Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

As joncarter says Bumpernut, the achievements of Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal have nothing to do with Antrim or any other county. And I am not trying to slag Antrim. The achievements of the Cats are not reflective of "Leinster hurling" and Dublin can't claim any credit for them!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2015 16:10:34    1698403

Theres a lot of stuff on here about Donaghy and his latest antics.
How come Donaghy has suddenly re-emerged in the last few months? A few years ago most teams seemed to have him figured out and he disappeared off the scene for quite a while. Suddenly he is back bigger and badder than ever in the minds of many. Did he reinvent himself? Is he now a multi-trick pony, to go with the one-trick pony and the two-trick pony? Or have all opponents lost the knowledge of how to combat him? In recent times he has been creating havoc leaving a trail of broken defenders behind him. Will this continue?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 02/03/2015 16:37:05    1698416

01/03/2015 15:51:03
sam1884
County: UK

1697948 The great Kerry and Dublin serves up an absorbing game. Will the negative and dirty tactics be mentioned ?. And as it came from the two media friendly counties will we here about the break out of .... what you call it at the end ?. No Ulster county involved so unlikely.
01/03/2015 15:58:13
Ulsterman

1697953 It'll the like the Kerry/Mayo semi final last year; it will be completely ignored or excused by most conributors on HS and the media because there are no Ulster counties involved. The brawls, dirty hits, off the ball antics, pulling and dragging etc will be labelled under the usual 'hardy, manly stuff' because it is a Kerry/Dublin game. It will be the usual, two faced hypocrisy and duplicity.

The point being made by ulsterman and sam is about the fact that Ulster teams are labelled as dirty and aggressive yet Dublin and Kerry are equally culpable, is that not the case?
So tell me why a contributor from any Ulster county cannot make a comment about this dichotomy regardless of the ability of their team given that this has been labelled at every ulster county at some stage.

This includes,hurlingdub,your reference to the Antrim hurling team in the walsh cup against Dublin.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 02/03/2015 16:44:31    1698419

So many people on here seem to be missing the point altogether. Hermit, you make a valid point regarding the 2008/2009 games between Dublin and Tyrone, they were pretty brutal too, I wonder if we checked back would McGee or any other journo at the time have called those games 'fascinating'?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/03/2015 16:49:34    1698425

Im not necessarily blaming Ulsterman. If Antrim played Kerry 100 times, its quite possible that they would lose every time, so its natural that Antrim football supporters would hop onto another counties bandwagon in order to feel better about themselves.

Jon, It wasnt that long ago that your football team left casement with their tail between their legs, so spare us the cheap shots!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 02/03/2015 16:49:38    1698426

As for the Galway thing bumpernut, Im well aware of how bad galway are at the moment, but I still wont be latching onto another counties success to compensate.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/03/2015 17:04:07    1698433

Bumpernut, there is no more such a being as "Ulster football" than there is "Leinster football." Dublin have more in common with Tyrone than with Wicklow, and same applies to Tyrone and your own county, no harm to them.

As for Walsh Cup, it was reference to the attitude and behaviour of some of the Antrim players.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2015 17:29:55    1698449

bumper- how dare you have an opinion on anything outside Antrim. Do you not know the snobberarchy with our games and that we are close to the bottom so we have no right to even mention the names of these sacred Counties let alone be critical of them. Now, I am away to see if we can squeeze in 100 games against Kerry before the Championship starts - was thinking somewhere like Galway would be a good midway point - if only we knew someone there who could be the fixer.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/03/2015 17:42:41    1698454

Where do some of you people get the notion that if someone from Antrim has an opinion on any other county they are latching on to their glory etc? That is nothing but elitism and snobbery lets be honest. My county is one of the most populated in Ireland and we watch the same football or hurling that anybody else does and our opinions are no less important than yours, so get used to that fact or create your own secret society website for like minded snobs.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 02/03/2015 19:28:59    1698487

this game was the worst example of toxic dirty football...and to hear the so called experts extolling its virtues is indeed shocking..the tyrone and armagh game in the mckenna cup had one skirmish and the game was blown all out of proportion...what do we have here..a series of running battles..vicious dirty late hits...and donaghy spending the game sledging dublin backs..

