Dublin Fans boo'ing

I would like to point out that Dublin V Derry was only one game.

I myself was in Ballybofey, where we were treated to a great spectacle of sore taking & running attacking football.

The Monaghan V Kerry & Mayo V Cork games seemed to offer good entertainment as well, neither have I heard huge complaints fro the other divisions about the fare offered this weekend.

Is there any chance that all this hand wringing is because Dublin were involved and, from what I saw on the highlights, contributed to one poor game played in terrible conditions?

Let's not overact here, Donegal were involved in a real stinker with Monaghan a few weeks back but since then have played their part in an entertaning game in Tralee & then went on to their best performance yesterday.

Perspective people, perspective.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/03/2015 17:34:44    1708537

The solution to this is to send a number of kerry coaches around to all these defensive teams and teach them the kerry style.
After a few sessions players will be able to kick pass or score points accurately from over 20 yards out. Maybe even a few of our players who don't make the championship panel can be loaned out to other counties for a while until the teams improve from their example. We are the only ones who can save ye now!!

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 30/03/2015 18:11:45    1708565

Gavvygavgav

cuederocket, you've already said that you werent at the game nor saw it. Sit yourself down in front of it and then come back and comment.

---
Hold a cold shower over your head while you're at it and put a fan on 1 foot from your nose. That should give you the idea!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/03/2015 18:19:14    1708572

KY4SAM2015

The solution to this is to send a number of kerry coaches around to all these defensive teams and teach them the kerry style.
After a few sessions players will be able to kick pass or score points accurately from over 20 yards out.

-------
Like you did against Monaghan yesterday, right??

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/03/2015 19:34:09    1708610

royaldunne

To Dublin fans, ok by looks of it Derry were more defensive, but dubs employed a similar set up, is that a fair assessment?.
Was it both teams you were booing? , i was in Newry and didn't see game

wouldnt say anything like a similiar set up
but the way dublin set up in the first half allowed derry to control the game
dublin played their half forward line in the middle of the park
which was ridiculous
as all it did was give derry time to get all 15 back and made it so slow for to get the ball up into forward line
which then ment they were going across up down back and every way without getting a chance to shoot
the second half was a big difference
dublin went with six forwards as per norm
and completly dominated the play
to the extent derry barely got anything only one point
dublin scored six points but the conditions had become woeful with sheeting rain and wind blowing across the pitch
on a better night it would have been 10 or 11 v 1 for the second half scorewise
biggest and most simplest point to take from the game
that dublin need to do what they always do to beat that 15 man defence
PLAY THEIR OWN GAME
when we do it we are far better
the reason teams play like that against us because they feel they cannot beat us any other way
so why sink to their way of playing and loose the advantage of having better players haha
we lost one match against donegal and you would swear it means we cannot beat teams playing attacking football anymore haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/03/2015 20:13:24    1708636

After a few sessions players will be able to kick pass or score points accurately from over 20 yards out.

-------
Like you did against Monaghan yesterday, right?

No like we have since 1903

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 30/03/2015 20:26:11    1708644

I was just wondering what the real deal was , as i said i was in Newry and also sky + that game, now i probably should have recorded the Derry dubs game to see what all the fuss is about, i watched league Sunday last night and while pointing out Derry were the more defensive they also blamed Dublin and had some strong words for both managers, but i always take mcstay with a pinch of salt.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/03/2015 20:42:29    1708658

Some people love the reek of their own dung too.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/03/2015 21:01:04    1708667

I've been reading comments on this in the past few days and haven't had time to reply until now. For what it is worth. Here is my 2 cents worth.

I think there is an incredible over-reaction to this because Dublin where involved. If this was Galway v Laois in division two for example, There wouldnt be half as many comments on a thread like this.

Let me categorically state, As i have done before that i have NO ISSUES whatsoever with defensive tactics. I have no issue with teams getting behind the ball and saying, okay... lets see if you can break us down.

