Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

Just for the record I was not saying Antrim people have no business commenting on games. I was commenting on Ulsterman's reference to 'Ulster football' as though the achievements of Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal reflect on other counties. They don't. And as an example I compared it to Dublin and Kilkenny in hurling, as we have nothing whatsoever to claim credit for in regard to the Cats!

I was critical of Antrim players in relation to a number of dangerous 'tackles' in the Walsh Cup match down here. I apologise if that was taken as being anti Antrim in general. I am certainly not and over most of my time going back to 70s Dubs and Antrim would have enjoyed a close and generally friendly relationship as we most of the time in same division of league. I also defended Antrim's right to have their home games in the Glens.

Anyway, that's my diplomacy over :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2015 21:55:14    1698558

Ok, a few things need to be put into perspective on this thread. First off, the Dublin-Kerry thing. People are saying they didn't get criticised for the game at the weekend and that it is because of some big conspiracy and if it were northern teams there would have been a meltdown. Well on the same weekend, monaghan lost the plot altogether and should have had at least one more nailed on red card to go with their other 2, as well as a raft of incidents up and down the pitch once the result was beyond them. So, if the above is true, shouldn't there be a big furore about a northern team being dirty? Where was it?

Another point that get's thrown out often is the idea that mayo were really cynical in 2012 and got away with so much. Well, I'd say myself they were cynical for about 20 minutes in one game - something we see very often these days. They were all over the press and basically got punished in the final for what they did in the semi final - a ridiculous notion. Here is the thing, donegal, the team that beat them, were even more cynical that year. Again, where is the anti northern bias here? Shouldn't it have been the other way around if what is being claimed here is true?

Also, in fairness, nobody has an issue with someone from antrim or indeed anywhere, having an opinion. What the issue is there is someone from a different county making everything a province-wide thing, when most of the time it isnt. It just inflames the situation. If I seen someone from Galway making these points about mayo, and defending them so vehemently, I'd be saying cheers but worry about your own county, we can fight our own battles.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/03/2015 10:05:58    1698582

Quote taken from Colm Keys in today's Irish Independent. Yet again when it's Dublin v Kerry, defensive displays are regarded as high quality defence. When Ulster teams do it, it's a blight on the game...hypocrisy, hypocrisy and downright hypocrisy:

"The standard of a game should never be judged by the rate of scores alone. In Killarney on Sunday, there was so much high-quality defensive play."

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/03/2015 10:06:13    1698583

Lifford Gael
Quote taken from Colm Keys in today's Irish Independent. Yet again when it's Dublin v Kerry, defensive displays are regarded as high quality defence. When Ulster teams do it, it's a blight on the game...hypocrisy, hypocrisy and downright hypocrisy:

"The standard of a game should never be judged by the rate of scores alone. In Killarney on Sunday, there was so much high-quality defensive play."

Completely agree, it was a shocking example of all that is wrong with the game, how anyone can dress i up is bizarre.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 03/03/2015 10:47:15    1698598

I was at the game it was dirty , cameras barely caught half of it , not bothered or interested in a who started it debate , those at the game know what went on .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/03/2015 10:50:23    1698601

Id like to take issue with some of the responses. Im a proud Belfast/Antrim/Ulster/Irishman in no particular order. Im almost as equally proud of my province as I am my county, maybe as has been pointed out before thats linked to the last century of strife.

However, i do not jump on any bandwagon of any county, I have yet to rush to croke park donning a Tyrone/Donegal/Armagh/Down jersey. I will go to the pub or Croke and cheer them on like many other Ulster posters do, thats it. The celebrating after that is left to whichever particular county was successful and their supporters will and do bask in that glory and rightly so.

