Kerry V Cork

Never a pen and Donaghy should have been black carded. Sheehan and Buckley in the first half also tackled high around the neck, not to dissimilar to Kerrigan. I mean how the hell can you say a tackle that high is not deliberate? Of course it is. Absolutely ridiculous to say otherwise. But this is rules GAA style. Making something complicated when it is very simple. Oh and it was the same ref in the 2010 drawn game in Killarney who also favoured Kerry to get the draw.

Dragon (Cork) - Posts: 12 - 05/07/2015 16:57:15    1747793

i said all week cork would show up today and were very unlucky
couple of decisions went against them on the day and silly goal given away
think they may have missed their chance to win this years munster championship today

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/07/2015 17:36:22    1747827

Great match. fair play to both teams. they served up a wonderful match full of intensity and skill. some courage by Fionn Fitzgerald to go for that last point, reminded me of the Clare corner back Domhnall O'Donovan in the drawn game against Cork a few years ago.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/07/2015 18:02:52    1747845

Replay Saturday July 18th in Killarney

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 05/07/2015 18:15:51    1747861

I am one of the few people the few cork people as well i may add that told you kerry are very average,i said if they play the game at lourdes it would not matter as we ARE BETTER THAN THEM.now fair play to the ref added the time on didnt issue cards when they should have been issued and them gave them a penalty that was never a penalty and still the kingdom could not master us.Now for all the doubters i will say this again WE WILL BEAT KERRY ON JULY 18TH,WHY? because were better than them kerry are a tired team a jadded team they said they had a superior bench then corks WRONG,they have a more experienced bench then corks,that team is old and finished it makes dads army look young thats why the cork county board said lets play them in killarney and beat them there,There not worried why should they be,im disapointed the ref was not strong today because at the time of penalty we would have one by 6 or 7 no doubt about it.still july 18th cant wait BRING IT ON

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 05/07/2015 18:33:00    1747882

This Kerry side always seem to be involved in epic games, against Dublin in the Semi Fianl in 2013, the games against Mayo last year and the Cork game today.

Traleenative (Kerry) - Posts: 44 - 05/07/2015 18:33:38    1747884

Kerry can take alot of positives from todays game i would say
Eamon Fitz is the happier manager.Cork had the chance to win
it and left it after them.Kerry drew with about 40% of the possession
The Kerry backs will play like they did against Donegal in the AI
Cork have only one plan run at Kerry thats not going to work the
next day

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 05/07/2015 18:53:26    1747901

Why Killarney? Pairc Ui Chaoimh isn't available so why isn't the replay held in Thurles, are the GAA afraid that the Kerry supporters won't travel. Ah but after all according to GAA it's further from south Kerry to Limerick (1 and a half - 2 hrs) than it is from north Mayo to Limerick 5hrs, ya now I see why the replay is in Kerry, it's a neutral venue

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 05/07/2015 19:05:22    1747910

BlackrockEddie

The publicans in Killarney should be ashamed of themselves for filling you up too much...I assume that nonsense is the sauce talking!

I am glad the replay is in Killarney. Cork v Kerry is a home/away agreement. There is precedence for this. In the 1970s Cork played Kerry I think 3 times in a row in PUC after we did it up. I don't think anybody in Cork will complain about going back there. Kerry will have to play the next two matches in Cork anyway. No worries.

Proud of Cork's performance. We improved from last year and crucially when we went 5 points down, we did not throw in the towel. However, Colm O'Rourke is 100% right. There is a top 4 in football. Cork are NOT CURRENTLY in that top 4. If they want to be, we must play like that in EVERY game. If the players have ambition, games like the league final cannot be repeated. Cork still have not proven themselves. We know (but we knew before today) that we have very good players and we know that we are much better than most of the other teams (just not the top 4).

The penalty was not a penalty. However, more crucially Alan O'Connor (my man of the match) had the ball at the end and shouldered a player in the face which handed back the initiative to Kerry at a crucial time. Unfortunately we cannot blame the ref for that. Also Colm O'Neill's 45 (I don't know suggested Goulding to take it-he is also left footed!!??) had a disappointing finish from a very difficult angle.

Black cards: Kerrigan's was justified. We cannot complain and he was a huge loss (though Kelly was immense when he came on). Any complaint comes in the consistency of the application.

Regarding the challenges around the neck. We see loads of these in gaelic football. There are two things in my mind that make it difficult for refs. The tackler puts his hands up high which they probably should not do (but tackles in football are weakly defined) and there is the player being tackled and tuck into the tackle making it look worse than what it is. The ref cannot ignore these as tackles around the neck are potentially dangerous but you also have some 'exaggeration' from the tackled. I think yellow is enough. If they are stupid enough to do it twice then they must go off.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 05/07/2015 19:28:35    1747926

RIVERBOYS
Why Killarney? Pairc Ui Chaoimh isn't available so why isn't the replay held in Thurles, are the GAA afraid that the Kerry supporters won't travel. Ah but after all according to GAA it's further from south Kerry to Limerick (1 and a half - 2 hrs) than it is from north Mayo to Limerick 5hrs, ya now I see why the replay is in Kerry, it's a neutral venue

All this years potential meetings between Kerry and Cork have been pencilled in for Killarney. PUC is still unavailable next year i believe, so if they do meet again it will be held in Killarney and Cork will have three home games in a row after that. Seems fairly balanced structure to me and havent seen any Cork fan complain about this as they always enjoy killarney and are welcomed well by kerry fans. This agreement goes back over a number of years as in the 70s Cork played a number of home games in a row and was reversed over the following years to be played in killarney to balance it out.

