Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

I think people will just have to get used to this kind of defensive football. Its been going on a while now.
If a couple of lads like Peter Canavan and Stevie O Neill appear Tyrone may decide to play a different game. In the meantime there's not much choice with the players they have at their disposal. But the great thing is that nothing ever remains the same for too long...............

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 08/03/2015 15:54:31    1700366

The thing is, if this style of play continues people will just turn off the game in big numbers and then it will matter but more than likely will be too late. I know plenty of Dublin football folk who will tell you they can't justify shelling out to pay to watch this crap. And it is crap to watch and its no longer just confined to any one county its here to stay. This negativity is evolving the game into something completely different and its something I don't believe fans will pay to see. You can see the game tactics being tried out in the current league matches and it doesn't bode well for the championship.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 08/03/2015 16:07:58    1700373

Posters trust me this is fact the powers that be in Croke Park are very worried with the direction it's going they know they have a big problem on there hands with Gaelic football and they know something needs to be done cause this complete and utter rubbish is stinking the place out. You all know what club im with so you might know how Id know this.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2015 16:22:30    1700388

Why have so many 'big, traditional' footballing counties convinced themselves that they don't have 15 players good enough to take on the opposition man-to-man? Everyone seems to say that they have to play with 14 men in their own half because they don't have the players to play any other way. Its a depressing thought that so many counties are unable to produce footballers good enough to go man-to-man against any other county. The fact that so many do it at underage level as well suggests that they don't believe they will ever be able to produce footballers with enough skill to try and play an attacking game that requires the additional skill. The worst thing is that even with the mind-numbingly boring defensive tactics they are still nowhere near when the silverware is being handed out - what is the pint of it all?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/03/2015 16:41:02    1700402

Yes, future not too bright it has to be said, thought we were bad with our 1-9 last night, but Donegal's 1-4??!! Oh dear.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 08/03/2015 16:41:31    1700404

I appreciate what you are saying Thomas Clarke, but the problem with that is this; the free count is not a count of the cynical acts in a game, it is the number of times a foul was punished. The more adept cynical teams very often get away with a lot of what they do. Committing a foul isnt the only cynical thing you can do in a game of football, and generally these teams will only look to commit one when they gain from it, i.e. stopping a counter attack. So offering the free count doesnt necessarily mean a whole lot, and to be honest I find that suggestion a bit facetious. It is purposely overly-simplistic to disguise the truth.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2015 16:49:53    1700409

Some hogwash being talked on here. So Dublin don't beat Tyrone and it's ALL Tyrone, Armagh and Donegal's fault??? The downright arrogance of some people just takes your breath away and they say it's NOTHING to do with being anti-Ulster and geography?? If people want to be entertained they should go the circus, sport at the top level is about results. Vince Lombardi said 'show me a good loser and I will show you...a loser! I can see why the Dubs are in panic mode; the Donegal result has really freaked them as it burst the 'Dubs are invincible' bubble once and for all. Donegal didn't play their part by lying down to Dublin and that just wasn't cricket. Dublin have now been exposed as human after all and very beatable.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 08/03/2015 17:17:12    1700422

Please, tell us what is the 'truth' master?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/03/2015 17:26:42    1700431

Although football seems more defensive these days forward play is improving too. Watching Clare and Tipp today it is obvious that the defensive play has translated to hurling too in the form of the bunch tackle. I would like to see linesmen given power to flag fools to help referees in these instances. Tyrone are playing this ultra defensive system because they lost early in the championship last year and Mickey Harte is under pressure from many sources within his own county. His trainer was with Cavan for the last few years and they seem to have adapted similar tactics. It will only take them so far. Nevertheless we have to realise that football is about defence and attack not just attack. Cynicism has to be reduced as far as possible, however.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 08/03/2015 17:29:13    1700433

Ulsterman I wonder can we get yous lot out of our championship? Wouldn't it be great if there was no northern teams in it imagine how great it would be?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2015 17:32:30    1700435

Have to also add that Armagh, Donegal and Tyrone are separate counties with their own way of playing.

Would agree that free count and yellow cards are not the best way to measure cynical play. Last night I watched Armagh throw a point away against Fermanagh. Both sides had some cynical play. Fermanagh were able to do it in less obvious areas and avoid bookings. Armagh were too obvious and downright poor at it and got more players booked. I should also say that despite defensive set ups it was a surprisingly open game.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 08/03/2015 17:34:26    1700437

Bitter, bitter, bitter Clondalkin, your mask is slipping there but thank you for proving EVERY point I make. How much did the Dubs get from Croke Park last year? 1.7 million I believe. How much did Tyrone get, 40 odd grand I believe. Some level playing field that.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 08/03/2015 17:40:48    1700443

What bubble Ulsterman? What are you talking about.

You are an expert on arrogance.....you'd notice it.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/03/2015 18:02:55    1700454

The Dublin fans/media bubble where teams just aren't allowed to beat or challenge Dublin....because, because, because.....that's just the way it is OK!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 08/03/2015 18:06:49    1700457

Jaysus Ulsterman, I said we were lucky to get a draw, what more do you want me to say?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 08/03/2015 18:12:47    1700463

Ulsterman..... how would you rate the refereeing last night?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/03/2015 18:30:38    1700470

Um give it a rest. Let me tell you nothing would make me happier than seeing dubs relegated well apart from Meath taking their place in div 1 . Id have a ball on here and with in laws.
But the defensive / puke football is destroying our game. Nothing got to do with geography, it has to stop or be stopped. Its not anti ulster, but what micky harte and co are doing is anti football plain and simple.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/03/2015 19:20:40    1700491

Hahaha Donegal 1-4 v Monaghan 9 sweet lamb of god someone please save us.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2015 19:20:55    1700492

attended the game myself..taught it was interesting enough encounter although id say you couldnt say the same through watching it on tv..didnt see tyrone being all that cynical..they were much better in the tackle then dublin..o conoghile especially was way overboard..seemed better organised and should have won easily if they had taken better frees..dubs lacked sharpness and i dont rate the full forward line outside of brogan on his day..tyrone only show the teams of old in flashes and not consistently enough...they reminded me a bit of donegal last night

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 08/03/2015 19:21:08    1700493

personally didnt see much wrong with the referring last night and im neutral

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 08/03/2015 19:28:44    1700497