Dublin Fans boo'ing

Jaysus Tyrone

Go back ulta defensive again...

Especially against Kerry next day out!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 29/03/2015 16:33:53    1707845

Wasn't Tyrone's fault jimbo.

They just couldn't handle Donegal's free flowing, devil may care, attacking football.

Donegal today reminded me of Dublin before Dublin went all defensive.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/03/2015 16:40:37    1707857

Haha Muck...

Whats wrong with defending?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 29/03/2015 17:04:25    1707899

Tg4 are showing highlights of the Dublin v Derry game someone needs to tell them there is none.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/03/2015 17:51:34    1707949

Nothing at all wrong with defending Jimbo.

But I demand to be entertained at all times.

Down with puke football.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/03/2015 17:53:46    1707950

MuckrossHead

Nothing at all wrong with defending Jimbo.

But I demand to be entertained at all times.

Down with puke football.

-----
Who knows, maybe having seen the benefits in today's game you'll stop playing it! Better entertainment than the Monaghan game I take it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/03/2015 18:10:01    1707971

Exactly Muck

Just goes to show again

Tyrone when they play a little more open are greatly exposed

Hopefully they learn their lesson today..

Pack the defense again against Kerry and live off free's...

Thats all this Tyrone team are good at

Hopefully they bring their "A" game against Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 29/03/2015 18:22:16    1707987

Kerry will struggle to win in Omagh, Tyrone won't go down without a fight, that's for sure!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 29/03/2015 18:40:09    1707998

I was at a club match today where again defensive tactics were deployed, its terrible to see and even worse to watch it! the two semi finals last year really hid the truth in what was a very poor championship, gaelic football is at a massive low and something drastic has to be done fast.

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 29/03/2015 18:54:47    1708008

Joxer,

Having sharp sticks poked in my eyes or being forced to eat my own feet would have been more fun than the Donegal V Monaghan game.

However they seem to have learned and both the Kerry & Tyrone performances were much better.

Today's win should keep us in Div 1 which is all we want.

We meet Tyrone again in the Ulster championship in the middle of May so the last thing we need is a top four place.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/03/2015 18:57:43    1708010

Wouldn't it be great for football if Down and Meath got promotion this year, two teams that try to play football, but can you imagine Roscommon and Cavan getting in? There worse than Derry and Tyrone combined, that's what you call out of the frying pan and into the fire. Puke football at its worst

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/03/2015 19:06:12    1708018

Glad to hear it Muck. Ye have the players, no doubt about that. Still all to play for next weekend in this 'nothing competition' as some would call it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/03/2015 19:11:57    1708023

I don't care about the result but the behaviour of the Dublin supporters booing amateur sportsmen is beyond comprehension. Personally speaking, I was down at the match and I was annoyed as any other person with the tactics of Derry but unfortunately this is the world of GAA as we now know it. Having watched Derry for over 30 years I am seriously beginning to withdraw my support for GAA.

4 points in 70 plus minutes of football says it all, we are a proud footballing county with some exceptional footballers, however we don't seem to be able to play a combined defensive and attacking system. We have always been known for playing open attacking football but those days are gone forever unless the GAA introduces new rules.

I feel sorry for everyone that paid money to travel and watch that last night but it does not give you as supporters the green light to boo amateur sportsmen.

OakGael (Derry) - Posts: 293 - 29/03/2015 19:24:46    1708037

Royaldunne you are obviously on a windup. Down and meath have no right through legacy to get promotion as you seem to allude to. If you want to go back for downs legacy then cavan and Roscommon have equal rights. I don't agree with your simple logic. You clearly have not been at any cavan games this year or you would not spout such nonsense about how you understand they play. Get out and attend a few of their games rather then taking the armchair point of view from whoever you read it. down came to Breffni and played with 13 players behind the ball for most of the game. The difference was that they had Lafferty who could unlock cavan with clever balls, however it was a soft goal that really turned the game and cavan did not have a match for downs physical strength and guile upfront. Looking forward to next Sunday and the craic with some more sensible meath supporters. It has been a long long time since Meath ate at the high table of the GAA lessee if you can do it on the pitch. Playing against a fine free flowing team like Meath might just suit Cavan. Ideally I would like a win on Sunday but not necessarily promotion as like Meath they don't have the players at the right level to compete with the dublins of this world. Meath havnt been able to do it for years and certainly havnt shown anything this year to indicate that it had changed. Pushing for promotion with Down, Cavan and Roscommon isn't certainly isn't proof. The prase "silk purse from a sows ear" comes to mind.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 29/03/2015 19:53:09    1708055

OakGael
County: Derry

I don't care about the result but the behaviour of the Dublin supporters booing amateur sportsmen is beyond comprehension. Personally speaking, I was down at the match and I was annoyed as any other person with the tactics of Derry but unfortunately this is the world of GAA as we now know it. Having watched Derry for over 30 years I am seriously beginning to withdraw my support for GAA.

4 points in 70 plus minutes of football says it all, we are a proud footballing county with some exceptional footballers, however we don't seem to be able to play a combined defensive and attacking system. We have always been known for playing open attacking football but those days are gone forever unless the GAA introduces new rules.

I feel sorry for everyone that paid money to travel and watch that last night but it does not give you as supporters the green light to boo amateur sportsmen.

--------
I agree with you Oak. I know what the players put in and I was there last night and didn't boo the players. However, I can comprehend why fans do this. How else are the paying public to display their dissatisfaction. Like it or not, GAA at this level is an entertainment industry. Some people struggle with that notion but if you are asking people to pay into see a match then you are automatically entertaining the public and they expect some return for their hard earned cash. To the average paying Joe, the matter of the players being paid is irrelevant, that's an issue for the GAA. The boys at the top table need to get the message that people will start voting with their feet pretty soon so I guess booing is step one on this path.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/03/2015 20:17:49    1708067

I wasn't booing but I certainly was cringing :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 29/03/2015 20:18:52    1708069

jesus some of the reactions on here...the game was played in poor conditions and it was a bad game..you would swear there are never bad games..everytime there is a poor match its all about the death of the game yet whenever a good match is played there is hardly anything said about it like kerry donegal in the league for instance..i do think rule changes need to be looked at but i would have proper people who are involved in the game within the last few years involved instead of the nonsense of the review commitee who managed to do nothing but bring in a black card which is often ignored and achieves very little...the tyrone tackling was excellent in the dublin match..if people actually watched it closely and objectively they could see this

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 29/03/2015 20:20:46    1708071

if you want to be entertained joxer some of the dub fans can go to a leinster game..im sure they can be well looked after there in the bar at the very least..quite evident that people booing at a gaa match arent exactly the type of fan you would see at a club match for instance

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 29/03/2015 20:28:36    1708078

OakGael but what are we suppose to do ? Clap and say well done lads this is great stuff? For me that rubbish deserves booing and I dont care if there ameteur or not.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/03/2015 21:44:16    1708138

it's the manager's tactics and the GAA's gate fees so why do the lads who work tirelessly all year get the short end of the straw with everything? no wages, no support from GPA, no support from their own managers in some instances and no support from the stands now, is that fair?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 30/03/2015 09:22:03    1708178