NHL Final Cork v Waterford

Congratulations Waterford. Outside the top 6 at the start of the league and now winners. Hope they can continue this fine form into championship.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7865 - 04/05/2015 12:07:06    1720114

Of course we were trying to win the league Westisbest. We were beaten by the better team in Nowlan Park a couple of weeks ago. Fair play to Waterford, they play a nice brand of hurling, I didn't see this defensive style of play. The big test now is to back it up the next day against a wounded Cork team.

Where is Eddie gone with his 6/7 point win guff? An extremely arrogant post if I ever saw one.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 04/05/2015 12:39:07    1720122

I dont think your correct in saying Tipp dont take league seriously.Wheres the proof?They lost to a good Waterford team in semi final by 1 point and were attacking until the end.And who are these teams that Tipp have to start beating?Theyve lost 3 All Ire finals and 3 league finals in last 6 years.All to Kilkenny.They are beating every other county to get there obviously.If your critisising a county at least try and be objective.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/05/2015 12:41:39    1720123

I dont think your correct in saying Tipp dont take league seriously.Wheres the proof?They lost to a good Waterford team in semi final by 1 point and were attacking until the end.And who are these teams that Tipp have to start beating?Theyve lost 3 All Ire finals and 3 league finals in last 6 years.All to Kilkenny.They are beating every other county to get there obviously.If your critisising a county at least try and be objective.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/05/2015 12:41:40    1720124

Nice to see Waterford winning. i like their style as a hurling county.Setup for a great Munster championship now.
Would like to see the following Cork lineout
Nash, O'Neill, Cahalane, McDonnell, McLoughlin, Ellis, Murphy, Kearney, Walsh, Lehane, Horgan, Harnedy, Cadogan, O'Farrell, O' Sullivan

Horgan at centre forward would utilize his unlimitless talents and would compose a strong half forward line. I like Luke O' Farrell at full forward.

I believe this Cork side can beat Waterford. JBM and Johnny Crowley...are you reading this?

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 04/05/2015 14:26:20    1720151

I dont know how anyone could say that Waterford are not a defensive team,they played most of the game with 10 players in the defence.Now thats fine if that is how you want to go but please dont come out and try to say that they are not doing it.I took a picture yesterday in the first half and in Corks half of the field there was 3 Cork backs and one Waterford player.Cork lost to a better drilled and hungrier team,Cork management are clueless and have been for a long time,they couldnt deal with teams that used to play one sweeper and yesterday showed that it will only get worse when teams see how effective the blanket defense is,allied with a good attitude(which Cork are seriously lacking) it is very difficult to break down if the opposition doesnt have a plan to deal with it.

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 04/05/2015 15:48:36    1720165

yes..this Cork management sometimes confounds me. Why they would move Conor Lehane to full forward when he is a terrific half forward, and why they drop Cahalane before big games, after persevering with him in all league games confuses me. Also Pa Cronin could be used when things are not going well.
Selectors need to pick consistent teams. Luke O' Farrell is a goalscoring full forward who had some outstanding league outings, and yet is inexplicably omitted.Selectors,take a leaf out of Brian Cody's book,pick consistent teams and build players confidence.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 04/05/2015 16:16:58    1720169

Waterford the defensive team, yet they were the only ones to score a goal in addition to out-scoring Cork on points. That's some fairly aggresive defensive play, if you ask me!

I thought what was most impressive about their win was who they controlled the game through-out. Even though there was only a few scores between the teams through-out the game they never really looked like loosing. Granted, Waterford made two spectacular saves, and who knows what would have happened if either goal chance had been converted. But as it stands, Waterford were deserving winners.

Great game, and well done.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 04/05/2015 17:05:47    1720177

Cork deployed a defensive system a few years ago against Kilkenny in All Ireland quarter final (2013). Pa Cronin acted as a sweeper behind half back line and was very effective. As Kerry did last year against Donegal.." if you can't beat 'em, join them"

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 04/05/2015 17:53:59    1720186

Sweepers? I saw yesterday a team chasing the game playing three in midfield and with two upfront totally outnumbered where they won very little. I can get it when in front but so many playing this way you have to wonder do they even know what the hell they are at.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 04/05/2015 18:51:16    1720192

Another spot on prediction Eddie. The bookies would love you.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 04/05/2015 19:02:06    1720194

Yes and a team playing one inside forward and the outfield players hitting ball into him with three fellas marking him.I would worry for Waterford against a committed team who has someone tactically aware on the line.Also lehane's shot came off the crossbar and was not a save,not taking away from the keeper who is as good as is out there,Nash had one save to make from a ball trickling along the ground and he couldnt manage to keep it out.I hope Waterford do well, but not playing that style of hurling, and if Cork cant beat them and end up joining them I for one will not continue to follow them because,while I understand it is all about winning games ,it is terrible to have to sit and watch it.

