Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

IsMise. Why is the comparisons irrelevant? Both matches were of the Gaelic Football variety, played under the same rules and in broadly similar weather conditions. There wasn't any rain in Killarney but that should hardly deem the comparison irrelevant, in my humble opinion.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 02/03/2015 09:32:16    1698157

Hill - I think everyone saw the headbutt yesterday. Well, apart from the umpire, ref, linesmen, those in officidom and RTE.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/03/2015 09:34:09    1698160

Kerry were never a soft touch. Dunno where you pulled that line from. Glancing over the various boards this morning its laughable how innocent some kerry folk think their team is. Good game i thought. Im happy enough to be within a few points of the AI champs missing the core of our team. Very disappointed with our discipline at times. If we are gonna play dirty at least try not to get caught like the other top teams do Kerry, Donegal and Mayo spring to mind here. Anyway next two games are must wins now. W
Not gonna be easy at all.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/03/2015 09:35:53    1698162

pdempsey

IsMise. Why is the comparisons irrelevant? Both matches were of the Gaelic Football variety, played under the same rules and in broadly similar weather conditions. There wasn't any rain in Killarney but that should hardly deem the comparison irrelevant, in my humble opinion.

Maybe irrelevant is the wrong word but the game on Saturday was played in much worse conditions.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/03/2015 09:50:48    1698167

The point was made by a poster that a nasty incident was missed by linesmen, umpires and ref. And this is the underlying issue regarding gaelic games. We have SEVEN officials on duty and they still miss very blatant incidents. It's happening in both football and hurling on a continuos basis now week in week out. Thankfully the black card in hurling was rejected at congress as what is the point in introducing yet more cards when the cards we have aren't being used. Of course the players have to take the blame for their disgraceful behaviour hut refs are not being consistent and cards are not being dished out enough.

Either use the cards or get rid of them altogether!

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 02/03/2015 09:57:46    1698170

Disgraceful scenes all round - both teams to be thrown out of Championship for the year... Wait a minute - it's gaelic football and a very physical game - and these things happen due to intensity and will to win. Maybe other posters should remember this before lambasting the Ulster games which are always/normally of this high intensity.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 02/03/2015 09:59:27    1698172

Dublin and Kerry matches have always had an edge when the two teams have been closely matched as they have been last few years. Yesterday was possible prelude to a meeting in the Summer so a few fellas marking one another's cards, as Dubs and Kerry used to do in the league in the 1970s and a good job there were no cameras around then!

Rory clearly has the measure of Star so he tries to compensate in other ways, usually a long way away from Rory! Next time will be unmissable :-)

Ulsterman, when Antrim can do to Dublin and Kerry what Tyrone and Donegal have, then perhaps your generic point regarding 'Ulster football' will have some relevance. Until then ....

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2015 11:03:58    1698214

I like the bit about Kerry being a "soft touch" kerryrowz!

At least you didn't push the irony envelope out by referring to them "not lying down" :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2015 11:13:29    1698222

Ulsterman, when Antrim can do to Dublin and Kerry what Tyrone and Donegal have, then perhaps your generic point regarding 'Ulster football' will have some relevance. Until then ....

lol - as if by magic the shopkeeper appeared.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/03/2015 11:21:50    1698226

This game has uncovered a number of very real issues.

1 The competitive nature of Gaelic football, and where the line is drawn in terms of fair play
2 The supporters role in what happens on the pitch, factoring in 'win at all costs' mentality
3 The consistent and fair enforcement of the rules by the officials

I could add the consistent and fair reporting of games by journalists, and a number of other sub headings, but it is really childish stuff and when your aim is to win the big prize,........ it doesnt really mater how you do it...and this seems to be the problem.

The only way around this is the consistent enforcement of the rules by referees, and sanctions that fit the crimes. I have not watched the highlights of the game yet. Nor will I, because I would be watching it for the wrong reasons, ie watching it to see how dirty the game was as opposed to watching a good competition.

I wonder is gaelic football now With O'leary in the grave.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/03/2015 11:31:53    1698228

Re the innocent Kerrymen finally waking up to the realities if modern day football...

Some years ago I was reading something written by one of the Down players of the 1960's possibly Sean O Neill or Joe Lennon, if anyone remembers them. In it they talked about when they were on the way up in 1959 or so. I think what happened was that they beat Kerry in a league game and were subsequently invited down to Kerry for a friendly when Kerry basically beat the crap out of them. This was a lesson well-remembered by the Downmen as when they played Kerry in the All Ireland final of 1960 he stated that there were at least 10 Kerrymen on the ground before the ball was thrown in.

Down of course went on to win Sam and have held a hoodoo over Kerry ever since.

So theres nothing new in any of this - the physical stuff, the hypocrisy, selective memories, short memories and the whole nine yards.

