Dublin Fans boo'ing

yes murfman no genius needed to work out the blanket, just match it with a bit more talent, result is tonights boring boring game, best team won, and last year's boring boring all ireland best team won, football is the loser, come on ulster teams back yourselves to play a bit of football

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 685 - 28/03/2015 20:49:09    1707408

I was saying boo-urns

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 28/03/2015 20:50:13    1707410

I'm afraid it's time Ulster teams either play with 7 players instead of 15 against our 15 just to stop this puke football or else join and play soccer in Scotland. The choice is theirs, it is they who are sinking football in this country

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 28/03/2015 20:51:22    1707414

blind ref

1707396 Not surprising to see an Ulster poster to say..this is ok!! there needs to be rule changes simple
He hasn't said its 'ok', he's just stating fact. I'm from Ulster, I don't believe that its 'ok' for a team playing at this level to score just 4 points in the whole game, but then Dublin, the self appointed saviours of gaelic football, have managed to score just 8!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/03/2015 20:51:34    1707415

God dammmnnnnn that was hard to watch, roll on the championship... or maybe not :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/03/2015 20:55:39    1707417

ligo joe

yes murfman no genius needed to work out the blanket, just match it with a bit more talent, result is tonights boring boring game, best team won, and last year's boring boring all ireland best team won, football is the loser, come on ulster teams back yourselves to play a bit of football###

Agree fully with you...i HOPE it will be a not copy of tonight i think Monaghan might suprise you next weekend...HOPE

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 28/03/2015 20:56:16    1707418

Finally people open there eyes and realize that this over defensive style of 'not quite football' has taken the game to its lowest ever level of enjoyment. The game has been in disarray for a while now and when will the folk who run the GAA cop on? They have been listening to the hype from certain quarters that blanket defense is the way of the game in the future.You simply have to be able to play around the defense they say. That is impossible when you have 14 very fit outfield players scampering around the pitch with possession football there team thought process, with the odd score thrown in. If that is so why not play rugby instead of Gaelic, the time is nigh my friends to revamp or Gaelic football is finished!!!!!

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 28/03/2015 20:57:17    1707419

riverboys

1707414 I'm afraid it's time Ulster teams either play with 7 players instead of 15 against our 15 just to stop this puke football or else join and play soccer in Scotland. The choice is theirs, it is they who are sinking football in this country

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/03/2015 20:59:30    1707422

Well if things continue like this Gaelic football and Gelic football fans EVERYWHERE, North and South, will suffer.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/03/2015 21:01:44    1707427

Don't understand why Dublin weren't booed under Gilroy if the blanket is so repugnant to them. They played with 12 behind the ball for a long time and won an All-Ireland with it. And they still do to a certain degree with Gavin but just break out with incredible pace when they have it. So really it's laboured build up play used by Derry this evening against their own blanket that's bad to watch, not the actual act of defending.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/03/2015 21:07:45    1707430

Give over doublehop. Thats not true, and you know it. Dublin were never that defensive under Gilroy. They were MORE defensive than they are now,sure, but they werent as bad as Derry were there.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/03/2015 21:11:02    1707433

joncarter

1707427 Well if things continue like this Gaelic football and Gelic football fans EVERYWHERE, North and South, will suffer.
I'm not disagreeing JC, few will. Philly Jordan has been tweeting tonight, none too complimentary about what he saw this evening, and he's not singling Derry out either I hasten to add, his article in next weeks Irish News should make interesting reading. It will make a refreshing change to get an opinion from someone who isn't Joe Brolly.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/03/2015 21:12:35    1707434

Hey doublehop, valid statement partially. But A team can defend without going blanket, if they are good enough!!!!!!!!!!

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 28/03/2015 21:17:18    1707439

Marlon_JD
County: Tipperary

I was saying boo-urns

:D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/03/2015 21:20:00    1707441

Worth mentioning too that Derry took on the dubs in a traditional game last years league final, and were destroyed. Cant really blame McIver for changing things. He said himself after the game he doesn't take any pleasure in employing the blanket defence.
The only answer is to change the rules, but remember,watching the dubs absolutely destroy teams by 20 points isnt much fun either.
Its a conundrum.No doubt.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 28/03/2015 21:22:31    1707444

Definitely heard you say boo urns marlon!!!!!!

With the weather being horrible up here at the moment and practically relegation on the line for tomorrows game between Donegal and Tyrone, I fear that it'll be keep posession at all costs. It could make the Monaghan game look like a classic. I have no problem saying I want want to be entertained and don't really care about the result. Managers nowadays have a lot to answer for. Putting people off the games this win at all costs mentality

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 28/03/2015 21:24:02    1707445

brendtheredhand

blind ref

1707396 Not surprising to see an Ulster poster to say..this is ok!! there needs to be rule changes simple
He hasn't said its 'ok', he's just stating fact. I'm from Ulster, I don't believe that its 'ok' for a team playing at this level to score just 4 points in the whole game, but then Dublin, the self appointed saviours of gaelic football, have managed to score just 8!

Ha..Tyrone couldnt even keep Derry to 4 points

Only 2 from play...

;)

PS Being cut adrift BS... expect better from you Brend

Sure aving you set yourselves adrift now... It's called the Good Friday Agreement

Ye signed your own Treaty... now you have your own Ant-treaty looneys

Funny how things come full circle isnt it :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 28/03/2015 21:38:44    1707457

Was in the Cusack stand tonight and heard several people around me say they will not be coming to watch this rubbish again.
And I agree this is absolutely pathetic to watch and is ruining the game as a spectacle. Doubt if anything will change though as this is the way the game is being taken. All these geniuses who enjoy watching the blanket should cop themselves on and see it for what it is. A dour boring step backwards.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/03/2015 21:41:06    1707460

I wish people would look at facts and stats . Some games are ultra defensive, some are attack minded. Same as in any other sport. I wish football Neanderthals would wake up and smell the coffee. Gaelic football has entered the 21st century along with every other field sport. It has progressed tactically and this is reflected in the many different styles of play offered by all teams. Somr days are high scoring, some are not.

I for one enjoy the game as it is. It's better than the standard on offer 30 years ago. I challenge anyone to watch a full game of football from 70s or 80s and then come on here and say they prefer it. Tactics can be summed up as 1. Try and win the ball 2. Hoof it as high and as far in the opposing teams goal and hope for the best.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 28/03/2015 21:42:12    1707461

Theres nothing like a bit of over-reaction to make things interesting....
Blanket defences are entirely within the laws as they stand so its up to the attack minded teams to break it down

There was someone on the radip earlier talking about the Italian soccer from years ago which was very defensive. But it was eventually destroyed by good atacking teams.... and it is much easier to be defensive in soccer. There are no points in soccer.
So its up to attack-minded coaches and forwards to work it all out.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 28/03/2015 21:50:03    1707467