GAA matches clashing with rugby

Ormonde,you seem to be in constant disagreement with nearly every poster on all topics.You have to wonder are all the people wrong all of the time??
As for the rugby on Sunday,as usual i will work in my cab gladly taking money off the rugby toffs,both our own and from across the pond.Cudnt care less about the game.The problem will be the total saturation of Sundays radio to the game,to the detriment of RTEs usual good GAA coverage on a Sunday.Hopefully Newstalk have a 4pm premier league game.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/02/2015 13:03:51    1697080

If people want to watch other sports - i'm fine with that, but ask for games to be switched because of a rugby game, you're having a joke!!!!

there is a massive media driven interest in this game - mainly due to the fact that RTE pay 1.25 million to show this one game... generate interest... the advertisers have to pay more....

prior to 1999 the attendances at all club and provincial rugby games was tiny.................

a sport that we are doing well at is cricket............ but I don't see RTE building it up, as they don't cover it.....

in essence there will be more people attending GAA matches this weekend than rugby - fact...

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 26/02/2015 13:13:43    1697082

Janesboro, who was silly to schedule Munster and Cork games at the same time? Pairc Uí Rínn was packed. There were 7,000 at the Munster match in Thomond, which is about average for their pro 12 home games other than against another Irish team, so everyone is happy, no?

We live in a modern digital busy age. Lots of people can do different things and make choices. We are not some medieval society where everything else has to stop when something else is on. If other rugby pro games take place on same day as internationals it would look totally pathetic for GAA to be moving games around!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/02/2015 13:52:39    1697098

janesboro
County: Limerick

WHO CARES WHAT SCHOOL THEY COME FROM- THEY ARE PLAYING FOR IRELAND - OUR COUNTRY -- I SUPPOSE NO GAA PLAYER EVER WENT TO A FEE PAYING SCHOOL AND IF THEY DID I DONT CARE

In fairness you don't care that the elite dominate rugby in a lot of Ireland and that's grand but it certainly puts a lot of people off the sport in some way.

Of course I'm sure some GAA players went to private school, a small enough proportion though, just like it is a small enough proportion of Irish people who attend private school.

It always seems to be country rugby fans who get the hump when you question the domination of the privileged elite holding so much sway in rugby. Anyone know why that is?

To say in Dublin to a rugby fan that you don't really like rugby because of the elitism involved they'll usually understand your position quite easily in my experience.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 26/02/2015 13:58:26    1697101

uchulainn35
County: Armagh

prior to 1999 the attendances at all club and provincial rugby games was tiny.................

no it wasnt - in the 90s Club rugby matches in Limerick got crowds of 8-10k - When young munster played st marys in 1993 there was 22000 at it - when shannon played garryowen in both 1992 and 1998 they got 15000 - Munster got 10000 v quins in 1997 - similar crowds against the wallabies in 1992 and 1996

Separately hope all you travelling armagh fans have a good time sunday in kilmallock adn enjoy the trip

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/02/2015 13:58:33    1697102

yeah thats a good point a lot of pro12 games involving irish provinces have been played around the same time on the same day
as ireland in a six nations match like the last one where munster played in cork shortly after ireland played france.
if the rugby boyos wont even move their own fixtures its a bit much looking for another sport to move theirs.
no word yet on navan racecourse moving their fixture hahahahaha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/02/2015 14:19:43    1697110

Aswell as all Sundays GAA action we have Liverpool v Man City at 12,Arsenal v Everton at 2,the old farm derby Ipswich v Norwich at 2pm and the Capital One final Chelsea v Tottenham at 4 bells.To avoid the rugger my car radio will be on Talksport all day,with Hoganstand on my phone.Ill tape the TG4 games and catch them later that night.Its gonna be a gud un lads!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/02/2015 14:38:04    1697116

hurlingdub

Janesboro, who was silly to schedule Munster and Cork games at the same time? Pairc Uí Rínn was packed. There were 7,000 at the Munster match in Thomond, which is about average for their pro 12 home games other than against another Irish team, so everyone is happy, no?

Munster were the silly ones in this case (i meant to but didnt state so in previous post ..sorry) (munster game was in cork) - they aint goin to compete with cork hurlers and should have played in on the sunday to maximise the crowd - in saying it could be the case the television dictated the kick off time

Munster also played newport in cork last year at close on same time as cork v clare hurling final replay last year again i would think most likely to the detriment of the crowd. Also played ospreys same day at all ireland hurling replay last year - things clash ..thats just the way it is

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/02/2015 14:48:27    1697122

MesAmis

janesboro

In fairness you don't care that the elite dominate rugby in a lot of Ireland and that's grand but it certainly puts a lot of people off the sport in some way.
ID AGREE WITH YOU ON THAT - IT SOMETHING RUGBY IS WORKING ON AND HAS TO CONTINUE TO WORK ON

