Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

Breffni39

Doesn't anybody have a list of incidents that happened in other provinces off the top of their head or did nothing actually happen in any other province?

----

No. I stand corrected though but I don't remember any other IC matches being reported upon where the referee was set upon, the band nearly embroiled in a full scale row, before the game even started, and 19 cards dished out in a mass brawl during what was effectively a pre-season warm-up. But sure look, don't let that get in the way of an "everyone's against Ulster" argument.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/03/2015 15:20:23    1699173

Donegalman

I wouldnt get to bothered what goes on the pitch once my own county stays clear of bother. Journalists can and will print what they like, in order to sell papers.

There will be the same sound bytes from the press box this year, with possibly a new player/team on the scene to pick on.

Is it annoying that there is a double standard in GAA reporting as highlighted in this thread? Not unless you are very touchy.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To answer your last question, yes it is annoying the double standards in GAA reporting. And no I wouldn't consider myself touchy. There is such a thing as consistency in reporting however and I think that's all most people on this thread are asking for!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 04/03/2015 15:23:41    1699174

Well said horse, for years we were told by the nordies that we were naive and couldn't handle it when teams got in our faces, that we'd always blink first, so we do what every Kerry team has done over the last 130 years we adapt and overcome , if teams want to play football we'll play football with ye but if a team wana bring the rough stuff we can go down that road as well and we'll see what happens.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/03/2015 16:27:36    1699200

that is rubbish Kingdom boy. Kerry have always been the most physical team in the GAA. Only thing is they have the reputation for good football. Media like Pat Spillane, Des, etc all sing from the same sheet in that regard.
Kerry have the most feroucious players in the country- Donaghy, O Se, Paul Galvin to name a few.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 04/03/2015 16:32:36    1699203

Horse, KYboy we aren't going to win this one. In fact more fool me for being tempted in the first place to contribute to this entire discussion.

Some people in Ulster seem to be fixated that the media/the mass of GAA supporters in the south and whoever else have some agenda against them.

They also seem to think or want to believe that people from outside Ulster (esp Kerry it seems) actually resent the fact they ever won any All Irelands; that we somehow think they are not entitled to them etc etc.

I've come up with a theory for why that is, I'm sure I'll get lots of grief now from posters for saying it but maybe that will be because I'm getting close to the bone.

Throughout the 20th C and especially during the Troubles a lot of Northern GAA people looked to and admired Kerry and supported that great side of Spillan, Paidi, Jacko, Ogie etc. I've looked into it myself how many GAA people from there travelled down to watch them in training during the summer and arranged for Kerry to go up North for challenge matches etc etc.

Now beginning in the 1990s and culminating in the past decade we had a renaissance within Ulster GAA: Down, Derry, Donegal, Armagh and Tyrone in turn began winning All Ireland. The latter three coincided with an era where Kerry were also a dominant force. Armagh and Tyrone managed to take on and beat Kingpings of football in All Ireland finals. But instead of the Kerry people failing to our knees and proclaiming the greatness of these sides, we did what we always do when we lose a final: we lambasted our own team for its shortcomings.

We also questioned the methods these sides used to win and many people also highlighted some unsavoury incidents that may have occurred.

I think the Ulster obsession with media bias and their preoccupation with Kerry is down to wounded pride. They expected a county they admired to laud them to high heaven.

But we don't work like that, we are competitive fu@king animals to paraphrase a great man. We hate losing and if its from a team from Tyrone or Timbuktoo it makes no difference to us. Ulster ain't got nothing to do with it!!

Most of us have strong views on how football ought to be played and given the choice Kerry people would not endorse a defensive form of football. What's wrong with that?

And we, quiet rightly, noted some very unsportsmanlike incidents in some of these games (the treatment handed out to Copper in 2005 final for example).

No body in Kerry resents what Tyrone and Armagh did: we moan because we had chances in those games to win it just like we moan we should have been able to close out the 2011 final better. That's us being what we are, its nothing to do with Ulster!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/03/2015 17:09:44    1699221

KingdomBoy1

Well said horse, for years we were told by the nordies that we were naive and couldn't handle it when teams got in our faces, that we'd always blink first, so we do what every Kerry team has done over the last 130 years we adapt and overcome , if teams want to play football we'll play football with ye but if a team wana bring the rough stuff we can go down that road as well and we'll see what happens

Yes and no. Yes some journalists leapt on the opportunity to get stuck in. No, not all nordie teams go out to play the man before the ball the same way that not all leinster, munster or connaught teams do.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/03/2015 18:00:14    1699240

There is some rubbish talked here. As an Armagh man I find the assertion that Armagh people hold some grudge against Kerry or any other team very strange. It is not something I notice among the supporters I know. In fact were I live it is not uncommon to see children running about wearing Kerry jerseys. Our own manager is even married to a Kerry woman. Like everywhere there are people who do not like Kerry or Dublin or Cork or whoever but it is not universal. The only rivals we really concern ourselves with are Tyrone and Down!