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 02/03/2015 19:59:35    1698495

I will agree on one thing if Donaghy carried on the way he does goading players and grabbing them by the neck and was playing for Tyrone or Armagh he would be lambasted ,and Mahar putting his outstreched hand into Brogans face yesterday as he walked by him would have been highlighted as premeditated if an Ulster team done it.
Philly mc Mahon blocked a player and deserved a black card , Bastic was foolish and deserved one also . Johnny Cooper and Geaney were as bad as each other .
It was a poor game of football with not a lot of decent passing . So on that note i would be angry if i was an Ulster Poster reading Eugene mc Gee or listening to wee Martin last night eulogising about Kerry and Dublin.
From our point , it will do us good in the long run, because Leinster will unfortunately show us nothing ,

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/03/2015 20:22:01    1698510

An awful amount of snobbery and downright arrogance shown in relation to Antrim posters on here! Antrim posters have every right to comment on what they see as the hypocrisy shown by some quarters with regard to the love in between the media and Dulin and Kerry who can do no wrong!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 02/03/2015 20:24:49    1698511

well this is nothing new in relation to the hypocrisy...kerry and dublin are loved by the media as they are from 'traditional' counties and most of the negativity surrounding these counties is ignored...look at mayo under horan who were one of the most cynical teams going and were brilliant at knowing how to foul and tackle people off the ball yet there was very little outrage outside of dublin people having a moan cause they suffered these tactics first hand and lost a match..most of the media ignored it..imagine tyrone doing the same thing

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/03/2015 20:31:49    1698513

Good post AthCliath! Agree with you re Martin McHughs eulogy last night! Wee Martin forever the politician!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 02/03/2015 20:32:11    1698514

Hey Fabio, don't you know, USA posters, like those from Antrim, have no right commenting on GAA matters, how may Sam's have the USA won I ask you, exactly!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/03/2015 20:43:41    1698518

brendtheredhand

Hey Fabio, don't you know, USA posters, like those from Antrim, have no right commenting on GAA matters, how may Sam's have the USA won I ask you, exactly!

I always thought thats Why the USA was nicknamed Uncle Sam Bren, because they had an abundance of them, ah well ye learn something new every day.
Today i also learned Antrim people have no place commentating on Gaelic matters.
When Kerry indulge in the dark arts it facinating , intriguing and pulsating.
When Armagh do , there is no place in the game for it and mc Geeney is behind it all ,everytime. No matter who they play. He is also the reason why the opposition employ rough tactics.
Dublin v Tyrone next Saturday night wont be a place for the faint hearted .
Those Ulster teams with their pulling and dragging and black cards . Us poor Dubs wont know what hit us.
Why cant we just play Kerry every week in a nice freeflowing game like Sunday , the way Gaa should be played.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 02/03/2015 21:16:48    1698539

Lads Donaghy is getting far to much criticism here in my opinion.

A certain Dublin player has a fairly nasty streak too but you wouldn't hear it on hear.

This guy attempted to stamp on donaghys foot when he just returned from a broken bone in his foot.

He also dropped his knees into Gooch as he was on the deck near the end of the 09 quarter final.

Name a team that doesn't have a player who plays on the edge, every team has them , any successful team has had them to.

one team that hasn't is Mayo.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 02/03/2015 21:24:20    1698544

Me being from Antrim, Timbuktu or Mars doesn't change the fact that, as some posters have said, the criticism of Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal etc was more to do with geography, partitionism and politics than style of football. If the same elements who have waged a nasty campaign against Ulster for the past decade were merely concerned about negativity and cynical football they would have castigated Kerry last year and both Kerry and Dublin after yesterday; they didn't and we all know why. The fact that Eugene McGee, who along with Spillane has poured out negativity towards Ulster sides for their 'play' rubberstamped the Kerry/Dublin game and fawned all over them in his newspaper column today, tells you all you need to know. This is the same individual who headed up a GAA committee to change ALL that was on show yesterday BUT NO he looked the other way. Two Associations?? Most definately.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 02/03/2015 21:30:20    1698547

oh i know well brend...hilarious argument isnt it....its tiring at this stage people doing all the whining about ulster teams and so on..why cant people just judge each team on their merits..it doesnt matter where they are from..practically every top team knows exactly how to win and see out games by whatever means necessary..the holier than thou attitude of some on here and especially in the media is nothing but sickening

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 02/03/2015 21:38:39    1698552

As a neutral it looked like an exciting game but a bit rough and hard to ref. Jonny Cooper took a beating in this game and overall Kerry got the majority of breaks. i.m.o Best team won though.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 02/03/2015 21:49:52    1698554