Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

arock... I'd agree.

The rules should reward the best play.

The refs should enforce the rules.

The teams should try to win.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 06/03/2015 13:09:04    1699790

I have read some posts with interest. The reality is we live in a small country where GAA takes over the airwaves during the summer months. The referees of our games are only human so when they hear constant remarks about certain provinces and players it gets into their minds which can have a huge effect in 50 50 decisions. This happens in all sports, what the media have been successful in doing is brand a whole province as negative and dirty. Good luck to Kerry they are the darlings of the media and have been able to use that to introduce dark arts to their games with no consequences. Watch RTE closely when a pundit dares to mention anything negative about them, they are shot down. Kerry will always be successful but also what is a reality is Ulster will produce at least one team per year that will challenge the darlings of the media. The nature of Ulster will make it difficult for one county to dominate. It is just Kerry, the most vicious team to play football who won a few All Irelands in the 90's were classed as a team who never gave up and used great strength. Lol imagine if an Ulster used even half of them tactics today.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 06/03/2015 13:50:14    1699809

*not just Kerry

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 06/03/2015 14:04:03    1699814

Look Sam84 boy I've seen the kind of comments you have made on this website before, you are only another anti-Kerry ranter stop trying to pass yourself off as anything else.

As I said at the beginning, this trend started out with posters giving vent to their hysteria about not being respected enough in the media and then it quickly descended into what most really wanted to talk about; using some fecking scuffle in a league match as another platform to have a dig at Kerry.

At the end of the day there is no smoke without fire, some Ulster sides have only themselves to blame if they carry a reputation.

Kerry are no angels, we never claimed we were, we will get physical if that is how the opposition come out to play. But for anyone to suggest Kerry (or Dublin for that matter), indulge in systemic and deliberate cynical football needs their head examined.

The only proof you can point to is a bit of pulling and dragging that happens at games up and down Ireland every weekend or seemingly the fact we played more defensively in an All Ireland final which some of you seem to think is more proof we are cynical!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2015 14:42:28    1699834

Hermit,

Wrong on two counts and deliberately so n the first one. This tread was never about Ulster counties not feeling respected. It was to do with the hypocrisy in media reporting whereby Kerry can never seem to do anything wrong - whereas if an Ulster county engages in the same nonsense as Kerry do, we are lambasted in the media for weeks afterwards. On the other side, the Kerry v Dublin game is held up as an example of good physical football with great defensive displays. When Donegal mastered a very effective defensive system as Tyrone and Armagh had previously, we were vilified in the media as being the destructors of Gaelic football as we know it.

The other point you make re how ridiculous it is for anyone to suggest that Kerry are masters of the dark arts, well I'll call it as it is...yes Kerry are the masters of the dark arts and one of the most cynical teams in the country at present. But because they are the darlings of the media, this is being glossed over very conveniently!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 06/03/2015 15:10:28    1699858

At the end of the day there is no smoke without fire, some Ulster sides have only themselves to blame if they carry a reputation.

Hermit - do you not accept though that reputations or perceptions can be influenced so much by the media? If something is highlighted a lot then it becomes the accepted mindset in the general society - this isn't just in terms of GAA or sport but more in general in todays media fed society. Thats not to say that those who are being highlighted are the only ones who are guilty of or carrying out the sins if you will, it could just be that they are the ones who the spotlight is turned on for whatever reasons. We see it in politics all the time or as Ulsterman I think it was pointed out we have seen this for years within Scotland with regards to how they reported on the two Glasgow rivals differently, persecuting one side for what was or turned out to be in a lot of cases unfounded allegations while totally turning a blind eye to what was going on with the other side whose sins were evidently a lot worse, much to their demise. Yet still the media in Scotland will try to gloss over these as this is where their loyalties lie - the establishment club. The point a lot of posters on here are making isn't that Ulster sides are wrongly reported on if such incident occur, its the balance of reporting or where the focus lies depending on who is involved. Do you honestly believe that up and down the country on a weekly basis there isn't some sort of ugly scene in some age group/level of match akin to some of the things we see televised or do you think this is something we in Ulster hold the monopoly on?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/03/2015 15:14:41    1699862

On the one hand some of you are trying to say Ulster sides don't deserve the reputation they receive and on the other you are now claiming Kerry are the most cynical side operating in Gaelic football.