As much as Kerry people give out about the way Tyrone treated Cooper in 2006 Armagh people will complain about how Kerry treated Geezer in the 2006 quarter final. As a football fan though I find how Murphy was treated in the 2009 final more concerning as it appeared more planned than instinctive. It does not, however, stop me remembering and admiring the great Jack O'Shea or Maurice Fitzgerald - my favourite ever footballer outside Armagh.

The problem as an Armagh man I have is the way Armagh are portrayed - I do not care about other Ulster teams - compared to how Kerry or Dublin are portrayed. The McKenna Cup incident mentioned earlier is an example. The game featured a multitude of cards but that was more due to an inexperienced referee than anything. Every free was a card. Except for the pushing at the start there was nothing in the game. Yet Armagh are reported as a physical and dirty team. In a much more on the edge game Dublin and Kerry are praised. Of the team likely to start the championship Armagh will have one player people would consider dirty, one who is young and can react and one who mouths too much. Much the same as every team. The complaints are not about tactics or a physical approach they are how different teams are portrayed.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 04/03/2015 19:27:12    1699273

I have to agree hermit. I cannot understand this idea that everything is about ulster and I really wish people could get past it because it kills debates. I have little interest in what province someone is from or indeed provinces in general. I have had an issue with the tyrone football team in the past because of the ethos they chose to bring to football. If that were limerick or whoever, Id say the same thing. I had an issue with donegal, well actually not so much donegal but more the way my own team was treated in the media and the fact the donegal team got off scot free even though they were just as guilty, if not moreso, again there is nothing about province, or even geography there. It is just about the lads kicking ball around a field, that is it. Stop intertwining it with stuff that isn't relevant.

The only people who mention ulster, seem to be the people from ulster. That is the funny part. People talk about a divide, but they are the guys who are constantly thinking in terms of a divide. So instead of someone having an issue with tyrone introducing organised team-cynicism as a tactic, which in fairness is perfectly reasonable and the same occurs when something like that is introduced across any sport, it is somehow because they are from ulster. Why cant it just be about the game they play? Then we get this spiel 'but teams were cynical in the past', but there are levels of cynicism, and tyrone went above and beyond with it. To me, that is like saying what Barcelona did in the last decade wasn't anything new because Liverpool were passing and moving in the 70s. It is a disingenuous point and people are hiding behind it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/03/2015 10:20:33    1699346

Can I just ask, how did Tyrone go 'above and beyond' regarding cynicism? Another level above the Meath team of the late 80's? or the Dubs in the 70's? or indeed the Kerry team of the 2000's? It's nothing more than an ugly myth kept alive by certain memebers of the media ie Colm O'Rourke who mentioned it just after the Joe Brolly Cavanagh rant, that man has a short memory if that is what he believes. Tyrone played some fantastic football in the 2000's with players who would grace any all time team, I thought the 2005 AI final was as good as any I've seen and with Kerry contributing majorly to that as well. Every team has a level of cynicism and that's fine but I dont understand why that Tyrone team were supposed to be on a different level..

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/03/2015 11:15:00    1699373

Hermit / Master

Get over yourselves lads! The thread is about hypocrisy! Sop making the thread into something it's not!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 05/03/2015 11:18:28    1699377

Lifford Gael - its funny that I spent the journey up to Belfast this morning listening to Unionist politicians and people from that community have their own view of what went on in the North over the last 100 odd years and totally dismiss any stance or feeling from within the Catholic or Nationalist community, peddling the same kind of rhetoric that we see on here where its all in our heads and quite happily airbrushing history. Then I read back through comments here talking of the Ulster peoples siege mentality etc etc and the similarities are astounding. Its just a pity that the wrong part of Ireland seems to have been given away as evidently there are plenty who would have had a love in with our similar minded people up here. People who don't want to take on board what people are actually saying on this very forum and instead twisting or ignoring to suit their own head in the sand stance. Seems the ink on the treaty hasn't dried yet.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/03/2015 12:16:14    1699400

Master who do you think you're kidding?

Youve been dishing out your 'nordie' bile for years.

You are one of the few,thankfully, on here who goes beyond banter and takes great delight at seriously sticking the knife in when anything to do with the ulster raises its head.

I'll also assume by not addressing the points/questions i highlighted in the tyrone game that you also are a hypocrite to boot.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 05/03/2015 12:56:09    1699419

Lifford Gael
Hermit / Master
Get over yourselves lads! The thread is about hypocrisy! Sop making the thread into something it's not!

