Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

Jayapura are you having a laugh? Now we have JayP telling us that if he reffed the Donegal v Monaghan game today he would have awarded 6 black cards and 3 red? Really JayP? Were you actually at the game? I was - there wasn't a dirty hit or a hint of cynicism in wht was a good, clean hard game! What in Gods name is going on with this tread tonight with Joxer telling us to form our opinion on the Donegal Monaghan game from newspaper reports and now JayP issuing 9 cards for a game he wasn't even at...is there a full moon tonight or something?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 08/03/2015 21:52:22    1700617

i honestly didnt see much of this cynical tyrone fouling and tackling that people are on about..what i saw was good organised defence and good tackling for the most part..most of the poor tackling was done by the dubs..often with very poor technique..i hope people realise that pulling somebodies arm when trying to tackle them is a foul end of story

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 08/03/2015 21:53:52    1700619

Just want to say one thing, a goal in a million was scored last night by graham Reilly in navan, the build up the speed the chip shot finish, now that's the type of thing to show on league Sunday rather than the blankets, that type of shot, and believe a goal by Fermanagh player too today, if the gaa want to give positive about our game , highlight scores like this. IM disgusted with league Sunday.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2015 21:55:25    1700621

Should cynical following and blanket defences not be separate issues. Much of the cynical fouling is when a man is caught one on one.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 08/03/2015 22:00:49    1700629

Lifford Gael

Jayapura are you having a laugh? Now we have JayP telling us that if he reffed the Donegal v Monaghan game today he would have awarded 6 black cards and 3 red? Really JayP? Were you actually at the game? I was - there wasn't a dirty hit or a hint of cynicism in wht was a good, clean hard game! What in Gods name is going on with this tread tonight with Joxer telling us to form our opinion on the Donegal Monaghan game from newspaper reports and now JayP issuing 9 cards for a game he wasn't even at...is there a full moon tonight or something?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
JayP has eyes like a hawk. Not only was he able to referee the Donegal game from 200 miles away, he was also able to comment that he'd observed the ref in the Tyrone/Dublin match with 'his whistle in his hands when Dublin were attacking, but had his whistle in his mouth when Tyrone were attacking'. This too must be competely accurate, as how else to explain the enormously lopsided foul/card count against the Dubs. I mean, everyone knows that neutral referees are biased against Dublin, as cheating the Boys in Blue is a surefire way for any aspiring ref to guarantee himself big championship games in the summer.

Seriously, there are far too many Dublin posters on here imagining things that didn't happen. Tyrone were ultra-defensive. It's not a style of football that I like, but we were far, far from dirty or cynical. We conceeded 6 frees in the entire game. This was not due to a blind/biased referee, but rather because of an exceptionally organised defence who were technically very solid in the tackle. Dublin, on the other hand, showed the ill-discipline that has become all too common in their game in recent times.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 09/03/2015 08:53:33    1700644

Spot on Thomas - Dubs seem to be complaining about the referee even though it was their poor tacking which caused the large number for frees given against them. Tyrone were much more organised in their defending/tacking and should have won the game with a bit to spare were it not for some really poor free taking - not much point in bring out the keeper to take frees if he can't convert them..

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 09/03/2015 09:18:43    1700652

Tyrone supporters see what they want to see and Dublin supporters likewise.....what a shocker!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/03/2015 09:19:16    1700653

More proof that when the reliable regulars are omitted or unfit Dublin are as average as the next would be. Our much vaunted strength in debt is only supplementary at best and understandably so.

Tyrone left that behind, were the better side on the day and missed an easy 1-3 at the end to see it out. Tyrones toothless ness may cost them come championship but I was impressed by their work rate and commitment and they have improved.

Dublin were more than ordinary as an attacking unit and a number of players present are not starters in my view and others are clearly suffering badly with being out of position with a certain young man from castle knock filling the latter comment nicely.

Good to see the likes or Cian, James and Flynner get back in and Cluxton is a welcome return too but Dublin have a huge job of work ahead of them to get the team right if such a meeting against similar opposition comes later on.

Still, although things are not going too well it would be premature to over react until the team is back with its full contingent. But as of yet it's also clear that Jim Gavin doesn't appear to be committed to any means of beating defensive sides and into March that is cause for concern.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 09/03/2015 09:30:18    1700659

saturday was the worst game of football i have ever been to.
you had one side trying to be clowns ftting into a limo seeing how many men they could keep inside their own 45
all they were short of doing was having mickey harte in full back
then you had another team who looke like it was a chore for them to have to be bothered playing the match
no interest at all in winning or loosing and reluctant to even try.
if the gaa could they of they should have donated the two points to charity neither team deserved a point.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/03/2015 09:55:10    1700676

blacknamber

1700652 Spot on Thomas - Dubs seem to be complaining about the referee even though it was their poor tacking which caused the large number for frees given against them. Tyrone were much more organised in their defending/tacking and should have won the game with a bit to spare were it not for some really poor free taking - not much point in bring out the keeper to take frees if he can't convert them..
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I agree with the Kerry man here, yes why the need for the keeper to come out of his goal to aimlessly put a kickable free wide? I have doubts about Morgan as a free taker, he's very good when its the middle of a game and the pressure is off. When he misses its usually when the point is of high importance to the outcome of the match. This is what separates our keeper from Cluxton, where the latter can score long range frees under pressure. How I miss Peter canavan, we were spoilt in the noughties.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 09/03/2015 10:21:27    1700698

Joxer - I find your comments profoundly disrespectful TBH , always degrading our football, Now I understand why most people don't use HS any more . We know it was bad , we know we missed spates of chances , I'm sure the players know. Truth is Joxer , I know a fair bit about Donegal football , truth is : we know our limitations and use them to our best . I don't come on here regularly make remarks that Dublin play all their matches at home , Dublin are cynical , Dublin have the biggest pick , player sponsorship etc . I thought 3-14 was decent shooting last August .

