Dublin Fans boo'ing

I had to laugh at some comments....

Here goes......

Slippery Slope? So booing someone is leading to a worse kind of behaviour... Please elaborate. It's actually ironic that most people who deplore defensive tactics and think it's a path to the dark side are told to shut up and let the game evolve naturally. Slippery slope thinking that is!

The Hill - much maligned support. Nearly everybody from outside of Dublin has a story about how bad the hill is. 90 percent of the support on the hill are regular GAA loving folk. Some of these anecdotes are so elaborate and fabricated you'd wonder how the people telling them wouldn't put pen to paper as they'd win a Nobel prize for Literature. I would consider myself a very liberal educated type. Just two notes, when Donegal were winning the semi final trophy last year against Dublin a lot of their fans were giving single and double fingered salutes to the hill from the Cusack. I was on the hill, and most of us were laughing at them. We were losing badly, but they brightened up our day. In the 2013 final I was surrounded by Mayo fans that booed constantly. I didn't get upset that day either, we were winning. I was thinking "whatever makes them happy".

"Fellow Gaels" - I can almost taste the vomit in my mouth. What's a "fellow Gael". Jasus Sean, that fella isn't nearly as Gaa as the rest of us. Where's his Cooper helmet, and why isn't he saying a cupla focail? We need a Gael criteria, if you are from Dublin you are automatically one of them "soccer heads" and are disqualified from Gael status! That will teach them Jackeens!!!

Soccer Crowd - what's wrong with liking soccer? Considering I don't think I've met one person who doesn't support an English soccer club... Can anyone please tell me what's wrong with liking soccer. Indeed I've been a Gaa and soccer player and fan my whole life, I think I have managed the shame of soccer well. It's a struggle, but I manage it!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/04/2015 13:42:15    1709431

Jimbo I'd say your one of those level headed lads that never get offended on The Hill. No whinging at all is there ;-)

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/04/2015 13:48:44    1709440

Jimbo is a saint!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/04/2015 16:21:10    1709523

SaffronDon

hill16no1man

the reason I'm sceptical is this is the first I've heard of it and if it did happen it would have raised hell in the media as we all know. Like I've said already, no excuse is needed on The Hill for the abuse to start and any gestures returned are likely out of frustration, however, if those gestures were made, they are inexcusable and have no place in the game. But at least be honest about the abuse from The Hill in general, its rarely self defence, is it??

I have spoken about it here before
the media come on
hawkeye had a major malunction in a league game dublin v tyrone a few weeks back
and nothing was even reported in the media about it
unless you were at the game you probably wouldnt even know what im talking about
as it was proven that hawkeye cannot tell what happens when a ball hits the post if it then when over for a point or wide
there was nothing said on the sunday game after that match back in 2010 and nothing said in newspapers
but everybody on the hill looking that direction clearly seen it.
ollie murphy the former meath player scored a goal into the hill in the 90tys
and ran from the goal to the cusack corner giving a finger salute
the media never reported it either
just like after dublin beat louth in 2010
louth done a lap of honour in croker
and when they came to the hill the dubs fans all remained on
clapped them and sang championa for them
but I dont remember the media ever reporting on that either

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/04/2015 16:25:06    1709527

offside rule
Look, we obviously have different feelings towards what should be shown respect. Do you also think it would be OK for the losing teams fans on AI final day to stay for the presentation of the trophy and then start booing through the speech? Or that its OK for players to do a Lundy and fall round all over the pitch trying to get players sent off, or call to the ref for cards for fould on them? After all they could also be classed as just a bit of sportsmanship or whatever guise you want to put it under.

nobody ever had a porblem with tyrone team in the 00tys
who went out tactically to talk into players ears about family members ina degrading way
phil taylor was accused of being poor looser because he showed he was physically dissapointed after anderson won the final
he gathered himself then congratualted him
yet the same people on here have no problem with losing an all ireland final and rolling around the ground dissapointed head in hands
and not going to congratualte the winners
these are all participants who show varying responses to things
yet you seem hell bent on trying to make out that supporters should be robotic haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/04/2015 16:29:23    1709530

01/04/2015 11:45:25
SaffronDon

hill16no1man

so three players out the field somewhere got together and made that gesture? unlikely, because the scorer nor the provider did that as you'll see about 23 seconds in here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXx_4z69FcM

not that The Hill would need a viable excuse to start booing an away team anyway.

