Kerry v Dublin - a bit negative and dirty

Galwayford ,

If they didn't concentrate on football then Donoghue wouldn't be FOTY and Sheehan and Donaghy wouldn't have 4 All Ireland s.

So lad the difference is now unlike in 02/03/05/08 is that if you mix it with us we will now do likewise.

We then do the business on the scoreboard.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/03/2015 19:24:14    1698060

Usual spring time over reactions that'll be forgotten very soon, game over, Kerry win this one, but will have no influence on a possible meeting down the line like I've said, now for a REAL defensive team, Tyrone :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/03/2015 19:29:40    1698065

Well said westkerry.

mlcollins (Kerry) - Posts: 440 - 01/03/2015 19:32:06    1698069

Kerry 4 matches to retain All Ireland:
Munster final against 14 man Cork.
Quarter final against Mayo (1 point win)
Semi final against Dublin (1 point win)
Replay of Munster final against Cork. Easy win

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 01/03/2015 20:18:04    1698084

Galwayford
Any chance of the 6 lotto numbers for next Saturday night.
Good god you have it bad kiddo :-/

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/03/2015 21:23:06    1698112

The begrudgers are out in force this evening
Thanks Kerry and Dublin for a great afternoons entertainment
Which you would expect from 2 teams who have dominated the game from its foundation

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 01/03/2015 21:23:35    1698113

Again RAHKILL proves my point BUT would you have said the same if Tyrone and Donegal had been the teams? I agree it was a good spectacle but not for the football. Let's not kid ourselves the same posters who have been lambasting Ulster sides for the past 15 years will not hear a bad word about Kerry and Dublin after today and they are total hypocrites. It is as I always said, the criticism of Ulster sides is all about geography and partitionism and NOT about style of football.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 01/03/2015 21:44:39    1698119

Maybe there will be no great deal made of this because its not something you generally associate with these teams!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 01/03/2015 21:46:46    1698120

Ulsterman, if next Saturday's Dublin/Tyrone match is dirty, it'll be Tyrone's fault, OK! :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 01/03/2015 21:50:44    1698124

RAHKILL
County: Westmeath

The begrudgers are out in force this evening
Thanks Kerry and Dublin for a great afternoons entertainment
Which you would expect from 2 teams who have dominated the game from its foundation
------------------------------------------------------
Thats some brown nose you have.
Spot on from Ulsterman and few others.Kieran Donaghy seems to be establishing himself as new Kerry "enforcer" lol.
Nobody better at the oul fouling,niggling,time wasting and all the games "dark arts" than these 2 teams when it suits them,just like any other team.And that applies to Mayo also The Master,your lads are no altar boys either.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/03/2015 21:52:15    1698126

Really Ban, have you watched the Kerry/Dublin games of the 70's?? Have you watched Kerry and Dublin over the past few years?? What utter nonsense you have just spouted.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 01/03/2015 21:53:27    1698128

ULSTERMAN..........yer boys were at it today in McHale park.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 01/03/2015 21:54:37    1698129

A quote from Eugene McGee's article in todays Sindo.

Yesterday we had a fascinating league game in Killarney in the same sort of terrible weather that affected the entire country. It was a game that ensured the legacy of both counties was maintained for playing the best football possible on any particular occasion, a tight finish and a few nasty enough mass squabbles, and a couple of personal nasty tricks as well.