However, There is a major difference between what Donegal did against Dublin last year for example, And what Derry did on Saturday night. When Donegal came down to Dublin last September they came with a two part game-plan. They came with a game-plan that they felt would help them win the game. They - A) packed the defence making Dublin shoot from range. And B) When they regained possession of the football they broke at break neck speed, in numbers to try and expose Dublins glaring weakness which was their defence. (I cringe even now thinking about our corner backs and wing backs playing as extra forwards... Lord save us). It was a clear game plan to try and win the game which was perfected by a fantastic group of players, and a sensational manager with incredible tactical nous.

What Derry did, was completely different. At no time in that game did they look like they wanted to win it. For me they came down to stop us playing being their sole objective. Brian McIver said so himself. With the game and their division 1 status hanging by a thread, They didnt at any point say, Right.... We've contained Dublin, Now lets see if we can hurt them up the other end and try keep our D1 status alive. Instead they just continued to sit back. Dublin where no angels, But with the game in the melting pot in the second half, they at least showed intent on winning the game and they went for it. Derrys mentality sucked.

It would be wrong in my opinion to bring in rules that stop sides being defensive. I agree with others that there is nothing "entertaining" as a neutral about seeing a man for man battle between two sides, And the game all but ending as a contest after 20 minutes and the last 50 minutes just fizzling out. I still maintain that the responsibility falls on management and players to destroy the defensive system, Not the guys with silver hair with big bellies and suits sitting on fancy chairs around a big table. When its flaws are consistently laid out and defensive teams lose more games than they win, This will soon be a tactic of the past. Whinging about changing rules is lazy. Managements and players have every right to play however they like. In terms of teams being competitive, The game is in a very healthy state. So its not free flowing football, But its intriguing.

If the traditionalists dont like it, Dont pay your money. It's as simple as that. Its your money, therefore its your choice. Irrespective of what you do, There wont be thousands voting with their feet. There are alot of fans who will follow their team religously whether the game is played with a football or a ping pong ball. They simply wont turn their backs on it. And when the summer comes along and the summer heads come out, They will come out for the day out rather than the spectacle anyway. Attendances might reduce by a couple of hundred, But there will never be empty stadia.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/03/2015 09:35:23    1708720

Id agree muckross. Plus, there is a lot of guys trying to make the booing more justified, and so have to talk up the game being bad.

Id just like to point out that if you don't like what is on offer, you can leave, booing isn't the only option. To call a spade a spade, Id say the booing is borne out of frustration, but less because of the quality on show and more down to the fact that the dublin team struggles against these tactics. It Dublin were 10 points up, nobody would have booed.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/03/2015 09:45:49    1708727

royaldunne, you take McStay with a pinch of salt? I hear people say that but I never understand why, I find him honest to a fault - nearly too bloody honest. Can you expand on that a bit?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/03/2015 09:51:35    1708732

Id agree muckross. Plus, there is a lot of guys trying to make the booing more justified, and so have to talk up the game being bad.

Id just like to point out that if you don't like what is on offer, you can leave, booing isn't the only option. To call a spade a spade, Id say the booing is borne out of frustration, but less because of the quality on show and more down to the fact that the dublin team struggles against these tactics. It Dublin were 10 points up, nobody would have booed.

Themaster.. everyone struggles against these tactics

Last time I looked Dublin haven't lost to an Ulster side this year

Yes we've struggled but show me a team that wouldn't struggle with 13-14 men behind the ball

Still though 5/6 points so far... Jim Gavin has learned his lesson

Dub fans will have to put up with these sorts of tactics being deployed - save their boos for the free kicks ;)

Because there's very few counties that would dare stand toe to toe against Dublin

Last team we played that tried that in the league got torn a new one - Mayo

So Dubs will have to learn to accept this until rule changes come in... if rule changes come in...

And Dub fans will also have to get used to having to pay a similar tactic against teams that deploy the blanket

Out and out football doesn't work against a blanket defense - hence why it exists in the first place

As Jim Gavin said - these sorts of tactics being deployed are a "compliment" to Dublin - if not the game.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 31/03/2015 10:05:01    1708740

Waynol...

I agree with everything you said except the part about fans. The gaa is in a battle with soccer and rugby for the hearts and minds of children. Its a hard sell when theres no Brogan, Gooch etc kicking scores. To us, the tactical battles intriguing. To a 10 year old its boring, its shite!