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 04/05/2015 19:27:05    1720202

Yes and a team playing one inside forward and the outfield players hitting ball into him with three fellas marking him.I would worry for Waterford against a committed team who has someone tactically aware on the line.Also lehane's shot came off the crossbar and was not a save,not taking away from the keeper who is as good as is out there,Nash had one save to make from a ball trickling along the ground and he couldnt manage to keep it out.I hope Waterford do well, but not playing that style of hurling, and if Cork cant beat them and end up joining them I for one will not continue to follow them because,while I understand it is all about winning games ,it is terrible to have to sit and watch it.

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 04/05/2015 19:31:52    1720206

I see all the kick cork brigade are out in force,firstly just to clear something up i never said cork would win by 6/7 points i said i would be disapointed if we didnt win by 6/7 big difference boys and guess what im disapointed,Now as for the game itself cork need to get back to basics not this possesion game or this tippy tappy to me to you to me no we were beat all ends up by a team who wanted it more,FIRST TIME HURLING LADS and let the ball do the work thats why we have won so many ai in the past ,make no mistake i wanted the win and thought we would win but the beating we got means some of the lads are not up to it jimmy will see this and make the relvant changes,personally would like to see mcloughlin in midfield with walsh dropping into no 6 would like to see cronin given some game time and while i have reservations about cahalane at no 3 he will start there now for opening game,oh and my confidence in this team has not waned one bit sorry if that upsets some people but thats my belief

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 05/05/2015 08:43:10    1720245

Funny how mostly Cork people on about a defensive style of play from Waterford. You were outscored goals and points wise. It was a fantastic display of hurling from Waterford and to suggest that if they play a more committed team later in the year they will be in trouble stinks. Are you saying Tipp were not committed in the semi??? Sure if thats the case, play the league in the group stage until we establish whos safe and dont bother trying to find an overall winner. Cork are lucky in that they have JBM as coach, because he wont be going on with some (not a sweeping statement against all Cork posters here) drivel that is spoken on this site.

soreilly (Wicklow) - Posts: 202 - 05/05/2015 09:18:35    1720250

The Waterford manager goes on about using that' style',he has readily admitted that he feels it is necessary for his team to play this way.Nobody is denying that Waterford were a lot better than Cork on Sunday,but from a Cork perspective it was a pathetic display lacking in heart and direction,much the same as last year against Tipp.I just don't understand people trying to convince themselves that a blanket defence was'nt used and imo it is muck to watch,it is not an attack on individual players because Waterford have some excellent players and as a group are buying into a system that is working for them,and good luck to them.

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 05/05/2015 10:42:30    1720279

Congrats to Waterford on winning the League.
A major achievement especially coming from 1B.
Their new system of playing is very effective but is possibly too reliant on winning and scoring frees.
Not all referees will give them as easily particularly in the championship
Set up this way they are likely to be in contention in any game they play this summer.
Cork should learn a lot from Sunday but they are probably the least suitable team to counteract these tactics in Munster.
It was disappointing that the Waterford player who hit the ball that got deflected in for the goal decided to run in to shout in the face of the Cork defender. It was out of character for what was mostly a sporting game.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 05/05/2015 11:36:02    1720297

Two things are clear from Sunday. Waterford won fair and square but they are playing an awful brand of hurling to watch. Each to their own and some people seem to enjoy their style but I personally hate seeing wing forwards inside their own 45. It's working for them so good luck to them. But I am not a fan. And I also find it odd that "hurling" people slaughter football for defensive play but will praise a team to the hilt who do it in hurling and call it tactics.

One rule for one, one rule for another......

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 05/05/2015 11:49:15    1720309

Waterford are using a tactic of pulling a lot of the team back behind the 40 but to their credit they get runners on diaglonal runs into key positions to score. If a defensive formation produces 1-24 it is pretty impressive.

I just wonder will that tactic work in championship.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/05/2015 11:49:55    1720310

So things are shaping up to plan, league long forgotten,cork hot favorites and out for revenge not to mention Waterford crippled without O'Mahony. That will do just nicely.
But seriously, looking fwd to this one. Always very competitive games between these two sides in recent times, in particular 2004 but does anyone remember the 1989 Munster Semi Final replay? A cracker 5-16 4-17 Waterford by 2, mind you the Munster final was painful!!

nyc30 (Waterford) - Posts: 9 - 05/06/2015 18:24:25    1732984