Hope that answers your question and for your own health leave last years semi final in the past..not good or your stress levels to keep bringing it up.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/07/2015 19:53:19    1747939

Bennybunny we have had many a disagreement in the past and im sure we will have many a disagreement in the future. You say the killarney publicans should be ashamed of themselves for serving me so much alcohol unfortently they did not serve enough. if you read what i wrote benny you actually agreed with me on some of it,That it was never a penalty that we were in control.i agree with you alan o connor was magic today as was donnacha o connor colm o neil o driscol and cronin, but i agree o connor was mom today for sure,people said kerrys bench was stronger dont get me wrong they have some good players but there team is over the hill donnacha walsh gooch darren o sullivan marc o shea brian sheehan fabolous players but all over the hill. now i will get slaughtered for that but im been honest and if kerry folk are been honest they know im been honest,fair play to fitzmaurice last year kerry got a wee bit of luck he made a silk purse out of a sows ear but you cant do that every year. i know people will say im cock sure arrogant or deluded but maybe benny im also speaking the truth

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 05/07/2015 20:04:06    1747948

Lads- where can I buy toilet paper in bulk in Kerry?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 05/07/2015 20:25:01    1747970

Blackrockeddie you need to stop them posts before people will think your me. One player that was poor for Cork today who I rate highly was Hurley very greedy at one point in the first half when he should have layed the ball off to his half back and didn't really hurt Kerry like we all know he can. Great game and you have to admire Kerry there never bet have many times now have they done that to Cork? I've said a million times this is not a great Kerry team but as Waynol says you can never write them off especially after last year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2015 20:49:47    1747984

Thing is,I believe their is much more improvement in Kerry than Cork.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/07/2015 20:58:02    1747993

Alan O'Connor did a very dumb thing just as Cork were playing keep-ball in the closing minutes, that's where Cork should have seen the game out!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 05/07/2015 21:08:15    1747998

Agree clondulkin kerry never beat until the fat lady has sang,but all im saying is there not great i have said bar dublin i fear no one in ireland,people talk about big 4,with respect to mayo they havent one a ai in a long time but there rated top 4 kerry on a ageing team rated top 4 dublin and donegal been there got the t shirts no qualms with either of them.i have been wrong in the past for sure nearly every post i read today says cork should have won,those same people think kerry will win the replay i promise you it wont happen there a busted flush,cork will win thr return mark my words, As for hurley i agree he has had better days and im sure the next day he will have a better day

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 05/07/2015 21:12:10    1748002

. One player that was poor for Cork today who I rate highly was Hurley very greedy at one point in the first half when he should have layed the ball off to his half back and didn't really hurt Kerry like we all know he can. Great game and you have to admire Kerry there never bet have many times now have they done that to Cork? I've said a million times this is not a great Kerry team but as Waynol says you can never write them off especially after last year.

Hurley was poor and was very greedy too....no power.
Kerry not a great team and maybe its just as well or nobody else would ever win anything.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 05/07/2015 21:15:52    1748006

Alan O'Connor did a very dumb thing just as Cork were playing keep-ball in the closing minutes, that's where Cork should have seen the game out!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 05/07/2015 21:21:28    1748011

That's it Big Sacks we all have a chance now cause Kerry ha e come back to the pack.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2015 21:36:36    1748023

Well, that was some day in Killarney yesterday!

Firstly I hope the game was a perfect response to the idiots advocating the scrapping the provincial championship.

Secondly, we got out of jail there in the end. Cork had us on the ropes, but they couldn't land the knock-out blow. What b@lls and leadership from young Fitzgerald to call for that ball and back himself to get the score. Talk about a pressure cooker situation, I guess that's why we are the All Ireland champions. we have players willing to stand up and be counted when they are most needed.

Overall, considering we were well in control at times too, a draw between both sides was probably a fair result on balance.

The ref made some questionable decisions, the penalty looked like one in real time, but after watching it on the Sunday Game it did look soft. Moran was sent to the line for relatively nothing while Donaghy was lucky to stay on the field. In the first half he also gave Cork a lot of 50/50 call. But sure overall I think these things balanced themselves out across the 70 minutes.

As I predicted, the real Cork showed up and put in probably their best performance in the championship in the last 2 years.

Kerry's defence, as many of us feared, looked extremely vulnerable when ran at. Fitzy will have to sort this out or we will be surrendering our All Ireland before September is upon us.

Donaghy did little bar the goal and both Gooch and Darran failed to really impose themselves on the game. Gooch looked strangely flat footed and unsure of his role. The Kerry lads looked like they had done a lot of serious training and Sheehan was knackered coming off. I expect to see a good few changes in two weeks. Moran/Maher need to start with Sheehan on the 40. Paul Geaney should be starting as well.

Still, I feel Cork played as well as they could while Kerry were nowhere near their best for the 70 minutes. Out of the two I think Kerry will improve more and the game will bring some of our players on leaps and bounds. I think its advantage to the Kingdom...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/07/2015 13:08:35    1748361