I think the question, and it is a genuine one,those from the other provinces need to answer is, rather than point the finger at Ulster, why does your provincial loyalty not evoke similar pride? I stand to be corrected here but most Ulster posters also tend to support the Railway Cup, yet and im generalising here a bit,there is a almost complete rejection of it by other posters from other provinces, why?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 03/03/2015 10:54:04    1698604

Master - lets not get the green and red blinkers on here too much with regards to the match at the weekend. Yes Monaghan were quite hefty in their approach but Mayo weren't guilt free themselves. One example being the third man tackle in the build up to O'Sheas goal I think it was where the Mayo player released the ball then took out the Monaghan defender who was about to put in a tackle. You could see a few of the Monaghan players turning towards the ref after the ball went in to the net but nothing came of it. So cynicism, hefty hitting - no moral high ground on either.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 03/03/2015 10:58:15    1698605

I think the question, and it is a genuine one,those from the other provinces need to answer is, rather than point the finger at Ulster, why does your provincial loyalty not evoke similar pride?

I could give an opinion on that but not sure it will get posted in todays moderation.... :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 03/03/2015 11:01:00    1698608

In fairness to Mayo they are rarely dirty if at all. Yes they do play down the clock but who doesnt. I like tuning in to watch them in their games every year, they are always involved in a cracker, and they have yet to go ultra defensive.

Monaghan on the other hand...

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/03/2015 11:34:05    1698617

hurlingdub

when Antrim can do to Dublin and Kerry what Tyrone and Donegal have, then perhaps your generic point regarding 'Ulster football' will have some relevance. Until then ....

That's your quote, and it suggests that you wont value an opinion of a poster from a county who are no match for Dublin or Kerry. There are people from your own county who have posted on here about the double standards of the media etc yet you dont take issue with that, but when someone from Antrim makes the same point its somehow taking credit for successful Ulster counties achivements??

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 03/03/2015 11:35:36    1698619

The other thing I want to draw attention to is the cynicism employed by Kerry teams of late! Kerry v Mayo All Ireland semi replay, Kerry v Donegal All Ireland Final and Kerry v Dublin on Sunday. Kerry leading by a score as the clock is counting down. What happens? A brawl started by Kerry players in the last seconds. We saw Anthony Maher start it on Sunday and we all know what happened in the other two games not to mention Barry John Keane kicking the ball away in the All Ireland Final closing minutes as Paul Durcan was about to kick out the ball. Wen will the media wake up to the cynicism of Kerry teams of late and more importantly referees and take action once and for all!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/03/2015 11:41:32    1698622

Offside_Rule I never claimed that mayo were innocent of anything. It isn't anything to do with them they just happened to be the other team on the day. The example is of a northern team giving the dirtiest performance of the weekend, and probably the year to date, and nothing much being made of it. Im just asking how can this be the case with this supposed huge bias in the media and on hoganstand that we are hearing about ad nauseum on this thread? The two don't add up. So please, can yourself or indeed anyone pushing this argument, take that point on and explain it?

Same goes for the 'cynical mayo' hysteria in 2012 when donegal were routinely fouling the catcher on every single kickout they lost throughout the year. Foul the catcher, slow the kick, run back into defensive position - basically making scoring a goal impossible. Mayo foul lads 30 yards out and in front of the posts, like idiots, giving away easy score after easy score, and they are the ones who get the heat in the press, on hoganstand and indeed from the ref in the next game. Again, Im not complaining about it being mayo, they are just the team in the example, the point is, where is this bias you are talking about? Surely anyone pushing this argument has to address these points, if they want to be taken seriously?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/03/2015 11:47:32    1698628

Offside_Rule
I think the question, and it is a genuine one,those from the other provinces need to answer is, rather than point the finger at Ulster, why does your provincial loyalty not evoke similar pride?

Proud to the point of hoping they do well, of course. Proud to the point of making up mass conspiracies about their rivals and being blind to their own issues, no.