It always seems to be country rugby fans who get the hump when you question the domination of the privileged elite holding so much sway in rugby. Anyone know why that is? PROBABLY BECAUSE THE COUNTRY RUGBY FANS ARE MOST LIKELY TO BE GAA FANS/PLAYERS TOO AND MORE LIKELY TO READ THESE THREADS- AND BECAUSE THE COUNTRY RUGBY FANS WOULDNT BE OF "ELITE" CLASS

To say in Dublin to a rugby fan that you don't really like rugby because of the elitism involved they'll usually understand your position quite easily in my experience. YEAH AGREE WITH THAT --

YE SHOULD GO TO WALES LADS WHERE RUGBY IS SO ALIKE GAA HERE - THE RUGBY CLUB IS THE CENTRE OF THE COMMUNITY AND QUITE OFTEN THE MOST POPULAR PUB - EVERY VILLAGE HAS A PITCH WITH GOOD FACILITIES AND EVERYBODY FOLLOWS IT NEARLY EVERY YOUNG LAD PLAYS IT

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/02/2015 14:54:47    1697124

janesboro

I posted the list for anyone to see/to use whatever way they wish. Whether you give a rats who represents Ireland is another issue, most International rugby teams are multi-national anyway. Not making a statement one way or the other on it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/02/2015 15:37:10    1697138

If two county boards think that by changing the time of a game it will get more paying customers in the gate thats their decision, if the supporters in those counties don't like it then I am sure it will be brought up at the country board meeting. They obviously believe they are accommodating their supporters by doing this and at the same time not losing out themselves. This nonsense that we can change because we are special is just that nonsense - if it makes for the supporters then change the time. What are the die hard GAA lads going to do - not go to the game because it was changed to suit an rugby international - the irony in that is unreal.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 26/02/2015 16:35:19    1697164

Dublin is exceptional I think in that rugby does have a definite history socially that means that a lot of Dubs are indifferent or dareisayit hostile to the game. More so to its supporters I would suggest.

I would have shared that due to own experience in school regarding attitude towards us trying to enter schools rugby competition. Ormond assures me that has changed, and I accept that it may have done. I would have lingering vestiges of that and I don't support either Leinster or Ireland, but no longer cheer for other teams unless I have a bet on!

I like O'Driscoll and O'Gara and O'Connell and Eddie O'Sullivan and others from listening to them and their general way of carrying themselves on and off the field. Getting too old to hold onto old prejudices and I don't think peoples background, whatever it is, ought to be held against them. It is how they conduct themselves that it important.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/02/2015 16:38:25    1697166

Thats some posh list of schools alright even the public schools sound posh. And ormo would have us all believe rugbys stronghold is in council estates and halting sites

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 26/02/2015 17:13:25    1697183

Both of the Dublin football team midfielders are Blackrock college boys , is this the poshest midfield in GAA? Maybe wealthy people just feed their kids better and make sure they take up sport

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 26/02/2015 17:35:17    1697190

The harsh reality is most schools don't play rugby because of the close relationship between the Catholic Church and GAA. Schools under the church's patronage would not play rugby because it was a 'foreign game' . Yet somehow some people here criticise rugby that it is not played in more schools. Bizarre but not surprising, nationalist 'history' teaching at its best.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 26/02/2015 18:12:44    1697198

Strange thing here is that the elitist side of it seems to be concentrating on dubs posters, i know lads who playor have played for buccaneers or Mullingar who ARE from what would be called working class or social housing areas, and who will tune in to watch the game.
I guess down the country its not as a elite thing, people from all walks of life play all sorts of sports.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2015 18:44:08    1697214

Bad Monkey you clearly haven't a clue about the relationship between Catholic elite schools and rugby. Blackrock, Terenure, Templeogue, Gonzaga, Belvedere, Clongowes, Rockwell !!!

Indeed, until the 1970s a lot of middle class Dublin Catholic schools did not allow pupils to play 'gah.'

And if you think that the Catholic Church supported republicanism you need a few history grinds :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/02/2015 19:00:06    1697222

Good point monkey, schools like Blackrock, Cistercian College Roscrea, Presentations Brothers Cork and the Jesuit colleges that produce many of the countrys rugby internationals are well known for their rejection of all things relating to the catholic church - so determined are they that they insist in confirming it in the name of their institutions. After reading that post id suggest a nationalist education is better than no education at all.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/02/2015 19:11:21    1697230

Thats right badmonkey, Kevin McMenamon even had it in his ditty after the AI, he said we had the "poshest fullback line in football"

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 26/02/2015 20:49:31    1697252

Ha ha yeah flack , along with the Crokes v Cuala hurling final it seems elite level GAA in Dublin is the sport of the upper classes! ...lads it really doesn't matter what school anyone went to , the Irish rugby team seem like very down to earth lads. Reverse snobbery is as bad as snobbery. For what it's worth unless the players want the game times moved, I do not think the GAA should move the games.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 26/02/2015 21:08:03    1697256