Its not shown there but it happened whether you choose to believe otherwise or not. I was at the match also and remember it clearly.
I have also been on the hill when it is populated by other counties and believe me, they ain't no saints.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 01/04/2015 17:02:32    1709539

I was saying Boo-urns

jamesjoyce (Derry) - Posts: 126 - 01/04/2015 17:03:08    1709540

JayP

Jimbo is a saint!

Ha... yes, I'm just like one of those bland culchie types, trying desperately to be good, cap in hand, not to be noticed, silently respecting drivel, when I get home I hit myself with a rose bush and make tea for Mammy.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 01/04/2015 17:10:05    1709543

Again that's down to your interpretation of my post Hill - nowhere did I say fans should be robotic and I stand by my stance on free kicks being booed. Players in most sports try to out psyche their opponents - be it whispering in ears or whatever, it's known as gamesmanship I.e. By those playing the game. But look, continue to boo to your hearts content or giggle in amusement at those who do and I'll continue to shake my head and tut and we'll both be content.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/04/2015 17:59:14    1709563

im aware its a generalisation joxer im just saying what certainly was a viewpoint of others in the past and may still exist in some cases..read the post

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 01/04/2015 19:04:45    1709587

in fairness to some dublin fans you cant complain about generalisations when you make the exact same generalisations..hypocritical much?...its mainly about a lack of respect and id feel certain dubs wouldnt be proper gaa fans...the same goes for lots of counties and theres lots of proper gaa fans amongst the dubs as much as any other county..there just happens to be more dubs than anybody else so you see the type people are going on about more...stop being so defensive and in denial as any dub who goes to croke park knows exactly the type of fan id be on about....i personally dont mind the booing all that much..not the biggest fan of the shushing of people in rugby either

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 01/04/2015 19:13:30    1709593

hill16no1man

that's an impressive list, those media ticket holders must be too busy fogging their faces with prawn sandwiches up at premium level to notice all that, but come on...is it always self defensive booing??

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/04/2015 19:13:55    1709594

the type of fan id refer to in my generalisations can be seen at the mcgregor press conference last night....thankfully most dublin fans arent like that

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 01/04/2015 19:21:29    1709600

Dubh_linn

I never once said other counties were saints, but its hard not to agree that you'll not find a better example than a Dublin home game for that sort of behaviour, dance around it however you like, its no coincidence all responses are from Dublin posters on this issue, nerve sensations going wild.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/04/2015 19:22:15    1709601

SaffronDon

1709601 Dubh_linn

I never once said other counties were saints, but its hard not to agree that you'll not find a better example than a Dublin home game for that sort of behaviour, dance around it however you like, its no coincidence all responses are from Dublin posters on this issue, nerve sensations going wild.

If anyone is dancing around the issue and pretending something isn't happening it's yourself. Bury your head all you like but that was your own players showing how low they can stoop never mind your fans.A bit sad really.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 02/04/2015 08:47:15    1709678

Just to back Jimbo up..... I was on the hill that day. I didnt see 3....but one Antrim player definitely done what Jim said. Similarly I remember a Tyrone goalkeeper running across the front of the hill with two fingered salutes.

If either player was hit by a coin, the story would be about scumbags on the hill. What about the sickening behaviour of these players? Believe it or not, there are juveniles on the hill on matchdays.

Hard to tell fans to behave when the players are provoking a response.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/04/2015 11:01:31    1709727

Ha... yes, I'm just like one of those bland culchie types, trying desperately to be good, cap in hand, not to be noticed, silently respecting drivel, when I get home I hit myself with a rose bush and make tea for Mammy.

Exhibit A fabio. Completely hypocritical.

The thing is, jimbo actually thinks 'culchies' are like this...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/04/2015 11:17:57    1709734

Chicken and Egg.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/04/2015 11:33:51    1709744

JayP

Ah give us a break would ya? You can leave the ground if you dont like what you see cant you? You dont have to boo anyone unless you want to do it. Let's call a spade a spade here, if dublin had smashed donegal's blanket defence last year and tyrone's this year, not one person would have been booing. This crap about caring about the state of the game is a load of waffle, you werent too bothered about defensive tactics when Dublin won an All Ireland using a defensive system in 2011... And didnt jimbo have a thread over on the dublin page imploring the team to be defensive? About just wanting to win and not caring how it looked? So why cant derry do the same?

The fans were booing because their team struggles to beat the defensive system. That is the reality of it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 02/04/2015 11:47:04    1709751

Exhibit A fabio. Completely hypocritical.

The thing is, jimbo actually thinks 'culchies' are like this...

___

Exhibit A

- Jimbo having an obviously tongue in cheek bit of laugh at this ridiculous thread.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/04/2015 12:02:48    1709759