There are a few from outside donegal or tyrone that are on the fanboy level of support of these counties. It is always 'play the victim' stuff too, hard done by, hypocrites, a disgrace etc etc. But look, let's call a spade a spade, tyrone have had far more victims of cynical play than the number of times they have been victims themselves. They are the biggest exponents of it, so I just don't see how them getting the most criticism is somehow unfair. Surely that is only logical?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/03/2015 11:59:23    1698639

Bumpernut ,
Ulster counties because of historical reasons ,that are still evident today will support each other ,They were treated appallingly by just about everybody in Power. Throw in the sweeping generalisation of Ulster counties from certain journos and it makes the stance even stronger, although there is people who couldnt care about the GAA on here in fairness and use every opportunity to make it an Us against them scenario ( sometimes i think secretly they are glad when things go against them ) Also sometimes i dont think its a case of supporting your neighbouring county maybe more a case of not wanting an Ulster team to lose to a southern team because they are percieved to get a fairer crack of the whip. If Leinster had of been Partitioned and we had to put up with the abuse Northern Gaa people had to withstand over the years we would be in the same boat today all sticking together
Its an understandable case of sticking together because of past experiences.
But it has to be understood ,people in Gaa down south in general will give out about other counties in equal measure depending on how recent games have gone or how well a county is doing. Look at the Dubs and Kerry today giving out . You could swap Kerry for Mayo or Donegal or Tyrone and the same arguements would be going on.
A counties geographical location is of no relevance to any Gaa supporter i know .
Although a few journos do need to cop on, but i think us Dubs have to put up with a lot of drivel from Journos in general also.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 03/03/2015 12:02:16    1698644

Bumpernut, there are obviously political and cultural reasons why Ulster Gaels have an affinity with their province. More specifically it is a Six County thing. Some of us were aware of what happened to many GAA people at hands of state and loyalists over 30 years, and of the relative ignorance of that even within the GAA. My club attempted to highlight issues connected to that within Dublin GAA and organization overall, but I will not pretend it was a popular position. Dublin hurling people and counties such as Laois, Westmeath from regular trips north and regular contact with Antrim were possibly more aware than most of the difficulties Antrim hurling had over the years.

However, that does not stop me criticising Antrim hurlers NOW, nor rejecting the notion that there is some sort of provincial franchise on football. That has to do with the games, not with any political dimension. I would suggest too Bumper, Offside and Ulsterman, that I would not have said anything regarding some Antrim county players that would not have been said by some prominent Antrim hurling clubs themselves!!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/03/2015 12:03:55    1698645

That's it the big bad bogey men of the Kingdom are coming to get ye all!! I suppose you think Kerry only won the All Ireland by beating up poor Donegal. Get a grip FFS.

This entire trend is nothing but another sorry excuse for the bregrudgers to have a cut off the Kingdom.Comparing a bit of pulling and dragging in a league match on the 1 March in a torrent of hailstones to the cynicism which have pervaded the football of certain counties over the past decade. Grow up!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/03/2015 12:04:07    1698646

03/03/2015 11:41:32
Lifford Gael

1698622 The other thing I want to draw attention to is the cynicism employed by Kerry teams of late! Kerry v Mayo All Ireland semi replay, Kerry v Donegal All Ireland Final and Kerry v Dublin on Sunday. Kerry leading by a score as the clock is counting down. What happens? A brawl started by Kerry players in the last seconds. We saw Anthony Maher start it on Sunday and we all know what happened in the other two games not to mention Barry John Keane kicking the ball away in the All Ireland Final closing minutes as Paul Durcan was about to kick out the ball. Wen will the media wake up to the cynicism of Kerry teams of late and more importantly referees and take action once and for all!

Kerry are doing nothing wrong. I think they were sending out a message that this team wont be bullied. They outfought/bullied by Armagh/Tyrone(team of the decade) in the noughties and seen as a"nice team" This team wont be bullied

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 03/03/2015 12:09:46    1698649

good stuff Clifford ... Still sore I see...

Donegal are no shrinking violets

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 03/03/2015 12:19:22    1698655

It's not Hermit! It's the hypocrisy that we're on about here. The same cynicism applied to Kerry during the latter stages of the championship not just a league meeting on the 1 March. The Kerry way is to ignore the obvious because that's what the media have done for years. Kerry are the most cynical team in the country at the minute but certain factions won't waken up to that fact, yourself included!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 03/03/2015 12:28:30    1698661

Surely foul play and cynical play must be dealt with and seen to be dealt with in equal measure from wherever it originates.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 03/03/2015 12:29:51    1698662