Royal Dunne - seriously nobody takes your posts seriously , you's took a point against us in BB last year and think that you's are better than us . About four Meath players would be on our side .

Seany - good post , good to see someone analysing the match .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 09/03/2015 10:32:29    1700713

TRS, apologies if those posts appear to be disrespectful. That wasn't the intention. I have become frustrated with the way the game is going to be honest. I'm heading down to Castlebar Sat for what I hope will be a good game then we have Derry at home and Monaghan away. I have no problem getting beaten, even in the manner that Kerry did it, but I prefer being beaten in a game where there is a bit of ball played. Like I said I didn't mean to be disrespectful. I've been posting here since day 1 and following the game properly since the early 80s so I've seen styles come and go. Just genuinely concerned about the direction the sport is going in. I gave Pillar Caffrey stick when the Dubs started going with a blanket under him so I am not targeting Ulster teams just this philosophy. Genuinly though, what was that game like in Letterkenny? Surely these systems cannot continue.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/03/2015 11:13:10    1700744

I was not at the game yesterday in letterkenny, so I dont have first hand experience of the game. But I know several who were. And the match ranks even lower than anything that has come before it. I have no difficulty accepting criticism from anyone about this. Blanket defenses, no problem. But teams that dont have a go, that is a serious complaint.

Things that we need to improve on include

Showing more ambition going forward
Getting the ball in early to our forwards
Our forwards showing and running for the ball
Not relying on percentages to get our scores (ie frees)
Using our very good mid fielders from kick outs

If we dont do this, then it is going to be a hard year to follow us. If one or 2 teams play very defensively, thats fine as the game would still have an interesting variety of styles and much to talk about. But when several teams do this, then it is curtains for the sport.

On a positive note, there was no dirt in the game, the card count was relatively low, no red cards nor mass brawls.

But you could say the same thing about going fishing this time of year, except that it is not football and you would expect a contact sport to have some intensity in it.

The usual defaulting comments such as 'not showing our full hand', 'the lads are flat out training at the minute' or 'the league doesnt count for anything' doesnt detract from the situation that watching us at the minute is not a good spectacle. WE have 3 matches left, and we need at least 2 points to have a chance of staying up. we wont get them if we go out and play inside our own 45.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/03/2015 12:33:47    1700799

Can we change the name of this thread, a lot of this rubbish has nothing to do with my county.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2015 13:27:47    1700846

Spot on kingdom Boy, not one mention of the Cork V Kerry match. It's like it didn't happen.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 275 - 09/03/2015 14:00:44    1700873

bloodandbandage

1700873 Spot on kingdom Boy, not one mention of the Cork V Kerry match. It's like it didn't happen.

Didn't see that margin coming I have to say. Ye looked like world beaters yesterday. Could it be the Kerry lads are lulling ye into a false sense of security.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 09/03/2015 14:50:02    1700905

I agree, we get carried away with side threads.

Kerry and Dublin was a negative and dirty game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/03/2015 16:09:09    1700961

If we dont do this, then it is going to be a hard year to follow us. If one or 2 teams play very defensively, thats fine as the game would still have an interesting variety of styles and much to talk about. But when several teams do this, then it is curtains for the sport

-------
That's it in a nutshell Donegalman.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/03/2015 17:35:27    1701009

Have to laugh at KingdomBoy1
Kerry will always do whatever it takes whatever style you want rules or no rules to win Sam even let Cork trash them to allow a false sense of early security and then go around like vestal virgins with their pure football propaganda.

Problem for Tyrone is to build up front I know. 6 shots short 5 bad wides in first half 2-3 short 4 bad wides and goal thrown away in 2nd; including 5 frees missed it is amazing the defence kept its heart and shape but they did (all 12 of them). If Tyrone had a Rock (person not place) Dubs would have gone down by 10. But Throne haven't got a Rock; YET. This is under development and might be called McShane.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 09/03/2015 19:39:56    1701057

Cjx
We are the keepers of the flame.

Bloodandbandage
I agree there isn't a word bout our game yesterday which is strange , usually they are queuing up around here to put the boot in.
But like I said to a cork poster on our own page we can have no complaints, ye absolutely destroyed us, ye'r backs were winning balls coming from behind our forwards.
I was shocked when I heard cadogan was at midfield but he was very effective.
I think Eamon played the wrong tactics yesterday , I said on our page last week that we should have played like we did against Donegal in the AI final.
Pat Flanagan has ye'r team really fit and he will be a massive asset to ye. Well done on the win.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2015 20:44:13    1701091