get caught Sunday could be the day.

Jaysis I was one miss kick away from being exactly right again.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/07/2015 15:28:44    1748587

Yesterday proved that Kerry v Cork is the biggest and best game in the football calendar. BAR NONE. No other rivalry has such a rich and traditional history of two teams going all out for the win playing manly football(No sweepers or pulling and dragging) and two teams who are almost always in contention for the Sam Maguire title (no other province has had that since Tyrone + Armagh in the mid 00's)

Really, No Sweepers!! Cork played with two sweepers and Kerry filtered a sweeper back in front of their full back line every time Cork attacked. They had 13 behind the ball at one stage when Cork had to patiently work the ball around for 2-3 minutes before taking a great point. No pulling and dragging!! Two black cards (should have been more), clothes line tackles, Mouthing at officials!! Take the blinkered glasses off!!

As regards Cork and Kerry consistently being in contention. 100% correct but thats because there is no-one in their province to get at their level so they the winner goes straight into the quarters every year leaving the loser with only one game into the quarters. We would love to be in that position every year!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 06/07/2015 15:28:58    1748589

Apologies hermit that last post was in reply to woops post !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 06/07/2015 15:32:53    1748595

Tir Conaill Abu

Really, No Sweepers!! Cork played with two sweepers and Kerry filtered a sweeper back in front of their full back line every time Cork attacked. They had 13 behind the ball at one stage when Cork had to patiently work the ball around for 2-3 minutes before taking a great point. No pulling and dragging!! Two black cards (should have been more), clothes line tackles, Mouthing at officials!! Take the blinkered glasses off!!

As regards Cork and Kerry consistently being in contention. 100% correct but thats because there is no-one in their province to get at their level so they the winner goes straight into the quarters every year leaving the loser with only one game into the quarters. We would love to be in that position every year!!

You have been in that position every year since 2011!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 06/07/2015 15:40:16    1748606

No we haven't Sepp

We have had to play three games including two Div one teams just to get to the Ulster Final. Thats certainly not the same as what Cork and Kerry have to do to get to the same stage!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 06/07/2015 15:48:53    1748623

Tir Conaill

I was at the game and can assure you when we were attacking in Cork's half it was 3 Cork forwards vs 3 Kerry defenders at the other end with no else in sight, Cork did use a sweeper at times (Collins and even Kerrigan to a small degree at the start) but certainly nothing like the Ulster teams do.

Also, Cork have an excellent record against Ulster teams in the championship (better than we do certainly) something Genius Joe from Derry never seems to acknowledge.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 06/07/2015 15:49:01    1748624

I think the draw is a brilliant result for both our selfs and cork the losers will be well tuned in for the quarter final v the dubs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/07/2015 15:58:03    1748638

Tir Conaill Abu

No we haven't Sepp

We have had to play three games including two Div one teams just to get to the Ulster Final. Thats certainly not the same as what Cork and Kerry have to do to get to the same stage!!

I would argue that neither of those Div 1 sides were genuine contenders for the All-Ireland!

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 06/07/2015 15:58:58    1748639

Must admit cork surprised me yesterday,we played really well and got stuck in something I haven't seen from the footballers since 2010 semi final against dublin,now as one of the cork lads said we go again yesterday was meaningless unless we finish the job and its still a big ask a very big ask to beat a wounded kerry in there own back yard,on the cork front yesterday the half back line really stood up and was counted and colm o neil is a awesome forward shear class.The ref was a little inconsistent I don't think it was a penalty but we move on,I see one of the cork lads has labelled kerry as dads army I hope those words don't come back to haunt him and us,on the kerry front you would have to think they will come on for the game and I would also think there will changes made from that kerry team. saying that kerry were awesome in the first 35 so maybe not so many changes as people would expect,looking forward to return with a little more confidence than first game,come on cork

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 06/07/2015 16:48:08    1748694

Clondalkin,you were close,but i was exactly right again.Think i was the only poster who predicted a draw.Ching ching!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2015 17:01:45    1748716

Monkstown reb

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/07/2015 17:03:02    1748717