Robert Wharton Well done on Lenister senior Cup

I live in Clondalkin West Dublin. Though my I.D says Galway- ( I made a mistake filling it in). There is the Round Towers club here who do good work. But around here Football/Soccer is KinG! About 20 junior soccer clubs in a smallish area. Every Sunday there is an underage or junior soccer game. This is the heartland of Irish Soccer. Shamrock Rovers and St. Pats rule here. One rugby club not even in Clondalkin- but Tallaght! Still they are doing good work. The GAA must start expanding. I tried to set up a GAA club Adamstown 10 years ago. Nothing came of it though. Needs to be revisited if you ask me. Finally GAA must sponsor Irish language.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 24/03/2015 15:59:35    1706102

tinrylandman
County: Carlow

It is laughable that Dublin posters on here are talking about rugby being elitist in Dublin . the GAA is everybit as much middle and upper class in the capital all its strongholds are generally in the leafy suburbs and GAA people in Dublin are the first ones to look down on the working class and care little about developing the games in these areas .

Marino, Mobhí Road, Ballymun, Coolock etc. are in the leafy suburbs? Do tell.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 24/03/2015 16:16:41    1706108

Dublin GAA is all in the leafy suburbs?? Not in my experience.

Ormond must have called it a day instead of admitting that he was wrong. That's a bit elitist of him.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 24/03/2015 16:33:38    1706116

24/03/2015 15:40:44
hurlinspuds

We all know that Tallaght,Clondalkin,Liberties etc have Rugby Clubs.

I didn't know that. Do they compete in the AIL at a high level?? Where are the best clubs from?? Presumably from the places where school rugby is strong??

Spuds,

Regardless of the level these clubs are playing at they are giving chaps an outlet which gives them an interest and stops them from acting the maggot for a while at least. I'd say that is good work myself.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/03/2015 16:43:06    1706125

It's all tradition really, football/soccer in the British Isles was always a working class sport, look at the major schoolboy clubs in Dublin: Crumlin, Cherry Orchard(Ballyfermot), Joeys(sallynoggin), lads in these areas are always going to play football. Then look at your Old Wesleys and Lansdowne rugby clubs in D4, the geography and culture of Dublin is why the sports are so prominent in different areas and thankfully it seems to be changing little by little

Victorious87 (Wicklow) - Posts: 597 - 24/03/2015 16:49:18    1706129

ive never heard of a rugby club from any of those areas, bit of a myth. as for the other point, therers senior hurling clubs in Ballymun, cabra west, donneycarney, Finglas, Darndale, Coolock, Crumlin, Dolphins barn, big Intermediate in Tallaght, clondalkin, kilbarrick,clonsilla etc. Football even more spread out. Not many leaves in those suburbs

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 24/03/2015 17:22:56    1706137

Flack.

Out of curiosty, what are the names of the clubs in Ballymun (is it Setanta? Ballymun Kickhams?), Darndale, Coolock (Cuala?) Cabra West? I am not questioning you, I wouldn't mind knowing the names. Also are they dual clubs or have they sister football clubs?

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/03/2015 17:45:37    1706143

tinrylandman is talking through his hat.

Daytona I was just curious as to what level they were playing at. If they are tiny clubs then obviously they have much less of an impact on the local area. Def not saying starting and running a sports club of any kind is not admirable in the extreme. What are the big Dublin rugby clubs terenure, Lansdowne, st marys. They're all nice areas, no?

Victorious, never understood why anyone would use the term "the british isles". It's not just a geographical term, it has connotations. I do agree that the divide is rugby for rich areas, soccer for working class areas and GAA across the divide in general but I think there's a rake of middle class lads playing soccer these days and bucking that trend.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 24/03/2015 18:15:44    1706150

Get off your high horse lads. Until recently the GAA banned anyone from playing if they had the audacity to play another sport! Protestants and unionists are effectively excluded by the open bigotry in clubs. Look how often the term west Brit is used on HS with no issue. The GAA is hardly a bastion of inclusion on this island.