It was a typical Kerry-Dublin competitive game where neither county wants to give an inch.
[url=]link

I am assuming that he was watching the same game as the rest of us. Now, and I reiterate what UM and others are saying, I have absolutely no issue whatsoever with either county using whatever tactics and game plan they want in order to win, Kerry mixed it up nicely last season and were rightly crowned AI champions for it. What we are trying to get at is the tone of the reporting on these counties compared to an Ulster championship game, in this instance McGee has clearly adopted a 'boys will be boys' attitude to the GAA's golden couple, soft tones and no real invective needed because that's what great counties do, right? Last season if the GAA media had its way, Cavan and Armagh would have been banished from Ireland like a latter day St Patrick and his snakes, no room for sentiment there, no level playing field in the reporting of our games, this wasn't 'fascinating, just brutal, why, because geography and politics have determined that it be that way.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 02/03/2015 08:29:05    1698137

Decent game and some good scores considering the conditions. Didn't see any punches or kicks (or anyone thrown into advertising hoarding!) so don't think it was a dirty game. Was much better than the fare served up by Tyrone and Derry on Friday night. On another note, was surprised at how poor Monaghan were against Mayo. Thought they'd give us a game of it.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 02/03/2015 08:31:52    1698138

ULSTERMAN..........yer boys were at it today in McHale park.

We weren't in McHale Park today miler....we were in Páirc Seán MhicDiarmada. Don't even think there was one black card in the game.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/03/2015 08:48:06    1698143

pdempsey
You are correct the Dublin Kerry game was much better than the Tyrone Derry Game. which was played on Saturday not Friday. The Tyrone Derry game was played on a waterlogged pitch in driving rain with temperatures approaching zero. Your comparison is irrelevant.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 02/03/2015 08:54:04    1698145

Lads and Lassies, get used of it we are no longer a soft touch, who ever wants to make a scrap out of it, we will be waiting in the long grass. You do know Eammon Fitz is a north Kerryman and if anyone knows their football on here, the north Kerry championship is the toughest one in Ireland.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 02/03/2015 08:54:06    1698146

I felt it was an absolute disgrace that the umpire behind the goal dublin were shooting into yesterday
wouldnt stand up and be honest and tell the ref what he saw.
when donaghy caught a ball under the crossbar near the end he got a free out
then went down into o garas face goading him
o gara said something back to him and donaghy clearly headbutted him
the umpire was two yards away and saw the whole thing but wouldnt inform the ref and have donaghy sent off
straight away kerry took him off. Now im sorry but thats just wrong its down right cheating not to have him sent off.
there was a camera right behind that post aswell so if they could not pick that up and have him done on it
its also showing a clear biased officiating.
then in the last melee which saw fitsimons red carded
its amazing how the same umpire refused to have anthony maher sent off again
that whole melee started because of maher striking brogan in the face and both umpires saw the strike
it had to be a striaght red just like fitzimons.
maher was somehow still on the pitch at that stage when he shouldnt have been as in the first half
when bastick was carded maher clearly struck cooper up the field and again cooper went to the linesman and nothing
was done about it.
All we ask for going to matches is fairness from the officials to me that was shamefully one sided.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/03/2015 09:24:23    1698153

The game between Kerry and Dublin was a very good game played in awful conditions. The referee did well. 2 black cards each and a red card to Dublin was about fair- it was very difficult for him. Cormac Costello and Kieran Donaghy, you could argue, should have received red cards also-Donaghy being a second yellow.

As JAck Sherwood said after the game, Kerry put a lot of effort into physical tackling over the last few weeks. It showed. They were very good. Their second half display was brilliant.

Is there a reason for Dublin to be worried? Losing to Cork, you could say it was the 'C' team...that can't be said now, for every player that were 'missing', Kerry could also argue that they have players to come back. Obviously, if they meet again the conditions will be much better...a completely different game..

There is some validity about the nature of reporting different matches. The problem is not saying Kerry/Dublin played good manly stuff but that fact that we tend to denigrate the sport quite often and say how bad it is..focus on the negatives etc. It is Ulster teams that get the brunt of this.

It is a little unfair to make comparisons with Derry v Tyrone on Saturday with any other game..that match should have been called off...really terrible weather for football..Setanta even had to change their cameras..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 02/03/2015 09:27:45    1698154

Brendtheredhand:

Summed it up perfectly.....

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 02/03/2015 09:30:48    1698156