Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

What have the Northies done to the game of Gaelic Football it's the worst I've ever seen thanks northies for this rubbish yous are all sound. If I were from tyrone Id be embarrassed supporting that team my god 15 players in there own half never kicking it and they tell me Mickey Harte is a great manager bore off with that

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/03/2015 20:39:22    1700143

We were lucky to get a draw, Tyrone must be kicking themselves! Terrible stuff altogether but would have been a great result for Tyrone.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/03/2015 20:51:32    1700151

Realdub who cares anymore really it's all muck.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/03/2015 20:56:51    1700157

Surely you are mistaken clondalkin, that was fascinating.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/03/2015 20:58:24    1700159

We need plan b for when we meet ultra defensive teams. Gavin a bit naive if he thinks teams wont play like that against us. Again im happy we play to the final whistle. Loved that gavin wasn't happy. Hopefully a backlash against mayo will haopen!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/03/2015 21:01:58    1700161

It's muck. You think people are going to keep paying money to watch that? Honestly the game is at an all time low.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/03/2015 21:05:35    1700164

its all about the score board lads. dublin will be grateful of the point

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 07/03/2015 21:10:40    1700168

Not pretty clondalkin but it is there and if we can't deal with it we're in trouble! Anyway, no league final for us this year, wouldn't give us much chance next week either, win against Derry at home will keep us up, then on to the Championship, whoohoo!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/03/2015 21:18:12    1700171

Well thats the second time now that the greatest attacking team the game has ever seen (some people say) have not been able to unlock the 15 man defence. As Joe Brolly said you cant defy the laws of physics. The only way you can scythe through a defence like that is to literally run through people, and you cant do that obviously.
I fear that from now on whenever a team gets a good forward line up together the opposition will just play the blanket defence, because if it can stop the dubs, it can stop anyone.
It can be interesting, because now almost every score is important, and I wouldnt be the styles biggest critic. So long as its within the rules Mickey Harte can do what he likes. The word muck might be a bit strong, but in fairness the style doesnt inspire me either. Theres something stale and lifeless about the whole thing and it deadens the atmos a little.
If the so called nightmare scenario comes to pass, and in 10 years every game of football is like this its inevitable that public interest will drop.
As mentioned above I dont think the style is as bad as other people say, and I love gaelic football but even I wouldnt watch that week after week.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/03/2015 21:29:52    1700179

Game2halves, its all about the scoreboard?
Im sure lance Armstrong would agree.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/03/2015 21:31:55    1700182

Absolutely pathetic as a spectacle.
Say what you like but this style of football as they call it is not going to encourage anyone to go to matches.
Call it anti whatever you like its drivel and theres no point pussyfooting around it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/03/2015 21:37:04    1700189

Fact is lads, if we had only half of the firepower Dublin has then we would be looking at a different set up completely, we don't and as a consequence we have to play to our current strengths. It may not be everyones cup of tea but it is what it is until we can unearth the talent we need to compete at a higher level.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/03/2015 21:37:32    1700190

"Its all about the base". Meghan Traynor

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/03/2015 21:38:40    1700194

Awful , awful rubbish as a spectacle . Can't believe Tyrone fans would be happy to pay to watch that muck every match.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 07/03/2015 21:43:48    1700198

Lol @ brendtheredhand :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/03/2015 21:45:36    1700200

Things are possibly starting to look up for Tyrone.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 07/03/2015 21:45:55    1700201

We'll be coming in nicely under the radar now for sure, it's our 'Kerry' move :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/03/2015 21:52:19    1700207

Tyrone committed 6 fouls and no bookings. That is virtually as clean a game of football as you can possibly play. No fouling, no cynicism, nothing nasty. (By comparison, Dublin committed 26 fouls and had several yellow cards.) Now, pulling 15 men behind the ball, a tactic we also used in the last 2 games, is not something that I enjoy watching, and I don't think that it will ultimately win us anything. However, it's Mickey Harte's prerogative to use such tactics and, if his side plays within the rules, it seems unfair to portray it as some death knell for football.

Again, it does nothing for me and I said on here last week that we were shaping up to be the most defensive intercounty side of all-time but, still, you'll see far worse things on football pitches this weekend than a team playing a clean, fair game of football, albeit with an ultra-defensive style of play.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 07/03/2015 21:55:05    1700212

It is very easy to understand Dublin frustration after that display of headless chicken incompetence last night against the best organised defence I have ever seen. Sad when conuties outside the pale do not do as they are told but while Dublin have a manager who seems to think picking the team is the end of his job they are bound only one way

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 08/03/2015 08:13:32    1700216

Tyrone committed more than 6 frees..... they just werent awarded!

What did Tyrone score from play? How many frees did they get?

Did Dublin get the same sort of frees?

Dublin were poor, actually both teams were.

The ref was poor in my opinion. Tyrone constantly fouled.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 08/03/2015 09:47:26    1700230