Rugby has been based on private schools in Leinster as that's where the game was played but since the game went pro they have done a lot of work in traditionally non rugby areas. Project Tallaght has been a great success and Leinster do regular open trainings in every corner of the province

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 24/03/2015 18:18:00    1706152

The 'big' Dublin rugby clubs???? Ladies and lads playing for Tallaght, Clondalkin and The Liberties aren't into rugby at all. Sure they're working class areas not fitting into the elitist rugby stereotype. Hands up here who has ever been at a club rugby match of Junior Rugby standard? How many of the players in those games also play/played soccer and GAA?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 24/03/2015 18:26:23    1706156

Monkey how old are you that you consider 1971 to be 'recent'? Considering this was also the year of decimalisation, I wonder do you forget yourself still when you go into a shop and try to spend your half-crowns and shillings?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 24/03/2015 18:45:39    1706168

Ok Soma so today in the all inclusive GAA how many out of the hundreds of thousands unionists in Ireland are playing for an inter county team?

People in glass houses...

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 24/03/2015 19:24:01    1706182

recently is 1971?...token gestures is holding training outside of d4..the fact is the players from leinster are practically all from fee paying schools..people like sean o brien are a rare occurance

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/03/2015 19:25:27    1706183

Not a clue monkey, to be honest I would be disappointed if there was a distinction made between Unionists and Nationalists in the GAA so not sure why anyone would have to declare their leanings. I know there is gaelic football coaching taking place in a number of schools local to me here in England that have a large number of pupils of Asian and African backgrounds who participate, I think they have limited interest on Home Rule either way.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 24/03/2015 20:26:09    1706205

This thread has lost its shape.
Fair play to the lad and good luck to him in the future.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 24/03/2015 20:39:45    1706213

bad monkey if you want to make an objective argument then dont start off by banging on about a ban that was nearly 40 years ago and describe it as recent

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 24/03/2015 20:56:23    1706222

ormond
What do you define as more deprived areas of Dublin?
24/03/2015 14:11:14 hurlinspuds
Those areas where unemployment is high and social problems are rife and the average wage is lower than the national average. Do you want a definition of deprivation?? Maybe you don't know Dublin very well, there are plenty of deprived areas, none of them play schools rugby as far as I know.
There is alrge parts of Dublin where unemployment is relatively high. What level of unemployment do you regard as high?
I know Dublin fairly well. A significant number of schools participate in some form of rugby but in many areas it is clubs that field and play at age grade not schools....
ormond
which rugby clubs/organisations have ever stopped anybody from playing the sport?
To prevent someone from joining a club on the basis of their address or background would be illegal so it's no great achievement that rugby clubs don't do this. I was more talking about rugby schools if you look at my post again.
And many here were implying that they've been stopped from playing rugby. I was simply stating that doesn't happen
ormond
Again which clubs have ever, anywhere stopped people from joining/playing?
You can foster a spirit whereby people are made to feel welcome and you can go into their schools and communities and openly recruit or, you can stick to the already converted. There is no great achievement in not openly stopping people from playing.
Which rugby organisations have "fostered a spirit" that has not made people feel welcome to join etc
ormond
Most of the people who think rugby is elitist etc have never played or barely been in a rugby club in their life
That's a nice generalization based on nothing but it doesn't stop the fact that schools rugby in Dublin is elitist and no effort is made to correct that as far as I know. Correct me if you know of great underage rugby work going on in a particular disadvantaged school. The Dublin under-16 hurling schools final could easily be contested by a school from a working class area and a school from a better off area. I think the GAA covers all strands of Irish society barring northern unionists, rugby has much improved but in Dublin and maybe Ulster still has a long, long way to go to be fully inclusive. Soccer obviously has its heartland in working class areas but is played and supported by everyone everywhere and is probably the most non-divisive sport in the country apart from the fact that two teams compete internationally and the clubs are divided along political lines in the north it seems.
"You're free to join if you like" is one thing but you need a lot more in order to properly be inclusive. Dublin schools rugby is, by every definition, elitist. Maybe the club rugby is more inclusive but I don't know enough about it to comment.
I don't think any sport should be applauded for not openly preventing people from joining their clubs.
Bit hypocritical of you to be saying im using a generalisation when you actually look at your posts.
If you look at this link you can see the great work the Leinster branch are putting into some schools that may be considered "disadvantaged". What do you mean by disadvantaged anyway?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/03/2015 21:06:43    1706226