Lifford what has playing defensively got to do with cynicism?? Point out to me who ever stated Donegal were a cynical team, I certainly have never seen evidence of that in the media. Your comments seem to be of a man who hasn't gotten over last September.

Tyrone have been called cynical in the past and I think on occasions they played cynically as a team and as a deliberate tactic; not by the way that that has anything to do with them not deserving to win All Irelands, victories they were rightly lauded for despite some of your perceptions of the media. In fact the point I and others would make is Tyrone were such a good side that they did not need any of that off the ball carry on!

Offside: its five days since the last round of the national league and we are still talking about Kerry/Dublin, what about the scandalous stuff in the Monaghan/Mayo game? Is there a thread up about that, no so doesn't that support my argument about what this thread is actually about? How can anyone suggest what happened in Killarney was outrageous when what happened in Castlebar was way beyond the mere scuffles witnessed in Fitzgerald stadium.

I'm thinking back to some of the biggest controversies on the field of play we have had in the past 5 odd years and so many have involved Ulster sides club or county level, so how can there not be a reputation which follows them around and how can it not on some level be reasonable.

Just off the top of my head:

Dromid Pearse v Derrytresk All-Ireland junior football semi-final 2012
Cookstown v Finuge Intermediate Final 2013
Armagh v Cavan Ulster championship 2014
Monaghan v Tyrone All Ireland Semi final 2013
Tyrone v Dublin National League 2008

That's only a few examples but they all caused major controversy at the time and, I'm sorry to say, in most cases the Ulster side was the one that started the ball rolling.

I've said my bit at this stage and I'll leave it at that.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2015 15:47:22    1699876

Hermit, I note that in two of the five games you mention, Kerry sides were involved. Are you insinuating that the Ulster team is the aggressor? That would be par for the course!

Also I wasn't pointing out that defensive play = cynicism. I was pointing out another example of where the media have one rule for Ulster as the destroyers of football because we happened to employ effective defensive systems yet when Kerry and Dublin did likewise last Sunday they were praised for it (and rightly so)...but why the double standards?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 06/03/2015 16:16:26    1699891

TheHermit

I've said my bit at this stage and I'll leave it at that.

Thank God for that.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 06/03/2015 16:21:35    1699894

I knew that some people were anti kerry but this is truly amazing. Nobody like winners i suppose.

jackrobin (Kerry) - Posts: 15 - 06/03/2015 16:41:11    1699899

Hermit - this happens to have been brought up under the Kerry Dublin thread but my points aren't in relation to that incident but in general. As for those incidents you refer to - you are actually proving my point. Do you think these were the only incidents of that nature throughout Ireland over that period. Of course not. But they were the one which got most air time or paper coverage. Go figure!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/03/2015 17:02:39    1699912

And the ridiculing or putting it down to anti-Kerry is textbook deflection.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/03/2015 17:05:14    1699914

Lads ye say the media love Kerry but can remember the paul Galvin witch hunt that went on for years ffs Paul had his own designated camera. So quit the s**t.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/03/2015 17:56:21    1699929

Offside_Rule

Hermit - this happens to have been brought up under the Kerry Dublin thread but my points aren't in relation to that incident but in general. As for those incidents you refer to - you are actually proving my point. Do you think these were the only incidents of that nature throughout Ireland over that period. Of course not. But they were the one which got most air time or paper coverage. Go figure!
06/03/2015 17:05:14

----
In fairness OffsideRule it's up to those who see fault with Hermit's FACTS to counter argue. If all of the media are reporting these incidents, including journos from Ulster, then this is hardly a conspiracy by 'the South' as Ulsterman would have us believe. You need to counter argue with a similar barrage of games involving teams from another province and involving incidents of the same gravity. You are acting as though Ulster people are not part of 'the media' yet we have many Ulster commentators in the media. So can you lay out the foundation of this anti Ulster conspiracy theory. Name the journos, the papers, the incidents etc so everyone can come to their own conclusions.

I don't think I've seen a poster from Ulster yet comment on the behaviour of Monaghan players in Castlebar yet the incidents looked far more serious than those in Killarney. Yet on this thread alone we have nearly every Ulster county represented having a pop at Kerry and Dublin. THAT is hypocrisy.