Thats the way it has always been......

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 02/03/2015 14:01:01    1698323

Indeed Big Sacks. Laois and Tommy Murphy in 1938; Armagh 1953; Dublin and Heffo in 1955;Cork at regular intervals. They love boasting about sorting teams out. They only keep the oul flannel about how much they love the Dubs and all that for TV shows! So Tyrone and Down are actually privileged in being not part of their public nice guy image :-)

Which is all part of the game as you say. Which is what makes great rivalries great and raw in any sport. Once it is kept on the pitch and within bounds of course!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/03/2015 14:31:09    1698345

The first half I reckon was relatively ok but you could see at that point the niggles were creeping in, sliding tackles, hitting lads as they went down over the ball, pulling players back and boxing across the guts. At the start of the second half two Kerry players should have been red carded. The corner forward and Donaghey, I though what Donaghey did was disgraceful and its by sheer luck he didn't seriously hurt someone - its in the 40th min if anyone wants to see it. Now that sent the message and at that stage the ref had lost control of the game - that happens in games. I just don't understand what mentally referees just don't prepare themselves better and implement the rules from the throw in, its impossible to change how you referee a game half way through because at that stage you have all to many things going on.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 02/03/2015 14:35:08    1698349

Donegalman - agree with you on what you said however the problem is would the top brass and the public back referees who consistently refereed the game by the book? that to be is a big issue. If Croke Park wanted to clamp down on it they could and make the referees ref by the book. Was this a cause of the fair play aspect of the game disappearing - no certainly not but to correct the course its the only way to go.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 02/03/2015 14:50:26    1698357

Have a feeling these teams will develop a personal rivalry over the next few years. should be good.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/03/2015 14:53:10    1698358

'Ulsterman, when Antrim can do to Dublin and Kerry what Tyrone and Donegal have, then perhaps your generic point regarding 'Ulster football' will have some relevance. Until then .... '

Why?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 02/03/2015 15:21:14    1698370

The point is that the whole of Ulster seemed to jump on this "kerry cant handle Ulster teams" thing that happened during the 2000s, even though only a small few Ulster teams could beat kerry in that time.
If Tyrone beat kerry, its Tyrones victory, and fellas from places like Antrim have no reason to gloat over it.
Its a valid point in fairness.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/03/2015 15:30:51    1698377

brendtheredhand

A quote from Eugene McGee's article in todays Sindo.

Yesterday we had a fascinating league game in Killarney in the same sort of terrible weather that affected the entire country. It was a game that ensured the legacy of both counties was maintained for playing the best football possible on any particular occasion, a tight finish and a few nasty enough mass squabbles, and a couple of personal nasty tricks as well.

It was a typical Kerry-Dublin competitive game where neither county wants to give an inch.[url=]link

I am assuming that he was watching the same game as the rest of us. Now, and I reiterate what UM and others are saying, I have absolutely no issue whatsoever with either county using whatever tactics and game plan they want in order to win, Kerry mixed it up nicely last season and were rightly crowned AI champions for it. What we are trying to get at is the tone of the reporting on these counties compared to an Ulster championship game, in this instance McGee has clearly adopted a 'boys will be boys' attitude to the GAA's golden couple, soft tones and no real invective needed because that's what great counties do, right? Last season if the GAA media had its way, Cavan and Armagh would have been banished from Ireland like a latter day St Patrick and his snakes, no room for sentiment there, no level playing field in the reporting of our games, this wasn't 'fascinating, just brutal, why, because geography and politics have determined that it be that way.

Good post Brend... in fairness... I was bloody at the game and as you indicated above... I'm not sure Mr McGee was watching the same game

Perhaps he liked it so much because of all the black cards on show...!!!

It was an extremely poor game for many reasons

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/03/2015 15:36:47    1698381

Ha ha ha, the true colours of many posters being displayed once more on Hogan stand.

If Kerry lost it would have been nothing on here but gloating by the begrudgers, instead we win and so its nothing but how the big bad Kerry men beat up the poor Dubs! God some of ye must have been contemplating jumping off a bridge when Kerry won the All Ireland last September, if your posts today are anything to go by.

Kerry always had teams that were able to stand up for themselves if the other side chose to go down that road.

But there is a big difference between a pit of pulling and dragging and things like poking a lads eyes out etc, that some recent All Ireland winners resorted to in big games against us.

There was a bit of pride at stake yesterday and tempers got a little frayed at times.

Would people mind casting their minds back to certain few League matches between Tyrone and Dublin around 2008,2009??

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/03/2015 15:38:56    1698384

Im not necessarily blaming Ulsterman. If Antrim played Kerry 100 times, its quite possible that they would lose every time, so its natural that Antrim football supporters would hop onto another counties bandwagon in order to feel better about themselves.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 02/03/2015 15:40:49    1698385