24/03/2015 15:09:19 daytona11
We all know that Tallaght,Clondalkin,Liberties etc have Rugby Clubs. The people in these clubs are doing excellent work providing an outlet for chaps to have an interest in something. As the people are in other countless town clubs across Leinster. This isn't a cut at them.
The point being made is that the "franchise" Leinter Rugby and D4tress is elitist. If you come from a private school and are upper or middle class you will have a much easier time making it. You will also be accepted into the club more.
Ormond I admire your passion for Rugby and your knowledge of the game. But sometimes you fail to accept the obvious.
There you go. You and others cant dismiss rugby for being elitist etc when ye all use language and terms like "chaps" in tallaght etc as a term for those playing rugby. Reverse snobbery
"Franchise" Leinster and d4tress is the furthest from elitist as you get. If you come from a private rugby playing school you have more opportunities to make it as the coaching is generally better but your opinions on leinster and irish rugby are completely wrong
Im not failing to see/accept anything as I don't need to. You could look in the mirror with regard to accepting the obvious in relation to rugby

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/03/2015 21:09:50    1706228

24/03/2015 15:33:35 tinrylandman
It is laughable that Dublin posters on here are talking about rugby being elitist in Dublin. the GAA is everybit as much middle and upper class in the capital all its strongholds are generally in the leafy suburbs and GAA people in Dublin are the first ones to look down on the working class and care little about developing the games in these areas .
Is it? Never knew that....
24/03/2015 15:35:48 jpcampion
Listen at the end of the day its all about the money. The big fee paying schools can hire professional rugby coaches to train the teams and invest in a group of young lads from 1st year to build them into a cup winning team over their time in the school. The fact that they live in the school most of the year helps this a lot. No matter how much they try non-fee paying schools cannot compete with that kind of investment. The reason these kids are the one that are snapped up by the provincial academies is because they are already semi Pro in their outlook on the game. Hence more of them break into the professional squads.
We all know that Tallaght,Clondalkin,Liberties etc have Rugby Clubs.
Those schools aslo pay fee's for talented players to move school specifically for rugby. Blackrock are famed for it...
24/03/2015 15:40:44 hurlinspuds
I didn't know that. Do they compete in the AIL at a high level?? Where are the best clubs from?? Presumably from the places where school rugby is strong??
They don't compete in AIL. They are junior clubs.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/03/2015 21:11:57    1706229

24/03/2015 15:59:35 galwayford
I live in Clondalkin West Dublin. Though my I.D says Galway- ( I made a mistake filling it in). There is the Round Towers club here who do good work. But around here Football/Soccer is KinG! About 20 junior soccer clubs in a smallish area. Every Sunday there is an underage or junior soccer game. This is the heartland of Irish Soccer. Shamrock Rovers and St. Pats rule here. One rugby club not even in Clondalkin- but Tallaght! Still they are doing good work. The GAA must start expanding. I tried to set up a GAA club Adamstown 10 years ago. Nothing came of it though. Needs to be revisited if you ask me. Finally GAA must sponsor Irish language.
Clondalkin does have a rugby club. 4 adult junior teams at least...
24/03/2015 16:33:38 hurlinspuds
Dublin GAA is all in the leafy suburbs?? Not in my experience.
Ormond must have called it a day instead of admitting that he was wrong. That's a bit elitist of him.
I went out to watch a game of rugby. And you clearly don't understand what elitist means as the context you have used the word is completely wrong

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/03/2015 21:14:34    1706231