Ironically somebody above named McEneany as claiming that Kinsella had a great game in Killarney on Sunday. What province is Pat from? So again we have people from Ulster claiming that not only 'the South' but now also 'the North' are bad mouthing 'the North'. Look if you're holding your own culpable like Pat and Joe and Martin but maybe there is an element of truth to it. If there were no incidents worthy of reporting then nothing would be reported. Looking forward to a good clean game against Tyrone tomorrow.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/03/2015 19:24:56    1699953

Joxer - with regards to Monaghan I have made reference to the way they went about their game in Castlebar while pointing out Mayo weren't exactly angels themselves. However, again the point is the media have already told all of their approach so the whole of Ireland knows. The other game in Killarney had equally ugly incidents including a headbutt but yet few would know if they were relying on the papers or RTE to give a representative view of what went on. Do you think that the only serious or newsworthy incidents over the last decade have involved Ulster teams? Do you think this is fair representation of incidents of this nature at any level across Ireland? I have relations and inlaws throughout Ireland who are involved in GAA and know for fact there are equally newsworthy incidents across the Island from underage to Senior which is why I cannot and will not accept this line that Ulster is worthy of the criticism while others aren't.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/03/2015 20:18:49    1699968

Offside_Rule

Joxer - with regards to Monaghan I have made reference to the way they went about their game in Castlebar while pointing out Mayo weren't exactly angels themselves. However, again the point is the media have already told all of their approach so the whole of Ireland knows. The other game in Killarney had equally ugly incidents including a headbutt but yet few would know if they were relying on the papers or RTE to give a representative view of what went on. Do you think that the only serious or newsworthy incidents over the last decade have involved Ulster teams? Do you think this is fair representation of incidents of this nature at any level across Ireland? I have relations and inlaws throughout Ireland who are involved in GAA and know for fact there are equally newsworthy incidents across the Island from underage to Senior which is why I cannot and will not accept this line that Ulster is worthy of the criticism while others aren't.

------
Once again Offside Rule it's all just bluster. No facts, no games or teams mentioned, no detail of what the incidents were. I have named several high profile IC incidents in the past few months. Hermit has mentioned several more and that was without going into detail of what happened in Castlebar. You counter with one incident and that a head butt in Killarney. I was at the game and although I have no time for that Kerry player when I saw it again on TV it looked like no contact was made. Regardless IMO he should have been shown the line and not only for that incident I might add. No it wasn't front page of the Star but neither was the advertising hoarding incident in Castlebar, far worse which could have led to serious injury.

Look I've no axe to grind with Ulster counties but it is cringeworthy now listening to some of the bleeding hearts from up there now. Banging on about victimisation and bias and hypocrisy. Do you remember this board when us Jackeens were hammered by Tyrone and Kerry or pipped by Mayo. Some of the bile spat on us here was shocking. But we didn't bang on about victimisation. We dusted ourselves off and start picking up some silverware with some neat football. Then came some respect from a media who had been laughing at us up to then and slagging us off. Even Joe did an about turn. So I think it's time now to stop playing the victimisation card, it's getting tiring now, and do the talking on the pitch.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/03/2015 20:41:55    1699973

Jeezus Joxer, can you not get Offsides point!? When the media don't highlight the negativity from games down the country, how can you expect people to name games - It's not that we are able to attend every single game tha is played on any given weekend. Offsides point is spot on - do you honestly think every single game played throughout Ireland on any given weekend is devoid of any negativity and cynicism? We have seen Kerry engage in cynicism yeti again last weekend - the now customary brawl started by Kerry players in the dying seconds of a game where Kerry lead by a point or two - v Mayo in All Ireland semi replay, v Donegal in All Ireland Final, v Dublin last Sunday! Yet why is it never highlighted in the media!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 06/03/2015 21:17:09    1699985

Evidently not Lifford Gael. There are none so blind as those who will not see. I've persevered but alas my stint at care in the community has come to an end.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 06/03/2015 21:33:38    1699990

Lifford - games that nobody has seen, no second hand accounts of, no teams mentioned, no incident details, yet they exist. Do you still believe in the tooth fairy? Look lads no offence but to claim hypocrisy and then not been able to reel off these incidents where supposedly similar things have happened doesn't really leave you with much of a case. Look let's leave it at that. There are none so blind as those who will not see indeed!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/03/2015 18:05:32    1700105

Those brawls are often highlighted lifford.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/03/2015 18:13:09    1700107