You are right it is absolutely about hypocrisy. You just don't seem to recognise who is being hypocritical. Constantly talking in terms of the north in every conversation is an indication that you in fact are the one with the fixation on divisions, not the other way around. I have no vested interest in ulster the same way you have none in connacht; note I say connacht, as in teams in the connacht championship, not 'the south' or 'non-ulster counties'. Im actually from the west you know. 'The south' is again speaking in terms of ulster. The term 'the south should by right be completely foreign in the gaa, bar talking about munster. I don't live in the south of Ireland, why do people keep referring to me as living there? Is it because everything is south of ulster maybe? - there is your hypocrisy. Speaking in terms of ulster at all times, not Ireland. In the gaa connacht is west of Ireland, not south of ulster.

Im just talking about a football team, couldn't care less where they were from. When tyrone were going well in 95 I was fully behind them. Put simply, if I don't like ulster how can that be the case? The reality is I liked that team, didn't care where they were from. The tyrone of the 2000s did things I didn't like, again nothing to do with where they came from. It starts and stops with what they do on the field for me, ask yourself does it for you?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/03/2015 13:04:31    1699426

Offside_Rule
Lifford Gael - its funny that I spent the journey up to Belfast this morning listening to Unionist politicians and people from that community have their own view of what went on in the North over the last 100 odd years and totally dismiss any stance or feeling from within the Catholic or Nationalist community, peddling the same kind of rhetoric that we see on here where its all in our heads and quite happily airbrushing history. Then I read back through comments here talking of the Ulster peoples siege mentality etc etc and the similarities are astounding. Its just a pity that the wrong part of Ireland seems to have been given away as evidently there are plenty who would have had a love in with our similar minded people up here. People who don't want to take on board what people are actually saying on this very forum and instead twisting or ignoring to suit their own head in the sand stance. Seems the ink on the treaty hasn't dried yet.

Two questions. What has any of that got to do with football? Why are those things coming into the same conversation?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/03/2015 13:08:18    1699428

Offside Rule & Bumpernut

+1

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 05/03/2015 13:12:27    1699430

Just to highlight that this isn't just a football thing but goes on across a lot of walks of life within this Island. To highlight the Osctrich approach many in the South have. To highlight the hypocrisy of so called Irishmen and their treatment of fellow countrymen. Why, did it touch a nerve?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/03/2015 13:18:50    1699435

SaffronDon
Can I just ask, how did Tyrone go 'above and beyond' regarding cynicism? Another level above the Meath team of the late 80's? or the Dubs in the 70's? or indeed the Kerry team of the 2000's? It's nothing more than an ugly myth kept alive by certain memebers of the media

What are you talking about? Seriously like. Ugly myth your backside, they were the most cynical team I've ever seen, case closed end of story. The only ugly myth I can see is this trying to drag the meath, Dublin and Kerry teams down to make excuses for tyrone. Not that they were angels, but nobody is claiming that either. Before you come back with the inevitable 'you are just against ulster' spiel, I would point out, I have no reason in the world to be making excuses for any of meath, Kerry or Dublin. And frankly, I find this insinuation that I would defend them unjustly, simply because I dislike ulster to be highly insulting. I mean it is basically saying I am dishonest and am willing to lie at length to knock people I have never even met because of their political persuasions etc.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/03/2015 13:20:13    1699437

bumpernut
Master who do you think you're kidding?
Youve been dishing out your 'nordie' bile for years.
You are one of the few,thankfully, on here who goes beyond banter and takes great delight at seriously sticking the knife in when anything to do with the ulster raises its head.
I'll also assume by not addressing the points/questions i highlighted in the tyrone game that you also are a hypocrite to boot.

This is what you are up against. Complete fabrication and paranoia. Id ask you to back that up, because I dont used the term nordie. I talk about football on the site. I supported tyrone in 95, didn't support them in 2003, that is before they got any silverware, so don't start saying I was happy supporting them when they hadn't won anything, I wasnt. it was about the football they played.

Could I ask, why you refer to me as being from 'the south'? Im actually from the west. That is the west of Ireland, not the south of ulster. And them Im the hypocrite? Leave the politics at the door, nobody is interested.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/03/2015 13:27:41    1699440

The Master

No no again your not listening. What made Tyrone MORE cynical than the teams I mentioned? Give me examples if your so sure on this. If you read the whole paragraph and not just some you'd see that I agree all teams pactice a level of cynicism, so I'm not just talking about southern teams. But I'll ask again, what made Tyrone so bad? Why are they a level above everyone?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 05/03/2015 13:36:15    1699444

It's not about geography says Master......as he then says he 'has had an issue with Tyrone in the past.....AND Donegal'.....but he doesn't seem to have any issue with the Meath teams of the 80's and 90's, the Kerry and Dublin teams of the 70's and the and the game on Sunday. LOL Who are you kidding Master, you have a serious issue with Northern/Ulster teams and fans and you revel in that opinion. I think others have already said what I wanted to. This mentality goes well on beyond football and is more to do with partitionism and politics than anything else. I said recently that TWO GAA's now effectively exist with TWO sets of rules and standards being applied. The mantra and mindset is 'Sure they're only Nordies and good for it'.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 05/03/2015 13:53:00    1699449