Nothing wrong with setting up defensively. Refs are the issue really.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/03/2015 10:14:59    1708746

What a ridiculous over reaction.Gavygavgav,i had game recorded and watched the first half on Sunday evening.What annoyed me more than anything was the amount of really poor wides Dublin had.I counted 10 1st half wides with 8 of them very scorable.
4th min Kev Mc,30 yards out straight in front of goal
6th min MDM poor handpass to J McCaffrey who in on goal
8th min Connolly bad miss,30 yards out small bit to left of posts
19 mins Brogan bad wide,35 yards out to right of posts
20 mins C Kilkenny, bad wide 35 yards out to right of posts
24 mins Brogan,25 yards out woeful attempt that doesnt even go wide
29 mins Connolly,wild shot from 45 yards out
34 mins Brogan,once again terrible attempt from just 25 yards that fails to even go wide.

At least 6 of these chances were very scorable.If wed scored even half wed have been going in at the break 06 - 03 in front.I know the conditions were poor but the shooting was desperate in that half.Last year against Donegal we were beating Donegals defensive system in the 1st half with 4 brilliant long range,40 + yards points from Connolly and Flynn.On Saturday we had 7/8 chances from 35 yards and closer in the first half.Derrys big bad ultra defensive system didnt prevent us from creating these very scorable points.Bad decision making,weather and poor execution of these chances,led us to going in at the break with a miserly 2 points to our name.On another day theyd have been going over the bar from all angles.

I have never,and will never boo any player,from any county,at any GAA game,club or county.No team or player deserves that.I would say Dublin will rack up some big,big scores this summer and Saturday evenings game will be long forgotten.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/03/2015 10:17:13    1708747

the master how else are people supposes to get a point across that what they are seeing is killing the game?
the booing was directed at layers and managements alike
when people say it shouldnt be the players getting booed
there not 5 year olds
if they dont enjoy playing football like that then surely they would all speak up
they are sacrifing a lot of their day to be inter county footballers
they obviously buy into it too otherwise wouldnt be wasting their time and effort
also i dont know how else you can let a managment team know directly
the only other way is for people not to turn up to games
and if dublin supporters did that
you would be the first on here slating how poor our support was for the game
so I dont know how else people can express themselves

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/03/2015 10:34:10    1708754

100% Right JayP
In my neck of the woods two young clubs have amalgamated at 16s and minor Westmanstown and Erin Go Bragh now plying their trade under the name St Cathrines , we have another hybrid in Isles of the Sea , not every area is a GAA heartland and it is a major struggle . An area the size of Clonee having to join forces with another local club not a good sign .
I don't think for one second that Saturdays fare is to blame , but I will tell you this it would hardly have kids begging to hit the O Neills store either .
Wayno1 says there's a massive over reaction because the Dubs were involved , its actually Dubs doing a lot of the giving out .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 31/03/2015 11:43:08    1708782

I don't think Croke park should be used for league matches. Switch to Parnell park smaller ground better atmospher in my opinion

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 31/03/2015 12:34:54    1708829

Do we not have enough soccer type antics on the pitch without the fans getting involved now as well by booing players and teams.

Sky sports has a lot to answer for!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 31/03/2015 12:43:21    1708838

Its been creeping in over the last decade or more bumper. Started with certain fans booing to try and put the free takers off and seems to have developed now in to a general sign of unhappiness at something. Hated it when I first witnessed it way back and still hate it now.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2015 13:06:09    1708850

----

Themaster, I would just like to point out, and solely in the interest of fairness, that I was in the main stand in Castlebar two weeks ago for the Dublin match and we found ourselves in the middle of a group of Mayo fans, as you do. I have to say first that we had great craic with them but they booed their team off the pitch at half time. Now it was a small contingent in fairness but they did it all the same. So just in case your mail could be construed as a pop at the Dub fans, which given your long and illustrious history of balanced comment I'm sure it wasn't, I would not like to see neutrals take you up the wrong way. And incidentally enough, a lot of Mayo fans voted with their feet with 20 mins or so to go in that game, so clearly your advice is spot on and they spared the team the boos at full-time. I guess the only difference on this occasion was that the boos were reserved for the hosts and not the visitors!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/03/2015 13:10:23    1708855